Job Hunting Tips for the Youth

Before you start your career path, learn about what you should take note of when planning your career and finding jobs.

Youth Employment Start

“Youth Employment Start” (Y.E.S.) provides one-stop, personalised advisory and support services on employment and self-employment for young people aged 15 to 29 who legally reside and work in Hong Kong. Those aged between 18 and 29, who are operating their own businesses with valid Business Registration Certificates, may become business members to enjoy an array of facilities and support services offered exclusively to them.

Using the online service, Y.E.S. members can book a full range of personalised services such as career assessment and consultation, sign up for a wide variety of training programmes and check enrolment status as well as reserve job-search facilities at Y.E.S. Business members can also make reservations for services and facilities specially designed for them such as professional consultation service and business rooms to facilitate their business operations.

If you are a Y.E.S. member and have a registered MyGovHK account, you can now directly access Y.E.S. member zone via MyGovHK. You may log into your MyGovHK account, select “Access Youth Employment Start Member Zone” under the List of Online Services, and follow the steps to link up the two accounts.

More on Y.E.S.Access or register with MyGovHK

Planning Your Career

How to find a suitable job for yourself before joining the workforce? Check out some career guidance which helps better understand the values of jobs, and further personal advisory and support services on employment and self-employment.

Career Planning

Pre-employment Training

Going to join the workforce after graduation but yet to have much work experience? You may enhance your employment competitiveness by obtaining details on pre-employment training courses and other relevant information here.

Pre-employment training

Government Job Opportunities for Youth

Youth.gov.hk serves as a single window for young people to gain convenient access to government information. Under the dedicated page on Government jobs, a great many potential civil service posts available to youth are introduced. With the aid of multimedia, young job seekers will know the job nature, challenges, career prospects and tips for application.

In addition, users can obtain the latest information from the Gov Job Facebook page.

Gov Job PageGovJobHK Facebook Page (Chinese Only)

Job Hunting Skills

Need help to pin down the job? ou can find tips on writing a CV, preparing for an interview and information about employment rights here.

Job-seeking advice for the youthJob Hunting Briefcase

Know about Your Rights

As a young employee, you enjoy certain employment rights in terms of working hours, rest days, restrictions on taking up dangerous jobs, etc. Know more about the law here.

Legislation governing the employment of young persons and children

Beware of Employment Traps

Swindlers may take advantage of youngsters' inexperience and lure them into employment traps. This is especially common during summer holidays when many students pour into the job market. Check out the common employment traps below and be cautious in choosing your job.

Beware of employment trapsA guide for students seeking summer jobs (pdf file)TV programme on summer job scams (available in Chinese only)

Protect Your Personal Data

To safeguard your personal data privacy, you should also be cautious in providing your personal data to prospective employers.

Personal Data is Essential - Protect Your Privacy - Job Seeking (pdf file)
Found this page helpful?
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated.(optional)
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to [email protected].
Thank you. Your input will only be  used to improve GovHK.
Last revision date: January 2020

青年求职须知

开展事业路前,应了解选择职业应注意的事项和求职须知。

青年就业起点

「青年就业起点」Y.E.S.专为15至29岁可在香港合法受雇及居住的青年人,提供一站式个人化择业及自雇支援服务。而所有18至29岁经营自雇业务并持有有效商业登记证的青年人,更可申请成为商务会员,享用一系列专为他们而设的设施及支援服务。

Y.E.S.会员可透过互联网预约使用各项个人化贴身服务,例如职业潜能评估及择业指导服务、申请参加各种增值课程和讲座、查询申请结果,以及预约使用Y.E.S.各项配套设施。商务会员更可预约使用特别为其而设的服务及设施,例如专业顾问咨询服务及商务会议室等,协助青年人经营自雇生意。

此外,只要你是Y.E.S.会员及已登记「我的政府一站通」账户,即可透过「我的政府一站通」直接进入Y.E.S. 会员专区。你只须于登入「我的政府一站通」后,在「网上服务」的「服务总览」内选择「进入青年就业起点会员专区」,然后按指示将两个账户连接便可。

更多关于「青年就业起点」登入或登记「我的政府一站通」

择业

应投身社会工作,还是继续升学?哪个行业最让你发挥所长?你可点击以下连结获取一些择业建议,并了解专为青少年而设的就业服务,如职业评估、面试工作坊和供青年创业者使用的「专业设计基地」等。

择业

职前培训

不要因为雇主于招聘广告要求「相关工作经验」而却步,你可参加职前培训或把握工作实习的机会,及早汲取工作经验。

职前培训

网上搜寻职位空缺

以下连结载有多个求职网站,让青少年于网上搜寻职位空缺。

网上搜寻职位空缺

为青年提供政府职位资讯

「政府青少年网站」是为年轻人而设的一站式政府资讯平台。当中的「政府工」专页会介绍适合年青人的热门政府职位,并以多媒体形式分享各职位的工作性质、挑战、发展前景及投考要诀。

求职者亦可透过「投考政府工」Facebook专页获取最新资讯。

「政府工」专页 「投考政府工」Facebook专页(只备有繁体版本)

求职技巧

想赢取那份好工?你可在这里找到撰写履历表、准备面试和雇员权利等有用资讯。

青年求职建议求职公事包

了解你的权利

作为青年雇员,你享有既定的雇员权利,包括法定许可的工作时数和休息日,及从事危险行业的限制等,你可从以下连结了解更多详情。

雇用青年及儿童的法例规定

提防求职陷阱

阅历尚浅的青少年,可能会遭骗徒利用,不幸堕入求职陷阱。暑假期间,大批学生涌入求职市场,骗徒更加有机可乘。你可登入以下网页了解常见的求职陷阱,并紧记谨慎选择工作。

提防求职陷阱暑期工作锦囊(pdf档案)有关暑期工骗案的电视节目

保护你的个人资料

为保障你的个人资料私隐,向准雇主提供个人资料时,应倍加谨慎。

《个人资料好重要 保障私隐不可少─求职篇》(PDF档案)
修订日期:2016年12月