Child's Health

Being a parent, the health of your child should be your top concern. You can make use of a comprehensive range of public medical services and educational resources to help your child stay healthy and deal with any developmental or behavioural problems.

Integrated Child Health and Development Programme

Taking care of your little ones is never an easy job. There are different areas you need to pay attention to in their early stages of development. The Maternal and Child Health Centres offer an Integrated Child Health and Development Programme to promote holistic (physical, cognitive, emotional and social) health among children. The programme provides immunisation and developmental surveillance for children, as well as parenting workshops and individual counselling sessions for parents.

Health information by children’s life stagesIntegrated Child Health and Development ProgrammeLocations of Maternal and Child Health CentresEligibility, Fees & Charges for Maternal and Child Health Service

Student Health Service

The Service aims to safeguard both the physical and psychological health of school children through various health programmes, enabling them to gain maximum benefit from the education system and develop their full potentials.

More about Student Health Service

School Dental Care Service

The Service is a basic dental health care programme for all primary school children in Hong Kong aiming to promote good oral hygiene and prevent common dental diseases. Dedicated and well-trained dental therapists will provide the service based on the advice of Government dental officers. You can also learn more about taking care of your kids' teeth from the website of Tooth Club.

Scope of services of the School Dental Care ServiceTooth Club

Developmental and Behavioural Problems

Common childhood developmental problems include attention deficit, hyperactivity disorder, dyslexia, autistic spectrum disorder, language delay, developmental delay, mental retardation, developmental coordination disorder, cerebral palsy, as well as visual and hearing impairment. Children with developmental or behavioural problems need proper assessment and rehabilitation advice from multidisciplinary experts.

Children suspected of having developmental problems, with referral from a registered doctor or psychologist, can register and make an appointment at any Child Assessment Centres under the Department of Health. Comprehensive specialised assessments are conducted for these children, and rehabilitation plans are formulated for them. Meanwhile, families in need can seek help through counselling, health advice and interim support activities.

Child Assessment ServiceChildhood Developmental Disorders

Rehabilitation Services for Pre-school Disabled Children

A comprehensive range of services is provided for pre-school children up to the age of six who are either disabled or at risk of becoming disabled. These services aim to enhance the children’s physical, psychological and social development with a view to increasing their opportunities for participating in ordinary schools and daily activities, and to help their families to meet their special needs.

Disabled children assessed by paediatricians or clinical psychologists to be in need of rehabilitation services can be referred to the Social Welfare Department to enjoy a host of services at various institutions, including Early Education and Training Centre, Kindergarten cum Child Care Centre and Special Child Care Centre.

Early Education and Training Centre ServiceIntegrated Programme in Kindergarten-cum-Child Care CentresSpecial Child Care Centre Service

Travelling with Your Child

If you are going to travel with your child, you should also take note of some common health issues such as dealing with travellers’ diarrhea and special arrangements for your child during air travel. Depending on your destination, you may also need to give your child additional vaccinations and take special precautions against malaria. All these preparations will help you enjoy a pleasant trip with your child.

Points to note when travelling with a child
Last revision date: August 2017

儿童健康

父母往往最关心孩子的身心成长。你可以透过一系列全面的医疗服务和教育资源,更轻松照顾孩子的健康,及处理孩子在成长中可能遇到的发展障碍或行为问题。

幼儿健康及发展综合计划

照顾孩子绝非易事,你须要注意他们在不同成长阶段的各种需要。母婴健康院的「幼儿健康及发展综合计划」为初生婴儿和儿童提供全面服务,旨在促儿童的全人健康(包括生理、认知、情绪和社交方面)。计划为儿童提供免疫接种以及健康和发展监察服务,也为父母开办亲职教育研习班并提供个别辅导服务。

按儿童生长阶段划分的健康资讯幼儿健康及发展综合计划母婴健康院地址使用母婴健康院服务所需符合的资格及收费

学生健康服务

此服务旨在透过全面促进健康及预防疾病的计划,保障学童生理和心理的健康,确保他们能够在教育体系中得到最大的裨益及充分发挥个别的潜能。

学生健康服务

学童牙科保健服务

此服务特别为全港小学生提供预防性牙科保健服务和口腔健康指导。专业牙科治疗师会在政府牙科医生建议下,为学童提供服务。此外,你也可透过牙齿俱乐部的网页,认识更多照顾孩子牙齿的知识。

学童牙科保健服务的服务范围牙齿俱乐部

发展障碍及行为问题

常见的儿童发展问题包括专注力失调、过度活跃症、读写障碍、自闭症、言语发展障碍、发展迟缓、智力障碍、动作协调障碍、脑淋痹、视障及弱听。儿童若在成长中出现发展障碍或行为问题时,就需要适切的专业评估,诊断及治疗。

怀疑有成长发展问题的儿童,可透过注册西医及心理学家转介, 在卫生署辖下的儿童体能智力测验中心登记及预约,接受专业评估及诊断。有关服务包括制订康复计划,并为家长及儿童提供辅导、亲职讲座或支援服务。

儿童体能智力测验服务儿童发展障碍

残疾儿童学前服务

全面的学前服务为残疾儿童及受残疾威胁的六岁或以下儿童而设,为他们提供促进身心发展并提升社交能力,旨在提高他们入读普通学校和参与日常活动的机会,以及协助有关家庭照顾他们的特别需要。

残疾儿童须经儿科医生或临床心理学家评估,认为有需要接受残疾儿童学前服务,随后由社工转介往社会福利署的各项服务机构,包括早期教育及训练中心、幼稚园暨幼儿中心(提供兼收弱能儿童计划)及特殊幼儿中心。

早期教育及训练中心服务幼稚园暨幼儿中心兼收弱能儿童计划特殊幼儿中心服务

与孩子外游

与孩子一同外游前,须要注意一些常见健康事项,例如旅游时遇到腹泻的处理方法,以及乘搭飞机时孩子所需的特别照顾。你更应就旅游目的地的情况,考虑为小孩接种疫苗,或采取其他预防措施以免染上疟疾。准备充足,你与孩子就可以享受一个愉快的旅程。

与孩子旅游须知
修订日期:2017年8月