Marine Water Quality

Hong Kong depends on the sea for navigation, recreation, seafood production and the supply of flushing and cooling water, so keeping the marine environment clean is important to everyone. Here you can learn about why the Government is monitoring marine water quality, how the monitoring process works and where you can find out the water quality of an area at any given time. 

The Situation

With the state of the natural habitat an important concern around the world, looking after our seas and marine life has become a significant public duty. The Environmental Protection Department takes a holistic approach to protecting Hong Kong's marine environment, from looking after the health of the ocean right down to ensuring marine life from dolphins to microscopic algae thrive in their natural surroundings.

Water Quality Monitoring – an Overview

The Environmental Protection Department regularly monitors the water quality in 1,700 square kilometres of marine waters. Its ongoing programme covers 94 water and 60 sediment sampling stations in the open sea, semi-enclosed bays and typhoon shelters. Through its activity the Department assesses the health of our marine waters, ensures that they are in compliance with its statutory Water Quality Objectives, tracks long-term pattern changes in water quality and uses the collected data to plan pollution control strategies. Also of concern is predicting the challenges ahead. The ultimate benefit will be to your health, and to the health of everyone around you.

Overview of marine water quality and monitoring

The Monitoring Process

The monitoring process is carried out on board a scientific vessel – the Dr Catherine Lam – which is equipped with state-of-the-art technology. At various locations, scientists measure a range of parameters, such as temperature, pH, salinity, turbidity and dissolved oxygen. Water and sediment samples are also collected and sent to laboratories for analysis of over 60 parameters such as nutrients, metals, organics and coliform bacteria. In the last twenty years the scope of analysis has tripled, ensuring that our awareness of water quality keeps pace with the development of society. Water quality monitoring is generally conducted once a month, and sediment quality monitoring is conducted twice a year.

More on the monitoring process

Marine Water Quality Objectives

Hong Kong is divided into ten Water Control Zones, each with its own set of Water Quality Objectives. Through the regular sampling conducted on the Dr Catherine Lam, the Environmental Protection Department determines whether a particular zone is in compliance with its key Water Quality Objectives. Of particular concern are the levels of dissolved oxygen and E. coli bacteria, because they are related to human health risk. Very low dissolved oxygen can harm seafood stocks, and high E. coli level indicates sewage pollution of the water. More information on recent marine water quality, including levels of dissolved oxygen and  E. coli at selected stations in ten Water Control Zones, can be obtained from the Environmental Protection Department's website.

Recent marine water quality information

Enquiries related to marine water quality data can be addressed to the Department's Customer Service Centre at 2838 3111 or by email to enquiry@epd.gov.hk.

Annual Marine Water Quality Reports

Each year, the Environmental Protection Department publishes a report covering the marine water quality data it has collected, with conclusions drawn so the public can learn about how effective the various management measures have been. Also available is a 20-year review, which provides an in-depth account of the marine monitoring work, long-term water quality changes and pollution control measures since 1986. These reports are available in public libraries and Environmental Resource Centres throughout Hong Kong, or can be viewed and downloaded from the Environmental Protection Department's website.

Marine Water Quality Reports
Last revision date: October 2015

香港的海水水質

香港依靠海洋進行航海、漁業及康樂等活動,而海水並為我們供應沖廁水和冷卻水,因此保護海洋環境對每個香港市民都非常重要。本文將介紹政府監測海水水質計劃的背景、水質監測的工作程序,以及市民如何查閱各區海域的水質資料。

目前概況

保護自然生態環境是全球各國的重要任務,而保護海洋和海洋生物亦是香港政府的重要職責。環境保護署的方針是全方位保護香港海洋環境,使各種海洋生物包括海豚、水藻等能在健康自然的環境中成長。

水質監測──概覽

環境保護署在香港1,700平方公里的海域內定期監測水質狀況,其中包括開放海域、內灣及避風塘的94個海水水質監測站位及60個海床沉積物監測站位。透過水質監測工作,環境保護署可確保海水水質符合法定水質指標、掌握長期水質變化趨勢,並以監測數據為依據制定污染管制策略,預測未來的挑戰,目的是保障市民大眾的健康。

海水水質及監測概覽

監測過程

海水監測工作是在設備先進的「林蘊盈博士號」監測船上進行;研究人員在海上測量各種水質參數,包括水溫、酸鹼度、鹽分、混濁度、溶解氧含量等。另外,亦採集海水和海床沉積物樣本,進一步分析60多項參數,包括營養物、金屬、有機物和桿菌等。在過去二十年內,監測工作的分析範圍擴大了三倍,以確保我們對海水水質的認識能夠與時並進。環境保護署每月進行水質監測一次,而海床沉積物監測則每年進行兩次。

有關監測過程的詳情

海水水質指標

香港劃分為十個水質管制區,每區各有一套不同的水質指標。環境保護署透過在「林蘊盈博士號」上進行的水質監測工作,釐定各區是否達到其主要水質指標。其中較重要的兩項是與人體健康有關的溶解氧和大腸桿菌水平。溶解氧水平過低會危害水產食品的質量,而大腸桿菌含量過高則顯示海水受到生活污水的污染。更多有關十個水質管制區內部份站位的近期海水水質,包括其溶解氧和大腸桿菌水平,可瀏覽環境保護署的網頁。

近期海水水質資訊

如你對海水水質資訊有任何查詢,請致電環保署的顧客服務中心 2838 3111 或電郵至 enquiry@epd.gov.hk

海水水質年報

環境保護署每年均發表一份海水水質年報,紀錄全年收集的監測數據,讓公眾瞭解海水水質近況及管理措施的成效。環境保護署亦編製了一份二十年海水水質報告,回顧一九八六年以來的監測工作、水質變化和污染控制的措施。報告可於公共圖書館及環境資源中心借閱,亦可於環境保護署的網址閱覧及下載。

海水水質報告
覆檢日期:2017年6月