Driving Offence Points System

The Driving-offence Points system is designed to deter habitual traffic offenders and to improve standards of driving in order to reduce the accident toll.

More on service of summons

How the System Works

When drivers commit certain traffic offences, in addition to the penalties, they will incur driving-offence points. The System is laid down in the Road Traffic (Driving-offence Points) Ordinance, Chapter 375. Any scheduled offence committed will incur driving-offence points where:

  • the driver is convicted by any Court; or
  • the driver becomes liable to the fixed penalty.

Which Offences Attract Points

The system includes more than 50 scheduled offences, which are all related to road safety. The number of points incurred for each offence ranges from 3 to 10. You can refer to the link below for a list of the scheduled offences and the number of points attracted.

List of scheduled offences

When 8 Points are Incurred

If you have accumulated 8 points or more, but less than 15 points, the Transport Department will issue an Advice of Driving-offence Points to you. This advice details your driving-offence points in respect of the offences committed within 2 years and reminds you of the consequences when some more points are accumulated. The advice aims to alert you to improve your driving behaviour.

When 10 Points are Incurred

If you have incurred 10 or more points in respect of offences committed within a period of 2 years, you are required by law to attend the Driving Improvement Course. The Transport Department will issue an Obligatory Attendance of Driving Improvement Notice to you. You must attend the course at your own cost within 3 months from the issue date of this notice.

More about Mandatory Attendance of Driving Improvement Course

When 15 Points are Incurred

If you have incurred 15 or more points in respect of offences committed within a period of 2 years, a summons will be issued against you. You can be disqualified from driving by a Court. The period of disqualification upon conviction for the first time is 3 months, and will then be increased to 6 months for any subsequent convictions.

Cancellation of Points

After a disqualification order is made, the driving-offence points shown in the summons will be cancelled. But if you have incurred other driving-offence points not listed in the summons, those points will be carried forward.

More about Driving-offence Points System and examples of how the points are calculated

Deduction of Points

Participants who have successfully completed the Driving Improvement Course will be eligible for deduction of 3 driving-offence points. But no point will be deducted if you:

  • have not incurred any points on the date of completion of the course;
  • have incurred 15 or more points on the date of completion of the course; or
  • have already been deducted points within the past 2 years.
More about Driver Improvement Scheme

Enquiry about Your Traffic Conviction Record

You can apply for a Certificate of Traffic Conviction Record which contains your Driving-offence Points Record from the Police. Application can be made in person, by agent, by post, through drop-in box, by email or by fax. Requested records can only be issued upon application, together with payment of the prescribed fee and full settlement of all outstanding court orders by the applicants.

Address:
Police Traffic Conviction Records Office
11/F, Arsenal house, Police Headquarters, 1 Arsenal Street, Wan Chai
Office Hour:
Monday – Friday: 9 am to 12:45 pm and 2 pm to 4:30 pm
Tel: 2866 6552
Email: sco-ctpd-traffic@police.gov.hk

Download application form (pdf file)More about the application procedures for the Certificates of Traffic Conviction Records

Service of Summons

When you have incurred 15 or more points in respect of offences committed within a period of 2 years, a summons will be served on you by ordinary post at your address registered in the Transport Department. If you do not appear in court at the scheduled time, the summons will be served on you again by registered post.

Deemed Service of Summons

The legislation has been amended to enable a more effective service of a summons. From 29 May 2009 onwards, a summons is deemed to have been served if it is served on you by registered post at your address registered in the Transport Department, even if it is returned undelivered to you.

Failing to Appear in Court

If a summons is served or deemed to have been served on you and you do not appear at the time and place specified in the summons, the court may issue an arrest warrant against you. Moreover, the Transport Department shall refuse to issue, re-issue or renew the driving licence for you.

Update Your Address

It is important to keep your personal particulars with the Transport Department up-to-date, including your address, to facilitate the correspondence between you and the Transport Department. If there is any change to your name, address or identity document number, you should, within 72 hours after the change, notify the Transport Department in writing or by submitting the completed Transport Department Form (TD559) together with the proof of change. Application for change of address can also be made online.

Online application for change of addressDownload “Change of Personal Particulars and Vehicle Particulars” form (TD559) (pdf file)
Last review date: December 2016

違例駕駛記分制度

違例駕駛記分制度的目的,是要阻嚇經常違反交通規例的人士,以及提高駕駛水準,以減少意外。

傳票送達制度的詳情

制度如何運作

駕駛者若觸犯某些交通條例,除了有關違例事項的懲罰外,並會被記分。此制度的法例載於香港法例第375章道路交通(違例駕駛記分)條例中,駕駛者若觸犯制度內任何違例事項,在下列情況下會被記分:

  • 法庭裁定駕駛者罪名成立;或
  • 駕駛者須繳付定額罰款。

哪些違例事項會被記分

這制度包含逾50種交通違例事項,全部對道路安全有直接影響,每條違例事項所記的分數由3至10分不等,以下連結載有各違例事項及其所記的分數。

違例駕駛記分制度下的違例事項

駕駛者被記滿8分

若你被記了8分或以上,又不足15分,運輸署會向你發出一份違例駕駛記分通知書,通知書上詳列你在兩年內因違例駕駛而被記的分數,並會提醒你再被記分的後果,希望你改善駕駛行為。

駕駛者被記滿10分

若你在兩年內被記了10分或以上,法例規定你必須修習駕駛改進課程。運輸署會向你發出強制修習駕駛改進課程通知書,你必須在通知書發出日期起3個月內自費修習課程。

強制修習駕駛改進課程的詳情

駕駛者被記滿15分

若你在兩年內被記滿15分或以上,法庭會向你發傳票,你可能會被取消駕駛資格,首次定罪被取消資格,為期3個月,再犯則會被取消資格6個月。

分數獲取消

法庭下令取消你的駕駛資格後,傳票上所列的違例駕駛記分將獲取消。但其他沒有列在傳票上的分數則會保留。

更多有關違例駕駛記分的資料及說明分數計算方法的例子

分數獲扣減

若你成功完成駕駛改進課程,便可從違例駕駛記分總分中獲扣減3分。但以下情況將不獲扣減分數:

  • 於完成課程當日,未有任何累積記分;
  • 於完成課程當日,你已被記達15分或以上;或
  • 兩年內你曾獲扣減分數。
駕駛改進課程的詳情

查詢違例駕駛判罪記錄

你可向警方申請「交通違例判罪記錄證明書」,當中包括你的「駕駛記分記錄」。你可親身辦理申請、授權他人遞交申請表格、郵遞、投遞、電郵或傳真申請表格。警方收到你的申請及繳費後,並須確定你已繳交所有定額罰款、附加罰款及訟費,才會向你發出有關證明書。

地址:
交通違例判罪記錄室
灣仔軍器廠街1號警察總部大樓11樓
辦公時間:
星期一至五:上午9時至下午12時45分及下午2時至下午4時30分
電話:2866 6552
電郵:sco-ctpd-traffic@police.gov.hk

下載申請表格 (pdf檔案)違例駕駛判罪記錄申請辦法的詳情

傳票送達制度

如你在兩年內因觸犯違例事項而被記滿15分或以上,法庭會以平郵郵遞方式將傳票寄到你在運輸署的登記地址。如你未有如期到庭應訊,法庭會再以掛號郵遞方式將傳票寄給你。

傳票當作已送達

為了令傳票更有效地送達,政府修訂法例,由2009年5月29日起,如傳票是按你於運輸署的登記地址,以掛號郵遞方式向你送達,即使傳票因無法派遞予你而被退回,該傳票也當作已送達論。

拒絕出庭應訊

如傳票已送達或當作送達,而你又未有按傳票上的時間及地點出庭應訊,法庭可向你發出逮捕令。此外,運輸署署長須拒絕向你簽發、重新簽發或續發駕駛執照。

更新地址

你必須確保你在運輸署登記的個人資料正確無誤,以便運輸署聯絡你。若你的姓名、住址、身分證明文件號碼有更改,你須在72小時內,以書面通知運輸署,或填妥運輸署表格(TD559),連同地址證明遞交署方,通知更改有關資料。你亦可上網申請更改地址。

網上申請更改地址下載「更改個人資料或車輛資料」表格 (TD559) (pdf檔案)
修訂日期:2019年4月
本頁內容對你有幫助嗎?
歡迎輸入你的意見!
請注意: 此表格並非用作處理查詢或投訴,如需協助,請致電(852)183 5500或電郵enquiry@1835500.gov.hk 聯絡24小時服務的支援中心。
多謝!你的意見只會用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
感謝您的寶貴意見!

感謝你使用「XXXX」。
請根據剛才的使用情況,就以下項目為網上服務評分:

  1. 1.  使用簡易度
  2. 2.  指示清晰度
  3. 3.  整體滿意度