Deduction for Elderly Residential Care Expenses

If you or your spouse pays for the care of a parent or grandparent in a residential care home, you may be eligible to claim a tax deduction. Here you can learn more about who is eligible for a deduction, the amount you can claim, how the deduction can be claimed as an alternative to dependent parent allowance and dependent grandparent allowance, and where to go for more information.

Eligibility for Deduction

Under salaries tax and personal assessment, you may claim a deduction for elderly residential care expenses that you or your spouse have paid to a residential care home for the care of a parent or grandparent. A person who is chargeable to tax at the standard rate is also entitled to the deduction.

The following conditions must be satisfied before the deduction is granted:

  • The parent or grandparent is your or your spouse's parent or grandparent.
  • The parent or grandparent is 60 years old or above, unless he/she is entitled to claim an allowance under the Government’s Disability Allowance Scheme.
  • The parent or grandparent was receiving residential care in a residential care home in the year of assessment.
  • The expenses were paid to a residential care home or any person acting on its behalf.
  • The expenses were paid by you or your spouse in the year of assessment (net of any reimbursement by any person or organisation).
  • The residential care home is situated in Hong Kong and is licensed or exempted from licensing under the Residential Care Homes (Elderly Persons) Ordinance or Residential Care Homes (Persons with Disabilities) Ordinance, or is a nursing home registered under the Hospitals, Nursing Homes and Maternity Homes Registration Ordinance.
  • Only one person can be granted the deduction for the same parent or grandparent for a year of assessment. Where, other than you, someone else is also entitled to claim the deduction and contribute to the payment of the residential care expenses, you must agree among yourselves on who will claim the deduction for that year of assessment. If there is no agreement, no deduction will be allowed.

A “parent” means:

  • your natural father or mother / step parent; or
  • your spouse's natural father or mother / step parent; or
  • a parent by whom you or your spouse was legally adopted; or
  • a parent of your deceased spouse.

A “grandparent” means:

  • your natural grandfather or grandmother / step grandparent; or
  • your spouse's natural grandfather or grandmother / step grandparent; or
  • a grandparent by whom you or your spouse was legally adopted; or
  • a grandparent of your deceased spouse.

 

Amount of Allowable Deduction

The deduction is allowed for expenses actually paid in the year of assessment to a residential care home for the residential care received, subject to an annual deduction ceiling for each parent or grandparent.

The specified deduction ceiling still applies in the year of assessment during which the parent or grandparent reaches 60 years old. In other words, apportionment by reference to the number of days prior to and after the parent’s or grandparent’s 60th birthday is not necessary.

The deduction only covers the cost of care provided to a parent or grandparent who lives in a residential care home (such as for accommodation, food, nursing care and sundry expenses). Medical expenses and private expenses paid by the residential care home on the resident’s behalf (such as personal expenditure needs) and then recovered from any person are not deductible.

Annual deduction ceiling

Year of assessment Deduction ceiling ($)
2011/12 72,000
2012/13 to 2013/14 76,000
2014/15 to 2015/16 80,000
2016/17 onwards 92,000

 

An Alternative to the Granting of Dependent Parent and Dependent Grandparent Allowance

The deduction for elderly residential care expenses is allowed as an alternative to the granting of dependent parent and dependent grandparent allowance.  When a deduction for elderly residential care expenses has been allowed for a parent or grandparent, a dependent parent and grandparent allowance for the same parent or grandparent would not be granted for the same year of assessment. The deduction for elderly residential care expenses takes precedence over the granting of allowances.  You cannot make claims for both.


Example

You are not paying tax at the standard rate. During the year of assessment 2016/17, you pay $50,000 to a residential care home for your father who is over the age of 60. You can choose to claim the deduction for elderly residential care expenses ($50,000) or the dependent parent allowance ($46,000). Obviously you will gain more tax benefit by claiming the deduction for the expenses.

How to Lodge a Claim

You may claim the deduction for elderly residential care expenses in Part 8.4 of your Tax Return – Individuals (BIR60). If a claim for the deduction is not made in the tax return and you wish to do so after submitting your tax return, you may complete form IR6071 and return it to the Inland Revenue Department . The claim should be lodged not later than 6 years after the end of the year of assessment to which the claim relates.

Download form IR6071 (pdf file)

Supporting Documents

When you file your tax return, you need not attach documents to support your claim. However, you should retain documentary evidence (such as receipts issued by the residential care home) for production to the Inland Revenue Department for verification when required.

Further Information

More information on the deduction for elderly residential care expenses is available through the following links.

Departmental Interpretation and Practice Notes No. 36: Concessionary Deductions: Section 26D - Elderly Residential Care Expenses (pdf file)Frequently asked questions about elderly residential care expenses
Last revision date: May 2017

長者住宿照顧開支扣除

如你或你配偶支付你們的父母、祖父母或外祖父母在院舍的開支,你便可就有關開支申索稅項扣除。本文介紹申索資格、可容許扣除額、此項扣除如何成為供養父母及供養祖父母或外祖父母免稅額外的另一選擇,以及查詢更多相關資料的途徑。

所須符合資格

你可申索從你的薪俸稅或個人入息課稅計算中扣除你或你配偶為你們的父母、祖父母或外祖父母繳付予院舍的住宿照顧開支。按標準稅率繳稅的人士同樣可申索此項扣除。

申索扣除長者住宿照顧開支必須符合下列條件:

  • 該名父母/祖父母/外祖父母必須是你或你配偶的父母/祖父母/外祖父母。
  • 該名父母/祖父母/外祖父母在有關課稅年度內必須已滿60歲; 或有資格根據政府傷殘津貼計劃申請津貼。
  • 該名父母/祖父母/外祖父母在有關課稅年度內是在院舍接受住宿照顧。
  • 該開支必須支付予院舍或任何代該院舍收款的人士。
  • 該開支必須由你或你配偶在有關課稅年度內支付(扣除由任何人士或機構付還的數額)。
  • 有關院舍必須是在香港境內,並持有社會福利署根據《安老院條例》或《殘疾人士院舍條例》發出的牌照或豁免證明書;又或是根據《醫院、護養院及留產院註冊條例》註冊的護養院。
  • 在一課稅年度,就每名父母/祖父母/外祖父母作出的扣除,只能給予一名申索人。凡有超過一名有權申索扣除的人士就一名父母/祖父母/外祖父母的住宿照顧開支付出款項,該等人士須就誰人在有關課稅年度申索扣除住宿照顧開支達成協議。如不能達成協議,則無人能獲得該扣除。

「父母」一詞是指:

  • 你或你配偶的親生父母或繼父母;或
  • 依法領養你或你配偶的養父母;或
  • 已故配偶的父母。

「祖父母或外袓父母」一詞是指:

  • 你或你配偶的親生祖父母或親生外祖父母;或
  • 你或你配偶的領養祖父母或領養外祖父母;或
  • 你或你配偶的繼祖父母或繼外祖父母;或
  • 已故配偶的祖父母或外祖父母。
 

可容許扣除額

可扣除額是在有關課稅年度實際繳付予院舍的住宿照顧開支。每名父母/祖父母/外祖父母的可容許扣除額上限以每年的指明款項為準。

指明的扣除額上限在該父母/祖父母/外祖父母年屆60歲的該個課稅年度照常適用。換言之,可容許扣除額無須按該父母/祖父母/外祖父母60歲生日之前和以後的日數作出攤分。

可獲扣除的款額只包括提供照顧的費用(例如住宿、飲食、護理及雜項開支)。醫藥費、由院舍代支付並獲得付還的私人費用(例如一些按個別人士的需要而支付的費用),均不獲扣除。

每年扣除上限的指明款項 

課稅年度

 

扣除上限的指明款項

($)

2013/14 76,000
2014/15 至 2015/16 80,000
2016/17 至 2017/18 92,000
2018/19及其後 100,000

就有關受養人給予供養父母及供養祖父母或外祖父母免稅額的另一選擇

長者住宿照顧開支扣除是就有關長者給予供養父母及供養祖父母或外祖父母免稅額的另一選擇。若任何人已就其父母/祖父母/外祖父母獲得長者住宿照顧開支扣除,則他/她或其他人士便不可以在同一課稅年度再就該名父母/祖父母/外祖父母申索供養父母及供養祖父母或外祖父母免稅額。長者住宿照顧開支須在給予免稅額之前扣除,你不能同時申索扣除長者住宿照顧開支及供養父母及供養祖父母或外祖父母免稅額。

例子

假設你並非以標準稅率方式計算稅款。在2018/19課稅年度你為你已年滿60歲的父親支付了他住宿院舍的費用$60,000。你可選擇申請扣除長者住宿照顧開支($60,000)或申索供養父母免稅額($50,000)。明顯地,選擇前者會對你較為有利。

申索扣除辦法

長者住宿照顧開支申索扣除可在個別人士報稅表(BIR60)第9.4部內提出。如該申索並沒有在個別人士報稅表內提出,而你在提交報稅表後才打算提出申索,你可填寫並交回IR6071表格。不過,此申索須在不遲於有關課稅年度結束後的6年內提出。

下載IR6071表格 (pdf檔案)

證明文件

你提交報稅表時,無須提交證明文件,但須保存有關文件(例如由院舍發出的收據),以備稅務局查核。

更多資料

以下連結載有更多關於長者住宿照顧開支扣除的資料:

稅務條例釋義及執行指引第36號: 特惠扣除:第26D條 - 長者住宿照顧開支 (pdf檔案)關於長者住宿照顧開支扣除的常見問題
修訂日期:2019年5月
本頁內容對你有幫助嗎?
歡迎輸入你的意見!(可選擇填寫)
請注意: 此表格並非用作處理查詢或投訴,如需協助,請致電(852)183 5500或電郵enquiry@1835500.gov.hk 聯絡24小時服務的支援中心。
多謝!你的意見只會用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
感謝您的寶貴意見!

感謝你使用「XXXX」。
請根據剛才的使用情況,就以下項目為網上服務評分:

  1. 1.  使用簡易度
  2. 2.  指示清晰度
  3. 3.  整體滿意度