Arts Festivals

The Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) organises and supports a range of festivals, the most notable being the International Arts Carnival, Hong Kong Arts Festival, Thematic Arts Festival, Chinese Opera Festival and Hong Kong International Film Festival.

International Arts Carnival

The International Arts Carnival is a yearly event organised by the LCSD to provide children, teenagers and their families with fun-filled cultural programmes and interactive activities during the summer. Performances include music, dance, music theatre, drama, puppetry, mime, magic, acrobatics, physical comedy and multimedia theatre, all aimed at nurturing your interest in the performing arts. Featured artists and arts groups are drawn from Hong Kong and around the world each year, thrilling audiences with their artistic visions and diverse techniques. 

The Carnival lines up a wide variety of extension activities on offer including pre-carnival school tours, community outreach performances, School Culture Day programmes, demonstrations,  workshops, exhibitions and cultural tours. It also includes child and family activities organised by LCSD-managed museums and libraries over summer.

More on International Arts Carnival

Hong Kong Arts Festival

The Hong Kong Arts Festival is one of Asia’s pre-eminent arts festivals presenting over 100 performances and 200 events over five weeks in February and March each year. Since 1973, the Festival has offered programmes ranging from classical fare to cutting-edge productions. Further attractions each year are chamber opera, contemporary dance and theatre performances by Hong Kong artists.

More on Hong Kong Arts Festival

Thematic Arts Festival

The Thematic Arts Festival is held every autumn to showcase the arts and culture of Hong Kong, Asia and other parts of the world. Organised by the LCSD, the Festival combines the New Vision Arts Festival and the World Cultures Festival, which are held in alternate years. 

New Vision Arts Festival
The New Vision Arts Festival has been held biennially since 2002, presenting innovative and outstanding cross-cultural performances with an Asian focus. Among the Festival’s signature highlights are commissioned works and world premieres in dance, chamber music, other musical performances and theatre works, crossing geographical and cultural boundaries. You will get the chance to experience performances from leading artists and avant-garde arts groups that incorporate the advanced technology, latest multimedia effects and contemporary approaches to the performing arts. 

Also on offer during the Festival are various extension activities that will get you more involved, such as exhibitions, workshops, master classes, talks, student performances, and school tours as well as the Arts Criticism Mentorship Programme .

More on New Vision Arts Festival

World Cultures Festival
The World Cultures Festival will take you on a journey through a select part of the world, introducing you to the arts and cultural milieux from the region by presenting their most representative art forms artists and arts groups. Since 2005, the biennial Festival has taken audiences through Latin America, the Mediterranean region, the Silk Road, Asia and Eastern Europe.  An array of programmes is presented to showcase the rich and diversified cultures and traditions, as well as the contemporary outlook of the region. 

The Festival also provides a variety of extension activities including exhibitions, workshops, talks, meet-the-artist sessions, master classes, backstage tours and school tours.

More on World Cultures Festival

Chinese Opera Festival

Since 2010, the annual Chinese Opera Festival has showcased the different styles and stage techniques of the traditional repertoire, yet at the same time a demonstration of the excellence shown in the innovative new creations. 

The Festival also featured a variety of extension activities in the form of themed talks, symposiums, Chinese opera film screenings, guided appreciation sessions, artist talks and exhibitions to give the pubic a deeper understanding of Chinese operatic arts and thus enhance their appreciation.

More on Chinese Opera Festival

Hong Kong International Film Festival

The Hong Kong International Film Festival is an important Asian platform for top-notch filmmakers and other film professionals to showcase their work. Each year the Hong Kong International Film Festival Society organises the screening of more than 280 titles from over 50 countries in 11 major venues throughout Hong Kong. You could be one of the more than 600,000 Festival-goers who attend each year, not only watching leading films from China, other parts of Asia and around the world, but also having the chance to attend seminars hosted by first-rate filmmakers, visit film exhibitions and join celebration parties. 

This is a major lifestyle event that you will definitely not want to miss.

More on Hong Kong International Film Festival
Last review date: November 2016

藝術節

康樂及文化事務署(康文署)主辦及贊助多個藝術節,其中最著名的有國際綜藝合家歡、香港藝術節、專題藝術節、中國戲曲節以及香港國際電影節。

國際綜藝合家歡

國際綜藝合家歡是康文署在夏季舉行的年度盛事,為兒童、青少年及一家大小提供樂趣無窮的表演藝術節目和延伸活動。節目涵蓋音樂、舞蹈、音樂劇場、戲劇、偶劇、默劇、魔術、雜技、形體喜劇及多媒體劇場,旨在培養觀眾對表演藝術的興趣。「合家歡」每年均會邀請來自香港及世界各地的優秀藝術家及藝團,展示其藝術視野及非凡造詣,為觀眾呈獻綜藝盛宴。

「合家歡」的延伸活動除節前學校及社區巡迴演出、學校文化日、示範、工作坊、展覽及文化之旅外,亦包括康文署轄下博物館和圖書館舉辦的夏季兒童及家庭活動。

更多關於香港國際綜藝合家歡

香港藝術節

香港藝術節是亞洲區首屈一指的文化盛事,於每年二至三月的五個星期內,舉辦 100 多場演出及 200多個節目。自1973年起,香港藝術節每年的節目均式式俱備,既顧及古典傳統口味,亦兼具大膽創新的表演形式。此外,藝術節的精彩呈獻亦包括由香港本土藝術家創作的室內歌劇、當代舞蹈以及戲劇等眾多作品。

更多關於香港藝術節

專題藝術節

每年秋季舉行的專題藝術節是一場薈萃香港、亞洲及世界藝術及文化的盛會,由康文署主辦,共分為新視野藝術節及世界文化藝術節,每年交替上演。

新視野藝術節

自2002年起,兩年一度的新視野藝術節以亞洲為焦點,展現具創意的優秀跨文化表演。藝術節的一大亮點當屬跨越地域和文化界別的委約作品,以及涵蓋各類藝術範疇的世界首演,包括舞蹈、室樂、音樂及戲劇等表演形式。你會欣賞到頂尖前衛的藝術精英運用先進科技及多媒體特效,配以當代的表演形式,傾力製作的演出。

豐富的延伸活動如展覽、工作坊、大師班、講座、學生專場、學校巡迴演出和藝評寫作導領計劃等,讓觀眾進一步探索。

更多關於新視野藝術節

世界文化藝術節

世界文化藝術節精選全球文化勝地,搜羅當地最有代表性的藝術家及藝術演出,帶你踏上一趟藝術文化體驗之旅。自2005年起,兩年一度的世界文化藝術節已帶領大家走過拉丁美洲、地中海、絲綢之路、亞洲及東歐,透過連串精彩節目,展現當地深厚多元的傳統文化及藝術精華,以及當代的創新面貌。

此外,藝術節設有展覽、工作坊、講座、藝人談、大師班、後台花絮展和學校巡迴演出等一系列延伸活動。

更多關於世界文化節

中國戲曲節

自 2010 年起,每年中國戲曲節均精選不同地方劇種演出,既展現傳統戲曲的巧睿,亦展示優秀具創意的作品。

中國戲曲節還會舉辦專題藝術講座、座談會、戲曲電影欣賞、導覽活動、藝人談以及展覽等延伸活動,以吸引更多觀眾認識及欣賞中國戲曲。

更多關於中國戲曲藝節

香港國際電影節

香港國際電影節是亞洲頂尖的電影製作人及業界專才發布作品的重要平台。電影節協會每年搜羅來自逾50個國家的280多部作品,在香港11個主要文化場地上映,吸引超過60萬觀眾欣賞。觀眾不僅能欣賞多部來自中國內地、亞洲以及世界各地的頂級電影,更有機會參與由首屈一指的電影製作人舉辦的研討會、參觀展覽及慶祝派對。

這是一個重要的文化盛會,絕對不容錯過。

更多關於香港國際電影節
覆檢日期:2017年5月