Health Care for the Elderly

The elderly are more prone to certain health problems than other age groups. This is a concern with Hong Kong's aging population, but information and public services are available to help the elderly stay healthy and to enable their carers to take better care for them.

Common Health Problems among the Elderly

Learning more about the health problems common to the elderly and their causes can help the elderly and their carers to guard against them or detect them early. The Elderly Health Service website contains information on the symptoms and management of these conditions, and on related support services that are available for further help.

Health problems of the elderly

Health Centres and Hospitals Targeted at the Elderly

The Elderly Health Centres of the Department of Health provide health assessment, physical check up, counselling, curative treatment and health education services to the elderly. Senior citizens aged 65 and above can enrol as members of these centres. In addition, Geriatric Day Hospitals under the Hospital Authority provide multidisciplinary assessment, continued care and rehabilitation to geriatric patients.

Elderly Health CentresGeriatric Day Hospitals

How the Elderly Can Stay Healthy

Like everyone else, elderly people should undertake a moderate amount of exercise each day and lead a healthy lifestyle. This will help them to deal with daily life situations. The Elderly Health Service also provides tips on healthy lifestyles and self-help for the elderly.

Fitness programmes for senior citizensDietary recommendations for the elderlyHealthy lifestylesSelf-help tips

Tips for Taking Care of the Elderly

Taking care of the elderly requires specific skills, especially when the carer is dealing with a chronic health problem such as dementia or a stroke. The Carers' Corner of the Elderly Health Service website provides you with all the information you need as a carer, including tips and other practical advice.

Carers' Corner
Last review date: May 2016

長者的健康護理

隨著年紀增長,長者往往比其他人較易出現某些健康問題。本港人口老化引起公眾關注;對此,政府積極為長者及護老者提供實用的公共服務及資料,助長者保持健康,增強活力。

長者常見的健康問題

認識長者常見的健康問題及成因,有助長者預防或及早發現疾病。以下網頁為長者及護老者提供各種常見疾病的病徵及處理方法,以及有關的支援服務。

長者的健康問題

為長者而設的健康中心及醫院

衞生署轄下的長者健康中心為長者提供健康評估、身體檢查、健康輔導、治療和健康教育等多項服務。年滿65歲的長者,均可登記成為健康中心的會員。另外,醫院管理局老人科日間醫院亦為年老病人提供多個專科的診斷、持續護理及復康服務。

長者健康中心老人科日間醫院

身體健康,長者有責

要養成健康的生活習慣,每日必須保持適量運動和均衡飲食,這對長者亦然;若長者能建立良好的生活模式,將有助保持身體健康,讓自己有能力處理生活上的各項事務。以下連結提供有關長者日常生活的各項保健貼士。

長者健體計劃長者健康飲食建議健康生活模式長者保健貼士

照顧長者小貼士

照顧長者,尤其是患有長期病患(如痴呆症或中風)的長者,需要特別的技巧。長者健康服務網站內特設「護老者天地」專區,內容包括各種護老貼士及實用建議,希望為護老者提供更多所需資訊,協助他們照顧長者。

護老者天地
覆檢日期:2016年4月