The Natural Environment, Plants & Animals in Hong Kong

Hong Kong's rich biodiversity is both the advantage of its location and wise management of resources. Here you can learn more about the natural environment of Hong Kong, the species within its borders, informative websites maintained by Government departments, and the Hong Kong biodiversity database.

The Natural Environment, Plants and Animals

Although renowned as a compact urban centre, Hong Kong has thousands of square kilometres of rugged coastline, mountain ranges and country parks. So not surprisingly it is home to an impressive range of wildlife. Straddling the transition zone between the tropics and the temperate region, its biodiversity is greater than usually found in such a small area. Almost 3,000 species of flowering plants, 55 species of terrestrial mammals, over 100 species of amphibians and reptiles, 200 species of freshwater fish, 128 dragonfly and 245 butterfly species make their homes here. With over 550 species recorded, Hong Kong also boasts one third of the total bird species in China. Humans are only a small part of the environment, but we need to do what we can to protect the rest.

More on Hong Kong's natural environment

Butterflies in Hong Kong's Urban Parks

A particular aspect of Hong Kong's environment that is attracting more attention all of the time is the large variety of butterfly species in our urban parks. In the urban parks alone approximately 50 species of butterflies have been recorded. That means you don't have to travel far to see the best of nature on offer. The Leisure and Cultural Services Department maintains a dedicated website on butterflies in Hong Kong's urban parks. You will be able to find information on specific habitats and species, what food they eat and how to watch them.

More on butterflies in Hong Kong's urban parks

Hong Kong Biodiversity Online

Hong Kong Biodiversity Online is an initiative of the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conversation Department that contains detailed information on the animal and plant species in Hong Kong, categorised into mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, freshwater fish, butterflies, dragonflies, plants and mangrove fauna. Each section provides an introduction to the category and how prevalent it is. There is information about respective conservation measures and tips and codes for observation. The Department also publishes an informative biodiversity newsletter that is available on the site.

Hong Kong Biodiversity OnlineBack issues of the biodiversity newsletter

Hong Kong Biodiversity Database

Incorporated into Hong Kong Biodiversity Online is the Hong Kong Biodiversity Database. If you are interested in a particular animal or plant species in Hong Kong you can use the Database to search for information on its taxonomy, conservation status, and local and global distribution. You can also search specifically for endangered local species. Photos are made available where possible.

Hong Kong Biodiversity Database
Found this page helpful?
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated.(optional)
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to [email protected].
Thank you. Your input will only be  used to improve GovHK.
Last review date: December 2019

香港的自然环境及动植物物种

优越的地理位置加上资源的妥善管理,使香港能够享有丰富的生物多样性。本文将介绍更多关于香港自然环境的资料、香港的动植物品种、提供相关资讯的政府网页以及香港生物多样性数据库。

自然环境及动植物物种

香港虽然人烟稠密但仍拥有数以千计平方公里的海岸线、绵延的山脉以及风景怡人的郊野公园。这些都让香港成为多种野生生物栖息和生长的理想地方。香港同时位处热带及温带之间,所以令这细小的地方能够拥有丰富的生物种类。市民可在香港找到差不多 3,000 种开花植物、55种陆栖哺乳动物、超过100种两栖和爬行动物、200种淡水鱼、128 种蜻蜓、245 种蝴蝶,以及超过550种鸟类,相当于全中国三分之一的鸟类物种。作为大自然的其中一员,我们有责任保护自然环境。

关于香港自然生态的详情

香港市区公园的蝴蝶

在香港市区公园可找到的蝴蝶,种类繁多,是本港环境的其中一项特色。在香港市区公园,曾记录得约50 种的蝴蝶,令你毋须长途跋涉,也能欣赏到大自然最美丽的一面!康乐及文化事务署设有专题网页,为市民提供香港市区公园的蝴蝶的资料,包括牠们的栖息环境、物种的资料、食物,以及观赏方法等。

有关香港市区公园的蝴蝶的详情

香港生物多样性网页

渔农自然护理署设立的香港生物多样性网页,提供了详尽的香港动植物物种资料,资料按物种分类为哺乳类、鸟类、爬行类、两栖类、淡水鱼类、蝴蝶、蜻蜓、植物及红树林栖息的动物。你可在那里找到不同物种的简介、在本港的普遍程度、保育措施,以及观察须知和守则。你亦可在以下网页下载渔护署出版的《香港物种探索》,以了解更多关于香港物种的资讯。

香港生物多样性网页《香港物种探索》期刊

香港生物数据库

香港生物多样性网页中还包括一个香港生物数据库。你若对某些能在香港找到的动植物有兴趣,你可以利用该数据库搜寻有关物种的分类资料、保育状况、以及它们在本地及全球的分布范围。此外,你亦可在数据库找到香港濒危物种的资料。数据库亦有提供大部份物种的相片,资料非常丰富。

香港生物数据库
本页内容对你有帮助吗?
Found this page helpful?
欢迎输入你的意见!(可选择填写)
请注意: 此表格并非用作处理查询或投诉,如需协助,请致电(852)183 5500或电邮[email protected] 联络24小时服务的支援中心。
多谢!你的意见只会用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
覆检日期:2019年12月
运输及驾驶事务网页问卷调查关闭按钮运输及驾驶事务网页问卷调查
税务及应课税品网页意见调查关闭按钮税务及应课税品网页意见调查