Validity of Unstamped Documents & Inadequate Consideration

Validity of Unstamped Documents

No documents chargeable with stamp duty shall be received in evidence in any proceedings whatsoever except:

  • criminal proceedings,
  • civil proceedings by the Collector to recover stamp duty or any penalty payable under the Stamp Duty Ordinance,

or be available for any other purpose whatsoever, unless such document is duly stamped.

Provided that a document which is not duly stamped may be received in evidence in civil proceedings before a court if the court so orders upon the personal undertaking of a solicitor to cause

  • such document to be stamped in respect of the stamp duty chargeable thereon, and
  • any penalty payable in respect of the document under section 9 to be paid.

Inadequate Consideration

Under section 27(4) of the Stamp Duty Ordinance (“the Ordinance”), if the Collector of Stamp Revenue is of the opinion that the consideration stated in a conveyance of property or a transfer of Hong Kong stock is inadequate, the conveyance or transfer shall be deemed to be a conveyance or transfer operating as a voluntary disposition inter vivos (i.e. a gift).  The stamp duty payable on such conveyance or transfer will be calculated based on the value of the property or stock.  There are similar provisions for agreement for sale of property under section 29F of the Ordinance.

In respect of a conveyance or an agreement for sale of property, the stamp duty payable will normally be charged by reference to the consideration stated in the submitted instrument first.  Then the Stamp Office will, depending on the circumstances, request the Rating and Valuation Department (“RVD”) to provide expert advice as to the adequacy of the stated consideration.  If the stated consideration is less than the value of the property assessed by the RVD, the duty payer will be required to pay further stamp duty based on the assessed value.

The Stamp Office reminds duty payers that all the facts and circumstances affecting the amount of the stamp duty chargeable on an instrument (including the details relating to the consideration of the transaction) have to be fully and truly set forth in the instrument.  Duty payers must not deliberately report in the submitted instrument consideration less than the actual transaction amount in order to avoid paying the correct amount of stamp duty.  The Stamp Office has an established mechanism to review doubtful transactions and instruments.  Any person who with intent to defraud the Government executes any instrument in which all the facts and circumstances affecting the amount of the stamp duty chargeable on the instrument are not fully and truly set forth, or practises or is concerned in any fraudulent act, contrivance or device, commits an offence and shall be liable to a fine and to imprisonment if convicted.

Found this page helpful?
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated. (Optional)
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to [email protected].
Thank you. Your input will only be used to improve GovHK.
Last revision date: June 2021

未加蓋印花文件的有效性及不足代價

未加蓋印花文件的有效性

任何可予徵收印花稅的文書,除非已加蓋適當印花,否則不得在任何法律程序中被收取為證據,但在以下法律程序中則屬例外:

  • 刑事法律程序;
  • 印花稅署署長為追討根據《印花稅條例》須予繳付的印花稅或罰款而提出的民事法律程序,

此外,亦不得供作任何其他用途:

但如法庭在律師作出個人承諾會安排以下事項後,發出命令予以收取,則未加蓋適當印花的文書可在民事法律程序中在法庭被收取為證據:

  • 按該文書可予徵收的印花稅而加蓋印花;及
  • 繳付根據第9條須就該文書繳付的罰款。

不足代價

根據《印花稅條例》(「該條例」)第27(4)條,如印花稅署署長認為任何物業轉易契或香港股票轉讓書內所列明的代價不足,該轉易契或轉讓書會被當作為一份轉讓雙方之間的無償產權處置(即一項饋贈)的轉易契或轉讓書,其應繳的印花稅須按有關物業或證券的價值計算。該條例第29F條亦有就物業買賣協議作出類似規定。

就物業轉易契或買賣協議而言,印花稅署一般會先按提交的文書內所列明的代價款額徵收印花稅。印花稅署及後會按情況,要求差餉物業估價署(「估價署」)就該列明代價是否足夠提供專業意見。如該列明代價少於估價署評定的物業價值,納稅人須按該評定價值補繳印花稅。

印花稅署提醒納稅人須詳盡而真確地在文書內列出任何對該文書可予徵收的印花稅款額有影響的所有事實及情況,包括有關交易代價的詳情。納稅人不可在呈報的文書內刻意填報較實際交易金額為少的交易代價,以逃避繳納應繳付的印花稅。印花稅署有恆常機制覆核可疑的交易及文書,任何人如意圖詐騙政府而簽立任何未將所有對該文書可予徵收的印花稅款額有影響的事實及情況詳盡而真確地列出的文書,或從事或涉及任何欺詐行為、詭計或手段,均屬刑事罪行,可被判罰款及監禁。

本頁內容對你有幫助嗎?
本頁內容對你有幫助嗎?
歡迎輸入你的意見!(可選擇填寫)
請注意: 此表格並非用作處理查詢或投訴,如需協助,請致電(852)183 5500或電郵[email protected] 聯絡24小時服務的支援中心。
多謝!你的意見只會用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
修訂日期:2021年6月