Skip to main content   Skip to search box   Skip to user groups
User Groups
 

Main Content

Upon receipt of the notice of assessment, you are advised to check the amount of income assessed, profits assessed, allowances and deductions allowed, and the Assessor’s Note (if any) to understand the basis of the assessment and the reasons of disallowing your claim for allowances or deductions. If you disagree with an assessment, you may lodge an objection and appeal. Here you can learn more about lodging an objection to, or appeal against the assessment.

Objections

Filing an Objection

If you wish to dispute the assessment, you must lodge a notice of objection in writing stating precisely the grounds of the objection within the prescribed time limit. You may complete the relevant parts of the Form IR831 for objection, sign it and return it to the Inland Revenue Department:

Postal address:

Commissioner of Inland Revenue
P.O. Box 28777,
Gloucester Road Post Office,
Hong Kong

Fax Number: 2877 1232

If it is against an estimated assessment issued because of the failure to lodge a return, a properly completed tax return together with the accounts, where applicable, must also be submitted with the notice of objection.

Time Limit

The notice of objection must be received by the Inland Revenue Department within one month after the date of issue of the notice of assessment. If you have elected for personal assessment, the subsequent issue of a notice of assessment will not extend the time limit for objection to assessments of property tax, profits tax or salaries tax already issued.

Late objections will only be considered if the Commissioner of Inland Revenue (Commissioner) is satisfied that owing to absence from Hong Kong, sickness or other reasonable causes, you have been prevented from lodging the objection within the specified time. You should provide the reasons preventing you from lodging an objection within the specified time in your notice of objection or Form IR831.

E-Objection

If you have opened your eTAX account, you can lodge a notice of objection against the assessment under Salaries Tax, Property Tax for solely owned properties and/or Profits Tax for sole proprietorship businesses via the eTAX account.

Submission of Notice Electronically

Submission of notice of objection by electronic means is acceptable. You should use the Electronic Government Forms (in the form of a software) to generate electronic records and, if required, to make digital signatures when submitting electronic forms to the Government. The format of individual supporting document, if any, attached in an electronic record should comply with all the relevant requirements as specified in this document. Information on the prescribed format, manner and procedure on electronic submission is available through the following link:

Payment of Tax or Standover of Tax

Notwithstanding any notice of objection or appeal lodged by you, you must pay the tax on or before the date(s) specified in the notice of assessment, unless the Commissioner orders that the payment of tax or any part of it be held over pending the result of such objection or appeal.

Processing of Objection Cases

In many cases an assessor may require further information or facts. After consideration of the fresh and further information, a revision of the assessment or a proposed basis to revise the assessment may be issued to you. In cases where no agreement is possible, the objection will be referred to the Commissioner of Inland Revenue for determination. The Commissioner will consider the objection and within a reasonable time may confirm, reduce, increase or annul the assessment. The Commissioner will transmit the determination together with reasons in writing to you.

Appeals to the Board of Review (Inland Revenue Ordinance)

The Board of Review (Inland Revenue Ordinance) (the Board) is an independent statutory body. The law provides that the Board shall consist of a chairman and 10 deputy chairmen, who shall be persons with legal training and experience, and not more than 150 other members, all of whom shall be appointed by the Chief Executive.

Appeal against the Determination of the Commissioner

If you wish to appeal against the determination of the Commissioner, you should do so in writing to the Clerk to the Board of Review (Clerk to the Board) within 1 month after the transmission of the Commissioner’s written determination. The notice of appeal must be accompanied by:

  • a copy of the Commissioner’s written determination (including the reasons therefor and the statement of facts with all appendices); and
  • a statement of the grounds of appeal.

The Commissioner must at the same time be served with a copy of the notice of appeal and the statement of the grounds of appeal.

The Board may extend the 1 month appeal period if it is satisfied there was reasonable cause, such as illness or absence from Hong Kong, which prevented the appellant from giving the appeal within the specified period.

Appeal against the Assessment of Additional Tax

If you appeal against the assessment of additional tax, i.e. monetary penalties under section 82A of the Inland Revenue Ordinance (the Ordinance), please write to the Clerk to the Board within 1 month after the notice of assessment is given. The notice of appeal must be accompanied by:

  • a copy of the notice of assessment;
  • a statement of the grounds of appeal;
  • a copy, if any, of the notice of intention to assess additional tax given under section 82A(4) of the Ordinance; and
  • a copy of any written representations made under section 82A(4) of the Ordinance.

The Commissioner must at the same time be served with a copy of the notice of appeal and the statement of the grounds of appeal.

The Board may extend the 1 month appeal period if it is satisfied there was reasonable cause, such as illness or absence from Hong Kong, which prevented the appellant from giving the appeal within the specified period.

Appeal Hearing and Results

All appeals are heard in camera, but official publication of the hearings may be made in such a manner that the identity of the appellant is not disclosed. The onus of proving that the assessment appealed against is excessive or incorrect is on the appellant. Failure to discharge this onus can be fatal to the appeal.

After hearing the appeal, the Board may confirm, reduce, increase or annul the assessment appealed against or may remit the case to the Commissioner with the opinion of the Board. Where the Board does not reduce or annul the assessment, the appellant may be ordered to pay a sum not exceeding $5,000 as costs to the Board.

Appeals to the Courts

If either the appellant or the Commissioner is dissatisfied with a decision of the Board, he may make an application requiring the Board to state a case on a question of law for the opinion of the Court of First Instance. Such applications must be made in writing and delivered to the Clerk to the Board within 1 month of the date of the Board’s decision together with a fee of $770.

With the leave of the Court of Appeal, the appellant or the Commissioner may appeal against the decision of the Board directly to the Court of Appeal instead of the Court of First Instance. The Court may make such orders including costs.

Back to top

Last review date: May 2014

  • Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
  • Web Accessibility Conformance
  • This website is IPv6 enabled
  • Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
  • Hong Kong ICT Awards 2009 - Best Public Service Application (Website) Silver Award
  • Web Care Award 2011-13 - Ruby Award
  • Web Marketing Association's WebAward 2012 - Standard of Excellence Award
  • Interactive Media Awards 2011 - Best in Class Award (Government)
  • Interactive Media Awards 2012 - Best in Class Award (Government)
  • Interactive Media Awards 2014 - Best in Class Award (Government)
End of Page

跳至主要內容   跳至搜尋   跳至用戶群
用戶群
 

主要內容

收到評稅通知書時,你應小心核對各項評定的入息、利潤、免稅額及獲扣減的項目,並留意「評稅主任附註」(如適用),以了解評稅的基準或申索免稅額及扣減不獲批准的原因。如你不同意評稅結果,你可提出反對及上訴。本文提供有關如何反對評稅及上訴的資料。

反對評稅

提出反對

如你不同意評稅結果,你可在訂明期限內以書面清楚說明反對評稅的理由。你亦可填妥在IR831表格中,適用於反對的相關部分,簽署後交回稅務局:

郵寄地址:

稅務局局長
香港告士打道郵政局郵箱28777號

傳真號碼:2877 1232

如果你反對的估計評稅是由於未有提交報稅表,你提交反對通知書時須一併提交填妥的報稅表及帳目(如適用)。

期限

反對通知書必須在評稅通知書發出日期後的1個月內,由稅務局接獲。如你已申請以個人入息課稅方式評稅,根據這課稅方式所發出的評稅通知書,不會延長先前已發出的物業稅、利得稅或薪俸稅評稅的反對期限。

如果稅務局局長接納你是因為不在香港、患病或其他合理因由而未能在指定期限內發出反對通知書,才會考慮接受你逾期提交的反對通知書。你應在反對通知書或IR831表格內,提供逾期提交反對通知書的原因。

經「稅務易」帳戶提交反對通知書

如你已開立「稅務易」帳戶,你可經該帳戶提交有關薪俸稅、全權擁有物業的物業稅及/或獨資業務的利得稅評稅的反對通知書。

以電子方式提交反對通知書

稅務局接受以電子方式所提交的反對通知書。當你以電子方式向政府提交表格,你須使用「政府電子表格」(以軟件形式提供),以產生有關電子紀錄,並作出數碼簽署(如有規定)。有關電子提交的規格、方式及程序的詳情,請瀏覽以下的網頁。

繳稅或暫緩繳稅

即使作出反對通知或上訴通知,你仍須在評稅通知書所指明的日期或之前繳付稅款,除非稅務局局長命令在等候該項反對或上訴的結果時可緩繳整筆稅款或其部分。

處理反對個案

在許多情況下,評稅主任在處理反對個案時,可能需要進一步的資料或事實根據。經考慮新的和進一步的資料後,評稅主任可能會修訂評稅或向你發出修訂評稅建議。如反對評稅個案未能達成協議,該反對將轉交稅務局局長作出決定。局長會考慮確認、減少、增加或取消評稅,並在合理時間內將決定連同理由以書面形式通知你。

向稅務上訴委員會上訴

稅務上訴委員會是一個獨立裁決機構。法例規定,該委員會由1名主席、10名副主席及不超過150 名其他成員組成。主席及副主席須為曾受法律訓練並具有法律經驗的人士,而所有成員均須由行政長官委任。

就稅務局局長的決定提出上訴

如你打算就稅務局局長的決定向稅務上訴委員會提出上訴,你應在稅務局局長發出書面決定後的1個月內,以書面向稅務上訴委員會書記提出。你的上訴通知書必須附有以下資料:

  • 局長的書面決定副本(包括決定所依據的理由、事實陳述書和所有附錄);及

  • 上訴理由陳述書。

同時,你須向稅務局局長送達一份上訴通知書及上訴理由陳述書的副本。

如稅務上訴委員會接納你是因為患病、不在香港或其他合理原因而未能於1個月的上訴期限內提出上訴,委員會可考慮將上訴限期延長。

就補加稅評稅提出上訴

你可就根據稅務條例第82A條作出的補加稅評稅(即罰款) 提出上訴。你須在補加稅評稅通知書發給你後的1個月內,以書面提交稅務上訴委員會書記。你的上訴通知書必須附有以下資料:

  • 評稅通知書副本一份;
  • 就該項評稅提出上訴理由的陳述;
  • 根據第82A(4)條發出的擬評定補加稅通知書的副本一份(如有的話);及
  • 根據第82A(4)條作出的任何書面申述的副本一份。

同時,你須向稅務局局長送達一份上訴通知書及上訴理由陳述書的副本。

如稅務上訴委員會接納你是因為患病、不在香港或其他合理因由而未能於1個月的上訴期限內提出上訴,委員會可考慮將上訴限期延長。

聆訊過程及結果

所有上訴均閉門聆訊,但公佈聆訊結果時,不會公開上訴人身分。上訴人須承擔證明上訴所針對的評稅額過多或不正確的舉證責任。未能履行這項責任可導致上訴失敗。

在聆訊上訴後,稅務上訴委員會可確認、減少、增加或取消上訴所針對的評稅額,亦可將案件連同委員會的意見發回稅務局局長處理。如委員會沒有減少或取消評稅,上訴人可能會被命令繳付一筆不超過$5,000的款項,作為委員會的訟費。

向法庭上訴

如上訴人或稅務局局長任何一方不同意稅務上訴委員會的決定,可申請要求委員會就某法律問題呈述案件,以取得原訟法庭的意見。該等申請必須在委員會作出決定日期後1個月內,以書面連同費用$770送達稅務上訴委員會書記。

在上訴法庭許可下,上訴人或稅務局局長可就稅務上訴委員會的決定直接向上訴法庭而非原訟法庭提出上訴。法庭可作出包括繳付訟費的命令。

返回頁首

覆檢日期:2014 年 5 月

  • 符合萬維網聯盟有關無障礙網頁設計指引中2A級別的要求
  • 無障礙網頁守則
  • IPv6 電腦器材可瀏覽本網站
  • 無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
  • 2009香港資訊及通訊科技獎 - 最佳公共服務應用 (網站) 銀獎
  • 網絡無障礙優異網站獎2011-13 - 紅寶石獎
  • 萬維網推廣協會WebAward 2012 - 超卓政府機構網站獎
  • 萬維網推廣協會WebAward 2014 - 超卓政府機構網站獎
  • 互動媒體大獎 2011 - 最優秀網站(政府類別)
  • 互動媒體大獎 2012 - 最優秀網站(政府類別)
  • 互動媒體大獎 2014 - 最優秀網站(政府類別)
網頁完結