Leasing out a Domestic Property

Leasing out a domestic property involves a number of legal procedures and financial arrangements. You need to know your rights and responsibilities as a landlord and pay attention to the following points to ensure a smooth leasing experience.

Looking for a Tenant

You can look for a tenant on your own or appoint a licensed estate agent to handle the leasing of your property. In either case, you are required to provide accurate property information to your potential tenant before entering into a lease. If you choose to engage an agent, you should clarify with him or her details of the engagement such as the amount of commission and the time of payment before signing the estate agency agreement.

Information about tenancy practice and proceduresFAQs of appointing an estate agentLicense ListA Guide to Tenancy (pdf file)

If your property is still under mortgage, you should seek the mortgagee’s prior consent to the letting of the property. Otherwise, you may be in breach of your mortgage agreement and your mortgagee could repossess the property.

Letting a property under mortgage

Signing a Tenancy Agreement

You and your tenant can generally decide between yourselves the terms of the tenancy agreement, as long as they do not contravene the Landlord and Tenant (Consolidation) Ordinance.

More on the creation of a tenancyFrequently asked questions about tenancy mattersNotes on Signing a Tenancy Agreement (pdf file)

Stamping of the Tenancy Document

A tenancy agreement must be stamped within 30 days of execution. You can stamp a tenancy agreement via the Internet, by post or in person at the Stamp Office of the Inland Revenue Department. Both the landlord and tenant are liable to pay stamp duty. Subject to individual arrangement, the stamp duty payment is usually shared between the landlord and the tenant.

Further information about stamp dutyMore on e-stamping of property documentsInformation about stamp duty computation for tenancy agreements

Filing a Tax Return

Tax is charged to the property owner or landlord on the actual rent received in the year of assessment. Unless you have already received a tax return from the Inland Revenue Department to report the income, you must inform the Department in writing if you are liable for tax and supply the details within 4 months after the end of the basis period for that year (i.e. on or before 31 July, based on the basis period from 1 April every year to 31 March in the subsequent year). You can use the notification form for the letting of properties (I.R.6129) provided by the Department.

You will also have other obligations as a property owner or landlord, such as keeping sufficient rental records.

Notification form for the letting of properties (I.R.6129) (pdf file)Further information about Property Taxe-seminar about Property Tax

Registration of a Tenancy Agreement

According to the Land Registration Ordinance, a lease with a term of more than three years must be registered at the Land Registry within one month of execution. Other tenancy agreements, especially those with an option to renew the existing tenancy, can also be registered. Please note that a tenancy agreement must be stamped before it can be registered at the Land Registry and admitted as evidence in court, should the need arise.

Further information about deed registrationDeed registration fee

Payment of Rates and Government Rent

You should submit a Notice of New Letting or Renewal Agreement to the Rating and Valuation Department for endorsement within one month of executing a tenancy agreement. A fee of HK$310 will be charged for late submission. With a copy of the Notice returned after endorsement, you will be eligible to take legal action to claim rent if needed.

Notice of New Letting or Renewal Agreement (Form CR 109) (pdf file)Frequently asked questions about new letting or renewed agreements

Subject to the terms of your tenancy agreement, both you and your tenant can be liable for rates and Government rent. The Rating and Valuation Department and the Lands Department provide a number of online services to facilitate the payment.

More about Rates and Government Rent

Your Rights and Duties as a Landlord

A tenancy agreement should set out what you and your tenant have agreed to be your respective rights and duties. However, certain rights and duties are implied in a tenancy unless there are contrary provisions in the tenancy agreement. For example, your implied duties include ensuring your tenant’s enjoyment of the property and the property’s conditions during habitation.

Further information on implied rights and duties of landlords and tenantsCommon provisions in tenancy agreements

According to the Landlord and Tenant (Consolidation) Ordinance, in the absence of any express agreement for the payment of rent and conditions for forfeiture if rent is not paid, your tenancy agreement implies that the tenant must pay the rent on the due date and that the tenancy will be forfeited after non-payment for 15 days.

Information about recovering outstanding rentMore on statutory grounds for a landlord to forfeit a tenancy

Continuing a Tenancy

Under the Landlord and Tenant (Consolidation) (Amendment) Ordinance 2004, you and your tenant can decide whether to renew a tenancy created on or after 9 July 2004. However, if there is an option to renew clause in your existing tenancy agreement or another written agreement, your tenant’s right to renew the tenancy is preserved.

More on tenancy renewal

You should inform your tenant when you decide to sell your leased property. If no new agreement is made between your tenant and the new owner of the property, the terms of the existing tenancy will continue to apply. Remember to clarify with the tenant and the new landlord the liability for refunding the deposit to the tenant.

Property sold with an existing tenancy

Terminating a Tenancy

A fixed-term tenancy created on or after 9 July 2004 will end at the expiry of its term. Both landlord and tenant need not to issue a termination notice. You or your tenant can also terminate the tenancy early through mutual agreement or if there is a break clause in the tenancy agreement.

Frequently asked questions about tenancy terminationMore on termination of a tenancy before expiry

Free Advice and Assistance

If you have questions about or need assistance with any tenancy matters, you can approach the Rating and Valuation Department (RVD) for its free enquiry, assistance and mediatory services. You can also obtain free legal advice from the Duty Lawyer Service.

Free services on tenancy matters offered by the RVDFree legal advice offered by the Duty Lawyer Service

Note: This article serves as a general guide only. In case of doubt, please refer to the relevant laws or seek advice from the legal profession.

Last review date: August 2017

出租住宅物業

出租住宅物業涉及許多法律程序和財務安排。你須了解作為業主的權利和責任,以及注意下列各項要點,以確保出租過程順利進行。

尋找租客

你可自行尋找租客或委託持牌地產代理替你處理出租住宅物業的事宜。不管哪一種做法,你均須在簽訂租賃前向準租客提供準確的物業資料。如你選擇委託地產代理,則須在簽訂地產代理協議前跟代理澄清有關的委託詳情,例如佣金數額及繳付期限。

租賃的實務與程序委託地產代理的常見問題牌照目錄安心租屋指南(pdf檔案)

如你已將物業按揭,你必須在出租前先取得承按人(例如銀行或財務機構)的同意,否則你可能違反和承按人所訂立的按揭協議,而承按人可因此收回該物業。

出租已按揭物業

簽訂租賃協議

你和租客一般可自行協商租賃協議上的條款,但須確保內容不違反《業主與租客(綜合)條例》。

住宅物業租賃有關租賃事宜的常見問題訂立租約須知(pdf檔案)

租賃印花稅

租賃協議須於簽訂後的30天內加蓋印花。你可選擇透過互聯網、郵寄或親臨稅務局的印花稅署為租賃協議加蓋印花。業主和租客雙方均有法律責任繳付印花稅。一般情況下,印花稅的費用會由業主和租客分擔,但也可因應個別協議而異。

印花稅資料電子物業印花服務計算租賃協議的物業印花稅

提交報稅表

業主或房東須按有關課稅年度內的實際租金收入課稅。如你有租金收入並須課稅,除非你已收到稅務局發出的相關報稅表以申報收入,否則你須於該年度評稅基期(即每年4月1日至翌年3月31日)完結後四個月內(即為7月31日或之前)以書面形式通知稅務局,並敘明收入的詳情。你可選用稅務局提供的物業出租通知書(I.R.6129)。

身為業主或房東的你還有其他責任,包括保存足夠的租務紀錄。

物業出租通知書(I.R.6129)(pdf檔案)物業稅資料物業稅網上講座

為租賃協議辦理註冊

根據《土地註冊條例》,租期超過三年的租約須於簽訂後的一個月內向土地註冊處辦理註冊。其他租賃協議,尤其是包含續租權條款的協議,也可在土地註冊處辦理註冊。

請注意租賃協議須於加蓋印花後,方可在土地註冊處辦理註冊,及在有需要時被接納為法庭認可的證據。

契約註冊須知契約註冊費用

繳交差餉及地租/地稅

你須於租賃協議簽訂後的一個月內,向差餉物業估價署提交新租出或重訂協議通知書以便批署。在期限過後才提交通知書須繳付費用港幣310元。通知書經批核後,你會獲發回副本,讓你可以在有需要時提出法律訴訟以追收租金。

新租出或重訂協議通知書(表格CR109)(pdf檔案)有關新租出或重訂協議的常見問題

你或租客須根據租賃協議所訂條款,承擔繳交差餉及地租/地稅的責任。業主或租客均可利用差餉物業估價署及地政總署提供的多項網上服務,繳付差餉及地租/地稅。

更多關於差餉及地租/地稅的資料

業主的權利及責任

你和租客應在租賃協議內列出各自的權利和責任。不過,除非協議中載有意思相反的明確條款,一些隱含的業主和租客權責會自動適用於租約,例如業主有確保租客在租賃期內能夠享用物業,以及出租物業適合居住的責任。

業主和租客的隱含權利和責任一般租約的條文

《業主與租客(綜合)條例》規定,假如業主和租客沒有就繳交租金及欠交租金時的沒收條件作出任何明確協議,租賃協議的隱含規定則為租客須在到期日繳交租金;而假如租客沒有在到期日15天內繳交租金,業主即可沒收租賃。

追討欠租須知業主沒收租賃的法定理由

續租事宜

根據《2004年業主與租客(綜合)(修訂)條例》,你和租客皆可自行決定是否就2004年7月9日或之後簽訂的租賃協議續約。但若協議包含續租權的條款或訂有其他保留續租權的協議,租客便可優先選擇是否延續原有的租賃。

有關續租須注意事宜

若你決定出售已出租物業,你須通知你的租客。若租客沒有和新業主重新簽訂協議,原有租賃協議上的條款將繼續生效。請注意跟租客及新業主釐清歸還租賃按金的責任。

有關附有租約物業的出售事宜

終止租賃

於2004年7月9日或之後簽訂的固定租期租賃合約將於租期屆滿後終止,業主及租客均無須發出終止通知書。你或租客也可以按雙方協議,或根據租約內的中斷租期條款提早終止租賃。

有關終止租賃的常見問題租約期滿前終止租賃

免費諮詢及援助

如你就租務事宜有任何問題或需要協助,可向差餉物業估價署尋求免費的諮詢、協助及調解服務,你也可透過當值律師服務尋求免費法律意見。

差餉物業估價署就租務問題提供的免費服務當值律師服務提供的免費法律諮詢

注意:以上文章僅為一般指引。如有任何疑問,請查閱相關法例或徵詢法律意見。

修訂日期:2018年10月
本頁內容對你有幫助嗎?
歡迎輸入你的意見!(可選擇填寫)
請注意: 此表格並非用作處理查詢或投訴,如需協助,請致電(852)183 5500或電郵enquiry@1835500.gov.hk 聯絡24小時服務的支援中心。
多謝!你的意見只會用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
感謝您的寶貴意見!

感謝你使用「XXXX」。
請根據剛才的使用情況,就以下項目為網上服務評分:

  1. 1.  使用簡易度
  2. 2.  指示清晰度
  3. 3.  整體滿意度