Air Quality Health Index

The Air Quality Health Index (AQHI) compiled by the Environmental Protection Department informs the public of the short-term health risk of air pollution in Hong Kong and helps the public take precautionary measures to protect their health.  Here you can learn how the AQHI works and what it can tell you about the short-term health risk of air pollution.

How the AQHI Works?

The AQHI of the current hour is calculated from the sum of the percentage added health risk of daily hospital admissions attributable to the 3-hour moving average concentrations of four criteria air pollutants: ozone, nitrogen dioxide, sulphur dioxide, and particulate matter (PM10 or PM2.5, whichever has a higher risk) measured at each air quality monitoring station of the Environmental Protection Department.  The risk factors associated with each pollutant were derived from local health statistics and air pollution data.  The AQHIs are reported on a scale of 1 to 10 and 10+ and are grouped into five health risk categories.

The AQHIs are reported hourly at each general and roadside station to keep you up to date of the latest air quality situation.  We also provide the health risk categories forecast which serves to alert you before the onset of high health risk categories due to pollution episodes.

What the AQHI Reveals?

The AQHI estimates the additional short-term health risk caused by heart and respiratory diseases from air pollution that lead to hospital admissions.  It makes reference to the short-term World Health Organization Air Quality Guidelines as anchor points to define the level where health risk is high due to short term exposure to air pollution.  The AQHIs are reported on a scale of 1 to 10 and 10+ and are grouped into five AQHI health risk categories with health advice provided.

Health Risk Category AQHI
Low 1
2
3
Moderate 4
5
6
High 7
Very High 8
9
10
Serious 10+

When the health risk category is at the Low and Moderate levels, people can continue to enjoy their usual activities.  When the category reaches High, children, the elderly and people with heart or respiratory illnesses should reduce outdoor physical exertion.  When the category reaches Very High or Serious, the general public should also reduce or avoid outdoor physical exertion. For more details, please refer to our health advice on the EPD website.

More on health advice

Monitoring Stations

Air pollutant levels are continuously measured by the Environmental Protection Department's air quality monitoring network, which includes 13 general and 3 roadside monitoring stations.  The general stations are located in different parts of Hong Kong to cover various kinds of land use areas.  They are usually at roof level of four to six storeys high.  The roadside stations are located at street level in Causeway Bay, Mong Kok and Central.  All stations are built and operated to comply with the highest international standards that can efficiently and accurately measure the air pollutant data.

Map showing locations of general and roadside monitoring stationsHow to determine the AQHI most relevant to you

Data and Statistics

Data collected from the monitoring stations is recorded by the Environmental Protection Department and turned into useful information for you in the following ways.

The current AQHI readings are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.  The health risk categories forecast is also available to provide alerts to the public before the onset of high health risk categories due to pollution episodes.

Current AQHIs and Health Risk Categories forecastDownload Air quality Health Index Mobile Applications

The AQHI readings at each monitoring station are available for the past 24 hours.

AQHIs for the past 24 hours

The pollutant concentrations at each monitoring station are available for the past 24 hours.

Pollutant concentration for the past 24 hours

AQHI statistical summaries are available by month.

AQHI monthly summaries

All hourly AQHI records in the past are available.

Past AQHI records

In addition to the above online resources, AQHI information is also broadcasted on radio and television, and printed in local newspapers.  You can also call the AQHI Hotline at (852) 2827 8541 to obtain the latest AQHI information.

Other Information

Here provides links to the monitoring bodies of other countries so that you can learn more about air pollution problem around the world, and what is being done about it.

Air pollution information in other countries
Last revision date: January 2019
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated.
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to enquiry@1835500.gov.hk .
Thank you. Your input will only be  used to improve GovHK.
Thank you for your valuable feedback!

Thank you for using "XXXX".
Base on today’s experience, please rate the online service on all aspects below:

  1. 1.  Easiness of use
  2. 2.  Clarity of instructions
  3. 3.  Overall satisfaction

空氣質素健康指數

環境保護署(環保署)編制的空氣質素健康指數告知市民在本港由空氣污染引發的短期健康風險,以便市民能採取預防措施,保障健康。在本文你可以了解空氣質素健康指數的運作,以及它可以提供有關空氣污染的短期健康風險的資訊。

空氣質素健康指數如何運作?

每小時的空氣質素健康指數是根據環保署每個空氣質素監測站所錄得的四種主要空氣污染物,包括臭氧、二氧化氮、二氧化硫和粒子(可吸入懸浮粒子或微細懸浮粒子,選其健康風險影響較大者)的三小時移動平均污染物濃度,以估算導致入院的健康風險增幅的總和而得出。每種污染物的風險系數來自本地健康統計數字和空氣污染數據。空氣質素健康指數以1至10級及10+級通報,並分為五個健康風險級別。

每個一般和路邊監測站的空氣質素健康指數會每小時公布,讓市民可即時知道最新的空氣質素情況,同時亦會提供健康風險級別的預測,以便在因空氣污染出現高健康風險級別前向市民作出預警。

空氣質素健康指數可告知甚麼?

空氣質素健康指數估算因空氣污染導致心臟病及呼吸系統疾病而入院的額外短期健康風險。指數參考了世界衞生組織的短期空氣質素指引,並根據該指引界定因短期接觸空氣污染而引起高健康風險的空氣質素水平。空氣質素健康指數以1至10級及10+級通報,分為以下五個健康風險級別並提供健康忠告。

健康風險級別 空氣質健康指數
1
2
3
4
5
6
7

甚 高

 

8
9
10
嚴 重 10+

當健康風險級別在低或中水平,市民可以如常活動;當健康風險級別達至高,兒童、長者和患有心臟病或呼吸系統疾病的人應減少戶外體力消耗;若健康風險級別達到甚高或嚴重時,一般市民亦應減少或避免戶外體力消耗。請參考空氣質素健康指數網頁內更詳盡的健康忠告。

更詳盡的健康忠告

監測站

環保署空氣質素監測網絡設有十五個一般監測站及三個路邊監測站,持續量度空氣污染物水平。一般監測站遍布本港各區,覆蓋不同土地用途的區域,它們通常裝設於四至六層高的大廈頂層。路邊監測站則設於銅鑼灣、旺角及中環的路邊。所有監測站的設計和運作均符合最高的國際標準,能有效及精確量度空氣污染物數據。

一般及路邊監測站分佈圖如何判斷應參考哪一個空氣質素健康指數

數據及統計

環保署會將各監測站量度所得的數據記錄和分析,並為你提供以下各種有用的資料。

實時空氣質素健康指數會每星期 7 日、每日 24 小時向市民發布。健康風險級別預測亦可在因空氣污染而出現高健康風險級別前向市民作出預警。

實時空氣質素健康指數及健康風險級別預測下載空氣質素健康指數流動應用程式

提供過去 24 小時各監測站所錄得的空氣質素健康指數。

過去 24 小時空氣質素健康指數

提供過去 24 小時各監測站所錄得的空氣污染物的濃度。

過去 24 小時污染物濃度

提供按月公布的空氣質素健康指數摘要。

每月空氣質素健康指數摘要

提供過去所有每小時空氣質素健康指數記錄。

過去空氣質素健康指數記錄

除了上述網上資源外,電台、電視台及本地報章均有發布空氣質素健康指數的資訊。此外,你也可透過空氣質素健康指數熱線 (852) 2827 8541,取得最新資料。

其他資料

你也可透過以下連結瀏覽其他國家監測機構的網站,藉此了解全球的空氣污染問題,以及各地就此問題採取的措施。

其他國家的空氣污染資料
本頁內容對你有幫助嗎?
本頁內容對你有幫助嗎?
歡迎輸入你的意見!(可選擇填寫)
請注意: 此表格並非用作處理查詢或投訴,如需協助,請致電(852)183 5500或電郵[email protected] 聯絡24小時服務的支援中心。
多謝!你的意見只會用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
修訂日期:2021年4月