Travelling outside Hong Kong

When travelling outside Hong Kong it's best to be prepared. Here you can learn about HKSAR travel documents and visa-free access, points to note when planning your trip and for departure, and where to go for help while you are away.

Travel Documents

Before leaving Hong Kong you will need a valid travel document, usually an HKSAR passport or Document of Identity for Visa Purposes (Doc/I). Both of these documents are now issued with embedded contactless chips that contain the holder's personal data and photograph. If you have a travel plan but do not have a valid travel document, please apply early.

More on HKSAR Passport and Doc

Visa-free Access for HKSAR Passports

152 countries or territories have granted visa-free access or visa-on-arrival to HKSAR passport holders. If your destination is not among these countries or territories, you should contact the relevant consulates or the travel agency to ascertain the visa requirements for your visit.

Countries/territories that have granted visa-free access or visa-on-arrival to HKSAR passport holders

Points to Note When Planning Your Trip

Whether you are planning your trip for pleasure, business or to work outside Hong Kong, there are a few points you should note. If you are planning to work outside Hong Kong, the Interactive Employment Service of the Labour Department provides information on working in the Mainland and Macau, and the working holiday scheme with Australia, New Zealand, Ireland, Germany and Japan.

More on working outside Hong Kong

If you are joining a package tour or a group tour, you should do the following to ensure that you are entitled to the protection under the Travel Industry Compensation Fund (TICF):

  • Buy the package tour from a licensed travel agent;
  • Join a group tour organised by a licensed travel agent;
  • Make sure that you obtain a franked receipt from the travel agent for the package tour / group tour showing levy payment equalling to 0.15% of the tour fare you have paid immediately after settling the payment;
  • Leave the original franked receipt at home or with a relative and carry a photocopy of it with you when you travel;
  • You are also advised to take out travel insurance which suits your own needs.
More on protection under the TICFInformation from the Consumer Council on package tours (available in Chinese only)Information from the Consumer Council on airline ticket purchases (available in Chinese only)Tips for travelling

Useful information is also available from the Travel Health Service of the Department of Health on travel health risks at specific destinations, health related entry requirements, useful health advice on illness prevention, safety issues in different environmental settings, vaccinations, etc.

Travel Health Service

From the link below, you may register your outbound travel information if you wish to receive updates on Outbound Travel Alert and related public information from the HKSAR Government.

Registration of Outbound Travel Information

As a final point to consider, the Hong Kong Observatory provides on its website weather forecast and severe weather information for major Chinese and world cities, and for the Pearl River Delta Region, so you can make the most of your time there.

World city weatherChinese city weatherRainfall Nowcast for the Pearl River Delta RegionSevere Weather Information Centre

Points to Note for Departure

You can depart from a number of immigration control points which have performance pledges for clearing 95% of residents within 15 minutes of waiting time, and 92% of visitors within 15 minutes at the Airport, as well as 92% of visitors within 30 minutes at all other control points.

If you access a control point by a private vehicle, the Transport Department offers a Strategic Route Map on its website so you can plan ahead. You can use the map to find out the Route and Exit number along your journey including destination like various “control points”. If you are travelling away from Hong Kong through the Airport, the Airport Authority website offers general information on departures, a list of goods you cannot take with you, and flight information for all commercial airlines.

More on control pointsTransport Department's Strategic Route MapMore on transportation to the airportAirport departure informationItems that you cannot take on a flightFlight information

Assistance to HK Residents in Distress Outside Hong Kong

When you are outside Hong Kong, you may need assistance in the case of an emergency. If an unfortunate situation takes place in the Mainland, you may contact the Assistance to Hong Kong Residents Unit (AHU) of the Immigration Department, the Office of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region in Beijing, or the Economic and Trade Office of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region in Guangdong. If you need to seek assistance in places other than Mainland China, you may contact AHU or Chinese Diplomatic and Consular Missions in that state.

General information on emergency assistance outside Hong KongList of Chinese Diplomatic and Consular Missions
Last revision date: November 2016

离港旅游

离港旅游之前,最好先做足准备。本文介绍有关香港特区旅行证件及免签证国家和地区的资料、计划行程及离境须注意事项,以及在境外寻求协助的方法。

旅行证件

离港时,你必须持有有效旅行证件,一般为香港特区护照或签证身份书。现时签发的香港特区护照及签证身份书均内置非接触式晶片,晶片内储存了持证人的个人资料及照片。如果你打算离港旅游,但并无持有有效旅行证件,应及早申请。

更多关于香港特区护照及签证身份书的资料

香港特区护照免签证情况

现时已有152个国家和地区给予香港特区护照持有人免签证或落地签证安排。如你的目的地并非这些国家和地区,则应联络有关领事馆或旅行社,以查询当地的签证要求。

给予香港特区护照持有人免签证或落地签证待遇的国家和地区

计划行程须注意事项

无论你是计划出外度假、公干或驻外工作,均应注意若干事项。如你打算到香港以外地区工作,可透过劳工处互动就业服务了解于内地及澳门工作的情况,以及澳洲、新西兰、爱尔兰、德国及日本工作假期计划的资料。

更多关于在香港以外地区工作的资料

如果你参加自助套餐式旅游或旅行团,为确保你得到旅游业赔偿基金的保障,你应该:

  • 向持有牌照的旅行代理商购买旅行套票;
  • 参加由持有牌照的旅行代理商举办的旅行团;
  • 确保在缴付费用后立即收到由旅行代理商发出的旅行套票/旅行团收据,而收据上必须印有由印花盖印机加盖的印花,显示已缴交相等于已付外游费0.15%的征费;
  • 将印有印花的收据留在家中或交由亲属保管,并在外游时携同一份副本;
  • 此外,你亦应考虑按自己的需要购买旅游保险。
更多关于旅游业赔偿基金保障的资料消费者委员会关于旅行团的资料消费者委员会关于订购飞机票的资料出门外游提示

卫生署旅游健康服务亦提供许多有用资料,包括各地旅游健康风险、卫生检疫入境要求、疾患预防资讯、各种环境下的安全事项,以及疫苗注射等建议。

旅游健康服务

你可透过以下连结登记你的外游资料,以便接收香港特区政府发出的最新外游警示及相关公开资料。

外游提示登记服务

除了以上各项,你亦应留意当地天气情况。香港天文台在网站上载有关中国、世界各地主要城市及珠江三角洲地区的天气预报和恶劣天气信息,让你了解外游时当地的天气情况。

世界城市天气中国城市天气珠江三角洲地区降雨临近预报恶劣天气信息 (只提供英文版)

离境须注意事项

你可经出入境管制站离港。所有管制站均有服务承诺,目标是须在15分钟的等候时间内为95%的香港居民办妥出入境检查手续。至于访港旅客,机场管制站须在15分钟内为92%的访港旅客办妥出入境检查手续,而其他管制站则须在30分钟内为92%的访港旅客办妥出入境检查手续。

如你自行驾驶车辆前往各管制站,可事先浏览运输署网站的主要干线简图,找出行程中须经过的干线及出口编号,方便你事先计划行程。如你由机场离港,则可浏览机场管理局网站,了解离境的一般资讯、禁止携带的物品,以及各航空公司的航班资料。

更多关于管制站的资料运输署主要干线简图更多关于来往机场的交通资料机场离境资料禁止携进机舱物品航班资料

向在境外身陷困境的香港居民提供协助

若身处港外时遇上紧急情况,你可能需要帮助。若你在中国内地遇上突发事故,可联络入境事务处协助在外香港居民小组、香港特别行政区政府驻北京办事处或驻粤经济贸易办事处。如你在中国境外需寻求协助,则可联络协助在外香港居民小组或中国驻当地的使领馆。

香港境外紧急协助的一般资料中国驻外国使领馆
覆检日期:2016年11月