Heritage and Museums

Hong Kong’s rich cultural heritage is being preserved for the education and benefit of all. This article provides information on heritage conservation efforts, heritage activities you can enjoy, online resources, the museums managed by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) and efforts to safeguard our intangible cultural heritage.

Heritage Conservation

It is the Government’s policy to protect, conserve and revitalise as appropriate historical and heritage sites and buildings through relevant and sustainable approaches for the benefit and enjoyment of present and future generations. In implementing this policy, due regard should be given to development needs in the public interest, respect for private property rights, budgetary considerations, cross-sector collaboration and active engagement of stakeholders and the general public.

For more information, you can visit the website of the Commissioner for Heritage’s Office -

Heritage’s Office

Heritage Activities

The best way to experience Hong Kong’s built heritage is to get out and see it. There are three main ways to do this.

Heritage Trails and Heritage Hiking Routes

If you are keen to tour our heritage areas, a number of heritage trails will allow you to visit key monuments or historic sites in all districts. There are five main trails for you to enjoy:

  1. Central and Western Heritage Trail
    1. Central Route
    2. Sheung Wan Route
    3. Western District and Peak Route
  2. Lung Yeuk Tau Heritage Trail
  3. Ping Shan Heritage Trail
  4. Tai Tam Waterworks Heritage Trail
  5. Wan Chai Heritage Trail
More on main heritage trails in Hong Kong

You can also head out further into the countryside and experience the heritage hiking routes of the New Territories:

List of heritage hiking routes in the New Territories

Hong Kong Heritage Discovery Centre

Hong Kong Heritage Discovery Centre

For a convenient and educational overview of Hong Kong’s heritage treasures, you can visit the Hong Kong Heritage Discovery Centre. Occupying part of the former Whitfield Barracks in Kowloon Park, the Centre offers thematic exhibitions, lectures, educational activities and a reference library, all at no charge.

Hong Kong Heritage Discovery Centre

Ping Shan Tang Clan Gallery cum Heritage Trail Visitors Centre

Ping Shan Tang Clan Gallery cum Heritage Trail Visitors Centre

As one of Hong Kong’s longest settled areas, Ping Shan in the Yuen Long district houses a wealth of heritage sites. The Ping Shan Tang Clan Gallery cum Heritage Trail Visitors Centre is the focal point of the Ping Shan Heritage Trail that links these sites. It also hosts thematic exhibitions and houses relics from the Tang Clan, one of the major clans in the New Territories since the 12th century. Admission to the Centre is free.

Ping Shan Tang Clan Gallery cum Heritage Trail Visitors Centre

More Heritage Activities

You may also find more heritage activities at the website of the Commissioner for Heritage’s Office -

Heritage’s Office – activities

Online Resources

Heritage-related resources are also available online. With the Virtual Heritage Explorer, you can take an online tour of Hong Kong’s historical buildings, experience a 360o walkthrough of every site and read about the features of each building.

Virtual Heritage Explorer

Also available online is the Hong Kong Traditional Chinese Architectural Information System. This database contains text, drawings and images of representative traditional Chinese buildings and villages in Hong Kong. The building types covered include temples, ancestral halls, study halls and houses.

Hong Kong Traditional Chinese Architectural Information System

Museums

The LCSD manages a number of museums, offering a composite picture of Hong Kong’s art, cultural, historical and natural heritage. Each of the museums under LCSD management has different characteristics and objectives. Together, they provide ideal environments for the conservation and display of collections and large-scale exhibitions. Also on offer are activities such as lectures, classes, film shows, guided tours, demonstrations, workshops and travelling exhibitions. Some of the museums have facilities for hire.

Dr Sun Yat-sen MuseumFireboat Alexander Grantham Exhibition GalleryFlagstaff House Museum of Tea WareHong Kong Film ArchiveHong Kong Heritage MuseumHong Kong Museum of ArtHong Kong Museum of Coastal DefenceHong Kong Museum of HistoryHong Kong Railway MuseumHong Kong Science MuseumHong Kong Space MuseumHong Kong Visual Arts CentreLaw Uk Folk MuseumLei Cheng Uk Han Tomb MuseumOi!Sam Tung Uk MuseumSheung Yiu Folk Museum

Other Museums

Museums not under LCSD management also offer interesting exhibitions and valuable resources. The following should be of particular interest:

Art Museum, the Chinese University of Hong KongCity GalleryDr. & Mrs. Hung Hin Shiu Museum of Chinese Medicine, Hong Kong Baptist UniversityExchange Exhibition HallHong Kong Correctional Service MuseumHong Kong Maritime MuseumHong Kong Museum of Education, The Hong Kong Institute of EducationLions Nature Education CentreMuseum of Ethnology (Available in Chinese only)Museum of Medical SciencesPo Leung Kuk MuseumPolice MuseumThe Hong Kong Racing MuseumThe Stephen Hui Geological Museum, Department of Earth Sciences, The University of Hong KongTung Wah MuseumUniversity Museum and Art Gallery, the University of Hong Kong

Exhibitions

Hong Kong’s museums offer a wide range of permanent exhibitions, with something on display sure to please you. Large-scale thematic exhibitions are also held year round to add variety. The aim is to develop interest in and a better understanding of arts, science, technology, astronomy, archaeology and Hong Kong's history and culture. A menu of the latest exhibitions is available through the following link.

Museum exhibitions

Intangible Cultural Heritage

In 2006, the Hong Kong Heritage Museum established an Intangible Cultural Heritage Unit (ICHU) to fulfil Hong Kong’s obligations under UNESCO’s Convention for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage applied to Hong Kong since November 2004. The ICHU has initiated activities aimed at identifying and enhancing the promotion and preservation of Hong Kong’s intangible cultural heritage.

Intangible Cultural Heritage
Last revision date: September 2017

历史文物和博物馆

香港正在保育丰富的历史文物,以寻求达到教育和整体利益的目的。本文介绍香港保育文物的工作、市民可以参与的文物活动、网上资源、由康乐及文化事务署管理的博物馆,以及保护本港非物质文化遗产的工作。

历史文物的保育

政府致力于以适切及可持续的方式,因应实际情况对历史和文物建筑及地点加以保护、保存和活化更新,让我们这一代和后代均可受惠共享。在落实这项政策时,应充分顾及关乎公众利益的发展需要、尊重私有产权、财政考虑、跨界别合作,以及持份者和社会大众的积极参与。

 

关于本港文物保育的资料,请浏览文物保育专员办事处网站:

文物保育专员办事处

文物活动

体验香港文物之美的最佳方法,当然是亲身感受。途径主要有以下三个。

文物径和文物远足径

如果你对本港的文物地区感兴趣的话,可以沿着一些文物径参观各区的主要纪念建筑和历史遗址。香港有五条主要的文物径:

  1. 中西区文物径
    1. 中区线
    2. 上环线
    3. 西区及山顶线
  2. 龙跃头文物径
  3. 屏山文物径
  4. 大潭水务文物径
  5. 湾仔历史文物径
更多有关香港主要文物径

你也可以沿着新界几个郊野公园的一些文物远足径感受那里的历史气氛。

位于新界的文物远足径

香港文物探知馆

香港文物探知馆

如要便捷地探求关于本港的文化宝藏的教育性概览资料,香港文物探知馆确实是一个好地方。该馆位于九龙公园前威菲路军营原址,经常举办免费专题展览、演讲及教育活动。馆内还有一所参考图书馆供市民免费使用。

香港文物探知馆

屏山邓族文物馆暨文物径访客中心

屏山邓族文物馆暨文物径访客中心

元朗屏山是本港人类聚居历史最悠久的地区之一,故文物古迹非常丰富。屏山文物径将多个文物古迹连成一线,屏山邓族文物馆暨文物径访客中心则是这文物径的一个焦点。该馆经常举办专题展览,并展出自十二世纪已在当地定居的新界其中一大氏族邓族的多项文物。市民可免费入场参观。

屏山邓族文物馆暨文物径访客中心

更多文物活动

你可以在文物保育专员办事处网站,找到更多的文物活动:

文物保育专员办事处 – 文物活动

网上资源

你可在网上找寻到文物相关资料。使用虚拟文物探索功能,可以在网上游览香港的历史建筑,360度漫步每一文物场所,细阅关于每一幢建筑物的特色的资料。

虚拟文物探索

你也可以在网上浏览香港传统中式建筑资讯系统。这个资料库载有关于具备代表性的香港传统中式建筑和乡村的论述、绘图和照片。有关建筑物种类包括庙宇、祠堂、书塾、房屋等等。

香港传统中式建筑资讯系统

博物馆

康乐及文化事务署管理多所博物馆,向公众展示香港的艺术、文化、历史和自然遗产。由康文署管辖的博物馆各具不同特色和宗旨。各所博物馆为藏品的保育和展示以及为举行大型展览提供十分理想的环境。除此之外,各所博物馆也举办讲座、学习班、影片展、导赏团、示范、工作坊、巡回展览等不同活动。其中一些博物馆还有供市民租用的设施。

孙中山纪念馆葛亮洪号灭火轮展览馆茶具文物馆香港电影资料馆香港文化博物馆香港艺术馆香港海防博物馆香港历史博物馆香港铁路博物馆香港科学馆香港太空馆香港视觉艺术中心罗屋民俗馆李郑屋汉墓博物馆油街实现三栋屋博物馆上窰民俗文物馆

其他博物馆

一些并非由康文署管辖的博物馆也会举办特色展览和提供宝贵的参考资源。以下是一些富有特色的博物馆:

香港中文大学中国文化研究所文物馆展城馆香港浸会大学孔宪绍博士伉俪中医药博物馆香港交易所展览馆香港惩教博物馆香港海事博物馆香港教育博物馆狮子会自然教育中心人类民俗馆香港医学博物馆保良局历史博物馆警察博物馆香港赛马博物馆香港大学许士芬地质博物馆东华三院文物馆香港大学美术博物馆

展览

香港的各所博物馆举办形形色色的常设展览,市民大众必能找到自己的兴趣所在。此外,一年之中,还会举行数次大型专题展览。其宗旨是培养市民对艺术、科学、科技、天文、考古、本港历史及文化等各方面的兴趣和加深这方面的了解。以下连结显示最新展览活动。

各所博物馆举办之展览

非物质文化遗产

随着联合国教育、科学及文化组织《保护非物质文化遗产公约》在2004年11月在本港生效,香港文化博物馆在2006年成立了非物质文化遗产组,以协助香港履行在该公约下的义务。非物质文化遗产组已经展开了一些活动,旨在认定香港的非物质文化遗产,并促进其保育工作。

非物质文化遗产
修订日期:2017年11月