Five Keys to Food Safety

Come in and get the keys to ensure safe eating and prevention of food-borne diseases.

What are the Five Keys to Food Safety?

Eating is perhaps one of the most important and enjoyable activity for humans.  However, it is also known that one may get sick after eating food contaminated by bacteria, virus, toxins, other chemical or physical substances.  Although the efforts put in by various sectors of the government and the community lay a solid foundation for the safe food supply and environmental hygiene, science has shown that paying attention to five steps of these processes and safe food practices by the individuals will achieve the best results in a synergy.  Advocated by the World Health Organization (WHO) over the past years, the five keys to food safety has been shown to be handy tips for anyone in the trade or domestic settings to ensure safe eating.

The five keys are:

Key 1: Choose

Key 2: Clean

Key 3: Separate

Key 4: Cook

Key 5: Safe Temperature

Using the Five Keys when you are Dining Out

Choose – Dine out in a licensed and hygienic restaurant. In Hong Kong, food premises selling sushi and sashimi or other high risk food will require a special permit.  Make sure you attend only those who are properly licensed under the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department.

Clean – Clean your hands before eating.

Separate – Use different utensils when required to handle raw and cooked food, say, when having hotpots buffets or Korean style BBQ.

Cook – It is safest to have cooked food served well done. If unsure whether the foods are thoroughly cooked, ask the restaurant staff to cook the foods again. If you prefer to have cuisine with food served raw such as sushi and sashimi, please choose a restaurant with the specific license and make sure that the food are cold enough.

Safe Temperature – Growth of bacteria or viruses most often occurs during the dangerous zone from 4oC to 60oC.  Therefore, eating food placed in room temperature for, say two hours, could be dangerous.

Using the Five Keys in Home Setting

Choose – Take a good look at the food products you are buying. Make sure the packing is intact, storage condition is proper, and watch out for the expiry date.

Clean – Clean your kitchens, chopping boards, utensils and refrigerators. Remember to wash your hands.  

Separate – Use separate kitchenware and utensils in the storage, preparation and other handling of raw and cooked food. Knives and chopping boards should be washed with hot water and detergent after use. When placed in a refrigerator, foods should be properly packed and raw food should be placed below cooked food.

Cook – Ensure all of your food is thoroughly cooked. Make sure that blood is not visible when the cooked meat is cut and their juices are clear, not red.

Safe Temperature – Do not leave any food in room temperature, especially the dangerous zone 4oC to 60oC, for more than two hours. Ensure your refrigerator and freezer function normally.

5 Keys to Food Safety – Practical Tips for Public (pdf file)Advice for consuming sushi and sashimiGuidelines for Safe Preparation and Handling of Poached Chicken - A Guide to Consumer(pdf file)

For the members of the Trade

There is a diversity of food business in Hong Kong serving various types of Chinese and Western cuisines and mixed dishes.  The Centre for Food Safety has developed guidelines, codes and other supportive tools for the trade to provide food at high standards of food safety.  You can check out the links below.

5 Keys to Food Safety – Handbook for Trade (pdf file)Trade Guidelines on Safe Production of Rice and Noodles (pdf file)Food Hygeine Guidelines for Chiu Chow Dishes (pdf file)Food Safety Guideline on Preparation of Sushi, Sashimi, Raw Oyster and Meat To Be Eaten Raw (pdf file)
Last revision date: January 2016

食物安全五要點

本文介紹安全飲食和預防由食物傳播疾病的要點。

甚麼是食物安全五要點?

吃既是人類生存基本,亦是享受生活不可缺少的環節。可是,進食受細菌、病毒、毒素、化學物或其他物質污染的食物,則有機會患病。儘管政府多個部門和社區已致力為公眾提供安全的食物供應和環境衞生,科學研究仍發現由個人實踐五個重要步驟,遵從食物安全守則,才是達致理想成效之道。食物安全五要點由世界衞生組織提倡,旨在為食物業界和公眾提供相關指引,保障食物安全。

五要點分別為:

要點一:精明選擇

要點二:保持清潔

要點三:生熟分開

要點四:煮熟食物

要點五:安全溫度

外出用膳時遵守食物安全五要點

精明選擇──選擇在已領有牌照及衞生的餐廳進饍。食物場所售賣壽司、魚生或其他高風險食物,須獲特定許可。你應確保光顧的食肆已領有食物及環境衞生署發出的相關牌照。

保持清潔──進食前要洗淨雙手。

生熟分開──處理生熟食物,如進食火鍋、自助餐或韓式燒烤時,應使用不同器具。

煮熟食物──最安全是吃全熟的食物。如不確定食物是否徹底煮熟,應要求餐廳員工再烹煮食物。如你較喜歡生吃食物,如壽司和魚生,請選擇已獲特定許可的餐廳,食物亦應保持足夠冷度。

安全溫度──在溫度攝氏4至60度之間,細菌和病毒最易滋生。因此,煮熟的食物若置於室溫超過兩小時,便不宜進食。

在家用膳時遵從食物安全五點

精明選擇──細心檢視你購買的食品,確保包裝完好無缺、貯存妥善,並留意食用限期。

保持清潔──徹底清潔廚房、砧板、煮食器具和雪櫃。記得洗淨雙手。

生熟分開──使用不同廚具和食具貯存、配製和處理生熟食物。刀和砧板用過後,應用熱水和洗潔精洗淨。擺放食物入雪櫃時,應確保已妥善包好,並將生的食物置於熟的食物之下。

煮熟食物──確保烹調的食物徹底煮熟。煮熟的肉類外觀不應有血,切開時肉汁清澈,沒有呈紅色。

安全溫度──切勿將食物置於室溫超過兩小時,尤其是在溫度攝氏4至60度之間。確保雪櫃和冰格運作正常。

《食物安全五要點─家居實用手冊》(pdf 檔案)進食壽司及刺身的建議烹製和處理水煮雞的安全指引─給消費者的指引(pdf檔案)

給食物業界的指引

本港飲食界提供的美食包羅萬有,中西合璧。食物安全中心已制定多項指引、守則和其他輔助工具,助業界提升食物安全,讓市民吃得放心。你可瀏覽以下連結了解詳情。

《食物安全五要點─業界指南》(pdf 檔案)安全烹製飯麵的業界指引(pdf檔案)潮州打冷食品衞生守則(pdf檔案)配製壽司、刺身、生蠔及生吃肉類食物安全指引(pdf檔案)
覆檢日期:2016年1月