Music and Dance

Extensive efforts have been made by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) to encourage public participation in music and dance, and organise world-leading events.

Crucial to the government’s promotion are the Music Office, the Cultural Presentations Office, Audience Building Office and Entertainment Office under the LCSD, the Hong Kong Arts Development Council as well as the Hong Kong Jockey Club Music and Dance Fund.

Music Office

Focused on promoting knowledge and appreciation of music in the community, the Music Office was established in 1977 and has been managed by the LCSD since 2000.

The Office provides training to more than 8,000 people each year through the Instrumental Music Training Scheme, Ensemble Training and Outreach Music Interest Courses. It also organises international music exchange programmes, the Hong Kong Youth Music Camp, youth music interflows and promotional activities that attract about 170,000 participants every year.

Go to Music Office Website

Entertainment Office

The LCSD’s Entertainment Office organises city-wide festive events and carnivals, along with around 600 free entertainment programmes each year. The events on offer include Chinese and Western cultural programmes and popular programmes such as variety shows and pop concerts.

Go to Entertainment Office Website

Audience Building Office

The Audience Building Office was established in 2000 to promote knowledge and appreciation of the performing arts at the community and school levels in cooperation with arts groups and educational institutions.

The Office’s school-focused programmes include, among others, the School Arts Animateur Scheme and Arts Experience Scheme for Senior Secondary Students. At the community level, the Office organises audience building projects such as the Community Cultural Ambassador Scheme and the Community Oral History Theatre Project.

Go to Audience Building Office Website

Hong Kong Arts Development Council

Since 1995, the Hong Kong Arts Development Council has supported the development of the arts locally, including the literary, performing, visual and film and media arts. Its major roles are grant allocation, policy and planning, advocacy, promotion and development, and programme planning.

Go to Hong Kong Arts Development Council Website

Hong Kong Jockey Club Music and Dance Fund

Established in 1980, the Hong Kong Jockey Club Music and Dance Fund awards scholarships to musicians and dancers of outstanding talent. The scholarship enables them to pursue further studies in music and dance.

Go to Hong Kong Jockey Club Music and Dance Fund Website

Music and Dance Events

Hong Kong’s position at the crossroads of East and West allows it to offer a whole world of music and dance events that bring energy to the city. There is always something happening that will delight you.  

Events Organised by the LCSD

The LCSD organises a wide range of quality music and dance performing arts programmes by local and world renowned overseas artists and groups throughout the year. Programme of Western music include orchestral concerts, chamber concerts, recitals and operas while programmes of Chinese music include those specially curated for promoting traditional Chinese music, such as the “Nan Lian Garden Music Series” and “Guangdong Music Series”. Dance programmes also feature various dance forms, from classical ballet to modern dance, from Chinese ethnic to Flamenco.

More on Music, Chinese Opera and Dance Performances

Hong Kong Arts Festival

The Hong Kong Arts Festival is one of Asia’s pre-eminent arts festivals presenting over 100 performances and 200 events over five weeks in February and March each year. Music and dance are important components of the Festival. Great artists in music who have been presented by the Festival include Cecilia Bartoli, Riccardo Chailly, Valery Gergiev and Yo Yo Ma. Ensembles include the Royal Concertgbouw, the Chicago Symphony and the London Symphony. The Stuttgart Ballet, the New York City Ballet, Beijing Dance Theatre, and Cloud Gate Dance Theatre are among the dance companies presented.

More on Hong Kong Arts Festival

Hong Kong International Chamber Music Festival

Staged yearly since 2009, the Hong Kong International Chamber Music Festival brings together leading overseas, mainland and Hong Kong artists in a series of world-class concerts. Organised by the registered charity Premiere Performances of Hong Kong (PPHK), the Festival has grown from showcasing 11 to 25 musicians.

In 2013 the Home Affairs Bureau provided a matching grant for the first time, allowing a much-expanded scope for the Festival.  

Go to PPHK Website

Hong Kong International Piano Competition / Joy of Music Festival

The Chopin Society of Hong Kong Ltd organizes the Hong Kong International Piano Competition every three years and Joy of Music Festival annually. The Competition has established itself as a major event in Hong Kong’s musical calendar and is considered now as the top competition in Asia and among the premier competitions in the world, while the Festival acts as a linking event between the triennial Competitions.

Go to The Chopin Society of Hong Kong Ltd Website

Hong Kong International Jazz Festival

The Hong Kong Jazz Association has staged the Hong Kong International Jazz Festival since 2008, offering a weeklong programme of performances in clubs and concert halls, along with four major performances at the Queen Elizabeth Stadium.

More on Hong Kong International Jazz Festival
Last review date: November 2016

音樂和舞蹈

康樂及文化事務署(康文署)舉辦各式各樣的世界頂尖盛會,鼓勵市民積極參與音樂及舞蹈活動。此外,香港文化發展局、康文署轄下的音樂事務處、文化節目組、娛樂節目辦事處和觀眾拓展辦事處,以及香港賽馬會音樂及舞蹈信託基金均是港府推動音樂和舞蹈發展的中堅力量。

音樂事務處

音樂事務處成立於1977年,自2000年起由康文署管理,旨在提高各區市民對音樂的認識和欣賞能力。

音樂事務處每年會透過器樂訓練計劃、樂團及合唱團訓練、外展音樂短期課程為超過 8,000 名人士提供培訓,每年還會舉辦國際青年音樂交流活動、香港青年音樂營、青年音樂匯演及音樂推廣節目,吸引約17萬人參與。

音樂事務處網站

娛樂節目辦事處

康文署娛樂節目辦事處每年會在全港舉辦各種節慶活動和嘉年華會以及約 600 場免費文娛節目。活動包括中西文化節目及流行節目,如綜合表演和流行音樂會。

娛樂節目辦事處網站

觀眾拓展辦事處

康文署透過與藝術團體和教育機構合作,提高市民對表演藝術的認識和欣賞能力,並於 2000 年成立觀眾拓展辦事處。

該處在學校層面推行了「學校藝術培訓計劃」、「高中生藝術新體驗計劃」等多項藝術教育計劃,並在社區層面推行了「社區文化大使計劃」及「社區口述歷史戲劇計劃」。

觀眾拓展辦事處網站

香港藝術發展局

自 1995 年起,香港藝術發展局已積極支持文學藝術、表演藝術、視覺藝術、電影及傳媒藝術等本地藝術的發展,其主要職責為撥款分配、政策及策劃、倡議、推廣及發展和策劃活動。

香港藝術發展局網站

香港賽馬會音樂及舞蹈信託基金

香港賽馬會音樂及舞蹈信託基金於 1980 年成立,向才華出眾的音樂家和舞蹈家頒授獎學金以資助他們繼續進修。

香港賽馬會音樂及舞蹈信託基金網站

音樂和舞蹈盛會

香港作為東西文化交匯之地,經常舉辦各種豐富多彩的音樂和舞蹈盛事,為這國際之都增添活力。歌舞盛事包羅萬象,定能讓你稱心滿意。

康文署舉辦的活動

康文署全年舉辦各式各樣的音樂和舞蹈節目,請來本土及外地知名藝術家及藝團演出,豐富的西樂節目包括管弦樂、室樂演奏會、獨奏會及歌劇,中樂節目則包括專為推廣中國傳統音樂所舉辦的節目,例如「南蓮園池系列」及「廣東音樂系列」音樂會。舞蹈表演亦是從古典芭蕾到現代舞、從中國民族舞到佛蘭明高,形式包羅萬有。

更多關於音樂、中國戲曲和舞蹈表演資訊

香港藝術節

香港藝術節是亞洲區首屈一指的文化盛事,於每年二至三月的五個星期內舉辦 100 多場演出及 200多個節目。音樂和舞蹈是藝術節的重要元素,曾獲邀來港獻技的知名音樂家包括塞西莉亞.芭托莉、列卡度.沙爾、 瓦列裡.捷傑耶夫及馬友友。樂團亦包括著名的皇家阿姆斯特丹音樂廳樂團、芝加哥交響樂團及倫敦交響樂團。舞蹈方面,享譽國際的德國史圖加芭蕾舞團, 紐約市芭蕾舞團, 北京當代芭蕾舞團及臺灣雲門舞集亦曾為香港藝術節演出。

更多關於香港藝術節

香港國際室內樂音樂節

自 2009 年起,香港國際室內樂音樂節每年會邀請來自海外、中國內地以及香港的知名音樂家,為市民呈獻一系列世界級的音樂會。主辦單位為註冊慈善機構飛躍演奏香港 (Premiere Performances of Hong Kong),旗下的音樂家目前已從 11 名增加至 25名。

2013 年,民政事務署首次為音樂節頒發等額津貼,以拓展音樂會的規模。

飛躍演奏香港網站(只提供英文)

香港國際鋼琴大賽 / 美樂聚

由蕭邦社每隔三年舉辦的「香港國際鋼琴大賽」是一項舉足輕重的本地音樂盛事,除了被視為當今亞洲頂級音樂比賽,亦為國際著名鋼琴大賽之一;而每年一度的「美樂聚」則是連繫每屆鋼琴大賽的節目。

蕭邦社網站(只提供英文)

香港國際爵士音樂節

自 2008 年起,香港爵士音樂協會在各大酒吧和音樂廳舉辦為期一周的香港國際爵士音樂節,並在伊利沙伯體育館舉行四場大型表演。

更多關於香港國際爵士音樂節
覆檢日期:2016年11月