Social Services and Benefits for the Elderly

The Government provides a wide variety of social services and benefits to the elders, including Community Care and Support Services, Residential Care Services and Social Security. Combined with non-governmental support services, these measures ensure that the elders receive the help they need.

Community Care and Support Services

Both the District Elderly Community Centres and the Neighbourhood Elderly Centres satisfy the needs of the elders in terms of education, development, carer support, outreaching and networking, counselling, meals, referrals and drop-in services.

District Elderly Community CentresNeighbourhood Elderly Centres

The elders can also enroll in the social and recreational activities organised by the Social Centres for the Elderly to make better use of their leisure time and build social networks.

Social Centres for the Elderly

To meet the special needs of senior citizens who are physically weak, Day Care Centres/Units for the Elderly and Enhanced Home and Community Care Services and Integrated Home Care Services offer centre-based and home-based community care services respectively.

Day Care Centres/Units for the ElderlyEnhanced Home and Community Care ServicesIntegrated Home Care Services

Residential Care Services

The elders who lack care and assistance at home can enjoy residential care services for accommodation, personal care, health maintenance and social networking. There are different kinds of residential care homes to meet different care needs of the elders.

Lists of Residential Care Homes for the ElderlyCare and Attention Home for the ElderlyNursing Home

Central Waiting List for Subsidised Long Term Care Services

Since November 2003, the Social Welfare Department has implemented a Central Waiting List for subsidised long-term care services. To apply for subsidised long-term care services, applicants will need to undertake a standardised assessment to confirm their needs and matched them with appropriate services.

Central Waiting List for Subsidised Long Term Care ServicesStandardised Care Need Assessment Mechanism for Elderly Services

Social Security and Benefits

Elders can apply for various social security schemes. The Social Security Allowance Scheme provides a monthly allowance to Hong Kong residents aged 65 or above, or who are severely disabled.

More on the Social Security Allowance Scheme

Elders in financial difficulty can also apply for the Comprehensive Social Security Assistance (CSSA) to meet their basic needs. Elderly CSSA recipients meeting the prescribed criteria who choose to retire permanently in Guangdong or Fujian provinces can continue to receive cash assistance under the Portable CSSA Scheme.

Comprehensive Social Security Assistance SchemePortable Comprehensive Social Security Assistance Scheme

All Hong Kong residents aged 65 or above can apply for a Senior Citizen Card to enjoy various social benefits such as concessions, discounts and priority services offered by the Government, public organisations and private or commercial establishments.

Senior Citizen Card Scheme

Other Social Services for the Elderly

Besides the Government, a number of non-governmental and community service organisations provide support, such as the 24-hour emergency alarm system that enables elderly people in danger to speak to an operator.

Organisations offering information and services for the elderly

Enquiries

For enquiries, please contact the Hotline of Social Welfare Department on (852) 2343 2255.

Last review date: February 2016

為長者提供的社會服務及福利

政府通過各項計劃為長者提供多種社會服務及福利,包括社區照顧及支援服務、安老院舍照顧服務,以及長者經濟援助。非政府機構亦設有各種支援服務,確保長者能各取所需,安享晚年。

社區照顧及支援服務

長者地區中心及長者鄰舍中心分別在地區及鄰舍層面為長者提供多種服務,包括教育、發展、護老者支援服務、外展網絡、輔導、膳食、轉介及偶到服務。

長者地區中心長者鄰舍中心

除此以外,各區長者活動中心為長者提供多元化的社交及康樂活動,鼓勵長者善用餘暇,擴闊社交網絡。

長者活動中心

為照顧體弱長者在日常生活上的特別需要,長者日間護理中心或單位、改善家居及社區照顧服務,以及綜合家居照顧服務,分別提供中心為本及家居為本服務,以滿足他們的各種需要。

長者日間護理中心或單位改善家居及社區照顧服務綜合家居照顧服務

安老院舍照顧服務

安老院舍照顧服務旨在為一些未能在家中獲得適當照顧的長者,提供住宿及起居照顧,協助他們保持身體健康,促進社交生活。香港現設有不同類型的安老院舍,照顧長者各類護理需要。

各類安老院舍名單政府資助的護理安老院服務簡介政府資助的護養院服務簡介

資助長期護理服務中央輪候冊

社會福利署於2003年11月起實施資助長期護理服務中央輪候冊,申請人在提出申請專為長者而設的受資助長期護理服務時,會被安排接受統一評估,確定他們的服務需要,並安排切合他們所需的長期護理服務。

資助長期護理服務中央輪候冊安老服務統一評估機制

社會保障及津貼

政府設有不同的社會保障計劃。其中公共福利金計劃是為年齡在65歲或以上或嚴重殘疾的香港居民,每月提供現金津貼。

更多關於公共福利金計劃的資料

有經濟困難的長者也可申請綜合社會保障援助(綜援)計劃,以應付生活上的基本需要。凡符合申請資格的綜援受助長者,若選擇到廣東或福建省養老,則可申請綜援長者廣東及福建省養老計劃,繼續領取現金援助。

綜合社會保障援助(綜援)計劃綜援長者廣東及福建省養老計劃

此外,65歲或以上的香港居民,均可申請長者咭,以享用政府各部門、公共機構及商號為長者提供的票價優惠、折扣和優先服務。

長者咭計劃

其他為長者提供的社會服務

除政府部門外,多個非政府團體及社區服務組織也為長者提供不同服務及資訊,包括24小時緊急召援系統,讓長者在遇到緊急事故時直接與呼援服務員對話,尋求協助。

為長者提供資訊及服務的機構
覆檢日期:2019年2月
本頁內容對你有幫助嗎?
歡迎輸入你的意見!(可選擇填寫)
請注意: 此表格並非用作處理查詢或投訴,如需協助,請致電(852)183 5500或電郵enquiry@1835500.gov.hk 聯絡24小時服務的支援中心。
多謝!你的意見只會用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
感謝您的寶貴意見!

感謝你使用「XXXX」。
請根據剛才的使用情況,就以下項目為網上服務評分:

  1. 1.  使用簡易度
  2. 2.  指示清晰度
  3. 3.  整體滿意度
就業意見調查關閉按鈕 就業意見調查