Climate Change

Climate change is the defining challenge of our time, and it affects each and every one of us. Here you can learn about what climate change is, the ways in which it is occurring in Hong Kong, what the Government is doing to combat the problem, and how you can help too.

What Climate Change is

Climate change refers to the change in climate as a result of human activities that cause a change in the atmospheric composition, in addition to natural climate variability. Human activities cause increases in atmospheric concentration of greenhouse gases, mainly through burning of fossil fuels. The greenhouse gases act like a blanket in the atmosphere, trapping heat on Earth and keeping our planet warm. However, the human-induced increases in greenhouse gases have enhanced the greenhouse effect and caused the climate system to warm – a phenomenon commonly called global warming. This general rise in temperature in turn leads to a proliferation of other problems, such as more frequent heat waves and extreme rainfall events, increased global proportion of major tropical cyclones, rise of sea level, reduction in agricultural production, scarcity of water resource in certain regions, spread of disease, loss of ecological and environmental balance, etc.

Temperature trend (℃ per decade) over 1900-1980 (upper) and 1981-2020 (lower) (Image credit: IPCC AR6)

Global Warming Trend

Climate Change in Hong Kong

In line with the global trend, Hong Kong has been warming up in the last century or so. The number of hot nights is increasing while the number of cold days is decreasing. Apart from rising temperature, Hong Kong experiences more frequent heavy rain than before. The sea level is rising in Victoria Harbour.

Information about climate change and the situation in Hong Kong is available through the following links.

Climate Ready WebsiteClimate Change ImpactsMore on climate changeHong Kong’s Climate Action Plan 2050Hong Kong’s Climate Action Plan 2030+Hong Kong Climate Change Report 2015Hong Kong Roadmap on Popularisation of Electric VehiclesClean Air Plan for Hong Kong 2035Waste Blueprint for Hong Kong 2035

The Paris Agreement and Hong Kong

The Paris Agreement, which came into force on 4 November 2016, applies to the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) as well. As part of China, the HKSAR has the duty to make its contribution in order to achieve the goals of the Paris Agreement. The Paris Agreement calls upon the Parties to cooperate with the private sector, civil society, financial institutions, cities and regions in order to mobilise stronger and more ambitious climate actions in the world.

Carbon Emissions and Hong Kong

The Government has set an ambitious carbon intensity target of 65% to 70% by 2030 using 2005 as the base, which is equivalent to 26% to 36% absolute reduction and a reduction to 3.3-3.8 tonnes on a per capita basis. It is observed that Hong Kong's carbon emissions have shown a decreasing trend since 2014.

In 2021, the Government announced Hong Kong's Climate Action Plan 2050, which outlined four major decarbonisation strategies, namely “net-zero electricity generation”, “energy saving and green buildings”, “green transport” and “waste reduction”, that would lead Hong Kong towards the goal of carbon neutrality before 2050. It also sets out a more vigorous interim decarbonisation targets to reduce Hong Kong's carbon emissions by 50% before 2035 as compared to the 2005 level.

Climate Change Initiatives in Hong Kong

Net-zero Electricity Generation

Currently, about two-thirds of Hong Kong’s carbon emissions come from electricity generation.  To this end, the Government has seen to it that the two power companies use cleaner fuel for electricity generation.  While the share of coal in the local fuel mix for electricity generation has dropped significantly from one-half in 2015 to about a quarter currently,  the local fuel mix remains heavily reliant on fossil fuels such as coal (about a quarter) and natural gas (about one-half). 

As electricity generation accounts for about two-thirds of our carbon emissions, the Government has set net-zero electricity generation as one of the major decarbonisation strategies in the Hong Kong’s Climate Action Plan 2050 promulgated in October 2021.  The Government will achieve the long-term target of net-zero electricity generation before 2050 by increasing zero-carbon electricity supply through renewable energy (RE) development, and exploring new energy sources for electricity generation and regional cooperation.  Details are as follows.

The Government has pledged to cease using coal for daily electricity generation by 2035 and will only keep it for providing backup support.  Coal will be replaced by natural gas and zero-carbon energy (such as RE) for electricity generation.

The Government will strive to grapple with Hong Kong’s geographical and environmental constraints in driving the development of RE by taking the lead in installing RE systems at various buildings and facilities, and developing more advanced waste-to-energy facilities.  The Government is further considering measures to facilitate the development of RE by the private sector and reviewing with the two power companies their proposals to develop offshore wind farms.  These measures will help to meet our target to increase the share of RE in the fuel mix for electricity generation from less than 1% at present to 7.5% to 10% by 2035, and further increase it to 15% subsequently through facilitating local projects, regional cooperation and joint ventures, etc.

Moreover, the Government will explore and try out the use of different types of zero-carbon energy for electricity generation with a view to adopting them in Hong Kong when the technologies become relatively mature. The Government will also explore ways to enhance regional cooperation to increase the supply of zero-carbon energy.  The target is to increase the share of zero-carbon energy in the fuel mix for electricity generation to around 60% to 70% before 2035, and to achieve net-zero electricity generation in Hong Kong before 2050 with the support of continuous technological advancement in using zero-carbon energy for electricity generation.

Reducing Our "Carbon Footprint"

The most direct and effective method of reducing our "carbon footprint", or the extent to which our activities produce greenhouse gases, is to enhance the overall energy efficiency of our society.

Promoting Energy Saving

Being an international financial and commercial centre, the majority of Hong Kong citizens’ daily activities take place in skyscrapers.  The resulting use of air-conditioners, lifts, lighting and various electrical appliances consumes a large amount of energy.  Buildings account for about 90% of Hong Kong’s total electricity consumption, and over 60% of our carbon emissions is attributable to generating electricity for our buildings. 

The Buildings Energy Efficiency Ordinance (Cap. 610) requires four major building services installations of new buildings as well as existing buildings undergoing major retrofitting (i.e. air-conditioning, electrical, lift and escalator, and lighting installations) to comply with the energy efficiency standards and requirements specified in the Building Energy Code.

The Government also promotes various green building and energy saving measures. An example is retro-commissioning, which systematically assesses a building’s energy performance with a view to identifying improvements in operations for energy saving.

The Mandatory Energy Efficiency Labelling Scheme (MEELS) was first introduced in 2008 through the commencement of Energy Efficiency (Labelling of Products) Ordinance (Cap. 598) to facilitate consumers to choose more energy-efficient Currently, the scheme requires room air-conditioners, televisions, storage-type electric water heaters, induction cookers, refrigerating appliances, compact fluorescent lamps, washing machines and dehumidifiers to carry energy labels. The Government reviews the scope of MEELS and the grading standards from time to time.

To tie in with the sustainable and environmentally-friendly development of the Kai Tak Development (KTD), the Government is implementing a district cooling system (DCS) to serve the non-domestic facilities at the area. The DCS has commenced operation in phases since 2013. It is an energy-efficient air-conditioning system as it consumes 35% and 20% less electricity as compared with traditional air-cooled air-conditioning systems and individual water-cooled air-conditioning systems using cooling towers respectively. Due to better energy efficiency, the implementation of DCS at KTD will achieve estimated annual saving of 85 million kilowatt-hour (kWh) in electricity consumption, with a corresponding reduction of 59,500 tonnes of carbon dioxide emissions per annum. Other than this, the Government is building an additional DCS at KTD to cater for the projected increase in cooling demand.  Also, the DCS projects in Kwu Tung North New Development Area and Tung Chung New Town Extension (East) are also underway. The Government will study the feasibility of incorporating DCS in more new development and redevelopment areas, so as to promote energy efficiency and mitigate the heat island effect in the areas.

Carbon Emissions

In 2008, the Government launched a set of carbon audit guidelines for buildings. Users and managers of buildings can use the guidelines to assess the carbon emissions from their buildings, to explore room for improvement and to develop emission reduction measures so that their buildings can leave a smaller carbon footprint with less operating expenses through improving energy efficiency and waste reduction. The Government has been promoting carbon audit and taking the lead to conduct carbon audits for government buildings and public facilities. From 2017-18, bureaux and departments have started conducting regular carbon audits on major government buildings and will disclose their audit results. The Government also continues to work with the Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited to introduce and promote the website on carbon footprint repository for listed companies in Hong Kong which was launched by the Government in December 2014. As of January 2022, more than 80 listed companies participated in this carbon disclosure initiative by disclosing their carbon management information through the website. More information related to carbon audit is available through the following links.

Carbon Footprint Repository for Listed Companies in Hong KongPractical Guide on Carbon Audit and ManagementExcel Template for “Paper Approach” Carbon Audit

Using Energy-efficient Transport and Cleaner Vehicles

In terms of transportation, the Government is aware that the use of our extensive and energy-efficient public transport system and the use of cleaner vehicles can help reduce greenhouse gas emissions. It is committed to further expanding and upgrading our public transport infrastructure with an emphasis on railways, and encouraging the use of cleaner vehicles. Going forward, we will facilitate walking as well as continue to provide a safe, efficient, reliable and environment-friendly transport system with multi-modal choices that meets the community’s needs.

In recent years, the Government has been focusing on promoting new energy vehicles, as well as establishing ancillary facilities to accelerate the development of green transport in pursuit of zero-carbon transportation.  The New Energy Transport Fund (NET Fund, formerly named Pilot Green Transport Fund) was set up by the Government in March 2011 to provide subsidies for transport operators and charitable / non-profit making organisations to test green innovative transport technologies.  The scope was expanded in 2020 to support direct purchase of products of the technologies that have been proven relatively mature and suitable for local adoption. The NET Fund allocation is HK$1,100 million. The trials for electric commercial vehicles approved under the NET Fund include light goods vehicles, single-deck buses, double-deck buses, light buses, taxis, medium goods vehicles and motor cycles. In addition, they also include electric vessels and hybrid commercial vehicles, etc.

The Government in March 2021 announced the Hong Kong Roadmap on Popularisation of Electric Vehicles (the Roadmap). The Roadmap will guide Hong Kong's future direction to attain zero vehicular emissions before 2050, and forges ahead with the vision of 'Zero Carbon Emissions ‧ Clean Air ‧ Smart City'.

Adapting to Climate Change

While Hong Kong has a strong foundation in climate adaptation, we are improving the internal knowledge-sharing and coordination framework to strengthen public sector infrastructure and works programmes. We will strengthen the urban fabric and slope safety. We will also integrate drainage and flood management projects with good landscaping so as to upgrade their amenity and biodiversity value. Furthermore, by reclaiming water, recycling grey water and harvesting rainwater plus implementing desalination, Hong Kong will increase its sources of water. We will implement suitable improvement works and formulate management measures for some coastal low-lying or windy locations in order of priority to cope with sea level rise, taking into account the latest development of climate change.

Climate Change and Ecosystems

The Paris Agreement recognises the critical importance of forests as carbon sinks and specifically calls for protection of forests, as well as maintenance of ecosystems. Enhancing ecosystems and appropriate landscaping in urban areas can help to deal with climate change. We will continue to protect and enhance the country parks, and have formulated a long-term programme to promote urban forestry and ecology, which will also help to cool the city as temperature rises as a result of climate change.

Joint Hands in Combating Climate Change

The impacts of climate change and the efforts to combat climate change touch on every part of our lives. The issue of climate change can only be sufficiently addressed with wide participation from the government, different sectors of the community and individuals. To align with our country’s commitment to achieve carbon neutrality before 2060, the Chief Executive announced in the 2020 Policy Address that Hong Kong would strive to achieve carbon neutrality before 2050. The Government has set up an inter-departmental Steering Committee on Climate Change and Carbon Neutrality under the chairmanship of the Chief Executive to formulate the overall strategy and oversee the coordination of various actions.

Climate Ready @ HK

Greenhouse gas emissions make no distinction between local, national or regional boundaries, and the fight against climate change requires concerted global action. Hong Kong has always taken its international responsibilities very seriously. Hong Kong is a Steering Committee member of the C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group. This coalition of cities from different corners of the world has pledged to work hand-in-hand towards enhancing energy efficiency and reducing carbon emissions, with a view to combating climate change.

Assess My Carbon Emissions

The Government has launched the “Low Carbon Living Calculator” to help the public assess and learn how to reduce their carbon emissions in respect of clothing, food, living and commuting, thereby promoting behavioural change towards low-carbon living.

 

How You can Help Combat Climate Change

We believe that we do not have to think big to make a big impact. In Hong Kong, much can be done in our civic infrastructure and the way we live our lives to help combat climate change.

Here are some simple acts everyone can do to make a difference:

  • Switch to compact fluorescent lamps or LED lights;
  • Use energy efficient appliances (such as those with Grade 1 energy labels);
  • Turn off appliances when they are not in use;
  • Maintain temperature setting of air-conditioner at 24-26°C;
  • Use public transportation;
  • Recycle waste material as far as possible; and
  • Install a low-flow shower-head and take shorter showers.

The following links will take you to tips on what you can do to combat climate change and reduce your own "carbon footprint" at home, in the office and when you are travelling.

Tips on low-carbon livingTips on saving energyTips on green office managementTips on greener transportation
Found this page helpful?
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated. (Optional)
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to enquiry@1835500.gov.hk.
Thank you. Your input will only be used to improve GovHK.
Last revision date: June 2022

气候变化

气候变化是当前全球面对的挑战,影响着每一个人的生活。本文将介绍甚么是气候变化、气候变化对本港的影响、政府的相应对策,以及你可以如何协助解决气候危机。

什么是气候变化

气候变化,是指自然气候变化之外,人类活动引致大气组成改变所导致的气候变化。主要是因为使用化石燃料,人类活动令大气中温室气体浓度上升。温室气体就像大气中的一层覆蓋层,阻止热力离开地球,使地球保持温暖。但人为引致的温室气体增加使温室效应加剧,气候系统变暖,此现象称为全球暖化。全球暖化引起了许多问题,如热浪和极端降雨事件变得更频密、强热带气旋的比例增加、海平面上升、农业生产量下降、部分地区水资源枯竭、疾病传播,以及生态和环境失衡等。

1900-1980年(上图)和1981-2020年(下图)的温度趋势(℃/十年) (图片来源:IPCC AR6)

年全球暖化趋势

香港的气候变化

香港与全球一样,在过去百多年有变暖的趋势,当中包括热夜数目和酷热日数增加,寒冷日数减少。除了气温上升外,极端降雨事件变得越来越频繁。此外维多利亚港的海平面也逐步上升。

以下连结载有更多有关气候变化及本地情况的资料:

应对气候变化网站气候变化的影响 更多关于气候变化的资料 香港气候行动蓝图2050 香港气候行动蓝图2030+ 香港气候报告2015 香港电动车普及化路线图 香港清新空气蓝图2035 香港资源循环蓝图2035

巴黎协定与香港

《巴黎协定》已于2016年11月4日生效,并适用于香港特别行政区。香港特别行政区既为国家一部分,有责任作出贡献,以期达致《巴黎协定》所订目标。《巴黎协定》呼吁缔约方与私营部门、民间社会、金融机构、城市和地方社区合作,大力开展更有力度、更进取的气候行动。

碳排放与香港

政府订立了进取的碳强度目标,在2030年把碳强度由2005年的水平降低65%至70%,相当于26%至36%绝对减排量,以及人均排放量减至3.3至3.8公吨。香港的碳排放总量自2014年起呈现下降趋势。

政府在2021年发布了《香港气候行动蓝图2050》,以「净零发电」、「节能绿建」、「绿色运输」和「全民减废」为四大减碳策略,带领香港于2050年前迈向碳中和,并加强减碳中期目标,力争在2035年前把香港的碳排放量从2005年的水平减半。

本港应对气候变化的措施

净零发电

香港现时约三分之二的碳排放源自发电。有见及此,政府已促使两间电力公司使用更清洁的燃料发电。虽然煤在本地发电燃料组合中所占的比例已由2015年的一半大幅下降至目前的约四分之一,但是本地的燃料组合仍然侧重化石燃料,例如煤(约占四分之一)及天然气(约占一半)。

由于发电约占香港碳排放量的三分之二,政府已在 2021 年 10 月公布的《香港气候行动蓝图 2050》中将净零发电列为主要减碳策略之一。政府会透过发展可再生能源、探索新能源发电和区域合作,增加零碳电力供应,长远达至2050年前净零发电的目标。详情载述如下。

政府已承诺在 2035年或之前将不再使用煤作日常发电,只保留作后备发电用途,届时天然气和零碳能源(例如可再生能源)将取代燃煤发电。

政府会尽力克服香港地理环境限制,大力推动可再生能源发展,带头在不同建筑物和设施尽量加装可再生能源系统,并发展更多先进的转废为能设施。政府正研究更多便利私营界别发展可再生能源的措施,并与两间电力公司审视兴建其离岸风力发电场计划。这些措施将有助政府透过促进本地项目、区域合作和共同投资等,达至在 2035年或之前把可再生能源在发电燃料组合中所占的比例,由现时不多于 1%,提升至7.5%至10%,往后进一步提升至15%的目标。

除此之外,政府会探索和试验在香港使用各种零碳能源发电,在技术相对成熟的时候把握机遇引入香港,并探讨加强区域合作,增加零碳能源供应,在 2035年前提高零碳能源在发电燃料组合中所占的比例至约60%至 70%,并随着零碳能源的发电技术持续进步和提升,让香港于 2050年前达至净零发电。

减少本港的「碳足迹」

要减少本港的「碳足迹」(人类活动所产生的温室气体排放量),最直接有效的方法莫过于提高整体社会的能源效益。

推广节约能源

建香港是国际金融和商业中心,市民日常活动大部分都在高楼大厦中进行。使用冷气、电梯、电灯及各种电器会消耗大量能源。建筑物占全港用电量约90%,逾60%的碳排放来自建筑物耗能相关的电力生产。

《建筑物能源效益条例》(第610章)要求新建建筑物和实施主要装修工程的现有建筑物的主要屋宇装备装置(包括空调装置、电力装置、升降机及自动梯装置,以及照明装置),须符合《建筑物能源效益守则》的基本能源效益标准。

政府亦推动各项绿色建筑和节能措施,例如重新校验,为现有建筑物的能源效益表现进行系统性测试,以寻找运作上需要改进之处,节省能源。

政府于2008年透过实施《能源效益(产品标签)条例》(第598章)推行「强制性能源效益标签计划」,以方便市民挑选具能源效益的器具。现时,计划要求供应本港的空调机、电视机、储水式电热水器、电磁炉、冷冻器具、紧凑型荧光灯(即悭电胆)、洗衣机和抽湿机,均须贴上能源标签。当局不时检视强制性能源效益标签计划的涵盖范围和提升能源效益的评级标准。

为配合启德发展区的可持续和环保发展,政府正在该区设立区域供冷系统,为区内的非住宅设施提供冷水以作空调之用。该系统已于2013年起分阶段开始运作,是个具能源效益的空调系统,与传统气冷式空调系统和独立使用冷却塔的水冷式空调系统比较,区域供冷系统可节省分别约35%和20%的用电量。由于区域供冷系统的能源效益较高,估计在启德发展区设立区域供冷系统可每年节省高达8,500万度电,及减少排放59,500公吨二氧化碳。政府正为启德发展区新增额外的区域供冷系统,以满足区内预计增加的供冷需求。另外,政府将会在古洞北新发展区和东涌新市镇扩展(东)建设区域供冷系统。政府亦会研究在其他新发展区及再发展区加入区域供冷系统,以提升能源效益及缓解区内的热岛效应。

温室气体排放

政府于2008年推出一套建筑物碳审计指引,建筑物的使用者及管理人员可以利用该指引,评估本身建筑物的碳排放量,发掘改善的空间,并制定减排措施,透过提升能源效益和减少废物,降低建筑物的营运成本和碳排放。政府一直以来致力推动碳审计,并已带头在政府建筑物和公共设施进行碳审计。由2017-18年度开始,决策局及部门开始为主要政府建筑物定期进行碳审计,并会在碳审计完成后披露结果。同时政府亦继续与香港交易及结算所有限公司共同向上市公司介绍及推广有关政府于2014年12月推出的香港上市公司足迹资料库网站。截至2022年1月,有超过80间上市公司在网站上公开有关碳管理资料。 以下连结载有更多有关建筑物碳审计的资料:

香港上市公司碳足迹资料库 碳审计及管理实用指南碳审计范本 (只提供英文版)

使用较节省能源的交通工具及更环保的车辆

在交通运输方面,政府明白使用本港覆蓋面广及具能源效益的公共运输系统和更环保的车辆,可有助减少温室气体排放。因此,政府致力继续扩展和提升公共运输基础设施,并以铁路为骨干。未来,我们将会促进步行,同时继续提供安全、有效率、可靠及环保的运输系统,为市民提供多元的选择,以满足社会需求。

政府近年重点推广新能源车和发展配套设施,通过加快绿色运输发展,带领交通运输迈向零碳排放。政府于2011年3月设立「新能源运输基金」(前称「绿色运输试验基金」),资助运输业界和慈善/非牟利机构试验绿色创新运输技术,并于2020年扩展基金的资助范围,以直接资助购买证实相对成熟和适合在本地使用的运输技术产品,基金的拨款为11亿元。新能源运输基金已批准的电动商用车试验项目包括轻型货车、单层巴士、双层巴士、小型巴士、的士、中型货车和电单车。此外,亦包括电动船、混合动力商用车等。

政府在2021年3月发表本港首份《香港电动车普及化路线图》,引领香港在2050年前达致车辆零排放的未来路向,向『零碳排放‧清新空气‧智慧城市』的愿景迈进。

适应气候变化

香港在适应气候变化上虽然有一定的基础,但是仍须进一步改善内部资讯分享和统筹架构,从而加强公共部门基建和工程计划。我们亦须强化城市结构及斜坡安全,以及将排水及洪水管理计划与优质绿化工作结合,提升其休憩和生物多样性的价值。另外,再造水、中水重用及雨水回收,加上海水淡化,能增加香港的水源。我们亦会按优次为现时部分沿海较低洼或当风地点,推展合适的改善工程和制订管理措施,当中考虑气候变化的最新发展,以应对海平面上升。

气候变化与生态系统

《巴黎协定》确认树林作为碳汇具有非常重要的作用,并明确要求保护树林及维护生态系统。优化市区的生态系统及适当的绿化,可有助应对气候变化。我们会继续保护及优化郊野公园,并已制订长远计划,推动城市林务及生态。随着气候变化导致气温上升,这些计划亦将有助为城市降温。

携手合作应对气候变化

气候变化的影响及应对气候变化,均与我们生活息息相关。政府、社会各界及市民必需同心协力,才可以充分应对气候变化的问题。为配合国家于2060年前实现碳中和的承诺,行政长官在2020年的《施政报告》宣布香港特区将致力争取于2050年前实现碳中和,成立并亲自主持跨部门「气候变化及碳中和督导委员会」,制订整体策略和监督工作进度。

温室气体排放的问题并无地域之分,各国必须携手行动,以应对气候变化的挑战。对此,香港一直积极肩负起其国际责任。香港是C40城巿气候领袖联盟的督导委员会成员。联盟成员来自世界各地的城市,承诺携手致力提高能源效益及减少温室气体排放,以应对气候变化。

评估我的碳排放量

政府已推出「低碳生活计算机」,帮助市民评估在衣食住行四方面所产生的碳排放量,让市民了解如何减少碳排放,推动市民改变行为习惯,实践低碳生活。

低碳生活计算机

协助解决气候危机

只要我们能上下一心,从小事做起,也能为整体带来改变。在香港,我们可从公共建设及个人生活方式着手,携手改善气候变化问题。

以下是改善气候变化的一些简单方法,你我都能做到。

  • 转用悭电胆或发光二极管(LED)电灯;
  • 使用具能源效益的产品,如贴有一级能源标签的器具;
  • 关掉在不使用时的器具;
  • 把空调温度维持在摄氏24-26度;
  • 尽量使用公共交通工具;
  • 尽量把废物循环再用;及
  • 安装低流量式的花洒头和缩短淋浴时间。

以下连结载有更多关于在家居、办公室及出外时可改善气候变化及减少「碳足迹」的贴士:

减排小建议节约能源的贴士环保办公室管理的贴士环保交通系统的贴士
本页内容对你有帮助吗?
本页内容对你有帮助吗?
欢迎输入你的意见!(可选择填写)
请注意: 此表格并非用作处理查询或投诉,如需协助,请致电(852)183 5500或电邮enquiry@1835500.gov.hk 联络24小时服务的支援中心。联络24小时服务的支援中心。
多谢!你的意见只会用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
修订日期:2022年6月