How to Lodge a Claim for an Allowance

You can claim an allowance on your tax return for the current year of assessment.  If you omit to lodge a claim, you can do so afterwards. This article provides information on how to lodge claims in both circumstances.

Claims in the Current Year of Assessment

Claims for all allowances (except the basic allowance) should be made in Part 9 of the Tax Return – Individuals (BIR60). Although you are not required to provide evidence together with the tax return to support your claims, you should retain all relevant documents and supply them to the Inland Revenue Department for verification when required.

Subsequent Claims

If you fail to claim an allowance in your tax return, you can lodge a claim subsequently in writing, but no later than 6 years after the end of the year of assessment to which the claim relates. You can also complete the relevant parts of the notice of objection/application for revision of assessment (Form IR831).  Letters or completed forms should be sent to the Inland Revenue Department by post (P.O. Box 28777, Gloucester Road Post Office, Hong Kong) or by fax (2877 1232). Form IR831 can be downloaded through the following link.

Form IR831 Notice of objection or application for revision of assessment (pdf file)

The Department will not accept underpaid mail items. Please pay sufficient postage to ensure your mail items can duly reach us. (Details)

Last revision date: May 2019
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated.
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to enquiry@1835500.gov.hk .
Thank you. Your input will only be  used to improve GovHK.
Thank you for your valuable feedback!

Thank you for using "XXXX".
Base on today’s experience, please rate the online service on all aspects below:

  1. 1.  Easiness of use
  2. 2.  Clarity of instructions
  3. 3.  Overall satisfaction
Employment Survey Close Button Employment Survey

如何申索免税额

申索免税额可在有关课税年度个别人士报税表内提出。如果你忘记在个别人士报税表内申索免税额,亦可于稍后提出申索。本文介绍上述两种申索免税额的方式。

于有关课税年度提出申索

申索免税额(基本免税额除外)可在有关课税年度个别人士报税表(BIR60)内第9部提出。提交报税表时,无须提供证明文件,但你须保存所有有关文件,以供税务局随时审查。

事后提出申索

如你忘记在个别人士报税表内申索免税额,你可于不迟过有关课税年度结束后6年内以书面提出申索。你亦可填写反对/申请修订评税表格(IR831)的有关部分。所有信件或填妥的表格均应以邮寄(香港告士打道邮政局邮箱28777号)或传真(2877 1232)交回税务局。你可透过以下连结下载IR831表格:

反对或申请修订评税的IR831表格 (pdf档案)

本局不会接收邮资不足的信件。为确保邮递无误,请在投寄邮件时支付足额邮资。(详情)

修订日期:2019年5月
本页内容对你有帮助吗?
欢迎输入你的意见!
请注意: 此表格并非用作处理查询或投诉,如需协助,请致电(852)183 5500或电邮enquiry@1835500.gov.hk 联络24小时服务的支援中心。
多谢!你的意见只会用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
感谢您的宝贵意见!

感谢你使用「XXXX」。
请根据刚才的使用情况,就以下项目为网上服务评分:

  1. 1.  使用简易度
  2. 2.  指示清晰度
  3. 3.  整体满意度
就业意见调查关闭按钮 就业意见调查