Skip to main content   Skip to search box   Skip to user groups
User Groups
 

Main Content

Sports and recreation have long been important aspects of Hong Kong’s social fabric. Over the years, the development of related facilities mirrored the changes of the city. This article describes the past and present of those facilities in Hong Kong, covering their history, development and current use.

Parks

Parks in Hong Kong are one of the significant outdoor recreation venues in the city, with the Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens, Victoria Park, Kowloon Park and Tuen Mun Park each playing a distinguished role in the city’s recreation facets.

Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens

The Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens, the oldest public garden in Hong Kong, is located on the northern slope of Victoria Peak. Opened as a botanical garden in 1861, the 5.6 hectare site gained its current name in 1975 to reflect an increase of zoological exhibits. Today, the Old Garden in the east contains children’s playground, aviaries, a greenhouse and a fountain terrace garden. All are popular among the public. The New Garden in the west houses mammal and reptile displays that attract a large number of visitors, particularly on weekends.

Victoria Park

As one of the most popular green spaces in Hong Kong, Victoria Park was built on reclaimed land in Causeway Bay in 1957. Since extensive refurbishment between 2000 and 2002, the park has featured a series of all-weather soccer pitches. The tennis courts in the park have been the venues for the Hong Kong Open and international tennis events. Other facilities in the park include a swimming pool complex, bowling greens, a jogging track, basketball courts, a central lawn, a model boat pool and children’s playgrounds.

Kowloon Park

Located on the site of the former Whitfield Barracks, the British stronghold on the Kowloon Peninsula during the colonial era, the 13.3 hectare Kowloon Park was opened in 1970. An extensive redevelopment in 1989 modernised the facilities but retained the allocation of the northern half to active recreation and the southern half to passive amenities. Not that you will want to be passive there – the park features a swimming pool complex, a sports centre, mini-football pitches, playgrounds, individual gardens, a piazza, a bird lake and an aviary.

Tuen Mun Park

Opened in stages from 1985 to 1991, Tuen Mun Park was the first major park in the New Territories to provide a wide range of recreation facilities. At the heart of the 12.5 hectare space lies an artificial lake. A notable attraction is the Reptile House, the first of its kind managed by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department. Visit there and you will encounter everything from Thai Water Dragons to Carpet Pythons and Western Painted Turtles.

Swimming Pools

Hong Kong boasts 43 very popular swimming pools, spread throughout the territory. Since the 1950s they have been providing welcome relief from summer heat. An important development since the 1990s is the provision of water play equipment in many of the pools. 
To extend the swimming season to winter, the Morrison Hill Swimming Pool, Hong Kong’s first indoor heated public pool, was opened in 1972. The city now has 24 heated pools.

Sports Centres

Sports centres in Hong Kong date back to the city’s establishment, with City Hall now standing on the site of the Victoria Recreation Club. Over the years, public sports centres have been established in all districts, offering facilities for a wide variety of activities such as badminton, basketball, volleyball, netball, tennis, table tennis, squash, billiards, climbing and dance.

More recently, the development of new facilities such as the indoor velodrome-cum-sports centre in Tseung Kwan O have been of great benefits to the public. In the near future, a new sports centre at Kai Tak Development Area, including a 50 000-seat main stadium, 5 000-seat secondary stadium and 4 000-seat indoor arena, will provide even more high quality sports facilities.

Golf Facilities

Since its introduction to Hong Kong by expatriates over a century ago, golf has become increasingly popular among locals. Four golf facilities are now available at Tuen Mun Recreation and Sports Centre, Wo Yi Hop Road Sports Ground, Shun Lee Tsuen Sports Centre and Island East Sports Centre. Also available for public use are the three 18-hole golf courses on Kau Sai Chau off Sai Kung. On the courses you will not only get the chance to play golf, but will share space with eagles, egrets, pond herons and even the occasional barking deer!

Cycling

Cycling is of growing interest to many people in Hong Kong. Recently, the Government has been developing a cycling track that will eventually link Ma On Shan and Tuen Mun. In the near future, the Tseung Kwan O Velodrome will be completed, offering a 250-metre cycling track and seating for 3,000 spectators.

In Kwai Tsing district, the Hong Kong Jockey Club International BMX Park opened in 2009, hosts training courses for budding BMX riders.

Skateboarding

If you are a little more adventurous, you might like to try skateboarding. The number of skateboarders in Hong Kong has increased dramatically since the turn of the millennium, and the Leisure and Cultural Services Department manages dedicated skateboarding parks throughout the city. The recently opened skateboarding park in Fanling has been proven popular, and anticipation is building for the opening of another skateboard park in Tseung Kwan O in early 2014.

Back to top

Last review date: September 2014

  • Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
  • Web Accessibility Conformance
  • This website is IPv6 enabled
  • Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
  • Hong Kong ICT Awards 2009 - Best Public Service Application (Website) Silver Award
  • Web Care Award 2011-13 - Ruby Award
  • Web Marketing Association's WebAward 2012 - Standard of Excellence Award
  • Web Marketing Association's WebAward 2014 - Standard of Excellence Award
  • Interactive Media Awards 2011 - Best in Class Award (Government)
  • Interactive Media Awards 2012 - Best in Class Award (Government)
  • Interactive Media Awards 2014 - Best in Class Award (Government)
End of Page

康體設施和其歷史起源、發展過程

康樂體育一向是香港日常生活不可或缺的一環。多年來,相關設施的發展,反映了城市的面貌變化。我們將以香港的康體設施為題,與你訴說其歷史起源、發展過程和使用現況。

公園

為數眾多的公園是香港市民進行戶外康樂活動的主要場所,其中的香港動植物公園、維多利亞公園、九龍公園及屯門公園,均是康體活動的重要場地。

香港動植物公園

香港動植物公園位於太平山北坡,是香港歷史最悠久的公園。香港動植物公園佔地5.6公頃,於1861年落成,當時名為植物公園。直至1975年正式易名為「香港動植物公園」,以反映園內動物數量增加。時至今日,東面的舊公園已建成廣為市民歡迎的兒童遊樂場、鳥舍、溫室及噴水池平臺;西面的新公園是哺乳類及爬行類動物的居所,吸引大批遊客參觀,尤其是週末時段。

香港動植物公園一般資訊入場須知及開放時間

維多利亞公園

維多利亞公園建於銅鑼灣填海而成的土地上,於1957年正式啟用,是全港最受歡迎的綠化設施之一。經過2000至2002年間的全面整修,公園增設了多個全天候足球場,設施包括舉行香港網球公開賽和國際網球賽事的網球場、游泳池場館、草地滾球場、緩跑徑、籃球場、中央草坪、模型船池和兒童遊樂場。

更多關於維多利亞公園的資料設施

九龍公園

九龍公園地處英國殖民時期的威菲路軍營舊址,是當時英軍駐紮於九龍半島的戰略重地。九龍公園佔地13.3公頃,於1970年落成啟用。經過1989年的全面重建,公園增設了眾多現代設施,但仍然保留公園北區的動態康樂場地以及南區的靜態休憩場地。此外,公園還設置了游泳池場館、室內運動場、小型足球場、戶外廣場、鳥湖和百鳥苑等多項充滿生氣的設施。

九龍公園的詳細資訊

屯門公園

屯門公園於1985年至1991年期間分階段開放,成為新界首個提供綜合康樂設施的大型公園。屯門公園佔地約12.5公頃,中心位置建有一個人工湖。園內著名的景點設施就要數爬蟲館,它是康樂文化事務署轄下首個同類場館。只要踏進館內,你就能近距離觀賞長鬣蜥、地氈蟒、錦龜等各種奇珍異獸。

認識屯門公園爬蟲館開放時間

游泳池

全港各區分別設有43個公眾游泳池場館。自1950年代以來,公眾游泳池設施便成為市民夏日消暑的熱門去處。九十年代較重大的改進,就是在各大游泳池增添了嬉水設施。

摩理臣山游泳池於1972年啟用,提供暖水池設備,成為全港首個室內公共暖水游泳池。目前,全港擁有24間設有暖水游泳池的場館。

公眾游泳池資料及開放時間

運動場館

香港的運動場館可追溯到香港建城之初,當年的域多利會運動場舊址,如今已經矗立著香港大會堂。時移世易,現時的公共體育館已經遍佈全港各區,為市民提供羽毛球、籃球、排球、投球、網球、乒乓球、壁球、桌球、攀爬以及舞蹈等各式各樣的運動康樂活動。

近年多個運動場館設施, 包括新建位於將軍澳的室內單車場及體育館,進一步迎合熱愛運動的市民需要。在不久將來,在啟德興建的體育館,包括一座能容納5萬人的主場館、一座容納5千人的輔助運動場及一座容納4千人的室內體育館,定必提供更優質的康體活動設施。

室內運動場館的位置、收費及訂票方法

高爾夫球設施

自100多年前由外國人引入香港後,高爾夫球運動便日漸成為市民喜愛的運動。現時設有屯門康樂體育中心、和宜合道運動場、順利邨體育館和港島東體育館共4項高爾夫球設施。在西貢滘西洲有全港唯一的公眾高爾夫球場,擁有三個18個洞的球場。您在盡情揮桿之餘,還有機會與麻鷹、白鷺、蒼鷺甚至偶然出現的赤麂等野生動物共享球場美景。

高爾夫球設施的資料滘西洲高爾夫球場資料

單車運動

單車運動日漸受香港市民歡迎。近日,政府啟動連接馬鞍山和屯門的單車徑興建項目。位於將軍澳的香港單車館亦已於2014年4月全面啟用,提供250米室內環形單車賽道以及 3000個觀眾席。

設於葵青區的香港賽馬會國際小輪車場於2009年啟用,並為小輪車手舉辦相關訓練課程。

國際小輪車場香港單車遊

滑板運動

如果你有冒險精神,不妨嘗試一下滑板運動。 2000年後, 香港滑板運動愛好者人數大增。康樂及文化事務署負責管理全港各區的專用滑板場及極限運動場,例如粉嶺的極限運動場便大受歡迎,而設於將軍澳的極限運動場亦已於2014年4月落成啟用。

滑板場極限運動場
修訂日期:2016年11月