Caring for Mentally Handicapped Persons

Here you can learn about the information and services the Government provides for mentally handicapped persons as well as their carers.

Support Services

The Social Welfare Department provides various support services for mentally handicapped persons aged 15 or above, including vocational rehabilitation services, care homes and community support service. It aims to help them develop their capabilities to the fullest and integrate into the community.

Services for mentally handicapped persons

There are also self-help organisations where people with mental handicap and their families can share experiences and support each other.

Self-help organisations of people with mental handicapParents / Relatives Resource Centre

Medical Support

The Mental Handicap Infirmary Services by the Hospital Authority provides integrated rehabilitative service for mentally handicapped patients with the aim of improving their self-care abilities, physical mobility and treatment of associated medical or psychiatric conditions.

More on Mental Handicap Infirmary Services

Special Education Services

Children with intellectual disability will be placed in aided special schools upon the recommendation of specialists or medical practitioners after assessment and with the consent of the parents in order to receive intensive support service.  For children with intellectual disability attending regular schools, the Education Bureau provides resources, teacher training and professional support to schools to help them adopt the Whole School Approach to catering for the needs of their students with special educational needs.

More on special education services

Financial Support

The Social Security Allowance (SSA) Scheme provides monthly allowance to citizens who are severely disabled or who are 65 years old or above with special needs arising from disability or old age. You can refer to the following link for more details.

More on SSA

Emotional Support for Carers

If you are caring for a mentally handicapped person and find yourself in enormous stress, you should not hesitate to seek professional help.

More on mental healthClinical psychological services

Equal Opportunities

Under the Disability Discrimination Ordinance, people with intellectual disabilities and their carers should not be discriminated against, harassed or vilified on the ground of the patients’ disability. You can learn about your rights through the following link.

The Disability Discrimination Ordinance and people with intellectual disabilities
Last revision date: July 2015

照顾弱智人士

本文介绍政府为弱智人士及其照顾者提供的资讯和服务。

支援服务

社会福利署为15岁或以上的弱智人士提供多项支援服务,包括职业康复服务、住宿服务和社区支援服务,旨在帮助他们尽量发展其能力,真正融入社区生活。

弱智人士服务

此外,自助组织亦让弱智人士和他们的家人与拥有类似经历的成员交流经验和互相支持。

弱智人士自助组织家长/亲属资源中心

医疗支援

医院管理局的弱智护养服务为弱智成年人士提供综合医疗护养及康复服务,务求协助弱智人士提升自理能力、身体活动机能和改善相关的医疗或精神状况。

更多有关弱智护养服务

特殊教育服务

根据现行的教育政策,教育局会按专家或医务人员的评估和建议,在家长的同意下,转介智障儿童入读由政府资助的特殊学校,以便接受加强支援服务。至于一些就读于普通学校的智障儿童,教育局建议学校采用全校参与模式的融合教育照顾他们,教育局会为这些学校提供额外津贴、教师培训和专业支援。

更多有关特殊教育服务

经济支援

公共福利金计划为严重残疾或年龄在65岁或以上的香港居民,每月提供现金津贴,以应付因残疾或年老而引致的特别需要。你可浏览以下连结了解详情。

更多有关公共福利金计划

照顾者的情绪支援

如你在照顾弱智人士,并感到备受压力,应立即寻求专业协助。

更多有关心理健康临床心理服务

平等机会

根据《残疾歧视条例》,智障人士和他们的照顾者不应因病人的残疾而遭受歧视、骚扰或中伤。你可从以下连结了解你的权益。

《残疾歧视条例》与智障人士
修订日期:2017年8月