Services and Support for the Bereaved

When someone close to you passes away, you will need all the support you can get to cope with the pain and the many changes in daily life. There are Government services that you may find useful during this difficult time, ranging from death registration, burial arrangement and estate management to financial assistance.

Registering a Death

For deaths resulting from natural causes, a relative or friend of the deceased is required to inform the Government within 24 hours of the death through the Death Registries. The person will have to bring along a Medical Certificate of the Cause of Death (Form 18) signed by the registered medical practitioner who attended the deceased during his or her last illness and the deceased's Hong Kong identity card or travel document to complete the death registration.

Registration of a Death from Natural CausesDeath RegistriesForms related to deaths registration

If the death is a result of unnatural or uncertain medical causes, it would be reported to the Coroner by a doctor or a police officer in-charge for further investigation. The Births and Deaths Registrar will complete the death registration within one week after the cause of death is determined by the Coroner and will notify the family members of the deceased in writing.

Arranging a Cremation or Coffin Burial

The Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (FEHD) provides services on cremation and burial of body and skeletal remains to the public. Information on cremation services can also be searched online.

Introduction of cemeteries and crematoria services managed by the FEHDInformation on booking of cremation serviceAvailable cremation sessions lookupAvailable niches lookupApplication for allocation of niches

The Government has proposed to introduce a licensing scheme for regulating private columbaria. The Government aims to introduce the Bill into the Legislative Council in the fourth quarter of 2013. Prior to the introduction of the licensing scheme, citizens who wish to purchase niches at private columbaria are advised to read the following tips and information, which may help them to make an informed choice.

Points to note when purchasing private columbarium niches (pdf file)Information on Private Columbaria

Regarding burials, citizens may refer to the links below for more information.

List of public cemeteries managed by the FEHDApplication procedures for burial and exhumation services provided by the FEHDList of licensed undertakers of burials

Scattering of Cremated Human Ashes

Scattering of cremated human ashes at sea or in FEHD’s Gardens of Remembrance is another alternative for disposal of cremains. These environmentally friendly ways for disposing of the ashes of the deceased have been gradually accepted by the public. Citizens may, with approval of the FEHD, scatter cremated human ashes in designated Hong Kong waters or in the eight Gardens of Remembrance of the FEHD.

More on the procedures for scattering ashes in Hong Kong watersMore on scattering ashes in Gardens of Remembrance

Importing and Exporting Human Remains

If the death occurs overseas and the family wishes to bring the deceased back to Hong Kong or import the exhumed remains for cremation or burial in an urn grave, the applications should be submitted to the Port Health Office of the Department of Health and the FEHD. For the exportation of exhumed remains, application should be made to the FEHD.  In the event of exportation of cremated ashes, some countries may require a certificate or permit of cremation. In this connection, families of the deceased can apply to the FEHD for the relevant documents.

Notes on importing and exporting human remainsApplication form for importing human remains

For exportation of bodies, a permit must be sought from the Deaths Registry.

More on applying for a permit to remove a body from Hong Kong

Estate Duties and Support Services for Estate Beneficiaries

Since the enactment of the Revenue (Abolition of Estate Duty) Ordinance 2005 on 11 February 2006, the bereaved are no longer required to pay duty on the estates of people who have passed away on or after that date. There is no need for the bereaved to file estate duty affidavits or accounts or to submit any estate duty clearance papers in their application for a grant of representation. However, estate duty is still chargeable on the estates of people who passed away before 11 February 2006.

Information about estate duty

To exercise the right to handle the deceased’s estate as provided by the law, estate beneficiaries of the deceased may apply for a Grant of Representation to the Probate Registry. The Grant may take the form of a grant of probate, a grant of letters of administration or a grant of letters of administration (with will annexed), depending on whether the deceased has left a will and appointed an executor.

More on Probate Registry

The Home Affairs Department provides support services for estate beneficiaries of persons who passed away on or after 11 February 2006. The services include:

  • issuing a Confirmation Notice to certify that the handling of a small estate wholly made up of money not exceeding $50,000 will be exempted from the relevant intermeddling provisions; and
  • issuing relevant certificates to authorise the release of money from the bank account of the deceased person to meet his funeral expenses or the maintenance of his former dependants, and inspection of bank deposit boxes of the deceased person.
Estate Beneficiaries Support Services

Financial Assistance

The Social Welfare Department (SWD) provides 3 Accident Compensation Schemes to help the families of the bereaved in cases of death as a result of road traffic accidents, natural disasters and crimes of violence or by law enforcement officers using weapons in the execution of their duties.

Information about the Traffic Accident Victims Assistance SchemeMore on the Criminal and Law Enforcement Injuries Compensation SchemeMore on the Emergency Relief Fund

The 4 major Charitable / Trust Funds administered by the SWD provide temporary cash grants for family members who are in financial distress due to death of a breadwinner or lack of fund for burial.

More on Charitable / Trust Funds

For patients who died of AIDS, their families may apply for the Support Fund for HIV / AIDS Patients and their Families, which provide burial grants for those in need.

More on the Support Fund for HIV / AIDS Patients and their Families

Bereavement Support

The loss of someone close to you can generate emotions you find hard to deal with. The Department of Health offers practical advice on the management of grief and loss as a result of bereavement.

Information about the management of grief and loss

Memorial Service

The FEHD provides online memorial service through the “memorial.gov.hk” website. Members of the public may create memorial webpages for their lost loved ones who had used the cemeteries and cremation services provided by the department, or had their cremated ashes kept in public columbaria, or scattered in Gardens of Remembrance or at designated Hong Kong waters. This service enables you to pay tribute and express condolences to your lost loved ones anytime, anywhere. Mobile version provides a simple and user-friendly interface to access the website with mobile device.

Internet Memorial ServiceInternet Memorial Service (Mobile Version)

If you want to know more about how to arrange for funerals, please refer to this leaflet.

A Guide to After-Death Arrangements (pdf file)
Last review date: March 2015

为离世者亲属提供的服务及支援

要适应因挚亲离世而带来的转变和平复哀伤的心情,你需要多方面的支援和协助。政府部门提供多种服务,包括死亡登记、殓葬安排、遗产管理及经济援助等,助你度过这段困难时期。

死亡登记

凡属死于自然的个案,死者的亲属或朋友必须在死者身故后24小时内,携同由最后为死者诊治的注册医生所签署的死因医学证明书(表格18),以及死者的香港身份证或旅行证件,前往死亡登记处办理死亡登记。

就死于自然的死亡个案办理登记死亡登记处与申请办理死亡登记有关的表格

如个案属于非自然死亡或死亡原因不明,相关的注册医生或警务人员则会向死因裁判官报告,以进行检验及进一步的调查。当死因裁判官裁定死因后,登记官会于一星期内办理该宗个案的死亡登记,并以书面通知死者的亲属。

火葬及土葬的安排

食物环境卫生署(食环署)为市民提供火葬、遗体和骨殖的土葬服务。就火葬事宜,市民可在食环署网页搜寻有关火葬服务的资料。

食环署辖下的坟场及火葬场服务简介预约火葬服务资料火葬场预订情况可供分配灵灰龛一览申请编配壁龛

政府现拟设立发牌制度以规管私营骨灰龛。政府的目标是在2013年第四季把条例草案提交立法会审议。在发牌制度落实前,市民在选购私营龛位时可参考以下的提示和资料,以便作出适当选择。

购买私营骨灰龛位须注意的事项 (pdf 档案)私营骨灰龛资料

至于土葬事宜,市民可参阅食环署以下网页资料。

食环署辖下的公众坟场土葬及捡拾骨殖服务须知持牌殓葬商名单

撒放人类骨灰

将骨灰撒海或撒放于食环署辖下纪念花园内,是处理先人骨灰的另一种选择。这两类环保葬仪渐为市民所接受。市民在取得食环署的批准后,可把人类骨灰撒放在本港指定海域或该署辖下八个纪念花园内。

更多关于本港海域撒放骨灰的程序更多关于纪念花园撒放骨灰

遗体出入口

要将于外地身故之亲属遗体移送返港,或将先人之骨殖由外地移送回本港火葬或安葬金塔墓穴,有关申请须递交卫生署港口卫生处及食环署。如欲将亲属之骨殖移送离港,则须得到食环署的批准。至于将骨灰移送离港,个别国家或要求提交火葬证明书及许可证;就此,死者亲属可向食环署申请签发有关文件。

遗体出入口服务须知人类遗骸进口申请书

至于移送遗体离港,死者亲属须获得由死亡登记处发出的有关许可证。

有关申请「将尸体移离香港许可证」的详情

遗产税及遗产受益人支援服务

自《2005年收入(取消遗产税)条例》于2006年2月11日生效后,已故人士的亲属毋须就该日或之后去世人士的遗产缴交税项,也毋须递交遗产申报誓章或呈报表,或领取遗产税清妥证明书以申请遗产承办书。然而,于2006年2月11日之前去世的人士,其亲属仍须为死者的遗产缴交遗产税。

有关遗产税的详情

要执行法律所赋予管理死者遗产的权利,遗产受益人可向遗产承办处申请遗产授予书(俗称「承办纸」)。授予书种类可以是遗嘱认证、遗产管理书或遗产管理书(附有遗嘱),视乎死者有否立下遗嘱及委托遗嘱执行人而定。

更多关于遗产承办处

民政事务总署为在2006年2月11日或之后去世的人士的遗产受益人提供支援服务,包括:

  • 发出确认通知书,证明有关人士在处理不超过50,000元的小额遗产时,免受擅自处理遗产的条文约束;以及
  • 发出有关证明书,批准证明书持有人从死者银行户口支用款项,以支付死者的殡殮开支或死者生前赡养的人士的生活费,以及检视死者的银行保管箱。
遗产受益人支援服务

经济援助

社会福利署(社署)共提供三项意外赔偿计划,为因道路交通意外、天灾、暴力罪行或执法人员使用武器执行职务等致死的情况,向死者亲属提供经济援助。

交通意外伤亡援助计划暴力及执法伤亡赔偿计划紧急救援基金

由社署管理的四个主要慈善信托基金,为面临经济困难(如失去供养家庭成员或无法筹措足够殓葬费)的家属,提供临时的经济援助。

慈善信托基金

罹患爱滋病的死者,其亲属可申请爱滋病患者及家属援助金的殓葬费津贴,以解燃眉之急。

爱滋病患者及家属援助金

丧亲支援

挚亲离世往往令人不知所措。卫生署为丧失亲友的人士提供一些实用建议,帮助他们处理压力和度过难关。

面对失去、哀伤与死亡的压力

追思服务

食环署透过「无尽思念」网站提供网上追思服务,让市民为曾使用食环署坟场、火化、骨灰龛、纪念花园、海上撒灰等服务的逝者建立纪念网页,以便随时随地透过互联网悼念挚爱亲友。流动版本提供简单易用的介面,方便市民以流动装置浏览。

网上追思服务网上追思服务 (流动版本)

若想更清楚知道如何处理离世亲友的身后事,可参阅以下小册子。

“办理身后事须知” 小册子 (pdf 档案)
覆检日期:2018年11月
本页内容对你有帮助吗?
欢迎输入你的意见!
请注意: 此表格并非用作处理查询或投诉,如需协助,请致电(852)183 5500或电邮enquiry@1835500.gov.hk 联络24小时服务的支援中心。
多谢!你的意见只会用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
感谢您的宝贵意见!

感谢你使用「XXXX」。
请根据刚才的使用情况,就以下项目为网上服务评分:

  1. 1.  使用简易度
  2. 2.  指示清晰度
  3. 3.  整体满意度
就业意见调查关闭按钮 就业意见调查