Separate Taxation or Joint Assessment for Married Couples

A married couple (husband and wife) who receive employment income are assessed under salaries tax as separate individuals. However, they may elect to be jointly assessed if the election can reduce their overall tax liability. Here you learn about the difference between separate taxation and joint assessment, the potential benefits of joint assessment and the time limit for advising the Inland Revenue Department about an election for or withdrawal of joint assessment.

Separate Taxation

Under separate taxation, a married couple with employment income will be assessed as separate individuals.  If both you and your spouse have assessable income, each of you should declare the income and claim expenses and deduction in the tax returns.  Separate notices of assessment will be issued to you and your spouse and the tax charged on each will not take into account the income of the other spouse.

If your spouse does not have income assessable under salaries tax, you are entitled to claim the married person’s allowance and need not elect joint assessment.

More on the Married Person’s Allowance

Joint Assessment

Joint assessment can be advantageous for a married couple if the assessable income of one spouse is less than his or her tax allowance. If this is the case, you and your spouse should each complete a Tax Return - Individuals (BIR60) and elect joint assessment in part 4.4 and both you and your spouse have to sign in part 9 of each tax return. The election must be made on a yearly basis.

Under joint assessment, the incomes of the couples will be aggregated and the married person’s allowance or other allowances that the couple is eligible for will be deducted from the couple’s joint total income. This could result in some tax savings, and a notice of assessment will be issued. However, if joint assessment does not result in less tax, each spouse will receive a separate notice of assessment.

More on the treatment of married couples under joint assessment

Time Limit

It is important to note that there is a time limit for the election for or withdrawal of joint assessment. An election or withdrawal must be made:

  • within that year of assessment or the following year of assessment; or
  • within 1 month after the assessment for the year of assessment becomes final and conclusive, whichever is the later; or
  • within such further time, if any, as the Commissioner may allow as being reasonable in the circumstances. 

However, once you withdraw your election, re-election for the same year of assessment will not be entertained.

Last review date: May 2016

已婚人士及配偶分開評稅或合併評稅

在薪俸稅下,已婚人士及其配偶是作為獨立的個別人士分開評稅。選擇合併評稅,可能會減少兩人整體所須繳交的稅款。本文介紹已婚人士及配偶分開評稅或合併評稅的分別、選擇合併評稅的好處,以及通知稅務局選擇和取消合併評稅的期限。

分開評稅

在分開評稅的情況下,已婚人士及其配偶是作為獨立的個別人士分開評稅。如你及配偶均有應課薪俸稅入息,你們須各自填寫報稅表以申報入息,申索開支和扣除額。評稅主任將分別向你們發出評稅通知書,而你所須繳交的稅款與配偶的入息無關。

如你的配偶沒有應課薪俸稅入息,你可獲已婚人士免稅額,你們無須選擇合併評稅。

更多關於已婚人士免稅額的資料

合併評稅

如已婚人士或其配偶其中一方的入息少於他/她應得的免稅額,採用合併評稅對他們應該有利。在此情況下,二人須各自填妥一份個別人士報稅表(BIR60),在報稅表第4.4部選擇合併評稅,並在第10部同時簽署。合併評稅須每年重新提出申請。

假如選擇合併評稅,已婚人士及其配偶的入息會被歸納一起計算。入息總額會扣減已婚人士免稅額及其他免稅額。這評稅方式可能會減省稅款。他們二人將只會收到一份評稅通知書。如合併評稅不能減省稅款,評稅主任會為他們分別發出評稅通知書。

更多關於已婚人士選擇合併評稅的處理方式的資料

期限

你必須注意,無論選擇或取消合併評稅都有時間限制。選擇或取消合併評稅,須符合以下所定時限內提出:

  • 在該課稅年度或隨後一個課稅年度內提出申請;或
  • 須於評稅,或評稅成為最終決定的評稅後1個月內提出申請,(兩者以較遲的為準);或
  • 在稅務局局長根據有關情況而認為合理的更長時間(如有的話)內提出。

不過,若你撤銷選擇合併評稅,則不可就同一課稅年度再選擇合併評稅。

本頁內容對你有幫助嗎?
Found this page helpful?
歡迎輸入你的意見!(可選擇填寫)
請注意: 此表格並非用作處理查詢或投訴,如需協助,請致電(852)183 5500或電郵[email protected] 聯絡24小時服務的支援中心。
多謝!你的意見只會用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
修訂日期:2020年2月