Points to Note When Changing Jobs

If you change your job, no matter it is out of your own aspiration or arising from termination of employment contract because of other reasons, including closure of business of your employer or redundancy, there are a few things you should take note of before ending your current employment and taking on a new one.

Ending an Employment Contract

In general circumstances, if you are the one who initiates the termination of the employment contract, you shall give your employer the required length of notice for the termination of your employment contract or payment in lieu of notice. Likewise, your employer needs to do the same if he/she initiates the termination of contract. Moreover, you should check whether you are eligible for any termination payments, such as end of year payment, severance payment or long service payment, etc.

Termination of Contract of EmploymentFrequently asked questions about termination of contract of employmentFrequently asked questions about end of year paymentFrequently asked questions about severance and long service payment

Managing Your Mandatory Provident Fund (MPF) Benefits

As you move on to a new job, remember to manage your MPF accrued benefits (including contributions and investment returns) in the original MPF account. You can handle the MPF accrued benefits by:

  • opening a personal account in another scheme of your own choice for continuous investment; or
  • opening a personal account in the original scheme for continuous investment; or
  • transferring the accrued benefits to your contribution account under your new employer’s MPF scheme.  

Moreover, the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority (MPFA) keeps a centralised database of scheme members' personal accounts, containing information on the number of personal accounts under a member's name and the relevant MPF scheme(s). However, account details such as account number, fund invested and account balance are not available. You can fill in request form to enquire the relevent information of your personal accounts.

Managing your MPF benefits when changing jobsRequest form for personal account details (pdf file)Request for fund transfer form (pdf file)

Filing Tax Returns

Before the termination of your employment, your employer has to submit a notification (Form I.R. 56F) to inform the Inland Revenue Department (IRD) about the cessation of your employment and your income from the company within the year of assessment. After submitting the notification, your employer should give you a copy to assist you to complete your tax return. You should ensure that the termination payments, if any, has been correctly computed and reported in the notification. You should clarify any details with your employer in case of doubt and rectify the information if necessary.

Tax information about termination payments

In addition, if you have used your previous office address as the correspondence address with IRD, you should notify IRD your new correspondence address as soon as possible so that tax returns, notices of assessment and other correspondences can reach you in time.

Ways to inform IRD of change of address

Terminating Sponsorship for Overseas Employees

If you have been issued a visa to work in Hong Kong and later quit your job, you or your company should inform the Immigration Department of the termination of sponsorship. You are not allowed to change employment or take up part time job without the permission of the Immigration Department.

Termination of Sponsorship of Overseas Employees
Last revision date: February 2016

转职须知

如你需要转职,不论是因个人意愿抑或因其他理由而须终止与现职雇主的雇佣合约,包括因公司结业或裁员,在转投新工作前,身为雇员的你需要注意下列事项。

终止雇佣合约

一般情况而言,如果终止雇佣合约的要求是由你提出,你须根据终止雇佣合约的规定,给予雇主终止合约所需的通知期或代通知金。如果终止雇佣合约的要求是由雇主提出,他亦必须遵守有关规定。此外,你应查明自己是否合资格领取终止雇佣合约的款项,例如年终酬金、遣散费或长期服务金等。

有关终止雇佣合约有关终止雇佣合约的常见问题有关年终酬金的常见问题有关遣散费及长期服务金的常见问题

管理你的强制性公积金(强积金)权益

当你转新工作时,请切记要处理原有强积金帐户内所累积的强积金权益。你可以:

  • 把强积金权益转移至新雇主为你开立的「供款帐户」; 或
  • 如你在其他强积金计划下已持有「个人帐户」,把强积金权益转移至该帐户。

如你本身并未持有任何强积金计划下的「个人帐户」及满意原有雇主所选用的强积金计划,你亦可以考虑把强积金权益保留在原有雇主的计划中,以「个人帐户」形式继续投资。你应主动联络受托人,就该帐户给予投资指示。

强制性公积金计划管理局(积金局)设有成员个人帐户资料库,载有各成员名下的个人帐户数目和有关强积金计划的资料,但资料不包括帐户号码、所投资的基金和帐户结余等详情。你可透过流动应用程序(MPFA ePA)或「个人帐户电子查询」网站(https://epa.mpfa.org.hk),随时随地查阅你的个人帐户数据。你亦可以填妥有关表格作单次查询。

转职时的强积金权益安排查阅个人帐户资料申请表格 (pdf档案)强积金计划成员资金转移申请表 (pdf档案)

填写报税表

在你离职前,你的雇主须向税务局提交通知书(I.R.表格第56F号),申报你的离职以及你于该课税年度在该公司取得的收入。你的雇主应向你提供通知书的副本,以便你填写报税表。同时,你须注意离职时所收取的款项,例如代通知金、遣散费或长期服务金等(如适用),是否正确计算及填报于通知书上。如有疑问,应与雇主澄清并修订有关资料。

离职时收取款项的税务资料

此外,如你以前属公司地址作为你的税务事项的通讯地址,你也该尽快通知税务局更改地址,以便准时收到报税表、缴税通知书及其他有关邮件。

通知税务局更改通讯地址的方法

海外雇员终止入境保证

如你获发签证来港工作,及后离职,你或你的雇主须通知入境事务处。此外,未经入境事务处许可,不得在港转换工作或从事兼职工作。

终止对海外雇员的保证
修订日期:2017年9月