How to Report Income in Your Tax Return

Salaries tax is imposed on all income arising in or derived from Hong Kong from an office, employment or any pension. Here you can learn more about the territorial concept of taxation, how income earned outside Hong Kong is taxed, the exemptions or tax relief you could be eligible for and the types of documents you should keep to support your claim for exemption or tax relief.

Source of Employment

The Hong Kong tax system is based on the territorial concept. Salaries tax is imposed on all income arising in or derived from Hong Kong from an office or employment or any pension irrespective of whether tax on that income has been paid in other jurisdictions.

In determining the source of employment, the following three factors are relevant:

  • the place where the contract of employment was negotiated and entered into, and is enforceable;
  • the employer’s place of residence; and
  • the place of payment of the employee’s remuneration.

In general, if all three factors take place outside Hong Kong, the employment is regarded as located outside Hong Kong. However, the Inland Revenue Department reserves the right to look beyond these factors in appropriate cases.

Further information can be obtained through the following link.

Departmental Interpretation & Practice Notes No. 10 (Revised) – The Charge to Salaries Tax (pdf file)

Hong Kong Employment

If your source of employment is Hong Kong, e.g. you are employed by a Hong Kong company to work in Hong Kong, your full income is chargeable to salaries tax even if part of your duties are performed outside Hong Kong. However, you may claim exemption of income or relief from tax under certain circumstances on a year-by-year basis.

Non-Hong Kong Employment

If your source of employment is outside Hong Kong, e.g. you are assigned to work in Hong Kong for a few years by your non-Hong Kong employer and you have to perform part of your duties in other countries, you are only assessed on the income attributable to the services you rendered in Hong Kong, including leave pay attributable to such services, and generally according to the number of days you were in Hong Kong (day-in-day-out basis) in a year of assessment.

When calculating leave pay under these circumstances, leave days attributable to services rendered in Hong Kong are computed as follows:

Leave days attributable to services rendered in Hong Kong =

Leave days attributable to services rendered in Hong Kong 

Business days in Hong Kong + Business days outside Hong Kong + leave days = 365 or 366

Full or Partial Exemption of Income or Tax Credit

You can apply for full or partial exemption of income or claim for tax credit when filing your Tax Return – Individuals (BIR60) and its Appendix if you satisfy one of the following conditions:

(A) Only Part of Your Employment Income Was Sourced in Hong Kong (i.e. under section 8(1A)(a) of the Inland Revenue Ordinance ("IRO))

This exemption only applies to employees whose source of employment is outside Hong Kong. As salaries tax in this case is only levied on income derived from services rendered in Hong Kong, income attributable to services rendered outside Hong Kong is exempt from tax. The amount of income exempted is generally computed by time-basis apportionment with reference to the number of days spent outside Hong Kong.

When counting the number of days in Hong Kong, the day of departure from Hong Kong and the day of arrival in Hong Kong are counted together as a single day.

Example

Arrival in Hong Kong

Departure from Hong Kong

Number of days in Hong Kong

1 February

at 23:30

4 February

at 00:30

3

1 March

at 11:30

1 March

at 18:30

1/2

Thus, if your annual income for a year of assessment was $365,000 and you were in Hong Kong for 100 days of that year, your assessable income would be $365,000 x 100/365 = $100,000.

 

(B) All Services Were Rendered Outside Hong Kong During the Year (i.e. under section 8(1A)(b)(ii) of the IRO)

This exemption is generally available to employees irrespective of the locality of their employment. Attending trainings, meetings, or reporting in Hong Kong is regarded as services rendered in Hong Kong for the purpose of the exemption. You are exempt from salaries tax for a year of assessment only if you rendered all services outside Hong Kong in that year of assessment, unless you are a civil servant or a crew member of a ship or an aircraft. Income from services rendered in Hong Kong during visits not exceeding a total of 60 days in the year is also excluded from tax.

A visit means a short or temporary stay. Whether the nature of a trip to Hong Kong made by a Hong Kong resident is a visit or not depends on the circumstances of each case. In general, if a Hong Kong resident has a work base in a foreign country and is required to render services there as a permanent employee, the person’s occasional return to Hong Kong will be recognised as a visit.

In deciding whether visits to Hong Kong exceed a total of 60 days, the “days of presence” are counted. A day is counted even though you may be present in Hong Kong for only part of that day. Therefore, the day of departure from Hong Kong and the day of arrival in Hong Kong are counted as two days.

Example

Arrival in Hong KongDeparture from Hong KongNumber of days in Hong Kong
1 February at 23:30 4 February at 00:30 4

 

(C) Seafarers and Aircrews (income exemption under section 8(2)(j) of the IRO)

This exemption is only applicable to seafarers and aircrews (including masters and commanders).  Income derived from services rendered by persons of this category is exempt from Salaries Tax for a year of assessment if they were present in Hong Kong on not more than 60 days in the basis period for that year of assessment and a total of 120 days falling partly within each of the basis periods for two consecutive years of assessment, one of which is the year of assessment being considered.

When counting the number of days present in Hong Kong, the “transit days” are counted as days present in Hong Kong.  “Transit days” are days in which the crew member landed in Hong Kong but did not pass through the Hong Kong Border and Passport Control before departing for other places.

Example

Year of Assessment

(Basis Period)

Number of days present in Hong Kong

Number of Transit Days

Total number of days present in Hong Kong

Exemption allowed under section 8(2)(j) of the IRO

2015/16
(1 April 2015 to 31 March 2016)

59

16

75

No

2016/17
(1 April 2016 to 31 March 2017)

40

10

50

Yes

2017/18
(1 April 2017 to 31 March 2018)

46

13

59

Yes

 

(D) Part of Your Income Has Already Been Charged to Tax in Any Other Territory Outside Hong Kong During the Year

(i) Income Exemption under Section 8(1A)(c) of the IRO

This exemption is generally only applicable to employees whose source of employment is in Hong Kong.  If you have paid tax of substantially the same nature as Hong Kong salaries tax in a territory outside Hong Kong for income relating to services you rendered in that territory, that part of the income will be exempt from salaries tax under section 8(1A)(c). Evidence of foreign tax payment is required.

Example

Your total income for a year of assessment was $300,000 and two-thirds of the income ($200,000) was attributable to services you rendered in Country A. If you had paid tax similar to Hong Kong salaries tax in Country A on the income of $200,000, your assessable income in Hong Kong would only be $100,000.

(ii) Tax Credit under Section 50 of the IRO

This relief is application where a Hong Kong resident person (a person who is resident for tax purposes in Hong Kong) has paid tax in a territory outside Hong Kong which has made a comprehensive avoidance of double taxation agreement or arrangement ("CDTA") with Hong Kong ("DTA territory") in respect of your inome derived from services rendered in that territory. With the support of evidence of foreign tax payment, the foreign tax paid will be allowed as a credit against Hong Kong tax payable in respect of the income concerned under section 50.

Example

You are a Hong Kong resident person. Your total income for a year of assessment was $3,000,000, out of which $1,000,000 was attributable to services you rendered in Country A ("relevant income"). You are chargeable to salaries tax of $450,000 (i.e. chargeable at standard rate) in respect of your total income in Hong Kong, and income tax of $100,000 in respect of the relevant income in Country A. If Country A is a DTA territory and you claim for tax credit in respect of the income tax paid in Country A, your salaries tax payable in Hong Kong will be reduced from $450,000 to $350,000.

(iii) Changes in Tax Treatments

For a year of assessment up to 2017/18

If you are a Hong Kong resident person and have paid tax similar to Hong Kong salaries tax in a DTA territory in respect of your income derived from services rendered in that territory, you may either apply for income exemption under section 8(1A)(c) or claim for tax credit under section 50.

From the year of assessment 2018/19 onwards

  • Section 8(1A)(c) is not applicable to income derived by a person from services rendered in a DTA territory.  Relief from double taxation in respect of such income can only be provided by way of tax credit under section 50.
  • A claim for tax credit in respect of Hong Kong tax payable for the year of assessment 2018/19 or any subsequent year of assessment may be made before

    (a)  the end of 6 years after the end of the year of assessment; or
    (b)  the end of 6 months after imposing liability or additional liability to Hong Kong tax in respect of the income on which foreign tax has been assessed,
    whichever is the later. 
  • If a person makes a claim for tax credit and an assessor refuses to allow the claim, the assessor must give the person a written notice of refusal and the person has the same rights of objection and appeal as if such notice were a notice of assessment.
  • The amount of any relief from double taxation granted   (whether by way of income exemption  under  section 8(1A)(c) or tax credit under section 50) must not exceed the amount of the relief that would be granted had all foreign tax minimization steps been taken.  A person must take all reasonable steps (such as claiming or securing the benefit of, relief, deductions, reductions or allowances and making elections for tax purpose) to minimize the amount of his or her foreign tax payable.
  • If the amount of the relief from double taxation previously granted (whether by way of income exemption under section 8(1A)(c) or tax credit under section 50) to a person becomes excessive as a result of an adjustment to the amount of the foreign tax under the laws of the foreign territory, the person must give the Commissioner written notice of the adjustment within 3 months after the adjustment is made.
List of countries/territories that Double Taxation Agreements / Arrangement (DTA) has been concluded Frequently asked questions about Double Taxation Relief

Application for Exemption of Income or Relief from Tax

Exemption or relief is only granted upon application with supporting documents. If you are seeking tax exemption or relief you must complete, as appropriate, Section 3 (Relief Claimed under Comprehensive Double Taxation Agreement(s) / Arrangement(s)) or Section 4 (Application for Full/Partial Exemption of Income included under Part 4.1 of BIR60) of the Appendix to Tax Return – Individuals (BIR60).

Supporting Documents

If you are claiming exemption or relief under section 8(1A)(c) of the IRO or a tax credit under Comprehensive Double Taxation Agreement(s) / Arrangement(s), you must submit evidence of tax payment such as your Individual Income Tax Return in the relevant country/territory and tax receipts, detailed computation of amounts for which relief sought and a schedule of your itinerary.

In processing the claim for either exemption or relief, you may be required to provide copies of the following documents:

  • employment contract
  • letter of assignment to Hong Kong (for expatriates coming to work in Hong Kong)
  • tax payment notices or receipts issued by tax authorities outside Hong Kong
  • passport or another travel document showing your movements into and outside Hong Kong in the relevant year of assessment
  • schedule of your movements into and outside Hong Kong in the relevant year of assessment (1/4/yyyy – 31/3/yyyy) in the following format:

 

Last revision date: October 2018
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated.
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to enquiry@1835500.gov.hk .
Thank you. Your input will only be  used to improve GovHK.

如何在報稅表申報入息

凡因任何職位或受僱工作或退休金所獲得的入息,如於香港產生或得自香港,均須課繳薪俸稅。本文介紹地域來源徵稅原則、香港以外地方所得入息的計稅方式、各類豁免入息徵稅,以及申請豁免入息徵稅或稅務寬免所須的佐證文件。

受僱工作的來源地

香港是按地域來源徵稅,凡因任何職位或受僱工作或退休金而獲得的入息,如果是於香港產生或得自香港,不論有關入息是否已在其他稅收管轄區繳稅,均須課繳薪俸稅。

在決定受僱工作的來源地時,以下3項都是考慮的因素:

  • 僱傭合約洽談、訂立和執行的地方;
  • 僱主的居住地;以及
  • 支付僱員薪酬的地方。

一般而言,假如上述3項因素都在香港以外的地方發生,該受僱工作即可視為源自香港以外地方。但稅務局保留權利在適當的個案中考慮該3項因素以外的情況。

以下連結載有更多相關的資料:

稅務條例釋義及執行指引第10號 (修訂本):薪俸稅的徵收 (pdf 檔案)

香港受僱工作

如你的受僱工作來源地是香港,例如:受僱於香港公司在港工作,即使你有部分職務在香港以外地方執行,你所得的全部入息,均須繳納薪俸稅。不過,你可按年申請將入息豁免徵稅或申請稅務寬免。

非香港受僱工作

如你的受僱工作來源地是香港以外的地方,例如:由你的非香港僱主指派到香港工作數年,並須在其他國家執行部分公務,稅務局只會就你在香港提供服務所得入息評稅,包括因提供該等服務而獲得的假期工資。一般而言,稅務局會按照每一課稅年度你逗留在香港的日數(在港逗留日數的基準)計算。

就計算因在香港提供服務而獲得的假期工資而言,在香港逗留的假期日數須按下列基準計算:

在香港逗留的假期日數 = 

在香港工作的日數 + 在外地工作的日數 + 總假期日數 = 365或 366

豁免全部或部分入息徵稅或稅收抵免

若符合下列其中一種情況,你可在個別人士報稅表(BIR60)及其附錄內提出申請將全部或部分入息豁免徵稅或申請稅收抵免:

(A) 只有部分從受僱工作所得的入息是源於香港(即《稅務條例》第8(1A)(a)條)

此項豁免只適用於在「非香港受僱工作」的僱員。在此情況下,由於只有在香港提供服務所得的入息須徵收薪俸稅,在香港以外地方提供服務所得的入息可豁免徵稅。獲豁免徵稅的入息款額,通常是按逗留時間分攤,並以在香港以外地方逗留的日數作為計算基準。

就計算留港的日數而言,離港日期和抵港日期合共當作一日計算。

示例 

抵港日期

離港日期

留港日數

2月1日

晚上11時30分

2月4日

凌晨0時30分

3

3月1日

上午11時30分

3月1日

下午6時30分

1/2

因此,如你在某課稅年度的年薪為$365,000,而你在該年度在香港逗留100天,你的應予評稅的入息為$365,000 × 100/365 = $100,000。

(B) 在有關年度內在香港以外地方提供所有服務(即《稅務條例》第8(1A)(b)(ii)條)

此項豁免一般可供從事「香港受僱工作」或「非香港受僱工作」人士申請。如納稅人在香港參加培訓、出席會議或匯報工作進度等,都會被視作在香港提供服務。除政府僱員、船舶人員及飛機機員外,若你在香港以外地方提供所有服務,則你在有關課稅年度從該受僱工作所得的全部入息可獲豁免徵收薪俸稅。如你在有關年度內到訪香港總共不超過60天,期間即使有在香港提供服務,你從該受僱工作所得的入息仍可全部豁免繳稅。

「到訪香港」是指短暫或臨時的逗留。香港居民回港是否屬到訪性質,須視乎其個別情況而定。一般而言,若其工作基地已轉往外地及須長駐外地提供服務,偶爾回港會被視作是到訪性質。

在決定你到訪香港是否總共超過60天時,稅務局會以「身處當地天數」的方法計算,即使你並非整天停留在港,亦會作一天計算。因此,抵港及離港日會作兩天計算。

示例 

抵港日期

離港日期

留港日數

2月1日

晚上11時30分

2月4日

凌晨0時30分

4

 

(C) 船舶人員及飛機機員 (即《稅務條例》第8(2)(j)條的入息豁免徵稅條款)

這豁免條款只適用於船舶人員及飛機機員 (包括船長及機長)。 若此類人士在一評稅基期內在香港逗留不超過六十天及在連續兩個課稅年度 (其中一個須為所考慮的課稅年度) 的評稅基期內,在香港逗留總共不超過一百二十天,則他們在該被考慮的課稅年度內因提供服務所收取的入息可獲豁免徵收薪俸稅。

就計算留港的日數而言,「過境日」會當作留港日數計算。 「過境日」是指該船務或機務人員到達香港境域,準備過境到別處地方但還沒有進行護照過關檢查而停留在港的日子。

示例

課稅年度

(評稅基期)

留港日數

過境日數

留港總日數

根據《稅務條例》第8(2)(j)條豁免徵收薪俸稅

2016/17
(2016年 4月 1日 至 2017年 3月 31日)

59

16

75

不可以

2017/18
(2017年 4月 1日 至 2018年 3月 31日)

40

10

50

可以

2018/19
(2018年 4月 1日 至 2019年 3月 31日)

46

13

59

可以

 

(D) 在有關年度內部分入息已課繳香港以外地區稅款

(i)《稅務條例》第8(1A)(c)條的入息豁免徵稅

此項豁免一般只適用於在從事「香港受僱工作」的僱員。如你在香港以外地方提供服務,並已在提供服務的地區就你提供該等服務所得的入息繳付稅款,而該外地稅項與香港薪俸稅性質上大致相同,則該部分已被徵收外地稅的入息,可根據第8(1A)(c)條獲豁免徵收香港薪俸稅。在作出申請時,須提供外地完稅證明。

示例

你的總入息在某課稅年度是$300,000,而其中三分之二(即$200,000)是你在A國提供服務所得的入息。假如你已在A國就該$200,000入息繳付類似香港薪俸稅的稅項,則你在香港的應予評稅的入息只是$100,000。

(ii)《稅務條例》第50條的稅收抵免

此項寬免適用於屬香港居民人士(即屬香港稅務居民的人),並在已與香港訂立全面性避免雙重課稅協定/安排的地區(「有安排地區」)就提供服務所得入息而繳付在該地區的稅款。如你已在「有安排地區」繳付外地稅款並能提供證明,你所繳付的外地稅款可根據《稅務條例》第50條獲容許用作抵免就該入息而須在香港繳付的稅款。

示例

你屬香港居民人士。你的總入息在某課稅年度是$3,000,000,而其中$1,000,000是你在A國提供服務所得的入息(“有關入息”)。你須就香港的總入息在香港繳付$450,000的薪俸稅(以標準稅率計算)和就有關入息在A國繳付$100,000的稅款。假如A國是「有安排地區」, 而你就A國繳付的稅款申請稅收抵免,你在香港繳付的薪俸稅款將會由$450,000減至$350,000。

(iii) 更改稅務安排

截至2017/18課稅年度止

如你是香港居民人士並在「有安排地區」就提供服務所得的入息繳付與香港薪俸稅性質上大致相同的稅款,你可根據第8(1A)(c)條申請該部分入息豁免徵稅或選擇根據第50條申請稅收抵免。

2018/19課稅年度起

  • 第8(1A)(c)條的入息豁免徵稅不再適用於任何人在「有安排地區」提供服務而獲得的入息。你只可根據《稅務條例》第50條以稅收抵免的方式就該收入申請雙重課稅寬免。
  • 就2018/19或之後的課稅年度在香港繳付的稅款提出的稅收抵免申索,可在以下期限前(以較遲者為準)以書面提出:

    (a) 在有關課稅年度結束後6年內;或
    (b) 如就已評定外地稅款的收入在香港作出評稅並需繳付稅款或額外稅款,則在作出該評稅的日期後的6 個月內。 
  • 如你提出稅收抵免申索,而評稅主任拒絕依據該申索容許抵免,則該評稅主任須向你發出書面拒絕通知,而你可就該拒絕通知享有與評稅通知書相同的反對權及上訴權。
  • 雙重課稅寬免的款額(不論是根據第8(1A)(c)條的入息豁免徵稅或第50條的稅收抵免),不得超逾假使你已採取所有盡量減少外地稅款步驟而繳交的稅款。你須採取所有合理步驟(如就寬免、扣除、扣減或免稅額等提出申索及為稅務目的而作出選擇)以盡量減少須就有關收入而在境外地區繳付的外地稅款。
  • 如你已獲得雙重課稅寬免(不論是根據第8(1A)(c)條的入息豁免徵稅或第50條的稅收抵免),在其後因根據境外地區的法律,調整有關的外地稅款,以致該寬免的款額變得過高,你須在該項調整作出後的3個月內以書面通知稅務局局長。
已與香港簽訂全面性避免雙重課稅協定/安排的地區雙重課稅寬免的常見問題

申請豁免入息徵稅或稅務寬免

豁免及寬免只批予能提供佐證文件的申請人。如你想申請豁免及寬免,必須提交佐證文件並且填寫個別人士報稅表(BIR60)附錄的第3部分(根據全面性避免雙重徵稅協定/安排申請寬免)或第4部分(申請將個別人士報稅表(BIR60)第4.1部所列的全部或部分入息豁免徵稅)。

佐證文件

你若根據《稅務條例》第8(1A)(c)條申請豁免或寬免,或根據全面性避免雙重徵稅協定/安排申請稅收抵免,則必須提交完稅證明,例如內地個人所得稅申報表、稅款收據及行程表。

在處理豁免或寬免申索時,你可能要提供下列佐證文件:

  • 僱傭合約
  • 到港工作指派書(適用於來港工作的外籍人士)
  • 由香港以外地方的稅務機構發出的稅單或稅款收據
  • 護照或其他旅行證件,證明你在有關課稅年度在香港的出入境活動
  • 列明你在有關課稅年度(1/4/yyyy–31/3/yyyy)在香港的出入境活動明細表,格式如下:

 

離港日期

抵港日期

到訪地點
(國家/城市的名稱)

目的
(例如公幹、度假)

1.

 

 

 

 

2.

 

 

 

 

3.

 

 

 

 

4.

 

 

 

 

修訂日期:2019年5月
本頁內容對你有幫助嗎?
歡迎輸入你的意見!(可選擇填寫)
請注意: 此表格並非用作處理查詢或投訴,如需協助,請致電(852)183 5500或電郵enquiry@1835500.gov.hk 聯絡24小時服務的支援中心。
多謝!你的意見只會用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
感謝您的寶貴意見!

感謝你使用「XXXX」。
請根據剛才的使用情況,就以下項目為網上服務評分:

  1. 1.  使用簡易度
  2. 2.  指示清晰度
  3. 3.  整體滿意度