Overview of the Health Care System in Hong Kong

This webpage summarises the healthcare services provided by the public and private sectors in Hong Kong

Public and Private Healthcare Services

The chart below illustrates the overall structure of the healthcare system and the services provided in Hong Kong:

 Overall structure of the healthcare system

 

Food and Health Bureau

The Food and Health Bureau is responsible for forming policies and allocating resources for the running of Hong Kong’s health services. It also ensures these policies are carried out effectively to protect and promote public health, provide lifelong holistic health care to every citizen of Hong Kong, and ensure that no one is denied adequate medical treatment due to lack of means.

More about Food and Health Bureau

Department of Health

The Department of Health (DH) is the Government’s health adviser and agency to execute healthcare policies and statutory functions. It safeguards the community’s health through a range of promotional, preventive, curative and rehabilitative services. DH provides subsidised healthcare services through its centres and health clinics to citizens of Hong Kong.

List of clinics and health centres under DHMore about services provided by DHCentre for Health Protection

The Hospital Authority

The Hospital Authority (HA) is a statutory body providing public hospitals and related services to the citizens of Hong Kong. It offers medical treatment and rehabilitation services to patients through hospitals, day hospitals, specialist clinics, general out-patient clinics, Chinese Medicine service and community outreach services that are organised into seven clusters which together serve the whole of Hong Kong. Hong Kong citizens can enjoy subsidised medical services provided by HA.

Public hospitals and institutionsGeneral Out-patient Clinics by HASpecialist Out-patient Clinics by HAChinese Medicine Service by HACommunity Medical Services by HA

Private Health Care

There are a number of private hospitals and medical services provided by the private healthcare sector. DH regulates all private hospitals and medical clinics registered under the Medical Clinics Ordinance (Cap.343).  DH monitors their compliance with relevant regulations by conducting inspections, and handling medical incidents and complaints lodged by the general public against these institutions. All Western medicine practitioners practising in Hong Kong have to register with the Medical Council of Hong Kong (MCHK). MCHK is a statutory body responsible for registration and professional discipline of medical practitioners to maintain professional standards for protection of the public.

List of registered private hospitalsList of registered clinicsSearch for registered doctorsSearch for registered Chinese medicine practitionersRegistration of Health Care Professionals
Last revision date: October 2016

香港醫療體制簡介

本網頁簡介香港的公營及私營醫療服務。

公營及私營醫療服務

以下圖表概括說明本港的醫療體系架構及有關服務:

本港的醫療體系架構及有關服務

食物及衞生局

食物及衞生局負責就本港的醫護服務制訂政策和分配資源,也確保這些政策能夠有效地推行,以保障和促進市民的健康。該局為每名市民提供全面的終身醫護服務,並確保市民不會因經濟困難而無法獲得適當的醫療服務。

更多關於食物及衞生局

衞生署

衞生署是政府的衞生事務顧問,也是執行醫護政策和法定職責的部門。衞生署致力推行促進健康、預防疾病、醫療和康復等服務,以保障市民的健康。衞生署轄下有多間診所及健康中心,為香港市民提供資助醫護服務。

衞生署診所及健康中心一覽表更多關於衞生署的服務衞生防護中心

醫院管理局

醫院管理局(醫管局)屬法定機構,負責提供公立醫院及相關的醫療服務。醫管局通過轄下覆蓋全港的七個聯網內的多家醫院、日間醫院、專科診所、普通科門診診所、中醫服務及社區外展服務,為香港市民提供資助醫療及康復服務。

公共醫院及醫療機構醫管局普通科門診診所醫管局專科門診診所醫管局中醫診所社區醫療服務

私營醫療服務

在私營市場也有多間醫院及其他不同類型的醫護服務。衞生署監管所有私家醫院及按《診療所條例》(第343章)註冊的診療所,衞生署會透過巡查、調查醫療事故及處理公眾的投訴,監察這些醫院及診療所在遵守相關法例的情況。所有在本港行醫的西醫均須在香港醫務委員會註冊。香港醫務委員會屬法定機構,負責註冊及監管西醫的專業操守,以維持專業水平,保障公眾健康。

註冊私家醫院註冊診療所搜尋註冊西醫搜尋註冊中醫醫護專業人員註冊名單
修訂日期:2016年10月