Retirement Planning and Tips

Retirement can be a time of relaxation, but it can also be a time of uncertainty, as one makes the transition from the world of work to the world of leisure. If you are retired or will retire soon, you can learn here about various tips and government services that will help you to make a smooth transition to retirement and enjoy your new life to the full.

Mandatory Provident Fund (MPF) Benefits

One of the things you may want to know on your retirement is how to withdraw the MPF benefits that you have accrued during your working life. In general, you can access and withdraw your MPF benefits upon retiring at the age of 65. Early withdrawal is allowed under specific circumstances, including early retirement at the age of 60 and permanent departure from Hong Kong. If you are eligible to withdraw your MPF benefits now, you can present a copy of your identity card and a completed Claim Form for Payment of Accrued Benefits to your scheme trustee. If your last employer has made a long service or severance payment to you before you resign and retire, then he or she can apply to the MPF trustee to withdraw an appropriate amount of your MPF benefits to offset it.

More on withdrawing MPF accrued benefitsMore on employer offsetting of long service or severance paymentClaim Form for Payment of Accrued Benefits (Form MPF(S)-W)

You may consider part-time employment after early retirement at the age of 60. The Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Ordinance provides that for any employee aged 18 to 64 and employed for a period of not less than 60 days irrespective of whether he is employed as a full-time or part-time employee, his employer must enrol him in an MPF scheme. Also, please note that employees, be they designated as full-time or part-time employees, and irrespective of their working hours, are entitled to the benefits under the Employment Ordinance.

Volunteer Work

Leading an active life is the best way to make a smooth transition to retirement. Volunteer work will help to keep you meaningfully occupied and you can contribute to society at the same time. The Agency for Volunteer Service offers many opportunities for those who want to help and assigns volunteers based on their skills and expertise.

More on the Agency for Volunteer Service

The Volunteer Movement also has many openings and you can enrol online.

More on the Volunteer MovementOnline application form for volunteer service

Leisure, Cultural and Educational Activities

Hong Kong offers a wide variety of leisure and cultural activities through which you can further enrich your retirement life. Many of them are aimed at senior citizens. With better use of spare time to participate in health-enhancing leisure activities such as sport, cultural events or educational activities, you can have a rewarding retirement life with new defined meanings.

More on leisure and cultural activities for the elderly

Staying Healthy

Maintaining a healthy body and a healthy mind into the retirement years is also important. Some people become depressed when they are no longer part of the hustle and bustle of the working world. There are also physiological changes associated with aging that bring new worries, anxieties and the feeling of helplessness. The best way to combat these problems is to keep yourself informed, to develop a positive attitude and acquire positive coping skills.

The following are a few tips for you:

  • Start your planning early
    Retirement is a process which requires advanced planning and gradual psychological adjustment. Reviewing your needs and goals in terms of living standard, health care, finance, family life and other pursuits in life help you adjust to your retirement life. You may learn about preparation for retirement from books and share your expectations and worries with your spouse, family and friends.
  • Focus on the gains from retirement
    While retirement may mean that you will no longer have a stable income and a career identity, there is a positive side to it. You will gradually assume a new identity as a member of social organisations and enjoy the leisure time by yourself or with your family.
  • Strengthen marital life
    Cherish the opportunity to be together with your spouse more often. Communicate positively to enhance the quality of your relationship. Show understanding and respect to the changing needs of each other before and after retirement.
  • Engage in social activities
    Strengthen existing friendships. Make new friends and extend your social network by joining interest groups, clubs or centres for the elderly. Take initiatives to develop and maintain quality relationships. Never isolate yourself.
  • Develop a healthy lifestyle
    Good health is the basis of one’s endeavours in life. Always include regular exercise, adequate rest and balanced diet in your daily living. To maximise health benefits, quit smoking and avoid heavy drinking. The earlier you adopt a healthy lifestyle, the better.
More on mental health for the elderlyMore on health care for the elderly

Retirement Tips

To sum up, remember the following to ensure a healthy outlook for retirement:

  • Prepare yourself for retirement beforehand
  • Participate in community activities
  • Continue to contribute to your home and to society
  • Engage the support of your family
Last revision date: September 2017

退休计划及贴士

退休生活可以非常写意优闲;但对部分人来说,由繁忙的工作生活过渡到退休生活,可能意味着难以预料的前景。如你即将退休或已经退休,本文为你提供退休生活贴士和政府提供的相关服务,助你适应退休生活,享受丰盛人生。

强积金计划权益

你可能关注的退休问题之一,是如何提取你于工作时所累积的强积金权益。一般而言,你须在年满65岁退休时方可提取强积金权益;但在若干特殊情况下,包括年满60岁并提早退休及永久离开香港,亦可提早提取强积金权益。如你符合有关提取资格,可向计划受托人出示身份证副本及提交已填妥的「累算权益申索表格」,以提取强积金权益。如你最后的雇主须因你离职及退休而向你支付长期服务金或遣散费,他/她可向受托人申请从你的强积金权益中提取适当部分,以抵销遣散费或长期服务金。

更多关于提取强积金累算权益的资料更多关于雇主以强积金累算权益抵销长期服务金或遣散费的资料累算权益申索表格 (表格:MPF(S)-W)

你可考虑在60岁提早退休后从事兼职工作。《强制性公积金计划条例》规定,雇主须安排任何18岁至64岁、受雇不少于60天的兼职或全职雇员参与强积金计划。此外,你应注意兼职或全职雇员,不论工作时数,均应享有《雇佣条例》授予的权益。

义务工作

实践活跃及健康的生活最能帮助你顺利过渡至退休阶段。你可透过参与义务工作让生活更添意义,同时贡献社会。义务工作发展局提供各种义务工作的机会,并因应义工的技能及专业,安排他们参与不同的义务工作。

更多关于义务工作发展局的资料

「义工运动」亦提供许多义务工作的机会,你更可在网上申请成为义工。

更多关于「义工运动」的资料网上义工登记表格

消闲、文化及教育活动

在香港,你可参与各式各様的消闲及文化活动,让你的退休生活更丰盛。这些活动很多都是适合长者参与的。若能好好利用余暇,从事有益身心的康体文娱活动或教育活动,你的退休生活定必多姿多采,并富有新的意义。

更多关于供长者参与的消闲和文化活动

保持身心健康

在退休后,保持身心健康亦同样重要。有些人在脱离繁忙的工作生活后,会变得意气消沉。此外,随着年龄增长,亦会出现不同的心理转变,为你带来烦恼和忧虑,令你感到无助。解决这些问题的最佳方法,是密切注意身边的资讯、培育积极的态度,以及学习解决问题的正面技巧。

你可参考以下的贴士:

  • 及早计划退休生活
    退休是一个逐渐发展的心理历程,在退休前应先充分计划。你应思索自己对生活水平、健康护理、经济、与家人的关系,以及其他方面的需要及目标,以便调整退休生活。
    你可阅读有关书籍来认识准备退休生活的资料,并与你的配偶、家人及朋友分享你对退休生活的期望及忧虑。
  • 着重退休的好处
    退休后,你可能再没有稳定的收入及工作上的身分,但相对而言,你亦可享受到退休的好处:你渐渐会确立自己身为社会成员一分子的新身分,并能享受与家人共度的余暇时间。
  • 继续经营婚姻关系
    夫妇应珍惜相处机会,增强彼此间的沟通,建立更良好的关系。不论退休前后,应互相体谅并尊重对方在不同阶段的需要。
  • 参与社交活动
    尽量保持与好朋友的情谊,并要扩阔自己的生活圈子,多结识新朋友,例如可参与为长者而设的兴趣小组、会社及长者中心的活动,建立良好的人际关系,千万别孤立自己。
  • 保持健康生活模式
    健康的体魄是非常重要的。在日常生活中,须经常保持适量的运动、足够休息、均衡营养饮食,不吸烟及不酗酒。你应及早实行健康的生活模式。
更多关于长者心理健康的资料更多关于长者健康护理的资料

退休贴士

总括而言,为保持身心健康,请注意以下事项:

  • 尽早为退休作好准备
  • 保持参与社区活动
  • 继续贡献家庭及社会
  • 接纳家人的支持
修订日期:2017年9月