Tax Deduction for Qualifying Premiums Paid under the Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme (VHIS) Policy

The Inland Revenue (Amendment) (No. 8) Ordinance 2018 was enacted on 9 November 2018. The amendment ordinance gives effect to a tax deduction under salaries tax and personal assessment to taxpayers who pay qualifying premiums under a Certified Plan of VHIS for themselves or their specified relatives. The deduction is applicable to a year of assessment commencing on or after 1 April 2019 (i.e. year of assessment 2019/20 onwards).

What is a VHIS Policy

An insurance policy that is in whole or in part issued under an insurance plan that is certified by the Secretary for Food and Health to be in compliance with the Government’s VHIS.

You may go to VHIS’s website for List of Certified Plans :

Qualifying Premiums

"Qualifying premiums" means the net sum of moneys that is payable under a VHIS policy to the insurer for writing or renewing the policy in so far as it relates to the insurance plan certified by the Secretary for Food and Health to be in compliance with the Government’s VHIS.

Eligibility for Deduction

From the year of assessment 2019/20 onwards, you may claim a deduction for qualifying premiums paid by you or your spouse (not being a spouse living apart) as a policy holder of a VHIS policy for an insured person.

The insured person must be yourself or your specified relative in the year of assessment and must be:

  • a HKID card holder at any time during the year of assessment; or
  • if aged under 11 and not a HKID card holder at any time during the year of assessment, his natural parent or adoptive parent must be a HKID card holder when the insured person was born or adopted.

Meaning of Specified Relative

An individual is your specified relative if the individual is, at any time during the year of assessment -

  • your spouse;
  • a parent or grandparent of you or your spouse, who is at any time during the year of assessment -
    1. aged 55 or more; or
    2. under the age of 55 but eligible to claim an allowance under the Government’s Disability Allowance Scheme;
  • a child or sibling of you or your spouse, who is at any time during the year of assessment unmarried and
  1. under the age of 18; or
  2. aged 18 or more but under the age of 25 and receiving full time education at a university, college, school or other similar educational establishment; or
  3. aged 18 or more but incapacitated for work by reason of physical or mental disability.

Amount of Allowable Deduction

  • The deduction allowable to each taxpayer for each insured person should not exceed the qualifying premiums paid or the specified maximum deduction, whichever is lower. The specified maximum deduction for the year of assessment 2019/20 onwards is $8,000.
  • There is no cap on the number of specified relatives claimed by a taxpayer. Taxpayer may claim deduction for qualifying premiums paid for the same insured person under one or more than one VHIS policy. If there are more than one policy holders for a VHIS policy, the premium paid is taken as paid by all policy holders in equal share.
  • If an insurance policy covers a Certified Plan and a life insurance plan, only the premium paid for the Certified Plan is deductible.
  • More than one taxpayers may claim deduction for the same insured person.
  • The deductible amount is net of the refunded premiums. If refund is made after taxpayer has been allowed for deduction in respect of the qualifying premiums, taxpayer must notify the Commissioner in writing within 3 months after the date of refund and despite any time limit for making an additional assessment, an assessor may make an additional assessment on the taxpayer under section 60 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance.

Penalties may be incurred if a taxpayer fails to notify the Commissioner in writing of the refund within the specified period without reasonable excuses. Fine or additional tax may be imposed in respect of the undercharged amount.

Claim of Deduction by Married Persons

Married taxpayer may claim deduction for qualifying premiums paid by him/her or spouse (not living apart), but premiums already claimed by spouse should be excluded. They must agree on how to divide the amount of deduction. If no agreement is reached, the claim would not be entertained. If deduction has already been allowed, additional assessment will be raised to withdraw the deduction allowed in consequence of such an agreement reached by the married person and the person’s spouse within a reasonable time; or their failure to reach such an agreement within a reasonable time.

How to Lodge a Claim

You may claim the deduction for qualifying premiums paid in your Tax Return – Individuals (BIR60) from the year of assessment 2019/20. If you wish to claim for the deduction after submitting the tax return, you may complete form IR831 and return it to the Department. The claim should be lodged not later than 6 years after the end of the year of assessment in which the claim relates.

Download form IR831 (pdf file)

2019/20 Provisional Salaries Tax

If you have paid/likely to pay qualifying premiums under a VHIS policy in the year of assessment 2019/20, you may complete Part 8 of the Tax Return – Individuals for year of assessment 2018/19, the claim will be considered in calculating 2019/20 Provisional Tax. If a claim for the deduction is not made in the tax return and wish to holdover the relevant provisional tax, you may lodge a holdover claim in writing or complete Form IR1121S upon receipt of notice of assessment.

More information on Holdover of Provisional Tax

Supporting Documents

When you file your tax return, you need not attach documents to support your claim. However, you should retain documentary evidence (e.g. Premium receipts and annual premium statement) for 6 years after the expiration of the relevant year of assessment for verification when required.

Further Information

More information on the Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme is available through the following links.

Last revision date: May 2019
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated.(optional)
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to enquiry@1835500.gov.hk .
Thank you. Your input will only be  used to improve GovHK.
Thank you for your valuable feedback!

Thank you for using "XXXX".
Base on today’s experience, please rate the online service on all aspects below:

  1. 1.  Easiness of use
  2. 2.  Clarity of instructions
  3. 3.  Overall satisfaction

根据自愿医保计划保单所缴付的合资格保费的扣税安排

《2018年税务(修订)(第8号)条例》在2018年11月9日刊宪成为法例。此修订条例落实纳税人为自己或指明亲属购买合资格自愿医保计划下认可产品而缴付的保费可在薪俸税和个人入息课税下获得税务扣除。此项税务扣除适用于2019年4月1日开始的课税年度(即2019/20及其后的课税年度)。

什么是自愿医保计划保单

凡签发保单所根据的保险计划,是经食物及卫生局局长核证为符合政府自愿医保计划的规定,不论该保单是全部或部分根据该保险计划所签发,该保单即自愿医保计划保单。

你可浏览载于「自愿医保」网站的认可产品的名单

合资格保费

合资格保费是指为签订或续订保单而须向保险人缴付的净款额,但以关乎经食物及卫生局局长核证为符合政府自愿医保计划所规定的保险计划的净款额为限。

扣除资格

自 2019/20 课税年度起,如你或你同住配偶根据自愿医保计划保单,以保单持有人身分为受保人缴付合资格保费,可申请有关扣除。

受保人必须为你自己或在有关课税年度内是你的指明亲属

  • 必须在该课税年度内任何时间持有香港身分证; 或
  • 在有关课税年度内有任何时间属未满11岁且未持有香港身分证,但受保人在出生时或被领养时,其生父母或养父母是香港身分证持有人。

指明亲属的定义

指明亲属指在该课税年度内有任何时间,是-

  • 你的配偶;
  • 你或你配偶的父母、祖父母或外祖父母,并在有关课税年度内有任何时间,符合以下条件:
  1. 年满55岁;或
  2. 未年满55岁,但有资格根据政府伤残津贴计划申索津贴。
  • 你或你配偶的子女或兄弟姊妹,并在有关课税年度内有任何时间,属未婚且符合以下条件:
    1. 未年满18岁;
    2. 年满18岁,但未满25岁,并在大学、学院、学校或其他相类似的教育机构接受全日制教育;或
    3. 年满18岁,但因身体上或精神上无行为能力而不能工作。

    可获容许的扣除额

    • 每名纳税人就每名受保人可获容许的扣除额不得超过实际支付的款额或指明最高扣除额,数额以较低者为准。2019/20 及其后课税年度的指明最高扣除额为8,000元。
    • 纳税人可申请的指明亲属数目不设上限。纳税人可申请扣除多于一份为同一名受保人购买的保单所缴付的合资格保费。如保单有多于一名保单持有人,所缴付的合资格保费须视为由所有保单持有人以相等份额缴付。
    • 如一份保单同时包含认可产品及人寿保险计划,只有与认可产品相关的已付保费方可获扣除。
    • 多于一名纳税人可就同一名受保人申索税务扣除。
    • 可扣除的款额须为已缴付合资格保费并扣减已退还保费的净额;如保费是在容许扣除后方获退还,纳税人须在保费退还当日之后的3个月内以书面通知税务局局长。尽管作出补加评税有时限,评税主任仍可根据《税务条例》第60条对纳税人作出补加评税。

    如纳税人在没有合理辩解的情况下,未有在指定期间内就获退还保费一事以书面通知税务局局长,税务局局长会考虑施行罚则。税务局局长会考虑向纳税人征收罚款或就少征收税款评定补加税。

    已婚人士申索扣除

    已婚纳税人可申索扣除由本人或/及其同住配偶为受保人缴付的合资格保费,但必须剔除配偶已申请扣除的同一笔款项。已婚纳税人及其配偶须就如何分摊扣除总额达成协议,如未能达成协议,申索则不会获考虑;如已获扣除,则可根据纳税人及其配偶在合理时间内达成的协议;或因他们未有在合理时间内达成协议而撤销有关扣除并作出补加评税。

    申索扣除办法

    申索扣除合资格保费可在个别人士报税表(BIR60)内提出。如你在提交报税表后才打算提出申索,你可填写并交回IR831表格。不过,此申索须在不迟于有关课税年度结束后的6年内提出。

    下载IR831表格 (pdf档案)

    2019/20暂缴薪俸税
    如你在2019/20课税年度内根据自愿医保计划保单已缴付/可能缴付合资格保费,你可将有关资料填写在2018/19课税年度个别人士报税表第8部;本局在计算2019/20暂缴税时会作出考虑。如该申索并没有在报税表内提出,而你希望缓缴有关的暂缴税,你可在收到缴税通知书后以书面或填写IR1121S表格申请缓缴2019/20暂缴税。

    更多关于申请缓缴暂缴税的资料

    证明文件

    你提交报税表时,无须提交文件证明你的申索,但须保留保费收据及年度保单结单为期6年(由有关课税年度完结起计),以备税务局查核。

    更多资料

    以下连结载有更多关于自愿医保计划的资料:

    修订日期:2019年5月
    本页内容对你有帮助吗?
    欢迎输入你的意见!(可选择填写)
    请注意: 此表格并非用作处理查询或投诉,如需协助,请致电(852)183 5500或电邮enquiry@1835500.gov.hk 联络24小时服务的支援中心。
    多谢!你的意见只会用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
    感谢您的宝贵意见!

    感谢你使用「XXXX」。
    请根据刚才的使用情况,就以下项目为网上服务评分:

    1. 1.  使用简易度
    2. 2.  指示清晰度
    3. 3.  整体满意度