Hong Kong’s Natural Scenery

The natural scenery of our countryside and marine areas makes Hong Kong the fascinating region it is. This article provides an overview of Government’s efforts to conserve our natural environment, and covers the natural attractions that you can visit, experience and enjoy.

Environmental Conservation

Hong Kong’s environment, with its rugged landscapes, wide ocean spaces and sub-tropical climate, houses an unmatched range of ecosystems, plant and animal species. To ensure this diversity is preserved and nurtured, the Government is extremely careful in planning and acting upon a range of conservation strategies, and devising publicity and educational activities. 

Since 2004, a policy has been in place to regulate, protect and manage the natural resources that constitute Hong Kong’s biodiversity. By balancing social, economic and environmental considerations, the Government is working to ensure that we can enjoy and benefit from our natural environment both now and in the years to come.

Environmental conservationNature conservation policy

Greening

An important element of conservation efforts in Hong Kong is the Greening Master Plan. Combining plans for all districts, the Master Plan outlines the design and implementation of greening works using suitable plant species.

Greening Master Plan

A complement to this plan is the Green Hong Kong Campaign, launched by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) in 2000. The LCSD also runs a Green Education and Resource Centre in Kowloon Park at which you can participate in greening activities and enhance your environmental awareness.

Green Hong Kong CampaignGreen Education and Resource Centre

To help maintain and preserve existing plant life in Hong Kong, the LCSD also maintains a Register of Old and Valuable Trees. The Register records the details of around 500 trees.

Register of Old and Valuable Trees

Parks, Zoos and Garden

You can also visit the parks, zoos and garden managed by the LCSD to enjoy a piece of nature in the city.

Parks, Zoos and Garden in Hong Kong

Walking Trails

If you want to do a little more to experience Hong Kong’s greenery, you can always try hiking on our scenic walking trails. Various hiking trails will take you out into the countryside, with routes for everyone from beginners to seasoned hikers.

General hiking informationHiking trail highlightsHiking Scheme – categorised trails

Hong Kong Global Geopark of China

If you are more interested in unique landforms, Hong Kong is also home to eight Geo-Areas of particular geological, natural and cultural significance:

High IslandDouble HavenUng Kong GroupTolo ChannelNinepin GroupPort Island – Wong Chuk Kok TsuiSharp IslandTung Ping Chau

A brochure and a map of Hong Kong Global Geopark of China can be downloaded through the following links.

Getting to Know Hong Kong GeoparkMap of Hong Kong Global Geopark of China

Country Parks

Very popular as weekend destinations, our country parks include vast areas of natural beauty, more plants and animals than you might imagine and breathtaking views of land and sea.

A full list of our country parks with links to descriptions, major attractions and information on environmental significance is available on the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department website.

Full country park list

Wetlands and Bird Watching Spots

If wetlands interest you more, Hong Kong has three major areas you are sure to enjoy: the Hong Kong Wetland Park, the Mai Po Wetlands and Tsim Bei Tsui. All three offer spectacular views of natural and constructed wetlands. A common feature of these areas is their wonderful spots for bird watching.

General information on Hong Kong’s wetlandsBird watching in wetlands

The Hong Kong Wetland Park in Tin Shui Wai is a world-class conservation, education and tourism facility.

Hong Kong Wetland Park

Marine Parks

Our Marine Parks house a diversity of ecosystems and provide a wide variety of ways to let our visitors enjoy the moments being close to nature. Being protected from development and commercial fishing activities, these marine parks include Hoi Ha Wan, Yan Chau Tong, Tung Ping Chau and Sha Chau and Lung Kwu Chau. You can snorkel, scuba dive, swim or even kayak in Hoi Ha Wan, Yan Chau Tong and Tung Ping Chau Marine Parks to appreciate our underwater world, including coral communities, fish, seaweed beds etc. Moreover, you might even have a glimpse of our famous Chinese White Dolphins at play in our Sha Chau and Lung Kwu Chau Marine Park!

Further information on our Marine Parks is available through the following link.

Marine Parks – Overview

Beaches, Water Sports Centres and Islands

Hong Kong has a wealth of beach, water sport and island attractions for you to enjoy. From a relaxing afternoon on a beach to a day or more on an outlying island, there is always a new experience in store.

Beaches

Our beaches are very popular destinations for people wanting to get away from the hustle and worry of everyday life. From the south side of Hong Kong Island to the many country parks and further to the outlying islands, our beaches have something for everyone. The LCSD manages 41 gazetted public beaches, many of which have nearby dining and other recreation facilities.

Information on Hong Kong’s public beaches is available through the following link.

Beach information

Water Sports Centres

The LCSD manages five water sports centres. Each year, thousands and thousands of people attend the water sports training programmes, including dinghy sailing, windsurfing boards and kayaks, and regattas organised by the Centres. The Centres also offer tailor-made package training programmes to meet the specific requirements of organisations, individuals and groups.  Holders of water sports certificates may hire the relevant craft for self practice.

Water Sports Centres

The Coastal Tours offer the opportunities to the water sports enthusiasts who acquired relevant water sports certificates to experience the beauty of our coastal scenery in new and interesting ways. Designed to nurture team spirit through kayaking, sailing and windsurfing, the tours also raise awareness of water sports safety and the need for environmental protection.

Coastal Tours

Sailing

Also available through the Water Sports Centres is the Sailing Adventure programme. In the programme, you will be able to join a thematic sea trip in a kayak or dinghy, or on a windsurfer, and enjoy the unmatched scenery of remote islands.

Sailing Adventure

Islands

If you are a little more relaxed in your approach to life, why not take a ferry to an outlying island? Lantau, Lamma, Peng Chau and Cheung Chau, just to name a few, all offer numerous ways to take a relaxing break after a long week at work.

Island attractions
Last revision date: December 2016

香港的自然景觀

香港的郊野和海域有不少壯麗的自然景觀。本文概述政府保護本港自然環境的工作,並介紹本港多處具備天然美景的地方。

自然環境護理

香港有陡峭的山嶺、廣闊的水域,加上受亞熱帶氣候影響,故此雖然面積較小,卻擁有獨特的生態系統和動植物品種。為了保存和保育這些多元化生態,政府致力策劃、推行一系列保育策略和籌劃多項宣傳教育活動。

自2004年以來,政府訂定了相關政策,以規劃、保護、管理構成香港的多元化自然生態的天然資源。通過平衡不同的社會、經濟和環境考慮,政府正在積極確保市民能夠在目前和將來享受到美好的自然環境。 

自然環境護理自然保育政策

綠化

綠化總綱圖是香港的自然保育工作的一個重要組成部分,結合了各個分區的綠化工作計劃,概括提出採用適當的植物品種進行綠化的設計和執行工作。

綠化總綱圖

康樂及文化事務署(康文署)在2000年推出的綠化香港運動是對綠化工作計劃的一個補充。此外,康文署還在九龍公園設有一個綠化教育資源中心,市民可以在該中心參與綠化活動,增進環保意識。

綠化香港運動綠化教育資源中心

為協助保護香港現有的植物,康文署設立了一個古樹名木冊,已記錄約 500 棵有特別價值樹木的詳細資料。

古樹名木冊

公園及動植物公園

康文署轄下設有多個公園和動植物公園,供市民在城市之中感受大自然之美。

香港的公園及動植物公園

遠足徑

在風光明媚的遠足徑遠足,可以更深入地感受香港的自然美景。本港郊野有難度不一的遠足徑,有一些較適合初學者,另有一些較適合訓練有素的遠足人士。

一般遠足資料遠足路線介紹行山樂 – 路線分類

中國香港世界地質公園

中國香港世界地質公園有以下八個景區,各具獨特的地質、自然和文化特色。對於特別地貌有興趣的市民,自然不可錯過遊覽機會。

糧船灣印洲塘甕缸群島赤門果洲群島赤洲 – 黃竹角咀橋咀洲東平洲

中國香港世界地質公園的小冊子和地圖可在以下連結下載。

認識香港的地質公園中國香港世界地質公園地圖

郊野公園

香港的多個郊野公園範圍廣闊,包含十分豐富的天然景觀、動植物生態,讓市民欣賞到醉人的陸上、海上景色,是廣受歡迎的周末好去處。

漁農自然護理署網站載有香港郊野公園的一覽表及連結,介紹郊野公園的詳細資料、主要景點和對環境保護的重要性。

郊野公園一覽表

濕地及觀鳥景點

對濕地感興趣的市民,香港濕地公園、米埔濕地和尖鼻咀這三大地區必能吸引到你。以上地方均擁有十分美麗的天然和人工濕地景色,而且是觀鳥的上佳地點。

香港濕地的一般資料在濕地的觀鳥活動

位於天水圍的香港濕地公園是一個集自然護理、教育及旅遊用途於一身的世界級景點。

香港濕地公園

海岸公園

香港的海岸公園育有多元化的生態系統,讓市民能以不同的方式接近及欣賞大自然美景。這些海岸公園包括海下灣、印洲塘、東平洲和沙洲及龍鼓洲,全都限制進行發展和商業捕魚活動。在海下灣、印洲塘和東平洲海岸公園內,遊客可以進行浮潛、潛水、游泳、划獨木舟等水上活動,觀賞香港珊瑚群落、魚群、海藻床等自然生態,還可能看到著名的中華白海豚在海裏玩耍呢!

關於海岸公園的其他資料,請瀏覽以下網頁。

海岸公園– 總覽

沙灘耍樂、水上活動中心、離島暢遊

香港有很多水上體育活動、著名的沙灘及離島遊覽景點。無論是悠閒地在沙灘上打發一個下午,還是在離島玩樂一、兩天,總會給你嶄新的快樂體驗。

沙灘耍樂

香港的沙灘是人們避開煩囂生活的大好去處。從港島南部以至很多郊野公園,甚至各個離島,都有很漂亮的沙灘,符合不同人的喜好。康文署轄下共有 41 個公眾泳灘,當中不少均鄰近食肆和其他康樂設施。

關於香港的公眾泳灘的資料,請瀏覽以下網頁。

泳灘資料

水上活動中心

康文署轄下共有五個水上活動中心,每年,數以萬計的市民參加風帆、滑浪風帆及獨木舟等由中心舉辦的水上活動訓練課程及比賽。中心還為團體、個人及小組開辦度身訂造的水上活動訓練課程活動。持有相關水上活動證書的人士亦可租用中心艇隻自行練習。

水上活動中心

各水上活動中心亦會舉辦「海岸之旅」活動,讓持有相關水上活動證書的水上活動愛好者以新奇、有趣的方式體驗香港水域沿岸的秀麗風光。參加者能透過獨木舟、風帆和滑浪風帆活動,培養出團隊精神,同時提高對水上體育活動的安全意識和對保護環境的關注。

海岸之旅

揚帆出海

各水上活動中心還推出「輕舟任縱橫」活動。這項活動讓市民參加不同主題的獨木舟、風帆或滑浪風帆海上旅程,也讓他們可以同時細心欣賞香港各個離島的醉人風光。

輕舟任縱橫

離島暢遊

如果你較喜歡享受悠然自得的生活,可以乘搭渡輪到離島暢遊。大嶼山、南丫島、坪洲、長洲以至多個離島都提供很多消閒玩意,是都市人繁忙工作一星期後,抛開煩惱,各適其適地玩個痛快的好地方。

離島風光
修訂日期:2016年12月