Application for Injunction

Main Content

CACV 274/2023 (On Appeal from HCA 855/2023) – to restrain four classes of acts in relation to a song

On 5 June 2023, the Secretary for Justice applied to the Court of First Instance for an injunction and an interim injunction to restrain four classes of acts in relation to a song commonly known as "願榮光歸香港" or "Glory to Hong Kong" ("Song").

The terms of the interim injunction sought are as follows:

"1.    Until trial of further order of the Court, there be an injunction restraining the Defendants and each of them, whether acting by themselves, their servants or agents, or otherwise howsoever, from doing any of the following acts:-

(a)    Broadcasting, performing, printing, publishing, selling, offering for sale, distributing, disseminating, displaying or reproducing in any way including on the internet and/or any media accessible online and/or any internet-based platform or medium, the Song, whether its melody or lyrics or in combination, (i) with the intent of and in circumstances capable of inciting others to commit secession, contrary to Article 21 of The Law of the People’s Republic of China on Safeguarding National Security in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, or (ii) with a seditious intention as defined in section 9 of the Crimes Ordinance (Cap. 200); and in particular to advocate the separation of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region ("HKSAR") from the People’s Republic of China;

(b)    Broadcasting, performing, printing, publishing, selling, offering for sale, distributing, disseminating, displaying or reproducing in any way including on the internet and/or any media accessible online and/or any internet-based platform or medium, the Song, whether its melody or lyrics or in combination, in such a way: (i) as to be likely to be mistaken as the national anthem insofar as the HKSAR is concerned; or (ii) as to suggest that the HKSAR is an independent state and has a national anthem of her own; with intent to insult the national anthem, contrary to section 7 of the National Anthem Ordinance (Instrument A405); or

(c)    Assisting, causing, procuring, inciting, aiding, abetting others to commit or participate in any of the acts as set out in paragraph 1(a) or (b); or

(d)    Knowingly authorizing, permitting or allowing others to commit any of the acts or participate in any of the acts as set out in paragraph 1(a) or (b).

2.    Without limiting the generality of paragraph 1 (a), (b), (c) and (d) above, the injunction as set out therein covers:

(a)    the publications set out in the Schedule to the Interim Injunction Order; and

(b)    any adaptation of the Song, the melody and/or lyrics of which are substantially the same as the Song.

3.    The Defendants and each of them shall take such action forthwith to cause any of the acts as set out in paragraph 1 (a), (b), (c) or (d) above to cease.

4.    The Interim Injunction Order does not prohibit any lawful act(s) which are done in or outside Hong Kong for the purpose of news activity which means any journalistic activity and includes:

(a)    the – 

(i)    gathering of news; 
(ii)    preparation or compiling of articles, programmes or other publications concerning news; or 
(iii)    observations on news or current affairs, 

for the purpose of dissemination to the public; or 

(b)    the dissemination to the public of – 

(i)    any article or programme or other publication of or concerning news; or 
(ii)    observations on news or current affairs."

On 28 July 2023, the Court of First Instance dismissed the Secretary for Justice's application for the interim injunction.

On 7 August 2023, the Secretary for Justice applied to the Court of First Instance for leave to appeal to the Court of Appeal against the said dismissal.

On 23 August 2023, the Court of First Instance granted the Secretary for Justice leave to appeal to the Court of Appeal against the said dismissal.

On 4 September 2023, the Secretary for Justice served the Notice of Appeal on the Defendants by way of substituted service.  The appeal was set down in the List of Interlocutory Appeals on the same day.

On 6 September 2023, the Secretary for Justice applied to the Court of Appeal for leave to rely on additional grounds in the appeal.  On 19 September 2023, the Court of Appeal directed that the said application, together with the abovementioned appeal, will be heard together before the Court of Appeal on 19 December 2023 at 10:00 a.m. with one day reserved.

On 19 December 2023, the Court of Appeal granted the Secretary for Justice leave to rely on additional grounds in the appeal.  The appeal was part heard and adjourned to 24 February 2024 at 10:00 a.m. with half day reserved. 

Copies of the relevant documents are posted below.

 

HCA 855/2023

Writ of Summons (dated 5 June 2023)Summons for Interim Injunction (dated 5 June 2023)Summons for Interim Injunction (dated 5 June 2023) (Chinese translation)Order for Substituted Service (dated 12 June 2023)Order for Substituted Service (dated 12 June 2023) (Chinese translation)Order (dated 28 July 2023)Order (dated 28 July 2023) (Chinese translation)Summons for Leave to Appeal (dated 7 August 2023)Summons for Leave to Appeal (dated 7 August 2023) (Chinese translation, the draft Notice of Appeal appended thereto is in English only)Order for Substituted Service (dated 8 August 2023)Order for Substituted Service (dated 8 August 2023) (Chinese translation)Order (dated 23 August 2023)Order (dated 23 August 2023) (Chinese translation)

CAMP 297/2023

Order (dated 30 August 2023)Order (dated 30 August 2023) (Chinese translation)

CACV 274/2023

Notice of Appeal (dated 4 September 2023)Notice of Setting Down an Appeal (dated 4 September 2023)Notice of Setting Down an Appeal (dated 4 September 2023) (Chinese translation)

CAMP 303/2023

Summons for Leave to Amend Notice of Appeal (dated 6 September 2023)Summons for Leave to Amend Notice of Appeal (dated 6 September 2023) (Chinese translation, the draft Amended Notice of Appeal appended thereto is in English only)Order for Substituted Service (dated 19 September 2023)Order for Substituted Service (dated 19 September 2023) (Chinese translation)Order (dated 19 December 2023)Order (dated 19 December 2023) (Chinese translation)
Found this page helpful?
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated. (Optional)
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to enquiry@1835500.gov.hk.
Thank you. Your input will only be used to improve GovHK.
Last revision date: December 2023

禁制令申請

主要内容

CACV 274/2023 (原本案件編號:HCA 855/2023) – 禁止與一首歌有關的四項行為

於2023年6月5日,律政司司長向高等法院原訟法庭申請禁制令及臨時禁制令禁止與歌曲《願榮光歸香港》(或稱 “Glory to Hong Kong”,以下簡稱“有關歌曲”)有關的四項行為。

所申請的臨時禁制令條文如下:

“1.    頒布禁制令禁止任何被告人(不論他們自行行事或透過其受僱人或代理人或以其他方式行事)作出下列任何行為,直至案件正式審訊或法庭另作命令:

(a)    在下述(i)或(ii)的前提下,以任何方式(包括在互聯網及/或任何可供網上取覽的媒介及/或任何基於互聯網的平台或媒介)廣播、表演、刊印、發布、出售、要約出售、分發、傳布、展示或複製歌曲《願榮光歸香港》(或稱“Glory to Hong Kong”,以下簡稱“有關歌曲”),不論是其曲調或歌詞或曲詞,尤其是主張把香港從中華人民共和國分離出去:

(i)    意圖煽動他人犯分裂國家罪,違反《中華人民共和國香港特別行政區維護國家安全法》第二十一條,以及在能構成上述煽動的情況下;或

(ii)    在具香港法例第200章《刑事罪行條例》第九條所界定的煽動意圖下;

(b)    以任何方式(包括在互聯網及/或任何可供網上取覽的媒介及/或任何基於互聯網的平台或媒介)廣播、表演、刊印、發布、出售、要約出售、分發、傳布、展示或複製有關歌曲,不論是其曲調或歌詞或曲詞,意圖侮辱國歌,違反文件A405《國歌條例》第七條,致令其:

(i)    相當可能被誤會為對香港特別行政區而言屬國歌;或

(ii)    使人聯想到香港特別行政區是一個獨立國家並擁有其本身的國歌;或

(c)    幫助、導致、促致、煽惑、協助和教唆他人實施或參與任何第1(a)或(b)段所列明的行為;或

(d)    明知而授權、准許或容許他人實施或參與任何第1(a)或(b)段所列明的行為。

2.    在不限制第1(a)、(b)、(c)及(d)段的一般性的原則下,該段所列明的禁制令涵蓋下述各項:

(a)    在臨時禁制令之下的附表所列的發布;及

(b)    有關歌曲的任何改編本,而其曲調或歌詞或曲詞實質上與有關歌曲相似者;

3.    任何被告人須立即採取行動使任何第1(a)、(b)、(c)或(d)段所列明的行為中止;

4.    臨時禁制令並不禁止任何為新聞活動的目的而在香港境內或境外作出的合法行為,而新聞活動指任何新聞工作活動,並包括:

(a)    為向公眾發布的目的而進行 ─

(i)    新聞的搜集;
(ii)    關於新聞的文章、節目或其他出版的製備或編纂;或
(iii)    對新聞或時事所作的評析;或

(b)    向公眾發布 ─

(i)    屬新聞的或關於新聞的文章、節目或其他出版;或
(ii)    對新聞或時事所作的評析。”

2023年7月28日,原訟法庭駁回律政司司長的臨時禁制令申請。

2023年8月7日,律政司司長就該駁回臨時禁制令申請的裁決向原訟法庭申請許可以向上訴法庭提出上訴。

2023年8月23日,原訟法庭批准律政司司長就該駁回臨時禁制令申請的裁決向上訴法庭提出上訴。

2023年9月4日,律政司司長將上訴通知書以替代送達方式送達被告人。有關上訴案件於同日編入非正審上訴案件聆訊表。

2023年9月6日,律政司司長向上訴法庭申請就上訴案件提出額外上訴理據。2023年9月19日,上訴法庭作出指示,有關申請及上述上訴案件將一併由上訴法庭於2023年12月19日上午10時審理,估計聆訊時間為1日。

上訴法庭於2023年12月19日批准律政司司長就上訴案件提出額外上訴理據的申請。上訴案件已進行部分聆訊,並押後至2024年2月24日上午10時恢復審理,估計聆訊時間為半日。

相關的法庭文件的副本於下方刊登。

 

高院民事訴訟2023年第855號

傳訊令狀(日期為2023年6月5日)臨時禁制令傳票(日期為2023年6月5日)臨時禁制令傳票(日期為2023年6月5日)(中譯本)替代送達命令(日期為2023年6月12日)替代送達命令(日期為2023年6月12日)(中譯本)命令(日期為2023年7月28日)命令(日期為2023年7月28日)(中譯本)上訴許可申請傳票(日期為2023年8月7日)上訴許可申請傳票(日期為2023年8月7日)(中譯本,內附的草擬上訴通知書只提供英文版本)替代送達命令(日期為2023年8月8日)替代送達命令(日期為2023年8月8日)(中譯本)命令(日期為2023年8月23日)命令(日期為2023年8月23日)(中譯本)

上訴法庭雜項案件2023年第297號

命令(日期為2023年8月30日)命令(日期為2023年8月30日)(中譯本)

民事上訴案件2023年第274號

上訴通知書(日期為2023年9月4日,只提供英文版本)上訴排期通知書(日期為2023年9月4日)上訴排期通知書(日期為2023年9月4日)(中譯本)

上訴法庭雜項案件2023年第303號

修訂上訴通知書傳票(日期為2023年9月6日)修訂上訴通知書傳票(日期為2023年9月6日)(中譯本,內附的草擬修訂上訴通知書只提供英文版本)替代送達命令(日期為2023年9月19日)替代送達命令(日期為2023年9月19日)(中譯本)命令(日期為2023年12月19日)命令(日期為2023年12月19日)(中譯本)
本頁內容對你有幫助嗎?
本頁內容對你有幫助嗎?
歡迎輸入你的意見!(可選擇填寫)
請注意: 此表格並非用作處理查詢或投訴,如需協助,請致電(852)183 5500或電郵enquiry@1835500.gov.hk 聯絡24小時服務的支援中心。
多謝!你的意見只會用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
修訂日期:2023年12月