Air Quality in Hong Kong

Air quality is a major concern in Hong Kong, and the Government is undertaking a number of initiatives to improve it. The following provides an overview of the problems and the solutions that are being put forward.

Air Pollution

Hong Kong's air pollution is mainly contributed by motor vehicles, marine vessels and power plants. The two greatest challenges are local street-level pollution and regional smog. Diesel vehicles, particularly trucks, buses and light buses, are the main source of street-level pollution. Smog is caused by a combination of pollutants mainly from motor vehicles, industry and power plants in Hong Kong and the Pearl River Delta. The Environment Bureau released the first Clean Air Plan for Hong Kong in March 2013 which sets out in detail the various measures to tackle air pollution from power plants, land and sea transport, and non-road mobile machinery and to strengthen collaboration with Guangdong to deal with regional pollution. A progress report was published in June 2017 which gave an account on its implementation and achievements. The Environment Bureau announced the Clean Air Plan for Hong Kong 2035 in June 2021 setting out the long-term goals and strategies to further enhance the air quality with a view to leading Hong Kong to become a liveable city with air quality on par with major international cities by 2035.

In March 2021, the Environment Bureau announced the first Hong Kong Roadmap on the Popularisation of Electric Vehicles, setting out the long-term policy objectives and plans to promote the adoption of electric vehicles and their associated supporting facilities in Hong Kong.

More on “Hong Kong Roadmap on the Popularisation of Electric Vehicles”More on “A Clean Air Plan for Hong Kong” More on “Clean Air Plan for Hong Kong (2013 - 2017 Progress Report)”More on “Clean Air Plan for Hong Kong 2035”

The implementation of a comprehensive vehicle emission control programme has brought along substantive air quality improvement. As of 2020, the roadside levels of nitrogen dioxide, respirable suspended particulates, fine suspended particulates and sulphur dioxide have reduced by 40%, 48%, 47% and 50% respectively compared with 2010.

With regard to improving regional air quality, the Government has long been collaborating with the Guangdong Provincial Government to implement a wide range of measures and set jointly a number of 5-year emission reduction targets. Both sides have commenced a study on “Post-2020 regional air pollutant emission reduction targets and concentration levels” with a view to formulating emission reduction strategies and targets for 2025 and 2030.

Hong Kong's Air Quality Objectives

The Hong Kong's Air Quality Objectives (AQOs) are the goals for the Government to devise short-term air quality improvement plans and the benchmark for assessing air quality. The prevailing AQOs are benchmarked against a combination of interim and ultimate targets under the World Health Organization's Air Quality Guidelines, took effect from 1 January 2014.  As a statutory requirement, the AQOs have to be reviewed at least once every five years.  The Environment Bureau and Environmental Protection Department completed a review of the AQOs in end of 2018 and conducted a 3-month public consultation in 2019. The Environment Bureau introduced an amendment bill to the Legislative Council in March 2021 to update three AQOs, namely the 24-hour AQO for sulphur dioxide, 1-year and 24-hour AQOs for fine suspended particulates and the bill was passed in April of the same year.  The new AQOs will take effect on 1 January 2022.

More on “Review of Air Quality Objectives”

Air Quality Health Index

The Environmental Protection Department releases hourly Air Quality Health Index (AQHI) to inform the public of the short-term health risk of air pollution in Hong Kong and helps the public take precautionary measures to protect their health.  The AQHIs are reported on a scale of 1 to 10 and 10+ and are grouped into five AQHI health risk categories with health advice provided.  This is particularly useful for people who are sensitive to air pollution like children, the elderly and those with heart or respiratory illnesses who need to take precautions when the health risk levels are high.  The health risk categories forecast also advises the public before the onset of high health risk categories due to pollution episodes.

More on the AQHI

Pearl River Delta Air Quality

Cooperation between the governments of Hong Kong and Guangdong is working to ensure that regional pollution levels are brought under control. At the forefront of such efforts is the Regional Air Quality Management Plan, which is coordinating individual initiatives in different cities to ensure that everyone in the Delta benefits. The Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Pearl River Delta Regional Air Monitoring Network is monitoring the results, which can provide you with information about the level of air pollution in the region.

More on Pearl River Delta air quality

Indoor Air Quality (IAQ)

The Government's concern about air quality in Hong Kong also extends indoors. It is important to achieve and maintain a better IAQ as we spend the majority of our time indoors, either at homes, offices or on public transportation facilities. Good IAQ safeguards our health and would also help enhance Hong Kong's competitiveness over other cities.

More on IAQ

What You Can Do

There are a number of practical and easy ways that you can help to improve air quality both indoors and outdoors. For example, you can choose public instead of private transport and switch off domestic appliances and electric lights when they are not in use. Industry, developers and others can also play their parts by observing air pollution control laws and exercising good practices in their operations. What we do now will determine how well we live tomorrow.

More information on help clean the air
Found this page helpful?
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated. (Optional)
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to enquiry@1835500.gov.hk.
Thank you. Your input will only be used to improve GovHK.
Last review date: April 2022

香港的空氣質素

空氣質素在香港備受關注;政府現正採取多項措施,以改善本港的空氣質素。本文將概述空氣污染的問題,以及就此提出的解決方案。

空氣污染

本港的空氣污染主要是來自汽車廢氣、船舶及發電廠的排放。香港現正面對兩類空氣污染問題 — 路邊空氣污染和區域性的煙霧問題。路邊空氣污染主要來自柴油車輛的廢氣,尤其是貨車、巴士及小巴;而區域性的煙霧問題則是由香港和珠江三角洲地區的車輛、工廠及發電廠排放的污染物引起。環境局在2013年3月發表首份《香港清新空氣藍圖》,詳細列出各項措施,以應對由發電廠、海陸交通和非路面流動機械帶來的空氣污染,以及深化粵港兩地的合作以處理區域污染,並於2017年6月發表了進度報告,匯報各項措施的實施情況及成果。環境局於2021年6月公布《香港清新空氣藍圖2035》,制訂進一步改善空氣質素的長遠目標及策略,目標是引領香港在2035年前成為空氣質素媲美國際大城市的宜居城市。

此外,環境局於2021年3月發表本港首份電動車普及化路線圖,闡述未來在香港推動使用電動車及其所需配套的長遠政策目標及計劃。

有關《香港電動車普及化路線圖》的詳情有關《香港清新空氣藍圖》的詳情有關《香港清新空氣藍圖2013-2017進度報告》的詳情有關《香港清新空氣藍圖2035》的詳情

透過推行全面的車輛廢氣管制計劃,路邊的空氣質素已有明顯改善。截至2020年,路邊的二氧化氮、可吸入懸浮粒子、微細懸浮粒子和二氧化硫的濃度水平較2010年分別減少了40%、48%、47%及50%。

在改善區域空氣質素方面,香港特區政府一直致力與廣東省政府合作,推出多項不同範疇的措施和共同制定多個5年減排目標。雙方已開展《2020年後區域空氣污染物減排目標和濃度水平研究》,以制訂2025年及至2030年的區域減排方案和目標。

香港空氣質素指標

香港空氣質素指標是政府制訂階段性空氣質素改善計劃的目標,亦是政府評估空氣質素的基準。香港現行的空氣質素指標(「指標」)於2014年1月1日起生效,並以世界衞生組織《空氣質素指引》的中期和最終目標為基準。按規定,指標必須每五年最少檢討一次。環境局及環境保護署於2018年年底完成了空氣質素指標的檢討,並於2019年完成為期3個月的公眾諮詢。環境局在2021年3月向立法會提交修訂條例草案,以更新二氧化硫(24小時指標)、微細懸浮粒子(1年及24小時)三項指標,草案於同年4月獲立法會通過。新指標將於2022年1月1日實施。

有關《空氣質素指標檢討》的詳情

空氣質素健康指數

環境保護署每小時公布的空氣質素健康指數告知市民在本港由空氣污染引發的短期健康風險,以便市民能採取預防措施,保障健康。空氣質素健康指數以1至10級及10+級通報,分為五個健康風險級別並提供健康忠告。這個指數對兒童、長者及患有心臟病或呼吸系統疾病等易受空氣污染影響的人士尤其有用,方便他們在健康風險級別高的日子採取所需要的預防措施。此外,健康風險級別的預測亦可在因空氣污染出現高健康風險級別前向市民作出預警。

有關空氣質素健康指數的詳情

珠江三角洲空氣質素

香港與廣東省政府攜手合作,致力確保珠江三角洲地區的污染水平受到控制。珠江三角洲地區空氣質素管理計劃(“管理計劃”)是合作的重點,管理計劃協調不同城市的措施,以確保每一位地區內的市民都有得益。粵港澳珠江三角洲區域空氣監測網絡提供地區內的空氣質素監測結果,為市民提供空氣污染水平的資訊。

有關珠江三角洲空氣質素的詳情

室內空氣質素

政府除關注一般大氣的空氣質素外,也關注室內環境的空氣質素。我們每天一般會花上大部份的時間在室內,例如家中、辦公室及公共交通工具等。因此,我們確實有需要維持良好的室內空氣質素。事實上,良好的室內空氣質素,除了可保障我們的健康外,更可提昇香港相對其他城市的競爭力。

有關室內空氣質素的資訊

你可以怎樣參與?

你可透過多種簡易實際的方法,攜手改善室內外的空氣質素,例如減少使用私家車並選乘公共交通工具,關掉無需使用的電器和電燈。至於工商機構、發展商和其他人士,亦可透過遵守空氣污染管制法例和採用良好的營運方式,協力改善香港的空氣質素。我們今天的行動,將直接影響未來的生活質素。

齊來保持空氣清新
本頁內容對你有幫助嗎?
本頁內容對你有幫助嗎?
歡迎輸入你的意見!(可選擇填寫)
請注意: 此表格並非用作處理查詢或投訴,如需協助,請致電(852)183 5500或電郵[email protected] 聯絡24小時服務的支援中心。
多謝!你的意見只會用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
修訂日期:2021年7月