Hiring Foreign Domestic Helpers (FDHs)

You need to be a Hong Kong resident with a monthly household income of no less than HK$15,000 or assets of comparable amount to support the expenses for the entire (i.e. 2 years) contractual period.

  • You can recruit an FDH through an agency or directly via personal ads or referrals.
  • You must enter into a Standard Employment Contract as specified by the Director of Immigration and apply to the Immigration Department for an employment visa for the helper.
  • Wages: You should pay a salary that is no less than the Minimum Allowable Wage (MAW) announced by the Government and prevailing at the date of signing the employment contract for employing the FDH. MAW is currently set at HK$4,630 per month.
  • Accommodation and food: You must provide the helper with suitable accommodation and with reasonable privacy, free food (or food allowance in lieu, which is HK$1,121 per month at present) and free passage from the helper’s home country to Hong Kong and return to the home country on termination or expiry of the contract. The above levels of MAW and food allowance are applicable to all contracts signed on or after 28 September 2019.
  • Insurance: As stipulated in the Employees’ Compensation Ordinance (Cap. 282), an employer must take out insurance policy to cover his/her liability both under the Ordinance and at common law for injury at work in respect of an employee.
  • Medical treatment: You are required to provide the helper with free medical treatment under the Standard Employment Contract when he/she is ill or suffers personal injury during the period of employment. You are therefore strongly advised to take out an insurance policy with full medical and hospitalisation coverage for the helper. You may also consider taking out a comprehensive insurance policy which provides medical and hospitalisation coverage and satisfies the requirement under the Employees’ Compensation Ordinance at the same time.

If you decide to terminate the employment contract of your FDH, you should notify the Immigration Department through online submission or in writing within seven days of the date of termination.

Found this page helpful?
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated.(optional)
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to [email protected].
Thank you. Your input will only be  used to improve GovHK.
Last revision date: October 2020

聘用外籍家庭傭工(外傭)

你必須是香港居民,並持有不少於每月港幣15,000元的家庭入息或款額相若的資產,以證明你有足夠財政能力在整個合約期(即兩年)僱用該名外傭。

  • 你可透過僱傭服務公司、刊登廣告或私人轉介聘請外傭。
  • 你必須與該名外傭簽訂由入境事務處處長指定的標準僱傭合約及替該名外傭向入境事務處申請工作簽證
  • 工資:你須支付不少於簽訂合約時政府公布的規定最低工資。現時外傭的規定最低工資為每月港幣4,630元。
  • 住所及膳食:你須為外傭提供合適和有合理私隱的住宿地方、免費膳食(或不少於每月港幣1,121元的膳食津貼),以及外傭自原居地到香港及於合約終止或屆滿時返回原居地的旅費。上述規定最低工資和膳食津貼水平適用於所有在2019年9月28日或以後簽訂的合約。
  • 保險:《僱員補償條例》(香港法例第282章)規定,所有僱主必須為其僱員投購工傷補償保險,以承擔其僱員如因工受傷在《僱員補償條例》及普通法方面的法律責任。
  • 醫療:當外傭在受僱期內生病或受傷,你須根據標準僱傭合約提供免費醫療給他/她。因此,當局強烈建議你為外傭投購提供全面醫療及住院保障的保險。你亦可考慮投購同時包括醫療及住院保障和符合《僱員補償條例》規定的綜合保險。

如果你決定與外傭終止合約,你必須於合約終止日期的七天內,透過網上或書面通知入境事務處

本頁內容對你有幫助嗎?
本頁內容對你有幫助嗎?
歡迎輸入你的意見!(可選擇填寫)
請注意: 此表格並非用作處理查詢或投訴,如需協助,請致電(852)183 5500或電郵[email protected] 聯絡24小時服務的支援中心。
多謝!你的意見只會用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
修訂日期:2020年10月