Parks with Special Features and Themes

Not every park is just a park. Hong Kong has a number of parks with special themes and features, all for your enjoyment and education. This article will introduce you to the range of such parks and what you can do when you visit them.

Geological Marvels

In this busy city, it is easy to forget that we live so close to a group of internationally recognised geological marvels. The Hong Kong Global Geopark of China covers eight geo areas in Hong Kong. Conserving our unique volcanic and sedimentary rock formations and preserving diverse ecosystems, the Geopark is within easy reach from our urban centres. Why not visit the intriguing rock columns of High Island, the ancient outcrops on Wong Chuk Kok Tsui or witness the magnificent coastal landscapes of Ninepin Group, among others?

Further information on the GeoparkList of geo areas

Water Wonderlands

For those particularly interested in aquatic life, the Hong Kong Wetland Park and our marine parks are definitely worth a visit. The Wetland Park in Tin Shui Wai covers 61 hectares, encompassing a Visitor Centre and a Wetland Reserve. Visitors have the chance to see an abundance of wildlife including birds, butterflies, dragonflies, fiddler crabs and mudskippers, as well as various wetland plants in the Wetland Reserve.

Wetland Park overviewFurther information on habitats

Our Marine Parks also host a diversity of wildlife, which protect them from the threats posed by development. The Hoi Ha Wan Marine Park, for instance, is home to mangroves, fish and coral communities. The Shau Chau and Lung Kwu Chau Marine Park is rich in fisheries resources, thus is also an important habitat for the famous Chinese White Dolphin.

General information on Marine ParksInformation on public education activities and ecotours

Zoological Exhibits

A little closer to home you can see other animals in two very popular zoological gardens. The Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens is located in the Mid-levels, overlooking the Central District of Hong Kong. The Old Garden in the east contains a popular aviary, among other attractions, and the New Garden in the west houses mammals and reptiles. You will have the chance to see orangutans, gibbons, lemurs, marmosets, pythons, terrapins and tortoises – just to name a few.

More on the Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens

At Tuen Mun Park, you can encounter exotic animals. Amid the various recreation facilities, a key attraction is the Reptile House. The complex contains everything from Thai Water Dragons to Carpet Pythons and Western Painted Turtles, which makes it a must-see for reptile lovers.

General information on Tuen Mun ParkReptile House opening times

Science-focused Parks

If science is your passion, two parks are worth a visit. The first one is the Po Kong Village Road Park in Diamond Hill. It impresses bike-riding fans with its elevated cycling track and also features a Renewable Energy Zone with education panels on various renewable energy systems, an operational wind turbine power generator and a photovoltaic system.

More on the Po Kong Village Road Park

Another one is the Astropark, located within the Chong Hing Water Sports Centre at High Island Reservoir. It  will boost your interest in stargazing. Divided into an Educational Zone, a Naked-eye Observation Area and a Telescopic Observation Area, the park will bring out the amateur astronomer in you!

Astropark information

Renovated Spaces

If you are interested in seeing the beneficial results of urban redevelopment in Hong Kong, two parks are worth visiting. The Jordan Valley Park in Kwun Tong of around 6.3 hectares, developed on a former landfill site, provides a wide range of facilities for public use, including radio-controlled model car circuits, jogging tracks, a horticultural educational centre and other fitness and play facilities.

More on Jordan Valley ParkPark opening hours

In Kowloon Tong, the recently renovated Cornwall Street Park might be smaller, but its ‘virtual stream flow’ design theme is no less inviting. Installed with innovative furniture and signage, as well as chic decorative accents, the park is definitely a place to go.

Cornwall Street Park websitePark design explained

Historical and Cultural Treasures

Hong Kong is fortunate to have parks that capture many aspects of the city’s history and reflect classical Chinese culture, such as the Kowloon Walled City Park, Nan Lian Garden and Hong Kong Park. Located on the site formerly used as a garrison by imperial officials during the Qing dynasty, the Kowloon Walled City Park tells visitors the stories of Hong Kong with its former Yamen and unearthed relics. Its Jiangnan style garden provides a tranquil and relaxed environment to them.

More on the Kowloon Walled City Park

Situated above Admiralty and Central on what was once Victoria Barracks, Hong Kong Park preserves a number of garrison buildings. Among these, Flagstaff House, former residence of the British Commander in Chief, is now the Flagstaff House Museum of Tea Ware. Rawlinson house, former residence of the British Deputy Commander, is now the Cotton Tree Drive Marriage Registry. The park also features an artificial lake and waterfall, a conservatory and aviaries.

Further information on Hong Kong Park

If a more serene landscape is to your liking, Nan Lian Garden in Diamond Hill will be appealing. Managed for the Government by the Chi Lin Nunnery, the garden is in the classical style of the Tang Dynasty, with hills, rocks, water features, plants and timber structures are all used according to the Tang style and rules but harmonised with the local environment. The result is a tranquil space echoing the richness of traditional Chinese culture.

Further information on Nan Lian GardenGarden website

Pet and Bird Gardens

If you are interested in pets, there are various outdoor areas for you. Bird lovers can visit the Yuen Po Street Bird Garden in Prince Edward. Designed in the style of a traditional Chinese garden, the 3,000-square-metre setting features standard garden facilities and 70 stalls selling exotic birds and related equipment.

More on the Yuen Po Street Bird GardenYuen Po Street Bird Garden website

There are also a number of parks that you can take your pets to, such as Victoria Peak Garden, the Po Lam Sitting Out Area in Sai Kung and Kowloon Tsai Park. Dog owners will be particularly pleased to know that all districts in Hong Kong offer parks with facilities such as excreta collection bins, dog latrines and hand-washing amenities.

List of pet-friendly parks by district
Last revision date: November 2016

特色公园

香港拥有众多饶富特色的公园,让你尽情畅游、寓教育于娱乐。以下我们将为你介绍各式各样的特色公园,以及这些公园里面的精彩活动。

地质奇观

身处繁华都会,很容易令人忽略身边世界级的地质奇观。中国香港世界地质公园极具特色的地质景区分布在全港8个别具特色的地区,不仅保留了独特的火山岩和沉积岩地貌,还孕育了丰富多样的生态系统。地质公园距离市中心仅咫尺之遥,也可试试亲身游历船粮湾独特火山岩柱景观、黄竹角咀的古老岩石,或一睹果洲群岛壮丽海岛地貌景观及其他景点,领略大自然的鬼斧神工。

认识香港地质公园地质景点

水上奇景

香港湿地公园及香港海岸公园是水上动植物爱好者的必到之地。湿地公园位于天水围,占地面积61公顷,设有访客中心及湿地保护区。访客有机会在湿地保护区亲身观赏鸟类、蝴蝶、蜻蜓、招潮蟹和弹涂鱼等野生动物,以及各式各样的湿地植物。

湿地公园简介栖息地

海岸公园为各野生动植物提供栖身之所,好让牠们免受都市发展威胁。海下湾海岸公园为红树林、鱼类和珊瑚群落提供了居所;沙洲及龙鼓洲海岸公园,既拥有丰富的渔业资源,也是著名中华白海豚的重要栖息地。

海岸公园一般数据公众教育活动及生态导游资讯

动物园

在香港,离民居不远处有两大动物园,内有不同动物可供观赏,备受市民欢迎。坐落中半山,俯瞰中环的香港动植物公园设有东西两园,东面旧公园内各大园舍中,鸟类笼舍最受欢迎,而西面新公园则为哺乳类及爬行动物的主要居所。在这里可以近距离观赏猩猩、长臂猿、狐猴、绒猴、蟒蛇、水龟及陆龟等动物。

香港动植物园简介

屯门公园众多设施之中,爬虫馆是访客参观热点。访客在馆内可饱览长鬣蜥、地毡蟒、锦龟等各种奇珍异兽,是爬行类动物爱好者不容错过的景点。

屯门公园一般资讯爬虫馆开放时间

科学主题公园

如果你是科学爱好者,请不要错过下面两个公园。首先介绍的是位于钻石山的蒲岗村道公园。除了有深受单车爱好者欢迎的高架单车径,园内还设有可再生能源区,透过教育展板介绍多种可再生能源系统,并有风力发电器及光伏发电系统。

蒲岗村道公园简介

位于西贡万宜水库创兴水上活动中心的天文公园让你尽情享受观星乐趣。公园更设有天文研习区、肉眼观测区和望远镜观测区,让业余天文爱好者乐在其中!

天文公园资讯

重建空间

想了解香港都市重建进程的成果,你必定要去参观这两个公园。位于观塘区的佐敦谷公园,原址为佐敦谷堆填区,占地约6.3公顷。公园提供众多康乐设施,包括遥控模型赛车场、缓跑径、园艺教育中心和其他健身及游乐设施。

佐敦谷公园资讯公园开放时间

九龙塘歌和老街公园面积虽小,但其「城中流意」主题设计却极具魅力。别具创意的家具及标志设计,还有形态别致的座椅设施,令公园成为游人必到之处。

进一步了解歌和老街公园公园整体设计意念

历史及文化古迹

香港拥有展现中国传统文化和历史特色的公园,其中九龙寨城公园、南莲园池以及香港公园便是当中的表表者。九龙寨城公园的所在地,曾为前清戍卫营寨及英殖民驻兵要塞。园内的旧衙门和出土前朝古物都在细说着香港的渊源和典故。游人身处江南园林景致中,顿感宁谧舒泰。

九龙寨城公园的背景及资讯

香港公园位于中环和金钟之间,昔日是域多利军营所在地,园内保留了多座军营文物建筑。其中包括旗杆屋 (前三军总司令官邸,现为茶具文物馆 )和罗连信楼 (前英国驻港英军司令官邸,现为红棉路婚姻登记处 )。公园还设有人工湖、瀑布、温室和观鸟园等。

香港公园简介

如果你喜爱宁静,那么别错过钻石山的南莲园池。南莲园池由政府委托志莲净苑管理,是一座典型的唐式园林。园内的山、水、林木及木制建筑均依照唐代规模而建,造就一座展现丰富中国传统文化的静态休憩场所。

南莲园池简介更多资讯

宠物公园及雀鸟花园

如果你对宠物有兴趣,户外去处可说多不胜数。爱雀之人可逛逛位于太子道西的园圃街雀鸟花园。花园采用传统中式风格设计,占地3000平方米,设有多个标准花园设施及70家雀鸟小店,内有各种珍禽雀鸟及相关器具可供选购。

园圃街雀鸟花园简介更多资讯

有很多公园可以让你带宠物前往,例如山顶公园、西贡宝琳休憩处以及九龙仔公园。各区宠物公园设有狗粪收集箱、狗厕所和洗手设备等方便养狗人士的设施。

各区宠物公园
修订日期:2016年11月