Creative Streamlining Enables Smoother Hotel Operation

Hong Kong, small as it is, is renowned in providing visitors with the world’s most top-rated and deluxe hotels. According to the statistics of the Home Affairs Department’s (HAD), the total number of hotels/guesthouses in Hong Kong in 2008 was 1280, a 3.3% increase from the previous year. In efforts to support the operation and development of the hotel trade, the Economic Analysis and Business Facilitation Unit (EABFU) has established a Business Liaison Group (BLG) for the hotel trade. The BLG serves as a platform for the trade to exchange views on licensing and regulatory issues with government representatives. Issues are discussed and clarified at BLG meetings, and the deliberations have led to the implementation of measures conducive to the business environment.

Streamlined Licence Applications

To start business, hotels in Hong Kong have to obtain several dozens of different licences. Since some of the licences are not specially designed for the hotel industry, some of the licensing requirements of these licences do not align with hotel operation, and some of the uniqueness of the hotel industry is not taken into account in the application procedures. Sometimes the trade is also confused by the ambiguities in certain licensing regulations and application procedures.

To create a better business environment for the industry, concerned government departments have implemented various measures to streamline the application and processing procedures for various hotel-related licences. HAD and Fire Services Department (FSD) for example, have introduced the Business Facilitation Officer system as a response to the views raised by the trade. FSD has also enhanced the transparency in the inspection system.

Relaxed Regulations and Simplified Procedures

In the past, hotels were required to submit their layout plans and other relevant information to FSD via HAD when applying for the installation of ventilation system. After the completion of the installation, the applicant was required to notify HAD, HAD would then notify FSD. FSD would send inspection officer for on-field inspection within 21 working days after receiving the notification and the installation layout plan from HAD. There were delays in document transferrals between the departments occasionally. Having considered the trade’s comments on the issue at the BLG meetings, HAD and FSD have simplified the procedures by allowing applicants to submit a certificate of completion for ventilation system directly to FSD with a copy sent to HAD. The application time is thus shortened.

Requirements of Regulations Clarified

Besides the promotion of the above mentioned measures, there are discussions on the regulatory issues relevant to the trade at the BLG meetings. There were clarifications on issues such as outside seating accommodation, lighting requirements for swimming pools, and stipulations on massage facilities. All these measures aim at facilitating and improving the operation of the hotel trade.

Bureaux and departments involved: Home Affairs Department, Fire Services Department, Food and Environmental Hygiene Department
Last revision date: January 2017
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated.
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to enquiry@1835500.gov.hk .
Thank you. Your input will only be  used to improve GovHK.

「銳意精簡、創意整合」改善酒店營運

香港地方雖小,但卻擁有多間聞名世界的頂尖酒店。根據民政事務總署資料,2008年本港酒店/旅館的數目為1280間,較2007年增加了3.3%。 為促進酒店業的經營及發展,經濟分析及方便營商處特別成立了「酒店業營商聯絡小組」,作為業界和政府交流有關牌照及規管意見的平台,就多項酒店規管及牌照事宜作出討論,消除業界不少的疑問,及促成有關部門訂立多項改善酒店業營商環境的措施。


理順牌照申請審查

在香港,酒店營運需同時申領數十個不同類別的牌照,其中部分牌照要求並不是特別為酒店業營運而設,故在一些申請及審批細節上未能照顧到酒店業的獨特需要。同時,某些牌照的申請方法及規例,亦缺乏清晰的指引,使業界無所適從。

為改善酒店業的商營環境,有關政府部門盡力簡化各項牌照的申請及審查程序。例如民政事務總署及消防處在聽取業界的意見後,引入個案主任制度及改善巡查的透明度,以簡化牌照的申請及審查程序。


放寬規管及簡化程序

過去,若酒店需要安裝通風系統,須先將資料和圖則呈交民政事務總署,再由民政事務總署轉交消防處。當系統安裝完成後,申請人亦須經由民政事務總署知會消防處派員到場巡查。在正常情況下,消防處會於收到民政事務總署的通知和圖則後,於21個工作天內安排巡查,但巡查的時間卻往往因文件轉遞而拖延了。民政事務總署及消防處在聯絡小組會議上聽取業界的意見後,簡化了有關程序,申請人現可直接向消防處呈交「通風系統完工證明書」,並以副本通知民政事務總處,以縮短申請時間。


釐清規管要求

除了上述改善措施外,酒店業營商聯絡小組還協助業界釐清多項有關經營酒店的規管要求,包括加設露天座位的準則、泳池照明設備及按摩設施的規定等,期望這些方便營商措施,可協助及改善酒店的營運。


相關政府部門:民政事務總署、消防處、屋宇署、食物環境衞生署
修訂日期:2017年1月