Deduction for Expenses of Self-Education

You may claim deductions for expenses of self-education provided that the prescribed conditions are satisfied. This page will tell you what types of expenses you can claim, the prescribed course of education, approved education providers, amount of allowable deduction, how and when to claim, the supporting documents you should retain and the frequently asked questions.

Expenses of Self-Education

Under Salaries Tax, the expenses of self-education (SEE) allowable for deduction include tuition fee and the related examination fee paid for a prescribed course of education for gaining or maintaining qualifications for use in either a current or a planned employment. Examples of course of education are:

  • a management course taken by a business executive
  • a commercial or computer course taken by a secretary or clerk
  • a vocational training course taken by a technician
  • a continuing professional development seminar attended by an accountant or lawyer.

Prescribed Course of Education

A prescribed course of education is a course undertaken to gain or maintain qualifications for use in any employment and being:

  1. a course of education provided by an education provider; or
  2. a training or development course provided by a trade, professional or business association; or
  3. a training or development course accredited or recognized by an institution specified in Schedule 13 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance (IRO).

 

A.   Course of education provided by an education provider

Education providers include:

(a) Universities, university colleges or technical colleges.

(b) A place of education to which the Education Ordinance (EO) does not apply by virtue of section 2 of the EO. Please refer to the list of universities, colleges and institutes listed in that section. You may check the list of institutions providing local post-secondary education under Education Bureau’s website.

(c) Schools registered under section 13(a) of the EO. You may check the list of registered schools under Education Bureau’s website.

(d) Schools exempted from registration under section 9(1) of the EO which mainly cover schools entirely maintained and controlled by the Government and religious bodies; and schools solely providing non-local course regulated under the Non-local Higher and Professional Education (Regulation) Ordinance. You may check the list of Non-local Higher and Professional Education Courses under Education Bureau’s website.

(e) Institutions approved by the Commissioner of Inland Revenue under Section 16C(1) of the IRO.

(f) Institutions specifically approved by the Commissioner of Inland Revenue under section 12(6)(e) of the IRO:

• Hong Kong Productivity Council (w.e.f. 1.4.1996)

• The Arts School of the Hong Kong Arts Centre (w.e.f. 1.4.1996)

• Charmtime Limited – Pang’s Music Therapy Centre (w.e.f. 28.9.1998)

  (Only teachers enrolled for the course can claim a tax deduction, but not other students) 

• The Continuous Learning Centre of the Vocational Training Council (w.e.f. 6.1.1999)

• Top Express Consultants Limited – Rigos US CPA Review (w.e.f. 31.10.2000)

• Hong Kong Trade Development Council (w.e.f. 19.11.2001)

• Phillip Institute of Financial Learning Co. Limited (w.e.f. 30.10.2002)

• Physical Fitness Association of Hong Kong, China Limited (w.e.f. 25.3.2003)

• International Health and Fitness Consultants Limited (w.e.f. 27.11.2003)

• Schools exempted under sections 9(3) and 9(5) of the EO (w.e.f. 20.6.2002).

  (You have to check with your school or institution as to whether the course undertaken by you is exempted from registration under the EO)

Payments to a private tutor are not deductible (whether supported by receipts or not) because a private tutor is not a specified education provider and the fees paid are not in connection with a prescribed course of education.

B.   Training or development course provided by a trade, professional or business association

Generally, they are referring to courses provided by organizations like Hong Kong Institute of Bankers, Hong Kong Management Association, The Association of Chartered Certified Accountants, Institution of Mechanical Engineers, Professional Insurance Brokers Association, Quality Tourism Services Association, etc.

C.   Training or development course accredited or recognized by an institution specified in Schedule 13 of the IRO.

For examples, courses accredited or recognized by The Architects Registration Board, The Construction Industry Training Authority, The Chinese Medicine Council of Hong Kong, and other major trade associations for the regulated professions are regarded as a prescribed course of education. It also includes courses accredited by The Hong Kong Council for Accreditation of Academic and Vocational Qualifications.

Taxpayers applying for deductions are required to provide details of recognized or accredited courses and confirmation from the institutions.

Amount of Allowable Deduction

You should claim deduction for the actual amount of SEE in the year you paid.

The maximum deductible amount is $60,000 for the years of assessment 2009/10 to 2012/13 and $80,000 for the years of assessment 2013/14 to 2016/17. From the year of assessment 2017/18 onwards, the deduction ceiling for SEE has been increased to $100,000*. However, if you receive a full or partial refund of the course fees from your employer, the Government (such as under the Continuing Education Fund) or any other person/organization, you should only claim a deduction for the net amount you have paid.

* Legislative amendments are required for implementing the tax measures as proposed by the Financial Secretary in the 2017-18 Budget.

Furthermore, the IRO specifically provides that the same payment cannot be deducted twice.

How and When to Claim

You must claim deductions for SEE for the year of assessment during which the payments were made. Course participants are sometimes required to make payments in one year of assessment, say February 2016, for courses that commence in a subsequent year of assessment, say September 2016. In such cases, deduction for SEE should be claimed for the earlier year of assessment: in this example, 2015/16 instead of 2016/17.

If you have received full or partial reimbursement of course fees, you can either claim the balance or claim the full amount but treat the reimbursed amount as income. The following examples will help you understand what you have to do.

Example 1

If Mr L paid $20,000 in course fees during the year of assessment 2015/16 and received a refund of $8,000 from his employer within the same year, the amount of his claim depends on how the reimbursed amount is treated in the employer’s tax return for the year of assessment 2015/16.

Income Reported by Employer in Form IR56 Series

Amount of Deduction to be Claimed in Mr L’s Tax Return

$8,000 was included as part of Mr L’s income

$20,000

$8,000 was not included as part of Mr L’s income

$12,000

 Example 2

In the same situation as Example 1, Mr L received the refund a year later, i.e. in the year of assessment 2016/17. He may claim a deduction for $20,000 in his 2015/16 tax return, but he must remember to report the reimbursed sum of $8,000 as income for the year of assessment 2016/17.

To avoid understating his assessable income, Mr L should report the reimbursed sum of $8,000 as his 2016/17 income. Whether or not the sum of $8,000 was reported in the employer's tax return for the year of assessment 2016/17 will not affect his obligation to do so.

Supporting Documents

You need not attach any documentary evidence to your Tax Return – Individuals (BIR60). However, to substantiate your deduction claim and to prove that the proper amount was deductible, you should retain the receipts for a period of 6 years after the expiration of the year of assessment in which the payments were made.  You are required to produce receipts if your case is selected for review.

Frequently Asked Questions
Last revision date: April 2017

個人進修開支扣除

你可在薪俸稅下申請扣除你的個人進修開支,惟須符合若干訂明條件。本文介紹你在薪俸稅下可申索扣除的各類進修開支、訂明教育課程、獲批准的教育提供者名單、可容許扣除額、申索扣除的辦法及時間、所須證明文件,以及常見問題。

個人進修開支

在薪俸稅下可申請扣除的個人進修開支,包括課程及有關考試費用。該等開支須用於修讀訂明教育課程,以取得或維持現在或將來受僱工作所需資格。以下是一些教育課程的例子:

  • 行政人員修讀的管理課程
  • 秘書或文員修讀的商業或電腦課程
  • 技術人員修讀的職業訓練課程
  • 會計師或律師參與的專業進修研討會

訂明教育課程

訂明教育課程是指為取得或維持在受僱工作中應用的資格而修讀及

  1. 由教育提供者提供的教育課程;或
  2. 由行業協會、專業協會或業務協會提供的訓練或發展課程;或
  3. 由《稅務條例》附表13指明的機構所審定或認可的訓練或發展課程。

A.   由教育提供者提供的教育課程

教育提供者是指:

(a) 大學、大學學院或工業學院。

(b) 憑藉《教育條例》第2條而不適用的教育機構。請參考該條例所列的大學、學院、院校資料及教育局網頁上所載提供本地專上課程的學院名單

(c) 根據《教育條例》第13(a)條註冊的學校。你可登入教育局網頁搜尋註冊學校名單

(d) 根據《教育條例》第9(1)條獲豁免而無需註冊的學校,包括政府學校、提供純屬宗教性質教育的學校及純粹提供《非本地高等及專業教育(規管)條例》所指的受規管課程的學校。你可登入教育局網頁搜尋非本地高等及專業教育課程及主辦者資料。

(e) 獲稅務局長根據《稅務條例》第16C(1)條而批准的機構。

(f) 獲稅務局長根據《稅務條例》第12條第6(e)段而批准的以下機構:

• 香港生產力促進局(由1.4.1996起)

• 香港藝術中心藝術學院(由1.4.1996起)

• Charmtime Limited –彭氏音樂治療中心(由28.9.1998起)

  (納稅人必須身為老師才可申請扣除,其他學員不可申請扣除)

• 職業訓練局持續進修中心(由6.1.1999起)

• 達匯顧問有限公司–Rigos US CPA Review(由31.10.2000起)

• 香港貿易發展局(由19.11.2001起)

• 輝立金融進修中心有限公司(由30.10.2002起)

• 中國香港體適能總會有限公司(由25.3.2003起)

• 國際康體顧問有限公司(由27.11.2003起)

• 根據《教育條例》第9(3)及第9(5)條獲豁免而無需註冊的學校(由20.6.2002起)。

   (你可向報讀學校查詢有關課程是否已獲豁免註冊)

請你留意,支付給私人補習老師的費用(無論是否有正式收據),因為有關補習並非由指明的教育提供者提供,亦與訂明教育課程無關,故不會獲得稅務扣除。

B.   由行業協會、專業協會或業務協會提供的訓練或發展課程

這些課程,一般指由有關專業或行業協會提供,例如香港銀行公會、香港管理專業協會、特許公認會計師公會、機械工程師學會、香港專業保險經紀協會、優質旅遊服務協會等等。

C.   由《稅務條例》附表13指明的機構所審定或認可的訓練或發展課程

由指明的機構,例如建築師註冊管理局、建造業議會,或香港中醫藥管理委員會等所審定或認可的課程皆視為訂明教育課程,包括由香港學術及職業資歷評審局審定的課程。如你申請扣除該等進修開支,你須提供審定或認可的課程的詳情及有關機構的確認。

可容許扣除額

你應在付款的課稅年度申請扣除你的實際個人進修開支。2009/10至2012/13課稅年度及2013/14至2016/17課稅年度可扣除的個人進修開支最高限額分別為60,000元及80,000元。自2017/18 課稅年度起,個人進修開支的最高扣除額,由80,000元增加至 100,000元*。然而,如你獲得僱主、政府(如透過持續進修基金)或任何其他人或機構發還全數或部分學費,你應在報稅表上申請扣除由自己負擔的餘數。

* 財政司司長在2017-18年度財政預算案所建議的稅務措施須經立法程序才可實施。

此外,《稅務條例》規定,不可就同一項開支獲兩次扣除。

申索扣除的辦法及時間

個人進修開支應在付款的課稅年度申請扣除。如修讀課程的年度有別於付款的年度,你須在支付費用的課稅年度申請扣除。如你於2016年2月支付個人進修開支,但到2016年9月才上課,則應在2015/16而不是2016/17課稅年度申請扣除。

如你獲僱主發還全部或部分學費和考試費,你可申請扣除餘數,或將僱主發還的部分當作入息呈報及提出申請扣除全數。以下例子將有助你瞭解相關情況:

例一

如僱員L先生在2015/16課稅年度支付進修費用20,000元,而在同一課稅年度他獲僱主發還8,000元,他可申請多少扣除,則視乎僱主有否在2015/16課稅年度的僱主報稅表(IR56系列表格)內申報該筆款項為L先生的入息:

僱主在IR56系列表格上所作的申報

L先生應在個別人士報稅表上填寫的扣除額

已申報8,000元為L先生的入息

20,000元

沒有申報8,000元為L先生的入息

12,000元

 

例二

情況如例一,但L先生在一年後(即2016/17年度)才獲僱主發還8,000元,則他在2015/16課稅年度可申請扣除全數20,000元,但他必須在2016/17課稅年度申報所獲發還的8,000元為他的入息。

無論僱主有否在僱主填報薪酬報稅表內申報所發還的8,000元為L先生在2016/17課稅年度的入息,L先生必須在其2016/17課稅年度個別人士報稅表內申報該8,000元為該年度的應課稅入息,以免出現漏報入息的情況。

證明文件

提交報稅表時,你無須提交證明文件,但為了證明你可申索這項扣除及核對可扣除的款額,你須保留有關收據和紀錄為期6年(由有關課稅年度完結起計),以便稅務局日後抽查時可呈交查驗。

常見問題
修訂日期:2017年4月