Treatment of Married Couple under Personal Assessment

A married couple may elect for personal assessment to reduce their tax liability. Here you can find out what happens if personal assessment is elected, how personal assessment affects the carrying forward of business losses and how tax is allocated to each of the couple if they elected for personal assessment jointly.

Electing for Personal Assessment as a Couple

For the year of assessment up to 2017/18, if you are married and not living apart from your spouse, and both of you have income assessable to tax, election for personal assessment must be made by you and your spouse jointly. Separate taxation for a couple is not applicable under personal assessment for a year of assessment up to 2017/18.

From the year of assessment 2018/19 onwards, a married person may elect for personal assessment separately from or jointly with his/her spouse. If you elect for personal assessment jointly with your spouse, both of you and your spouse must have income assessable to tax. If you and your spouse are jointly assessed under Salaries Tax, election for personal assessment must be made by you and your spouse jointly.

When a married couple elect for personal assessment jointly, the total income of the individual taxpayer, as appropriately reduced, is aggregated with that of his or her spouse to arrive at the joint total income of the couple for assessment.  

Treatment of Business Losses under Personal Assessment

“Losses” in the following context means the sum of business losses incurred in the year of assessment and losses brought forward from previous years under personal assessment.

If you and your spouse have elected for personal assessment jointly and the aggregate amount of your losses and deductions exceeds your total income, such excess must first be set off against the total income of your spouse before being carried forward. The maximum amount that can be carried forward to be set off against your total income for future years of assessment is the unabsorbed losses.

Allocation of Tax Payable

If the couple elects for personal assessment jointly, normally the total tax payable is proportionally allocated to each of the couple on the basis of their respective reduced total income. A notice of assessment is issued to each of them.

Example

For the year of assessment 2018/19, the assessable profits of Mr Chan’s sole proprietorship business were $460,000. Mrs Chan received monthly rent of $10,000 from a property under mortgage. She paid mortgage interest of $56,000 during the year.

Personal Assessment Elected       

 

          $          

          $          

Business profits (Mr Chan)

 

460,000

Property income (Mrs Chan)

 

 

-Net assessable value ($10,000 x 12 x 80%)

96,000

 

-Less: Mortgage interest

56,000

40,000

Total income

 

500,000

Less: Married person’s allowance

 

264,000

Net chargeable income

 

236,000

Tax thereon (at progressive rates)

 

22,120

Less: 75% tax reduction (capped at $20,000) (Note)

 

16,590

Tax payable

 

5,530

 

 

 

Mr Chan’s share of tax payable

($5,530 x 460,000 / 500,000)

 

 

5,088

Mrs Chan’s share of tax payable

($5,530 x 40,000 / 500,000)

 

 

442

 

Mr and Mrs Chan will each receive a notice of assessment and demand for payment.

(Note) For 2018/19, 75% of the final tax payable under profits tax, salaries tax and tax under personal assessment would be waived, subject to a ceiling of $20,000 per case. Legislative amendments are required for implementing the tax measures as proposed by the Financial Secretary in the 2019-20 Budget.

Further Information

More illustrative examples on tax computation for married couple after relaxing the requirement for election of Personal Assessment.

Last revision date: May 2019
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated.
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to enquiry@1835500.gov.hk .
Thank you. Your input will only be  used to improve GovHK.
Thank you for your valuable feedback!

Thank you for using "XXXX".
Base on today’s experience, please rate the online service on all aspects below:

  1. 1.  Easiness of use
  2. 2.  Clarity of instructions
  3. 3.  Overall satisfaction

已婚人士选择个人入息课税的处理方式

已婚人士可透过选择个人入息课税,以减少税款。本文介绍夫妇二人选择个人入息课税的处理方式、个人入息课税对结转业务亏损的影响,以及夫妇二人在共同选择以个人入息课税方式评税下应缴税款的分摊方式。

在个人入息课税下夫妇二人评税的处理方式

截至2017/18课税年度,已婚且并非与配偶分居,而夫妇二人均有应予评税的入息的人士,如要选择以个人入息课税方式评税,则必须夫妇二人一同申请。夫妇分开评税在2017/18或之前的课税年度并不适用于个人入息课税。

自2018-19课税年度起,已婚人士可选择与配偶分开或共同以个人入息课税方式评税。若你及配偶共同选择以个人入息课税方式评税,则夫妇二人均须有应予评税的入息。若你及配偶是以合并方式评定薪俸税,则选择以个人入息课税方式评税,必须由夫妇二人共同申请。

已婚人士如选择与配偶共同以个人入息课税方式评税,个人的入息总额在作出适当的扣减后,须与其配偶的入息总额合计而成夫妇共同入息总额,然后评税。

 

在个人入息课税下如何处理业务亏损款额

「亏损款额」在此是指该课税年度内业务上的亏损与按个人入息课税方法计税下承前年度亏损的总和。

如你和你配偶共同选择以个人入息课税方式评税,而你的扣除款额与亏损款额的总和超出你的入息总额,该超出的款额应在抵销你配偶的入息总额后方可结转,以抵销你在未来各课税年度的入息总额,而该结转余款不应超逾你未能抵销的亏损款额。

 

应缴税款的分摊方式

夫妇二人如共同选择以个人入息课税方式评税,所评定的应缴税款,通常会根据夫妇二人在作出扣除后的入息总额按比例分摊,而他们会各自获发给评税通知书。

示例

于2018/19课税年度,陈先生独资业务的应评税利润为$460,000。陈太太从出租物业每月收取租金$10,000,并支付供楼按揭利息全年共$56,000。

如选择个人入息课税评税

  

$

$

 陈先生业务利润

 

460,000

 陈太太物业收入

 

 

 - 应评税净值($10,000 x 12 x 80%)

96,000

 

 - 减:供楼利息

56,000

40,000

 入息总额

 

500,000

 减:已婚人士免税额

 

264,000

 应课税入息实额

 

236,000

 税款(以累进税率计算)

 

22,120

 减:100 %税款宽减 ( 上限 $20,000 ) ( 注 )

 

20,000

 应缴税款

 

2,120

 

 

 

陈先生应摊缴税款

($2,120 x 460,000 / 500,000)

 

 

1,951

陈太太应摊缴税款

($2,120 x 40,000 / 500,000)

 

 

169

陈先生及陈太太会分别收到「评税及缴纳税款通知书」。

( 注 ) 2018/19年度利得税、薪俸税及个人入息课税可获宽减百分之一百的税款,每宗个案以20,000元为上限。财政司司长在2019-20年度财政预算案所建议的税务措施及在其后公布的支援措施须经立法程序才可实施。

 

相关资料

 

已婚人士在放宽选择个人入息课税的要求后,如何计算税款的示例

 

 

修订日期:2019年8月
本页内容对你有帮助吗?
欢迎输入你的意见!(可选择填写)
请注意: 此表格并非用作处理查询或投诉,如需协助,请致电(852)183 5500或电邮enquiry@1835500.gov.hk 联络24小时服务的支援中心。
多谢!你的意见只会用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
感谢您的宝贵意见!

感谢你使用「XXXX」。
请根据刚才的使用情况,就以下项目为网上服务评分:

  1. 1.  使用简易度
  2. 2.  指示清晰度
  3. 3.  整体满意度