Enjoy Performing Arts

The Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) offers Chinese opera, dance, theatre, music, multimedia and arts festivals programmes throughout the year. These programmes range from the traditional to the cutting edge and offer Hong Kong audiences the best of local artists and international stars.

Cantonese Opera

Cantonese opera is one of the most popular performing arts in Hong Kong as it is part of the Cantonese culture and heritage. In 2009, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) accepted the joint application of Guangdong, Macao and Hong Kong governments submitted by the Central Government, and inscribed Cantonese opera onto UNESCO Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity.

As with other genres of traditional Chinese opera, Cantonese opera features not only singing, movement and acting, but also speech delivery, acrobatics and martial arts. The LCSD is keen to preserve and develop the vernacular art of Cantonese opera. Guangdong, Macao and Hong Kong governments have designated the last Sunday in November every year as the Cantonese Opera Day and in Hong Kong, the LCSD organises a large scale free event to promote this traditional art to the public.

Programmes of Chinese opera staged in the LCSD performance venuesChinese opera programmes presented by the LCSDCantonese Opera Heritage HallLet's Enjoy Cantonese Opera in Bamboo Theatre

Dance

The vitality and creativity of local dance groups can be seen in productions either commissioned or sponsored by the LCSD every year, which include modern dance, ballet, Chinese dance, ethnic dance and arts appreciation activities. To promote dance to the local community, the LCSD presents the Dance Day to showcase local dance groups and district arts troupes.

Dance Programmes staged in the LCSD performance venuesDance Programmes presented by the LCSD

Theatre

It is the most flourishing art form in Hong Kong. Local theatre goers are offered with a wide variety of productions by local and overseas companies.

Theatre programmes staged in the LCSD performance venuesTheatre programmes presented by the LCSD

Music

Going to a concert is one of the most popular cultural activities in Hong Kong. The music scene is also very rich and wide. Apart from orchestral music, there are recitals, operas as well as cross-cultural music performed by both local and internationally renowned talents.

Music programmes staged in the LCSD performance venuesMusic programmes presented by the LCSDCourses and activities organised by the Music Office

Festivals

The LCSD organises two major arts festivals every year:

  • the International Arts Carnival for children, youth and families during the summer vacation; and
  • the autumn thematic festival featuring the New Vision Arts Festival and the World’s Cultures Festival Series in alternate years.

A wide range of high quality performing arts programmes of all kinds will be complemented by extension activities including exhibitions, workshops, talks and outreach touring programmes.

Festivals Programmes

Promoting Performing Arts

The Audience Building Office set up by the LCSD promotes knowledge and appreciation of the performing arts at community and school levels, making arts a lifelong pursuit for the public especially for the young generation. Surely it is never too late to fall in love with the arts.  The LCSD also offers free entertainment programmes to promote the performing arts to people of all ages. See also the links below for more information and latest programmes.

Audience Building and Arts Education SchemesTerritory-wide and District Free Entertainment ProgrammesMore about the LCSD's initiatives in promoting performing arts
Last review date: December 2016

表演艺术欣赏

康乐及文化事务署(康文署)提供中国戏曲、舞蹈、戏剧、音乐、多媒体,以及艺术节的表演节目,种类由传统到前卫创新都有,让观众欣赏到本地及国际艺术家的精彩演出。

粤剧

粤剧是广东文化的重要部分,也是香港受欢迎的表演艺术项目之一。2009年,联合国教育、科学及文化(教科文)组织接纳粤港澳三地政府透过中央政府递交的申请,将粤剧列入《人类非物质文化遗产代表作名录》。

粤剧跟其他中国传统戏曲一样,演员透过唱、造、念、打把故事呈现于舞台。康文署致力保存粤剧这种本土艺术,并推动其发展。粤港澳三地政府将每年11月最后一个星期天定为「粤剧日」,康文署亦会举办活动,为公众免费提供粤剧表演,推广粤剧艺术。

于康文署场地举办的戏曲活动由康文署举办的戏曲活动粤剧文物馆戏棚粤剧齐齐赏

舞蹈

很多本地舞团都很活跃,演出也充满创意。康文署每年赞助或主办不同类型的舞蹈活动,包括现代舞、芭蕾舞、中国舞、民族舞及艺术欣赏活动,向观众推广舞蹈艺术。康文署举办的「舞蹈日」,就是让本地舞团及地区艺术团体一展才华的舞台。

于康文署场地举行的舞蹈表演及活动由康文署举办的舞蹈活动

戏剧

戏剧于香港发展蓬勃,每年均有很多本地及海外剧团为本地观众带来精彩的演出。

于康文署场地举办的戏剧活动由康文署举办的戏剧活动

音乐

听音乐会是很受香港人欢迎的文化活动,本地的音乐表演活动也是很多元化的,除了管弦乐,还有独奏会,歌剧以至跨文化音乐表演,包罗万有;本地及国际知名音乐人荟萃香港,让爱乐人士享尽耳福。

于康文署场地举办的音乐活动由康文署举办的音乐活动音乐事务处举办的课程及活动

艺术节

康文署每年均举办两个大型艺术节,分别是为儿童、青少年及家庭观众于暑假期间举行的「国际综艺合家欢」;还有于秋季隔年交替举行的「世界文化系列」艺术节和「新视野艺术节」。节目包括各类型高质素的演艺节目,及其他延伸活动如展览、工作坊、讲座及外展演出等。

艺术节的节目

推广表演艺术

康文署设有「观众拓展办事处」,在学校及社区层面推广表演艺术的欣赏和认识,培养市民对艺术的兴趣及追求,特别是年轻一代。当然,艺术追求是没有年龄之分的,署方亦经常举办免费的文娱节目,向大众推广表演艺术。以下连结载有更多资料及最新的节目。

观众拓展及艺术教育计划全港节庆及地区免费文娱节目更多关于康文署的表演艺术推广
覆检日期:2016年12月