Construction Noise

Construction noise in a compact city like Hong Kong can be a significant problem. On this page you can learn about how the Environmental Protection Department is managing construction noise, the roles of construction noise permits and noise emission labels, and a code of good practice to which the Department is encouraging adherence.

Noise Management in Hong Kong

As in many densely populated cities around the world, noise is a significant environmental problem in Hong Kong. The small geographical size of the urban areas means that buildings are always very close to each other, and that commercial and residential premises are mixed together. So when new construction or renovations are underway, noise can be very disturbing. Since the Noise Control Ordinance came into effect in 1989, the Environmental Protection Department has worked to reduce this problem by carefully managing construction noise. The aim is to strike a balance between the needs of the construction industry and social harmony.

More on noise management measures throughout Hong KongText of the Noise Control Ordinance

Construction Noise Permits

Construction Noise is mainly controlled under a construction noise permit system. A construction noise permit must be obtained from the Environmental Protection Department for either of the following two situations:

  • Using specified powered mechanical equipment or carrying out prescribed construction work in Designated Areas, or carrying out general construction work using powered mechanical equipment, from 7 pm to 7 am on weekdays, and any time on Sundays and public holidays.
  • Carrying out percussive piling from 7 am to 7 pm on any day other than a public holiday.

EPD encourages the construction industry to adopt effective noise abatement measures at construction sites

You should note that percussive piling is prohibited from 7 pm to 7 am on weekdays and any time on Sundays and public holidays. Applications for construction noise permits must be submitted to the Environmental Protection Department for assessment and approval before the commencement of the work. The respective application forms are available online, and can also be submitted electronically.

Construction Noise Permit application formsConstruction Noise Permit e-Application

Noise Emission Labels

Hand-held percussive breakerThe Noise Control Ordinance also provides for the control of noise from hand-held percussive breakers and air compressors. Breakers that weigh more than 10 kilograms and air compressors that can supply compressed air at 500 kilopascals or above must be fitted with noise emission labels when being used for construction work. When applying for a noise emission label, you should provide:

  • An EEC type-examination certificate, an EC Declaration of Conformity or a noise testing report issued by a corporate member of the UK Institute of Acoustics certifying that the 
    equipment complies to noise emission standards.
  • A trade leaflet or brochure for the equipment, if available.
  • Other relevant information such as the equipment's date of manufacture.

Noise emission label

Application forms are available online and should be submitted at one of the Environmental Protection Department's Customer Service Counters. Applications can also be made online.

More on Noise Emission LabelsNoise Emission Label application formNoise Emission Label e-ApplicationCustomer Service Counter locations

A Code of Practice

The Environmental Protection Department also published a Code of Practice to encourage the reduction of noise and implementation of good management practices within the construction industry. The primary aim of the Code is to support the senior management of construction firms in complying with the Noise Control Ordinance. The Code covers measures such as:

  • Issuing policy statements on the prevention of noise pollution.
  • Conducting systematic periodic reviews of practice.
  • Appointing and empowering a senior management as a noise control officer.
  • Establishing a notification system for construction noise incidents that have generated or may generate complaints.

The objective is to ensure that the need for a tranquil environment will be considered as part of the construction process. 

More on the Code of Good Practice (pdf file)

Further Enquiries

If you have further enquiries about the Construction Noise Permits or Noise Emission Labels applications, please contact Environmental Protection Department's Customer Service Centre at 2838 3111 or by email to enquiry@epd.gov.hk.

Last revision date: February 2017

建築噪音

香港人煙稠密,建築噪音無疑是一個重大的問題。本文將介紹環保署採取的建築噪音管理措施、建築噪音許可證及噪音標籤的作用,以及環保署鼓勵業界遵守的良好管理業務守則。

香港的噪音管理措施

一如許多人口密集的大城市,香港同樣面對嚴重的噪音問題。鑑於市區土地有限,樓宇之間往往相當緊貼,當中更有不少為商住兩用。所以當有建築或翻新工程進行時,所產生的噪音往往會對他人構成很大滋擾。自《噪音管制條例》於1989實施以來,環保署一直透過審慎管理,致力減少建築噪音問題,以求在建造業的需要和維持社會和諧之間取得平衡。

更多關於香港的噪音管理措施的資料《噪音管制條例》文本

建築噪音許可證

建築噪音主要透過建築噪音許可證的制度來管制。以下兩類工程須事先取得由環保署簽發的建築噪音許可證。

  • 在晚上七時至翌日上午七時,或在公眾假期(包括星期日)任何時間使用機動設備進行一般建築工程,或在指定範圍內進行訂明建築工程或使用指定機動設備。
  • 在平日(不包括公眾假期)上午七時至晚上七時進行撞擊式打樁工程。

環保署鼓勵建造業在建築地盤採取有效的噪音消減措施

法例禁止在晚上七時至翌日上午七時,以及在公眾假期及星期日任何時間進行撞擊式打樁工程。建築噪音許可證申請必須於施工前提交予環保署作評估及批核。申請書可在環保署網頁下載,亦可以電子方式提交。

建築噪音許可證申請書建築噪音許可證電子申請書

噪音標籤

手提撞擊式破碎機手提撞擊式破碎機及空氣壓縮機發出的噪音同樣受《噪音管制條例》規管。重量超過 10千克的手提撞擊式破碎機及壓力不少於 500 千帕斯卡的空氣壓縮機,必須符合法定的噪音標準,並須貼上噪音標籤,方可使用於建築工程上。申請噪音標籤時,必須提交:

  • 歐洲經濟共同體類別認可證書、歐盟符合宣告書或英國聲學學會正式會員發出的噪音測試報告,以證明有關的設備符合噪音標準。
  • 簡介個別設備的小冊子/手冊(如可提供)。
  • 其他相關的資料,例如設備的製造日期。

噪音標籤

申請書可在環保署網頁下載;所有申請必須送交環保署顧客服務枱,或透過互聯網提交。

更多關於噪音標籤的資料噪音標籤申請書噪音標籤電子申請書環保署顧客服務枱辦事處地址

業務守則

環保署發佈了的良好管理業務守則,鼓勵建造業界減少噪音及實施良好的管理做法。該守則的基本目的是協助本港建築公司的高級管理層,在作業時能夠遵循《噪音管制條例》。該守則闡述了以下措施:

  • 發出防止噪音污染的政策聲明。
  • 有系統地定期檢討工作守則。
  • 委任及授權高級管理人員為噪音管制工作的人員。
  • 就引致或可能引致投訴的建築噪音事件設立通知機制。

該守則的目標是確保建造業界在進行建築工程時,亦同時能夠考慮到保持環境寧靜的需要。

更多關於良好業務守則的資料 (pdf檔案)

查詢

若你對建築噪音許可證或噪音標籤的申請有任何查詢,請致電環保署的顧客服務中心 2838 3111 或電郵至 enquiry@epd.gov.hk

修訂日期:2017年5月