Food Wise

Each one of us can play an active role to reduce food waste at source. We all can do to become much more aware of the food we buy and eat, and to treasure our good fortune to have sufficient food to nourish us. By avoiding food wastage, we will play our part for the environment to ease further pressure on the world’s food system when so many individuals and families still face hunger all over the world, and even in affluent Hong Kong. Remember that when you leave food in your bowl; when you prepared or ordered too much food; when food is spoiled because you forgot to eat it – these all generally gets thrown away and end up in our landfills. So, take more care not to waste. Don’t be a Big Waster.

Food Wise Hong Kong Campaign

On 3 December 2012, we set up the Food Wise Hong Kong Steering Committee to drive leadership in food waste avoidance and reduction through working with leaders in this field in order to formulate and oversee the implementation of the Food Wise Hong Kong Campaign. The campaign was formally launched on 18 May 2013. The campaign has a variety of activities, ranging from articulating and disseminating best practices in the commercial and industrial sector to working with government departments, schools and non-governmental organizations (NGOs) in order to expand participation. The campaign is also facilitating food donation for dual purposes of caring for the disadvantaged and waste reduction. Food Wise Ambassadors from the community and organizations have been recruited to spread the key messages and practical tips about food waste reduction across the community. A Food Wise Charter has also been established. Various trades, non-governmental organizations and government departments have signed the Charter to show their support and to commit to reducing food waste. Moreover, the “Food Wise Eateries” Scheme was launched in November 2015. This scheme is to encourage food eatery outlets in the hotel and food & beverage sectors to reduce food waste at source together with customer through offering portioned meals and adopting food waste reduction measures. Applications are accepted all year round. Participants of the Scheme will be awarded with a Food Wise Eateries accreditation status if they comply with the assessment criteria and will be granted with the Food Wise Eatery Logo and Stickers for displaying in the premises and their promotion for public identification.

More on Food Wise Hong Kong Campaign

Food Waste Reduction Practical Tips “123”

  1. Think before you buy to avoid wastage
  2. Make good use of food trimmings for a secondary dish
  3. Avoid leftovers in every meal
More on Food Waste Reduction Tips

Food Donation

Surplus edible food could be redistributed for human consumption. Throwing food away deprives someone else from being nourished by it and is a sheer waste of resources. Momentum of food donation is building up in Hong Kong. NGOs operate food banks, redistribute dry foodstuffs, as well as take cooked food from eateries to community centres. There are also NGOs that use surplus produce from fresh food markets either for distribution or for preparing hot meals in community kitchens for the needy.

More on Food Donation

Food Wise Stories

-

Video on Food Wise stories (Chinese only)
Last revision date: May 2017

惜食

我們日常可以積極參與從源頭減少廚餘,珍惜食物。大家能夠做的是三思而後食,知足於有足夠的食物而感恩惜福。透過避免浪費食物,人人身體力行,就能夠為環境出一分力。在地球上,許多人仍然面對三餐溫飽不足,所以避免令全球的食物系統增添壓力,委實人人有責,即使在經濟繁榮的香港,我們亦絕不應浪費食物資源。請緊記,假若你碗內有剩飯剩食;你烹調或點選過量食物;你善忘而令食物過期腐壞,這些食物資源往往因而白白浪費,大都最終被堆填。請大家切勿浪費食物,莫做「大嘥鬼」。

惜食香港運動

2012年12月3日,政府成立了「惜食香港運動」督導委員會,帶領推廣避免產生及減少廚餘。我們與有關界別的領袖合作,制訂「惜食香港運動」及監察惜食香港運動推行情況。於2013年5月18日正式展開序幕的「惜食香港運動」包括多項活動及行動,例如向工商界傳遞及宣揚良好作業方式,以及與政府部門、學校及非政府機構合作,務求動員更多人積極參與。該運動亦推廣捐贈食物,達致關顧基層和惜物減廢的雙贏成果。其他工作包括招募了一批惜食香港大使在社區宣揚惜食的訊息及貼士,以及推出惜食約章,多個業界機構、非政府團體、政府部門已經簽署,以表達他們對減少廚餘的支持。再者,一個名為「咪嘥嘢食店」計劃在2015年11月推出,鼓勵餐飲業界及酒店業界的食肆透過提供食物份量選擇和採取減少廚餘措施,與顧客共同從源頭減少廚餘,此計劃全年均接受申請,參與食肆如符合評核準則將獲「咪嘥嘢食店」認可資格和獲發「咪嘥嘢食店」的標誌及標貼,以供張貼於店舖內和宣傳,以供顧客識別。

更多關於惜食香港運動的資料

減少廚餘「123」

  1. 三思而買,不買過量食物,造成浪費
  2. 利用「菜頭菜尾」創造第二碟菜式
  3. 用餐時一點不剩
更多關於減少廚餘的貼士

捐贈食物

可食用的過剩食物可再作分配,供人食用。丟棄食物浪費資源,影響環境,亦會剝削其他人獲得食物的機會。捐贈食物的風氣在香港越來越盛行,非政府機構開設食物銀行,派發乾糧,並把熟食從食肆拿到社區中心;也有非政府機構利用鮮活食物市場的過剩物資,直接分送給有需要人士,或在社區廚房烹調熱食後再轉送。

更多關於捐贈食物的資料

惜食故事

-

惜食故事影片
修訂日期:2017年5月