About Approved Fund-raising Activities

Fund-raising events are common in Hong Kong and of many types from flag selling, setting up of donation boxes for collection of money in public places and lottery events to on-street selling.

Organisations who wish to conduct fund-raising activities must apply for the relevant permits or licences from the Government as required by law. The following is a summary of the permits/licenses issued by the Social Welfare Department (SWD), the Home Affairs Bureau (HAB), the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (FEHD) and the Home Affairs Department (HAD). 

You may also check the list of charitable institutions and trusts of a public character, which are exempt from tax under Section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance through the link to the Inland Revenue Department.

List of charitable institutions and trusts of a public character

Enquiries or complaints in relation to charitable fund-raising activities held by organizations in public places may be directed to 3142 2678.

Expand All+Collapse All-
  • Flag Days and General Charitable Fund-raising Activities

    The Director of Social Welfare may issue Public Subscription Permits (PSPs) under the Summary Offences Ordinance (Cap. 228) for flag days and general charitable fund-raising activities conducted in public places.

    • For flag days, there are “territory-wide flag days” and “regional flag days”. On each regional flag day, three organisations will sell flags to solicit donations concurrently, one each on Hong Kong Island, in Kowloon and in the New Territories.
    • The allocation of flag days is an annual exercise conducted by SWD upon the advice of the Lotteries Fund Advisory Committee. Invitation for application for flag days in the coming financial year will normally be advertised in newspapers and announced in SWD's website in April or May of each year and closed after a month. The completed application form together with all the required document should reach SWD by the closing date of application.
    • The applicant organisation must be a charitable institution or trust of a public character exempt from tax under Section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance (Cap 112), and it must have organised charitable activities in each of the past three years, after it was registered for tax exemption, by the closing date of flag day application. The applicant organisation should also have the ability to organise a flag sale effectively. Applications from charitable organisations which are associated with commercial organisations would be considered ineligible for the flag day allocation exercise. Closely-related organisations are not allowed to apply for flag day separately in the same exercise to ensure fair chances among all applicant organisations.
    • Notable examples of general charitable fund-raising activities include the setting up of donation boxes, door-to-door solicitation in public housing estates managed by the Housing Authority, charity rides in taxis/minibuses, charity sale of badges, tokens or similar articles, etc. Souvenir items, mostly bearing the logo or name of the fund-raising organisation or the fund-raising activity, are usually regarded as “badges, tokens or similar articles”.
    • Charitable organisations may submit applications for PSPs for holding general charitable fund-raising activities in public places throughout the year. Nonetheless, the applicant organisation shall still meet the established criteria for a PSP for organising such activities in public places, for instance, be in possession of a valid registration in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region under the Companies Ordinance (Cap. 622), the Societies Ordinance (Cap. 151), etc., or being a charitable institution or trust of a public character exempt from tax under Section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance (Cap. 112). The applicant organisation and/or the beneficiary organisation(s) (if applicable) must have at least three years’ track record of charitable activities from its registration for tax exemption under Section 88 of Cap. 112. In addition, the Director of Social Welfare must be satisfied that the applicant organisation and/or the beneficiary organisation(s) (if applicable) is/are suitable for organising the fund-raising activities under the application, taking into consideration the integrity, management capability, track record of the previous charitable activities, etc. 
    • The completed PSP application form, together with all of the required documents, should reach SWD for vetting at least four weeks (if the activity is not held on government land administered by the Lands Department) or at least ten weeks (if the activity is held partly or wholly on government land administered by the Lands Department) before the commencement of the proposed fund-raising activity.
    • For enquiries, please visit the website of SWD or contact the department’s hotline at 2343 2255.

    More about Public Subscription Permit

  • Non-charitable Fund-raising Activities

    Fund-raising activities for any other non-charitable purposes in public places are covered by the Public Fund-raising Permit for Non-charitable Purposes issued by the Secretary for Home Affairs under the Summary Offences Ordinance (Cap. 228).

    • Administrative guidelines and licensing conditions for the issue of the concerned permits have been uploaded onto the website of HAD. The guidelines cover the factors that would be considered by the Secretary for Home Affairs and the conditions normally to be imposed in considering the application of the permit. Applicants should submit the completed application form for the permit to Division III of HAD (30/F, Southorn Centre, 130 Hennessy Road) at least four weeks before the date of the fund-raising activity for vetting and approval.
    • For enquiries, please visit the website of HAD or call 2835 1492.

    More about Public Fund-raising Permit for Non-charitable Purposes

     

  • Fund-raising activities involving the sale of goods in public places

    Fund-raising activities involving on-street selling are covered by the temporary hawker licence (THL) issued by the Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene pursuant to the Hawker Regulation (Cap. 132AI).

    • It is necessary to apply for a THL from FEHD before setting up any booth in public places to sell goods (no matter they bear the name or logo of the organisation or fund-raising activity or not) for raising funds. However, if a charitable institution of a public character which is exempt from tax has already been issued with a PSP by SWD to organise fund-raising activities involving on-street selling, it may apply from FEHD for a waiver from obtaining a THL. FEHD will only consider THL applications for fund-raising activities involving the sale of goods which are non-commercial and non-profit-making in nature. Therefore, only applications from the following organisations will be considered:
      • organisations with a tax-exempt status recognised by the Inland Revenue Department under section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance (Cap. 112);
      • non-charitable organisations incorporated/registered under the laws of Hong Kong (e.g. companies incorporated under the Companies Ordinance (Cap. 622));
      • societies registered under the Societies Ordinance (Cap. 151); or
      • trade unions registered under the Trade Unions Ordinance (Cap. 332).
    • The application for THL should be submitted to FEHD at least 12 working days (working days exclude Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays) (but not more than two months) before the start of the fund-raising activities that involve the sale of goods.
    • Save with the special permission of the Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene, the total number of THLs granted to each fund-raising organisation in 12 months should not exceed 20. Among them, no more than two licences should be granted for selling goods in the same district and no more than four licences should be granted for selling goods at hawker black spots.
    • The maximum licence period is five days in any two consecutive weeks.
    • For enquiries, please visit the website of FEHD or call 2868 0000.

    More about Temporary Hawker Licence

  • Lottery Fund-raising Activities

    In accordance with the Gambling Ordinance (Cap. 148), the Office of the Licensing Authority (OLA) of HAD issues lottery licence to charitable institutions or non-profit-making organisations to conduct lottery ticket sales to raise fund for supporting charitable activities or meeting the organisation’s operating expenses. 

    • The applicant organisation must be a bona fide non-profit-making organisation registered in Hong Kong. Even if the applicant organisation is not a charitable institution or trust of a public character that is exempt from tax under Section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance (Cap. 112), it may still organise lottery events for the benefit of such charitable organisations, as long as the applicant organisation can provide the acknowledgement/consent letter of the charitable organisations and an approval letter certifying tax exemption status of the charitable organisations under Section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance.
    • Funds raised from lottery event are to be used to meet the organisation’s operating expenses or for donations to local registered charities, or both. In general, organisations are permitted to apply for only one Lottery Licence every 12 months.
    • Applicant organisations are required to submit the duly completed application form and supporting documents [for details, please refer to Appendix I of the ‘Reference Guide on Organisation of Lottery Activities’ at OLA’s Homepage through the below link]. Upon receipt of the properly completed application forms and supporting documents, it normally takes 10 working days for OLA to process the application (working days exclude Saturdays, Sundays and Public Holidays). The time taken for the applicant organisation to provide additional information and/or clarifications is not counted towards these 10 working days. In the circumstances, the applicant organisation is advised to apply for a licence at least three calendar weeks in advance and allow sufficient time for printing lottery tickets.
    • If the licensee wishes to sell lottery tickets on public streets, he or she must seek separate written permission of HAD to avoid clashes with other fund-raising activities or obstructing pedestrian and vehicular traffic. Applicant may apply for selling lottery tickets on public streets as early as your application for lottery licence, and OLA will commence vetting the two applications in parallel. OLA will further proceed with consulting the relevant government departments about the on-street selling upon the issue of lottery licence. The consultation will take at least 13 working days (working days exclude Saturdays, Sundays and Public Holidays) or about three calendar weeks.
    • For enquiries, please refer to the website of OLA or call 2117 3916/2117 3798.

    More about Lottery Licence

Approved Charitable Fund-raising Activities

Approved Charitable Fund-raising Activities

Duration 3:57
Last review date: August 2018
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated.
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to enquiry@1835500.gov.hk .
Thank you. Your input will only be  used to improve GovHK.

獲批准的籌款活動簡介

香港常有團體舉辦籌款活動,而且各種形式都有,好像在公眾地方進行的賣旗活動或設置籌款箱收集捐款以至獎券活動及街頭販賣都很常見。

有關法例規定,有意舉行籌款活動的組織須向政府申請適當的許可證/牌照,方可進行活動。以下是社會福利署、民政事務局、食物環境衞生署及民政事務總署所簽發的許可證/牌照的概要。

你可透過稅務局網頁查閱根據《稅務條例》第88條獲豁免繳稅的慈善機構及慈善信託的名單。

獲豁免繳稅的慈善機構及慈善信託的名單

查詢或投訴有關團體在公眾地方舉行的慈善籌款活動,可致電3142 2678。

顯示全部+關閉全部-
  • 賣旗日 及 一般慈善籌款活動

    社會福利署署長根據《簡易程序治罪條例》(第228章)發出的公開籌款許可證涵蓋在公眾地方進行的賣旗日及一般慈善籌款活動。

    • 賣旗日分為「全港賣旗日」及「分區賣旗日」兩種。在分區賣旗日,3間機構會分別於港島區、九龍區及新界區進行賣旗活動。
    • 社會福利署按「獎券基金諮詢委員會」的建議進行每年一次的賣旗日分配,有關下一個財政年度賣旗日的申請通告約於每年4月或5月刊登於報章及於社會福利署網頁內公佈,並在一個月後截止申請。申請機構需在截止申請日期前將填妥的許可證申請表格,連同有關文件交回社會福利署。
    • 申請賣旗日許可證的機構須為根據《稅務條例》(第112章)第88條獲豁免繳稅的屬公共性質的慈善機構或慈善信託,並須由根據上述條例獲豁免繳稅起至賣旗日截止申請日期止,於過去3年均有舉辦慈善活動。此外,申請機構應具備能夠妥善舉辦賣旗日的能力。任何與商業機構有聯繫的慈善機構,其申請將被評定為不合資格。密切相關的機構亦不可在同一次賣旗日分配活動中各自提出申請,以確保所有申請機構有公平的機會。
    • 一般慈善籌款活動的例子包括設置籌款箱收集捐款、在房屋委員會轄下公共屋邨逐戶收取捐款、的士/小巴義載、義賣徽章、紀念品或類似物件。紀念品很多時會附有籌款機構或籌款活動的名稱或徽號,這些物品通常會被視為“徽章、紀念品或類似物件”。
    • 慈善機構全年均可按其籌款需要,向社會福利署提出申請在公眾地方進行一般慈善籌款活動。雖然如此,申請機構仍須符合社會福利署訂定的準則方會獲發許可證於公眾地方進行慈善籌款活動,例如申請機構須在香港特別行政區根據《公司條例》(第622章)、《社團條例》(第151章)等條例作有效註冊,或為根據《稅務條例》(第112章)第88條獲豁免繳稅的屬公共性質的慈善機構或慈善信託。申請及/或受益機構(如適用)機構亦須由根據《稅務條例》第88條獲豁免繳稅起計,最少具備3年的過往慈善活動記錄。此外,社會福利署署長必須滿意申請機構及/或受益機構(如適用)是合適團體舉辦擬議的籌款活動的,包括考慮機構的誠信、管理能力、舉辦慈善活動往績等。
    • 申請機構須在擬舉辦籌款活動開始前最少4個星期(如不涉及在地政總署管理的政府土地上進行的籌款活動)或最少10個星期(如涉及在地政總署管理的政府土地上進行部分或整項的籌款活動)將填妥的許可證申請表格,連同有關文件交回社會福利署審批。
    • 如有任何疑問,可參閱社會福利署網頁或致電該署熱線2343 2255查詢。

    更多關於賣旗日及一般慈善籌款活動

  • 非慈善性質籌款活動

    至於在公眾地方籌款作其他非慈善性質用途的活動,則需要民政事務局局長根據《簡易程序治罪條例》(第228章)發出的在公眾地方進行非慈善性質籌款許可證。

    • 有關許可證的行政指引及發證條件已上載至民政事務總署網頁。該指引列出民政事務局局長在處理許可證申請時須予考慮的因素以及通常會附加的發證條件。申請機構需在擬舉行籌款活動的日期起計最少4個星期前,將填妥的許可證申請表格送達民政事務總署第三科(地址:軒尼詩道 130 號修頓中心 30 樓) 以作審批。
    • 如有任何疑問,可參閱民政事務總署網頁或致電28351492查詢。

    更多關於非慈善性質籌款活動

  • 公眾地方賣物的籌款活動

    食物環境衞生署(下稱「食環署」)署長根據《小販規例》(第132AI章)發出的臨時小販牌照涵蓋街頭賣物的籌款活動。

    • 在公眾地方設置攤位售賣貨品(不管是否附有機構或籌款活動的名稱或徽號)作籌款用途,須向食環署申領臨時小販牌照。然而,獲豁免繳稅的屬公共性質的慈善機構如已獲社會福利署簽發公開籌款許可證以進行街頭賣物籌款活動,則可向食環署申請豁免領取臨時小販牌照。 食環署只接受非商業及非牟利賣物的籌款活動的臨時小販牌照申請。故此,食環署只接受以下團體的申請:
      • 根據《稅務條例》(第112章)第88條獲稅務局確認免稅地位的機構;
      • 根據香港法例註冊/登記的非慈善團體[例如根據《公司條例》(第622章)註冊的公司];
      • 根據《社團條例》(第151章)註冊的社團;或
      • 根據《職工會條例》(第332章)註冊的職工會。
    • 臨時小販牌照的申請書必須在賣物籌款活動舉辦前至少12個工作天(工作天並不包括星期六、星期日及公眾假期)(但不超過兩個月前),遞交食環署審批。
    • 除非獲得食環署署長的特別批准,否則每個籌款團體在12個月內可獲簽發的臨時小販牌照總數不得多於20個。當中獲准在同一分區內擺賣的牌照總數不得多於兩個,而獲准在小販黑點範圍內擺賣的牌照亦不得多於4個。
    • 牌照的最長有效期為任何兩個連續星期內不多於5天。
    • 如有任何疑問,可參閱食環署網頁或致電2868 0000查詢。

    更多關於公眾地方賣物的籌款活動

  • 獎券籌款活動

    民政事務總署轄下的牌照事務處(牌照處)根據《賭博條例》(第148章)向擬售賣獎券以支持慈善活動或為機構籌款的慈善或非牟利機構發出獎券活動牌照。

    • 申請機構須為在香港註冊的合法非牟利團體。假如申請機構並非根據《稅務條例》(第112章)第88條所訂明可獲豁免繳稅的公共慈善機構或慈善信託(慈善團體),有關機構仍可申請舉辦使該等慈善團體受益的獎券活動,但必須取得有關團體的確認/同意信,以及該團體根據《稅務條例》第88條獲豁免繳稅的批准信。
    • 獎券活動牌照所籌得的款項須用以支付這些機構本身的營運開支或捐往其他本地註冊慈善機構,或同時用於以上兩種情況。一般而言,每個機構在12個月內只可申請獎券活動牌照一次。
    • 申請機構須填妥申請表格及遞交相關附件和證明文件[詳情請參考下述牌照處網頁上《舉辦獎券活動參考指南》的附錄I] 。在收到填妥的申請表格及相關附件和證明文件後處理申請一般需時10個工作天(工作天不包括星期六、日及公眾假期)。這10個工作天不包括籌款機構提交額外資料及/或證明所需的時間。因此,籌款機構應該在展開獎券活動之前3個星期提出申請,並預留足夠時間印製獎券活動彩票。
    • 已領取獎券活動牌照的機構如擬在公用街道售賣獎券,必須另外取得民政事務總署的書面批准,以免與其他籌款活動的日期有衝突或阻礙行人和車輛來往。有關申請及所需資料可在申請獎券活動牌照時一併提交。牌照處會同步審閱兩個申請,並在簽發獎券活動牌照後就公用街道售賣彩票諮詢有關政府部門。諮詢工作需要最少13個工作天(星期六、日及公眾假期並非工作天)或約3個星期。
    • 如有任何疑問,可參閱牌照處網頁或致電 2117 3916/2117 3798查詢。

    更多關於獎券活動牌照

獲批准的慈善籌款活動

獲批准的慈善籌款活動

片長 3:54
本頁內容對你有幫助嗎?
本頁內容對你有幫助嗎?
歡迎輸入你的意見!(可選擇填寫)
請注意: 此表格並非用作處理查詢或投訴,如需協助,請致電(852)183 5500或電郵[email protected] 聯絡24小時服務的支援中心。
多謝!你的意見只會用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
修訂日期:2018年8月