Municipal Solid Waste Charging

In line with the "polluter-pays" principle, charges are based on the quantity of waste generated, so that people become more aware that waste disposal comes at a cost. Quantity-based waste charging aims to create financial incentives to drive behavioural changes in waste generation and hence reduce overall waste disposal. With reference to the experiences of other major cities, municipal solid waste (MSW) charging is an effective tool to achieve waste reduction. In connection with the implementation of MSW charging in Hong Kong, the Waste Disposal (Charging For Municipal Solid Waste) (Amendment) Bill 2018 was introduced to the Legislative Council for scrutiny on 14 November 2018.

Need for MSW Charging

In 2017, the daily disposal of MSW at landfills has reached 1.45 kg/person. This is higher than those of other major cities and brings about huge burden to landfills. To combat global climate change, it is imperative to promote resources saving as well as waste reduction and recycling in order to reduce carbon emissions and facilitate a transformation to low-carbon living. MSW charging is the centre of our overall waste reduction strategy. It provides the necessary financial incentives to drive behavioural and cultural changes, and to encourage different sectors of the community to cherish resources and proactively practise waste reduction at source as well as clean recycling, thus reducing overall waste disposal.

Two charging modes

Built upon the existing MSW collection and disposal system, MSW charges are proposed to be levied through the following two modes:

Charging by designated garbage bags/designated labels

For MSW collected by the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (FEHD) through refuse collection vehicles, refuse collection points (RCPs) and bin sites, as well as MSW collected by private waste collectors (PWCs) using refuse collection vehicles with rear compactors (RCVs), charging will be imposed through requiring the use of pre-paid designated garbage bags. The MSW will have to be properly wrapped in the designated garbage bags before disposal. The per-litre charge for designated garbage bags is proposed to be set at $0.11 for the first three years of implementation. The designated garbage bags will be of nine different sizes from 3-litre up to 100-litre to cater for the need of different users.

Charging for oversized waste collected by the FEHD that cannot be wrapped into a designated garbage bag will be imposed through requiring the oversized waste to be affixed with a designated label before disposal. A uniform rate of $11 per piece will be charged.

Designated garbage bags and designated labels could be purchased at over 4000 sales points (e.g. supermarkets, convenience stores, post offices, personal care products stores, gas stations, etc.), supplemented by some vending machines.

Charging by weight-based “gate-fee”

For MSW collected by PWCs using waste collection vehicles without compactors, a “gate-fee” will be charged based on the weight of MSW disposed of at the waste disposal facilities, i.e. landfills or refuse transfer stations (RTSs).

Publicity and education

As revealed in the experiences of other cities, public education, publicity and engagement hold the key to the successful implementation of MSW charging. Our campaign efforts will be guided by three principles:

  1. a sustainable and extensive public education campaign targeted at the general public and specific groups (such as students and youngsters) under the theme of “Dump Less, Save More”;
  2. provision of first-hand experience of how MSW charging is implemented through the successive launches of setting-specific community engagement projects as well as close partnership and collaboration with government departments and stakeholder groups such as the Environmental Campaign Committee (ECC), DCs and village representatives, green groups and schools in launching activities; and
  3. provision of direct, on-site and in-person assistance through outreaching efforts.

Enhanced support for waste reduction and recycling

It has been announced in the 2018 Policy Address that the Government will provide additional recurrent resources to enhance waste reduction and recycling, with an additional provision of around $300-400 million for the financial year (FY) 2019-20 to start with, which would be further increased to no less than $800-1,000 million from the FY when MSW charging is to be implemented. The amount of this annual provision would be commensurate with the estimated gross revenue to be generated from MSW charging in the initial period so as to achieve the effect of “dedicated-fund-for-dedicated-use”.

The additional resources can be used to fund various waste reduction and recycling initiatives, including (a) the setting up of outreaching teams under Environment Protection Department (EPD) to provide on-site assistance to the community, thereby putting waste reduction and recycling and MSW charging into practice; (b) regularisation of funding support for Community Recycling Centres (CRCs); (c) provision of free territory-wide collection service in respect of waste plastics from non-commercial and industrial sources and food waste from all sources in the longer run subject to the experiences gained from the pilot schemes and the progress of developing food waste recovery centres in Hong Kong; and (d) implementation of a pilot scheme to assess the effectiveness of applying reverse vending machines (RVMs) in promoting the recycling of plastic beverage containers.

Enforcement

A six months’ phasing-in period will be put in place after the commencement of MSW charging. During this period, warnings will be issued to non-compliant cases and enforcement actions would be taken in case the nature and magnitude of the offence calls for enforcement. After the phasing-in period, strict enforcement actions will be taken on a risk-based approach, with particular attention given to black spots. Fixed penalty tickets at $1,500 each will be issued to offenders intercepted on the spots, and prosecution by way of summons will also be taken against serious and repeated offenders. The frontline staff of FEHD and PWCs will reject any waste that have not been properly wrapped in designated garbage bags or affixed with designated labels. A dedicated hotline would be set up by EPD to answer enquiries and to accept complaints and reports on non-compliance.

For details, please visit https://www.mswcharging.gov.hk
Last review date: March 2019
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated.(optional)
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to enquiry@1835500.gov.hk .
Thank you. Your input will only be  used to improve GovHK.
Thank you for your valuable feedback!

Thank you for using "XXXX".
Base on today’s experience, please rate the online service on all aspects below:

  1. 1.  Easiness of use
  2. 2.  Clarity of instructions
  3. 3.  Overall satisfaction

都市固体废物收费

按「污染者自付」原则,对产生的废物按量征费,改变大家以为丢弃垃圾不用成本的观念。废物按量收费旨在带来经济诱因,推动各界改变产生废物的行为,从而减少整体废物弃置量。根据其他大城市的经验,「都市固体废物收费」可以有效推动减废。为配合废物收费在香港实施,《2018年废物处置(都市固体废物收费)(修订)条例草案》已于二零一八年十一月十四日提交立法会审议。

实施都市固体废物收费的需要

二零一七年,堆填区的都市固体废物人均弃置量达每日 1.45 公斤,这较其他大城市为高,为堆填区带来沉重负担。在全球气候变化的情况下,推动各项惜物减废和支援回收的工作,以减少碳排放及实践低碳转型,实在刻不容缓。引入都市固体废物收费制度是我们减废政策的重点工具,推动行为改变,鼓励社会各界珍惜资源,实践源头减废及干净回收,减少整体废物弃置量。

两种收费模式

按现行的都市固体废物收集及处置制度,政府建议都市固体废物收费按以下两种模式征收:

按指定垃圾袋/指定标签收费

由食物环境衞生署(食环署)透过 其垃圾收集车、垃圾收集站和垃圾桶站收集的都市固体废物,以及由私营废物收集商(私营收集商)利用配备压缩系统的废物收集车辆(垃圾车)收集的都市固体废物,将以预缴式指定垃圾袋收费。这些都市固体废物必须以指定垃圾袋包妥,方可弃置。在都市固体废物收费实施的首三年,指定垃圾袋的收费建议定为每公升0.11元。指定垃圾袋有九种不同大小,容量介乎3公升至100公升,以配合不同使用者的需要。

由食环署收集但无法以指定垃圾袋包妥的大型废物,市民须于弃置前贴上指定标签,以缴付费用,每件划一收费11元。

指定垃圾袋及指定标签可在超过4000个销售点 (如超级市场、便利店、邮局、个人护理产品店、油站等) 购买,并设有自动售卖机。

按废物重量征收「入闸费」

由私营收集商利用其他无配备压缩系统的废物收集车辆(即非垃圾车)收集和弃置的都市固体废物,将按弃置于废物处置设施(即堆填区或废物转运站)的废物重量,征收入闸费。

宣传教育

其他城市的经验显示,都市固体废物收费落实的关键在于公众教育、宣传及鼓励持份者的参与。我们将按三项原则进行宣传及公众教育工作,包括:

  1. 以「揼少啲、悭多啲」为题,推展可持续及广泛的公众教育运动,对象为普罗大众和特定群组(例如学生与年青人);
  2. 接连开展按特定环 境进行的社区参与项目,让相关各方亲身体验如何实施都市固体废物收费;以及伙拍政府各部门和环境运动委员会(环运会)、区议会及村代表、环保团体、学校等持份者紧密协作,共同推展活动;以及
  3. 由外展队亲身提供直接在地协助。

加强减废及回收支援

二零一八年《施政报告》公布政府将提供额外恒常资源用作加强减废及回收工作,在二零一九至二零财政年度先增拨约3至4亿元,并在都市固体废物收费实施的财政年度起进一步增加拨款至不少于8至10亿元。这项每年拨款的数额与我们估算的都市固体废物初期收费总收入相若,将达致「专款专用」的效果。

额外资源可用于推动不同的减废及回收措施,当中包括(a)在环境保护署(环保署)设立外展队,为全港市民提供在地协助,以实践减废回收和落实都市固体废物收费;(b)为社区回收中心提供常规化拨款;(c)视乎将推出的先导计划的经验及香港发展厨余处理回收中心的进程而最终在全港为非工商业废塑胶及各界别厨余提供免费收集服务;以及(d)推行应用逆向自动售货机先导计划以评估其推动 回收废塑胶饮料容器的成效。

执法工作

都市固体废物收费生效后首六个月为「适应期」。在「适应期」内,我们主要会对违例个案发出警告,但仍会对性质及程度严重的违例行为采取执法行动。在「适应期」后,我们会以风险为本模式针对「违法黑点」采取严厉执法行动。我们会向在涉事现场截获的违例者发出1,500元的定额罚款通知书,亦会以传票方式向严重及屡次违例者采取检控行动。食环署及私营收集商的前线人员会拒收没有用指定垃圾袋包妥,或没有贴上指定标签的废物。环保署会就此设立热线,以解答市民的查询及接收违例投诉及举报。

想了解更多,请浏览 https://www.mswcharging.gov.hk
覆检日期:2019年3月
本页内容对你有帮助吗?
欢迎输入你的意见!(可选择填写)
请注意: 此表格并非用作处理查询或投诉,如需协助,请致电(852)183 5500或电邮enquiry@1835500.gov.hk 联络24小时服务的支援中心。
多谢!你的意见只会用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
感谢您的宝贵意见!

感谢你使用「XXXX」。
请根据刚才的使用情况,就以下项目为网上服务评分:

  1. 1.  使用简易度
  2. 2.  指示清晰度
  3. 3.  整体满意度