Ozone Layer Protection

The ozone layer in the Earth's atmosphere protects us from the harmful ultraviolet rays from the Sun, but it is at risk of depletion. This article explains the problem, what is causing it, the international and local efforts to reduce the production and use of ozone depleting chemicals, and how you can help to protect the ozone layer.

Ozone Layer Depletion

The ozone layer is a shield of ozone gas in the stratosphere, between 15 and 35 km above the Earth's surface. The result of a reaction between ultraviolet light from the Sun and oxygen molecules, it stops most ultraviolet (UV) radiation reaching us. However, in 1975 scientists detected a severe drop in ozone levels over Antarctica that repeated each Spring, and by 1987 half of the ozone over the continent had disappeared, creating an enormous "hole" twice the size of the United States. This "hole" in the ozone layer threatens the Earth's environmental balance and human health, with increased cases of skin cancer, eye cataracts and damage to the immune system.

Cause of Ozone Layer Depletion

The stratosphere is being depleted of ozone by man-made chemicals including chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs), halons, methyl chloroform, carbon tetrachloride, methyl bromide, hydrobromofluorocarbons (HBFCs), hydrochlorofluorocarbons (HCFCs) and bromochloromethane (BCM). These chemicals are commonly used as cooling agents for refrigerators and air-conditioners, propellants for aerosol sprays, blowing agents in the manufacture of foam and some plastics, fire retardants for extinguishers and in cleaning agents and solvents in industries. In other words, they are widely used in our everyday lives.

Accelerated Phasing Out of HCFCs

In September 2007, the parties to the 19th meeting of the Montreal Protocol, an international treaty designed to protect the ozone layer, agreed to speed up the phasing out of HCFC use. As a result, Hong Kong must eliminate 75% of its baseline HCFC consumption by 2010 instead of the original 65% and reduce 90% of the baseline consumption by 2015. In 2020, a total ban on the import of HCFCs is to be in place while 0.5% of HCFC consumption may be allowed for servicing of the then existing refrigeration and air conditioning equipment in the period 2020-2030. Such need will be reviewed by the parties concerned in 2015. A crucial aspect of that reduction will involve people like you replacing air-conditioning and refrigeration systems with those that use non-HCFCs refrigerants.

Ozone Layer Protection Ordinance

Hong Kong enacted the Ozone Layer Protection Ordinance (Cap. 403, Laws of Hong Kong) in 1989 to restrict the manufacture, export and import of ozone depleting chemicals. This is achieved through licensing and the registration of related commercial activities. The subsidiary regulations include the Ozone Layer Protection (Products Containing Scheduled Substances) (Import Banning) Regulation and the Ozone Layer Protection (Controlled Refrigerants) Regulation. These two regulations control the import of certain chemicals and their emission to the atmosphere, respectively.

The Ozone Layer Protection Ordinance

Licensing Control

The Ozone Layer Protection Ordinance applies quotas and licensing restrictions to the import and export of ozone depleting chemicals. Importers of the chemicals listed in the Schedule to the Ordinance must register with the Trade and Industry Department before applying for a licence to receive those chemicals.

Scheduled substances under Ozone Layer Protection OrdinanceMore information on licensing control of ozone depleting substances

What You Can Do

Although most ozone depleting substances are used in industry and commerce, what you do at home can still make a difference. The most effective way of protecting the ozone layer is to reduce or even stop using ozone depleting chemicals. You can do this by:

  • buying air-conditioners that do not use HCFCs or CFCs as refrigerants;
  • regularly inspecting and maintaining your air-conditioners and refrigeration appliances to minimise refrigerant leaks;
  • recovering and recycling HCFCs and CFCs in air-conditioners and refrigeration appliances when they are serviced; replacing and retrofitting such equipment to operate on non-HCFC and non-CFC refrigerant should also be considered.

Overall, the best way to help protect the ozone layer is to stop buying all products, big and small, that contain ozone depleting substances. Together we can make a difference.

Last revision date: February 2017

保護臭氧層

地球大氣層中的臭氧層能保護我們免受來自太陽的紫外線傷害。然而,臭氧層正面臨消耗的危機。本文將解釋臭氧層消耗的問題及成因、國際及本地如何致力減少生產及使用耗蝕臭氧層的化學物,以及作為市民,如何盡一己之力協助保護臭氧層。

臭氧層損耗

臭氧層是一道由臭氧形成的保護層,位處地球上空15至35公里的平流層內。由於來自太陽的紫外光與氧氣分子在臭氧層內產生反應,因此令臭氧層阻擋大部分紫外光輻射。可是在1975年,科學家測得每年春季覆蓋南極洲上空的臭氧層急劇轉薄;到了1987年,更發現南極洲上空的臭氧層消失了一半,形成一個巨大「洞口」,面積相等於美國總面積的兩倍。這個洞口不但危害地球的生態環境平衡,亦危及人類健康,增加皮膚癌、白內障等發病率,並損害人體免疫系統。

臭氧層損耗成因

平流層的臭氧受到損耗,是由多種人造化學物所造成,包括含氯氟烴(CFCs)、哈龍、甲基氯仿、四氯化碳、甲基溴、含溴氟烴(HBFCs)、含氯氟烴(HCFCs)及溴氯甲烷 (BCM)。這些化學物常用於冰箱和空調系統的冷卻劑、噴霧劑的推進劑、製造發泡膠和某些塑膠的發泡劑、滅火筒的滅火劑,以及淸潔劑和工業溶劑。換言之,這些化學物都在日常生活中被廣泛應用。

加快取締含氯氟烴

為挽救臭氧層,多國簽訂一條名為《蒙特利爾議定書》的國際公約。在2007年9月舉行的《蒙特利爾議定書》第十九次會議,締約國正式通過加快取締含氯氟烴的時間表。在此公約下,香港必須在2010年或之前將含氯氟烴的耗用量由下降65% 改為下降75%,於2015年或之前將耗用量下降90%,而2020年則全面禁止入口。但在2020至2030年期間,0.5%的含氯氟烴耗用量或會被容許,作為維修當時尚存的冷凍及空調設備的用途。有關締約國會在2015年檢討這方面的需要。為實現這個目標,我們須逐步更換那些採用含氯氟烴作為製冷劑的冰箱和空調系統。

保護臭氧層條例

香港於1989年制定《保護臭氧層條例》(香港法例第403章),藉註冊及許可證制度,管制消耗臭氧層化學物的生產及進出口。其附屬規例包括《保護臭氧層(含受管制物質產品)(禁止進口)規例》及《保護臭氧層(受管制製冷劑)規例》,兩項法例分別管制若干化學物的進口及排放。

《保護臭氧層條例》

發牌管制工作

《保護臭氧層條例》藉實施配額及註冊制度,管制消耗臭氣層化學物的進出口。凡進口《保護臭氧層條例》附表所載的受管制化學物,均必須向工業貿易署註冊並申領許可證,才可接收這些化學物。

《保護臭氧層條例》之受管制物質更多關於耗蝕臭氧層物質發牌管制的資料

如何協助保護臭氧層

雖然消耗臭氧層的物質大多用於工商業方面,但保護臭氧層亦可從家居做起。最有效的做法便是減少甚至完全不使用消耗臭氧層的化學物。你可以:

  • 購買不採用含氯氟烴作為製冷劑的冰箱和空調設備;
  • 定期檢查及保養空調及冷凍裝置,以減少製冷劑洩漏;
  • 當修理現時含有含氯氟烴的空調及冷凍設備時,應回收或循環再用製冷劑,並應考慮更換或改裝含含氯氟烴製冷劑的設備。

總括而言,要保護臭氧層,最有效的做法便是停止購買各種含消耗臭氧層物質的產品。我們應同心協力,一起保護臭氧層。

修訂日期:2017年2月