Things to Know about Purchasing First-hand Residential Properties

There are certain things you have to pay attention to when purchasing a first-hand residential property, be it completed or uncompleted. This article will provide some tips for you.

Buying First-hand Residential Properties

To further enhance the transparency, fairness and consumer protection of the sales arrangements and transactions of first-hand (uncompleted and completed) residential properties, the Residential Properties (First-hand Sales) Ordinance came into effect on 29 April 2013.

Before buying first-hand residential properties, you are advised to refer to “Notes to Purchasers of First-hand Residential Properties” and other information about the Ordinance, published by the Sales of First-hand Residential Properties Authority (SRPA), which is available on www.srpa.gov.hk.  You can also refer to a centralized electronic database (www.srpe.gov.hk) maintained by the SRPA for information related to the sales brochures, price lists, and registers of transactions of individual first-hand residential developments the sale of which is subject to the Ordinance.  The SRPA has also operated a Resource Centre which is open to the public at Unit E, 31/F, E-trade Plaza, 24 Lee Chung Street, Chai Wan, Hong Kong.

For complaints and enquiries relating to the sales of first-hand residential properties which are subject to the Residential Properties (First-hand Sales) Ordinance, please contact the SRPA.

Telephone : 2817 3313
Email : enquiry_srpa@hd.gov.hk
Fax : 2219 2220

Property Area & its Surrounding

Pay attention to the area information in the sales brochure and price list, and price per square foot/metre in the price list. According to the Residential Properties (First-hand Sales) Ordinance (Cap. 621) (the Ordinance), vendors can only present the area and price of a residential property using saleable area.  Visit the development site and get to know the surroundings of the property (including transportation and community facilities).  Check town planning proposals and decisions which may affect the property. Take a look at the location plan, aerial photograph, outline zoning plan and cross-section plan that are provided in the sales brochure.  You can also go to the Statutory Planning Portal to search for planning information of a particular area.

Statutory Planning Portal

Saleable Area

Subsequent to the full implementation of the Residential Properties (First-hand Sales) Ordinance on 29 April 2013, the "Saleable Area" as defined in the Ordinance means the floor area of the residential property including the floor area of a balcony, a utility platform and a verandah, but excluding the area of an air-conditioning plant room, a bay window, a cockloft, a flat roof, a garden, a parking space, a roof, a stairhood, a terrace and a yard even it forms part of the residential property.

Detailed definitions of saleable area

Sales Brochure

The following items are some of the information that should be included in a sales brochure:

  • Information on the development
  • Information on property management
  • Location plan, aerial photograph, outline zoning plan, cross-section plan of building in the development, elevation plan and layout plan of the development
  • Floor plans and area of the residential properties in the development
  • Expected completion date of the building
  • Summary of the preliminary agreement for sale and purchase
  • Summary of Deed of Mutual Covenant
  • Summary of land grant
  • Information on public facilities and public open space
  • Warning to purchasers
  • Information on common facilities in the development
  • Fittings, finishes and appliances
  • Miscellaneous payments by purchaser
  • Defect liability warranty period
  • Maintenance of slopes

Government Lease and Deed of Mutual Covenant (DMC)

Don’t forget to read the Government Lease and the DMC (or the draft DMC) which contain important information for prospective buyers. A Government Lease states the lot number, lease term, user restrictions, etc. while a DMC includes provisions such as definition of common areas, principle of fixing management fee, ownership of the rooftop and external walls and specific rights reserved to the developer, etc. The vendor will provide copies of the Government land grant and the DMC (or the draft DMC) at the place where the sale is to take place for free inspection by prospective purchasers.

Integrated Registration Information System Online Services

Consent to Sell

The Lands Department Consent Scheme is a system put in place to regulate the sale and purchase of uncompleted buildings and to ensure orderly sale of the same. Before you purchase an uncompleted unit under the Scheme, you should:

  • seek confirmation from the developer whether a “Consent to Sell” has been issued or you can check it on the Lands Department website;
  • note that the developer or the estate agent are not allowed to receive any deposit or “reservation fee” before the developer has obtained the “Consent to Sell”.
Pre-sale Consent issued by Lands Department

Signing an Agreement

Ensure that the preliminary agreement for sale and purchase (PASP) and agreement for sale and purchase (ASP) include the mandatory provisions as required by the Ordinance.  Pay attention that fittings, finishes and appliances to be included in the sale and purchase of the property are inserted in the PASP and ASP. Pay attention to the area plan annexed to the ASP which shows the total area which the vendor is selling to you. A preliminary deposit of 5% of the purchase price is payable by you to the owner (i.e. the seller) on entering into a PASP.

If you do not execute the ASP within 5 working days after entering into the PASP, the PASP is terminated, the preliminary deposit (i.e. 5 % of the purchase price) is forfeited, and the owner (i.e. the seller) does not have any further claim against you for not executing the ASP.  The deposit should be made payable to the solicitors’ firm responsible for stakeholding purchasers’ payments for the property.

Sale and purchase of property under constructionStandard form of Agreement for Sale and Purchase

Inspecting the Unit

If you have purchased an uncompleted residential unit, you may not have the opportunity to inspect the property before signing any agreement or even the assignment. As soon as you have taken possession of the property after completion of the assignment, you have to:

  • carefully inspect its fittings, finishes and the workmanship;
  • jot down the details of all the defects and notify the developer as soon as possible.

There is usually a defect liability period of 6 months for newly completed property.

Knowledge is Everything

Knowledge and preparation are everything when buying a home. The links below will direct you to more guidance and advice on purchasing a first-hand property.

Notes to Purchasers of First-hand Residential PropertiesInquiry Hearing Cases of Estate Agents - A Selection (First-Hand Residential Properties) (pdf file)

Note: This article serves as a general guide only. In case of doubt, please refer to the relevant regulations or seek advice from the legal profession.

Last revision date: August 2017

购买一手住宅物业的注意事项

购买已落成的一手住宅物业或「楼花」,须注意哪些事项,本文提供了一些贴士。

购置一手住宅物业

为进一步提高一手(未落成及已落成)住宅物业销售安排和交易的透明度、公平性,以及对消费者的保障,《一手住宅物业销售条例》(简称「条例」)已于二零一三年四月二十九日全面实施。

你在购置一手住宅物业之前,不妨参考一手住宅物业销售监管局(销售监管局)出版的「一手住宅物业买家须知」以及有关条例的其他资讯,有关资料亦已上载销售监管局网页(网址:www.srpa.gov.hk)供阅览。

同时,你可以利用销售监管局设立的中央电子资料库(网址:www.srpe.gov.hk),阅览各个受条例规管其销售的一手住宅发展项目的售楼说明书、价单和成交纪录册。

销售监管局亦设有一个开放予公众使用的资源中心。资源中心在香港柴湾利众街24号东贸广场31楼E室。

如果你有任何受条例所规管的一手住宅物业买卖的投诉或查询,欢迎与销售监管局联络。

电话 : 2817 3313
电邮 : enquiry_srpa@hd.gov.hk
传真 : 2219 2220

物业的面积及四周环境

留意载于售楼说明书和价单内的物业面积资料,以及载于价单内的每平方呎/每平方米售价。根据《一手住宅物业销售条例》(第621章)(下称「条例」),卖方只可以实用面积表达住宅物业的面积和价格。亲临发展项目的所在地实地视察,以了解有关物业的四周环境(包括交通和社区设施);亦应查询有否任何城市规划方案和议决,会对有关的物业造成影响;参阅载于售楼说明书内的物业位置图、鸟瞰照片、分区计划大纲图,以及横截面图。你也可到「法定规划综合网站」,搜寻个别地区的规划资讯。

法定规划综合网站

实用面积

《一手住宅物业销售条例》在2013年4月29日全面实施,根据该条例,实用面积指该住宅物业的楼面面积,包括在构成该物业的一部分的范围内的以下每一项目的楼面面积:(i) 露台;(ii) 工作平台;以及(iii) 阳台。实用面积并不包括空调机房、窗台、阁楼、平台、花园、停车位、天台、梯屋、前庭或庭院的每一项目的面积,即使该些项目构成该物业的一部分的范围。

更多关于实用面积

售楼说明书

以下是售楼说明书必须提供的其中一些资料:

  • 关于发展项目的资料
  • 关于该项目的物业管理的资料
  • 该项目的所在位置图、鸟瞰照片、分区计划大纲图、建筑物的横截面图、立面图及布局图
  • 该项目中的住宅物业的楼面平面图及面积
  • 发展项目的预计落成日期
  • 临时买卖合约的撮要
  • 公契的撮要
  • 批地文件的撮要
  • 公共设施及公众休憩用地资料
  • 对买方的警告
  • 发展项目中的公用设施的资料
  • 装置、装修物料及设备
  • 买方的杂项付款
  • 欠妥之处的保养责任期
  • 斜坡维修

政府租契及大厦公契

你应详阅政府租契(又称「地契」)及大厦公契,两者包含很多实用资料。政府租契会列出:地段编号、批租期、用途限制等。大厦公契包含的条文主要有:公用地方、厘订管理费的准则、天台及外墙业权的拥有权及发展商的保留权利等。卖方会在售楼处提供政府批地文件和公契(或公契拟稿)的复本,供准买家免费阅览。

综合注册资讯系统网上服务

预售楼花同意书

「地政总署预售楼花同意方案」旨在规管未落成物业的买卖,及确保该等物业有秩序地出售。决定购买之前,你应:

  • 向发展商确定该物业是否已获得地政总署发出的「预售楼花同意书」,或查阅地政总署的网页;
  • 留意发展商及地产代理不可在发展商获发「预售楼花同意书」前,收取任何订金或「留位费」;
查阅预售楼花同意书

签署协议

确保临时买卖合约和买卖合约包含条例所规定的强制性条文。留意有关物业买卖交易所包括的装置、装修物料和设备,须在临时买卖合约和买卖合约上列明。留意夹附于买卖合约的图则,该图则会显示所有售予你的物业面积。订立临时买卖合约时,你须向拥有人(即卖方)支付楼价5%的临时订金。

如你在订立临时买卖合约后五个工作日之内,没有签立买卖合约,该临时买卖合约即告终止,有关临时订金(即楼价的5%)会被没收,而拥有人(即卖方)不得因你没有签立买卖合约而对你提出进一步申索。有关的订金,应付予负责为所涉物业担任保证金保存人的律师事务所。

更多关于买卖楼花的资讯买卖合约的标准范本(只提供英文)

验收单位

若购买「楼花」,你未必有机会在签订买卖协议前检验有关物业。物业落成后,发展商向买方交楼,其时你必须:

  • 小心检查单位的装置、装修物料及手工;
  • 详细记下单位的缺陷,尽早通知发展商。

一般新落成的楼宇会有六个月的保养责任期。

知多一点 保障多一点

事前准备充足,搜集详尽的资料,对买楼会更有保障。以下连结载有更多关于购买一手住宅物业的资料,以供参考。

短片:买一手楼,要做好准备 做个精明一手楼买家一手住宅物业买家须知 (仅提供繁体pdf档案)地产代理纪律研讯案例选辑 — 一手住宅物业 (仅提供繁体pdf档案)

注意:以上文章仅为一般指引,如有任何疑问,请查阅相关法例或征询法律意见。

覆检日期:2019年3月
本页内容对你有帮助吗?
欢迎输入你的意见!(可选择填写)
请注意: 此表格并非用作处理查询或投诉,如需协助,请致电(852)183 5500或电邮enquiry@1835500.gov.hk 联络24小时服务的支援中心。
多谢!你的意见只会用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
感谢您的宝贵意见!

感谢你使用「XXXX」。
请根据刚才的使用情况,就以下项目为网上服务评分:

  1. 1.  使用简易度
  2. 2.  指示清晰度
  3. 3.  整体满意度