How Social Security Benefits the Public

Financial and material help are available from the Government for needy citizens through various assistance programmes to address their basic needs.

Social Security System

The Comprehensive Social Security Assistance (CSSA) Scheme provides a safety net for those who cannot support themselves financially. It is designed to bring their income up to a prescribed level to meet their basic needs. To be eligible for assistance, an applicant must satisfy the residence requirements and pass the financial tests.

Persons aged 15 to 59 in normal health should actively seek full-time jobs and participate in the Support for Self-reliance (SFS) Scheme if they are unemployed or with monthly earnings or working hours less than the prescribed level set by the Social Welfare Department (SWD).

More on the CSSA SchemeMore on the SFS Scheme

Elderly CSSA recipients who meet the prescribed criteria and choose to retire permanently in the Guangdong or Fujian provinces can apply for the Portable CSSA (PCSSA) to continue to receive their monthly standard rate and annual long-term supplement.

More on the PCSSA Scheme

The Social Security Allowance (SSA) Scheme, which includes Old Age Allowance, Normal Disability Allowance, Higher Disability Allowance, Normal Old Age Living Allowance, Higher Old Age Living Allowance, Guangdong Scheme and Fujian Scheme, is designed to provide a monthly allowance to Hong Kong residents who are 65 years of age or above or who are severely disabled to meet special needs arising from old age or disability.  Applicants of Disability Allowance and Old Age Allowance under the Scheme are not required to go through a means test.

More on the SSA Scheme

The Criminal and Law Enforcement Injuries Compensation (CLEIC) Scheme aims to provide financial assistance to persons (or to their dependants in cases of death) who are injured as a result of a crime of violence, or by a law enforcement officer using weapon in the execution of his / her duty. The scheme is non-means-tested.

More on the CLEIC Scheme

The Traffic Accident Victims Assistance (TAVA) Scheme provides speedy financial assistance to road traffic accident victims (or to their surviving dependents in cases of death) on a non-means-tested basis, regardless of the element of fault leading to the occurrence of the accident.

More on the TAVA Scheme

Emergency Relief (ER) helps victims of natural and other disasters and also for evacuees of buildings and premises considered to be dangerous under Closure Orders by means of providing food (or cash-in-lieu of food) and relief articles. The Emergency Relief Fund is to provide prompt assistance to persons in need of urgent relief as a result of fire, typhoon, flooding or other natural disasters.

More on the ER

Fee Waiver for Medical Services

To ensure that all citizens can receive essential medical care, the Government has designed a system of fee waiver for medical services. All CSSA recipients are eligible for the scheme and non-CSSA recipients can apply for a fee waiver if they are:  

  • low income earners;
  • chronically ill patients and elderly patients who have little income and few assets.

Applications can be made to:

  • the medical social services unit of the public hospital or clinic; or
  • the Integrated Family Service Centres or Family & Child Protective Services Unit of the SWD.

The Medical Social Workers / Social Workers would assess the application with due consideration to the financial, social and medical condition of the applicants on a household basis.

More on the Fee Waiver Mechanism
Found this page helpful?
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated. (Optional)
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to enquiry@1835500.gov.hk.
Thank you. Your input will only be used to improve GovHK.
Last revision date: November 2022

社会保障如何协助市民大众

香港政府推出了多项援助计划,为有需要的市民提供经济和物质上的支援,保障他们的基本生活。

社会保障制度

综合社会保障援助(综援)计划的目的,是以入息补助方法,为那些在经济上无法自给的人士提供安全网,使他们的入息达到一定水平,以应付生活上的基本需要。

要符合资格申领综援,申请人必须符合居港规定及通过经济状况审查。

15⾄59岁⾝体健康正常的申请⼈,如失业或每⽉从⼯作中所赚取的收入或⼯作时数少于社会褔利署(社署)所定标准,必须积极地寻找全职工作及参加自力更生支援计划

更多关于综援计划的资料更多关于自力更生支援计划的资料

符合资格而选择到广东或福建省养老的综援受助长者,可申请综援长者广东及福建省养老计划,以继续领取每月的标准金额及每年一次的长期个案补助金。

更多关于综援长者广东及福建省养老计划的资料

公共福利金计划提供高龄津贴,普通伤残津贴,高额伤残津贴,普通长者生活津贴,高额长者生活津贴,广东计划及福建计划,目的是为年龄在65岁或以上或严重残疾的香港居民 ,每月提供现金津贴,以应付因年老或严重残疾而引致的特别需要。申请本计划下的伤残津贴及高龄津贴的人士均无须接受经济状况调查。

更多关于公共福利金计划的资料

暴力及执法伤亡赔偿计划的目的是提供经济援助给因暴力罪行或因执法人员使用武器执行职务以致受伤的人士或这些人士的受养人(如受害人因伤死亡)。申请人无须通过经济审查。

更多关于暴力及执法伤亡赔偿计划的资料

交通意外伤亡援助计划的目的是向道路交通意外受害人士,或这些人士的受养人(如受害人因伤死亡)迅速提供经济援助。此计划无须考虑受惠人的经济状况,或有关交通意外是因谁人的过失而造成。

更多关于交通意外伤亡援助计划的资料

紧急救济是为天灾或其他不幸事故的灾民,及因楼宇成为危楼而遭发出封闭令以致被着令撤离家园的受影响人士提供食物(或现金代替膳食)及救济物品。紧急救援基金旨在提供现金援助给因火灾、台风、水灾或其他自然灾害而需要紧急救援的人士。

更多关于紧急救济的资料

医疗服务费用减免

为确保所有市民都能得到必要的医疗照顾,政府特别订定一套医疗费用豁免机制。所有领取综援的人士,均有资格获豁免医疗服务收费;其他有经济困难人士亦可申请减免缴费,包括:

  • 收入不足人士;或
  • 低资产的非综援受助人,包括长期病患者及贫困年长病人。

病人如要提出申请,可联络:

  • 公共医院或诊所的医务社会服务部;或
  • 社署的综合家庭服务中心或保护家庭及儿童服务课。

医务社工或社署社工在审核申请时,会详细评估申请人的家庭经济、社会环境和医疗状况。

更多关于医疗费用减免机制的资料
本页内容对你有帮助吗?
本页内容对你有帮助吗?
欢迎输入你的意见!(可选择填写)
请注意: 此表格并非用作处理查询或投诉,如需协助,请致电(852)183 5500或电邮enquiry@1835500.gov.hk 联络24小时服务的支援中心。联络24小时服务的支援中心。
多谢!你的意见只会用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
修订日期:2022年11月
政府、法律及治安网页意见调查关闭按钮 政府、法律及治安网页意见调查