Greening Hong Kong

Greening plays an important role in building an environmentally friendly society. It brings about many benefits to our environment, and engages various sectors of the society. This article outlines the Hong Kong Government's greening policy, benefits of greening, the Government’s greening work, tree management and ways in which you can take part in greening Hong Kong.

More on Greening

The Greening Policy

The Government is striving to uplift the quality of our living environment through active planting, proper maintenance and preservation of trees together with other vegetation. The target is to bring about noticeable improvements in urban greenery, to enhance existing greened areas, and to enhance opportunities for quality greening during the planning and development of public works projects.

To achieve the policy targets, the Government has developed strategies which aim to improve the coordination and effectiveness of greening efforts within the current regime, and to make greening an integral part of future public works projects. The Government would also encourage private sector and community participation to promote greening. The main initiatives being undertaken include active planting and greening programme, enhancing opportunities for quality greening, community support and private sector involvement, and tree preservation.

The Greening, Landscape and Tree Management (GLTM) Section was established under the Works Branch of the Development Bureau in March 2010 to champion a new and strategic policy on greening, landscaping and tree management, with a view to achieving the sustainable development of a greener environment for Hong Kong.

More on greening policy

Benefits of Greening

Establishment of urban greening through thoughtful planning of rich and colourful trees, shrubs, flowers among various shades of green plants, can create a fresh, beautiful, comfortable and elegant environment to improve the urban living conditions and enhance the quality of our lives.

A green landscape is an important means in improving our urban environment. The tree and flora planting form a complete greenery system which can help to purify air, moderate temperature, reduce soil erosion, improve water and soil quality and enhance the visual appeal and biodiversity of our city.

More on benefits of greening

Government’s Greening Work and Planting Records

The Government’s greening work is characterised by great variety and spatial distribution across the territory, ranging from extensive and ecological planting in the countryside to thematic and diversified planting in the urban and fringe areas. This greening work is realised through the concerted efforts of different Government departments.

More on planting records

Tree Management

The Government adopts an “integrated approach” for the management of trees on government land. In essence, the department responsible for the maintenance of an area or a facility is also responsible for the maintenance of trees there. Tree Management Office is established under the GLTM Section to advocate the adoption of a professional approach to tree management among the tree management departments and community at large.

More on knowledge about tree plantingMore on trees care and preservation

Greening Master Plan

To better guide the planning, design and implementation of greening works, the Government has started to develop Greening Master Plans (GMPs) since 2004. The Plans aim to define an overall greening framework by identifying suitable locations for planting with desirable themes and species, thus paving the way for continuous and consistent results in enhancing the green environment. In developing the Plans, district characteristics have been given full consideration.

 

More on Greening Master Plans

Greening Works for Government Buildings

Besides GMPs, greening has been positively integrated into the design of government buildings. In addition to implementing greening at ground levels, the Government has been exploring ways to increase the greening areas in government buildings, like roof greening and vertical greening.

Skyrise greening represents a new concept of greenery in urban landscape. In a broad sense, it encompasses all greening at the buildings or other structures beyond the ground level, including roof greening, vertical greening, sky gardens, terrace planting, etc. Skyrise greening provides environmental benefits as well as enhances aesthetic quality of our urban environment. 

More information on greening and landscaping on government buildingsMore information on the Government’s efforts in roof greening and vertical greening

Greening Schools

Greening culture is also promoted in schools. There are numerous greening methods, such as the cultivation of groves, landscaped gardens, lawns, shrubbery, garden plots, container plants, and the setting up of planters, trellises and hanging baskets. Schools can apply for subsidy through the Greening School Subsidy Scheme launched by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD). You can make your choice based on the size of the school campus, the existing facilities and the available resources.

More on Greening School HandbookMore on Greening School Subsidy Scheme

How You Can Participate

The community plays a significant role in our greening, landscape and tree management work. The Government launches a variety of community involvement and public education activities for various target groups to foster an attitude of greening the environment and care for trees across the territory. These activities include roving exhibitions, school talks, seminars for the industry, private owners and property management companies, etc.

More on community participation

Seminars have also been held to share with the relevant stakeholders the experience on skyrise greenery and tree management. 

More on seminars on topics on skyrise greenery and tree management

The "Green Volunteer Scheme" is launched in the 18 districts to encourage members of the public to participate in voluntary services of greening activities, to assist in tree surveillance work and report problematic trees, and to assist in promoting horticulture and greening activities, etc. Those who are interested can register as "Green Volunteers" under the Scheme, which will provide basic horticultural training and practical sessions for new recruits.

More on Green Volunteer Scheme

The Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department, LCSD and the Home Affairs Department have all along organised many planting activities and other green programmes for community participation. You can visit their websites for their latest activities and programmes.

Leisure and Cultural Services Department's websiteHome Affairs Department's websiteAgriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department's website
Found this page helpful?
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated. (Optional)
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to enquiry@1835500.gov.hk.
Thank you. Your input will only be used to improve GovHK.
Last review date: April 2022

綠化香港

綠化是締造環保社會的重要環節。它為我們的環境帶來很多好處,並需要社會各界參與。本文介紹香港政府的綠化政策、綠化的好處、政府綠化工作、樹木管理,以及你可以如何參與綠化香港。

更多有關綠化資料

綠化政策

政府致力透過廣種花草樹木,並加以妥善護理和保育,藉以提高居住環境的質素。當前的目標是要擴大市區的綠化地帶、美化現有綠化區、並在規劃及發展公共工程項目時,增加優質綠化機會。

為達到上述政策目標,政府已制訂策略,一方面改善現有綠化計劃的協調工作和成效,另一方面則把綠化計劃納入日後的公共工程,作為其中的一個重要環節。此外,為進一步推廣綠化,我們會鼓勵私營機構和公眾參與其中。目前推行的主要措施包括:大量種植及綠化計劃、增加優質綠化機會、私營機構的參與及市民的支持、以及保育樹木計劃。

政府於2010年3月在發展局工務科之下成立綠化、園境及樹木管理組,倡導新的策略性綠化、園境及樹木管理政策,使香港持續發展更綠化的環境。

更多有關綠化政策資料

園林綠化的好處

城市綠化建基於周詳的規劃,透過利用多樣多彩的樹木、灌木、花草,配以各種綠色植物,為我們創造出清新、美麗、舒適、優雅的環境,提高城市宜居性及改善生活質素。

園境綠化是改善城市環境的重要途徑。種植花草樹木營造了一個完整的綠化系統,能夠淨化空氣、緩和氣溫、減少水土流失、改善水土質素、美化環境,以及提升城市的生物多樣性。

更多有關園林綠化的優點

政府綠化工作及栽種植物記錄

政府綠化工作種類繁多,範圍遍佈全港,從郊野以廣泛及生態為主,到市區及邊緣地帶以不同主題及多元化的種植,都可體現政府綠化工作。這亦是各政府部門共同努力的成果。

更多有關栽種植物記錄的資料

樹木管理

政府採用「綜合管理方式」管理政府土地上的樹木。扼要來說,負責管理樹木所在的土地或設施的部門,同時負責護養土地及設施範圍內的樹木。綠化、園境及樹木管理組轄下設有樹木管理辦事處,負責倡導樹木管理部門和社會大眾以專業手法管理樹木。

更多有關種植知識的資料更多有關樹木護養及保護的資料

綠化總綱圖

自2004年起,政府開始制訂地區綠化總綱圖,以更有效統籌綠化行動的規劃、設計和實行。綠化總綱圖旨在為地區訂定整體綠化大綱,找出合適的種植地點,配以合宜的種植主題和植物品種,從而達到持續、一致的成果,改善地區的綠化環境。在制訂這計劃時會充分考慮融入各區的特色。

更多有關綠化總綱圖的資料

政府建築物的綠化計劃

除了綠化總綱圖外,各政府建築物亦已積極加入綠化元素。除了在地面綠化帶推行綠化計劃外,政府亦已進一步探討可提高樓宇綠化面積的方法,如屋頂綠化和垂直綠化等。

高空綠化是個新的市區綠化概念。廣義而言,高空綠化包括建築物或其他構築物在地面以上的所有綠化工作,包括屋頂綠化、垂直綠化、空中花園、平台種植等。高空綠化能為環境帶來各種好處,並能美化市區環境。

更多有關政府建築物綠化及園境工作的資料更多有關政府在屋頂綠化及垂直綠化方面的工作的資料

綠化學校

綠色文化同時也在學校推廣。事實上,綠化的方式種類繁多,包括設置樹叢、園林公園、草地、灌木林、花園、盆栽、花架、植物棚和吊籃。

學校可以透過康樂及文化事務署的綠化校園資助計劃申請資助。學校可根據校園的大小、現有設施及可用資源,擬訂合適的綠化計劃。

更多有關綠化校園手冊更多有關綠化校園資助計劃

你可以怎樣參與

市民大眾在政府的綠化、園境及樹木管理工作方面擔當重要角色。政府為不同對象舉辦多元化社區參與和公眾教育活動,以鼓勵市民綠化環境及愛護樹木。活動包括巡迴展覽和學校講座,以及為業內人士、私人業主和物業管理公司舉辦研討會等。

更多有關社區參與的資料

此外,政府亦舉辦研討會,與有關持份者分享政府在高空綠化及樹木管理的經驗。

更多有關高空綠化研討會的資料

在全港十八區推行的「綠化義工計劃」旨在鼓勵市民參與綠化香港的活動,在綠化活動中擔任義工;協助推行樹木監察和報告不正常的生長或損壞情況,以及推廣園藝及綠化工作等。有興趣參加計劃的市民可登記成為「綠化義工」。此計劃會為綠化義工安排基本園藝訓練及實習活動。

更多有關綠化義工計劃的資料

漁農自然護理署、康樂及文化事務署和民政事務署一直舉辦不同植樹活動及其他綠化計劃,讓市民大眾參加。你可以瀏覽部門網站,認識最新活動和計劃。

康樂及文化事務署網頁民政事務總署網頁漁農自然護理署網頁
本頁內容對你有幫助嗎?
本頁內容對你有幫助嗎?
歡迎輸入你的意見!(可選擇填寫)
請注意: 此表格並非用作處理查詢或投訴,如需協助,請致電(852)183 5500或電郵enquiry@1835500.gov.hk 聯絡24小時服務的支援中心。
多謝!你的意見只會用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
覆檢日期:2022年4月