Greening Hong Kong

Greening plays an important role in building an environmentally friendly society. It brings about many benefits to our environment, and engages various sectors of the society. This article outlines the Hong Kong Government's greening policy, benefits of greening, Government’s greening work, tree management and ways in which you can take part in greening Hong Kong.

More on Greening

Greening Policy

Government is striving to uplift the quality of our living environment through active planting, proper maintenance and preservation of trees together with other vegetation. The target is to bring about noticeable improvements in urban greenery, to enhance existing greened areas, and to enhance opportunities of quality greening during the planning and development of public works projects.

To achieve the policy targets, Government have developed strategies which aim to improve the coordination and effectiveness of greening efforts within the current regime, and to make greening an integral part of future public works projects. Government would also encourage private sector and community participation to promote greening. The main initiatives being undertaken include active planning and greening programme, enhancing opportunities of quality greening, community support and private sector involvement, and tree preservation.

The Greening, Landscape and Tree Management (GLTM) Section was established under the Works Branch of Development Bureau in March 2010 to champion a new and strategic policy on greening, landscaping and tree management, with a view to achieving the sustainable development of a greener environment for Hong Kong.

More on greening policy

Benefits of Greening

Greening can bring about many benefits. Through the process of photosynthesis, plants absorb carbon dioxide and release oxygen, thus refreshing the air for our breathing. They also absorb gaseous contaminants such as sulphur dioxide and nitrogen oxide in the atmosphere. 

Greening can beautify our environment, especially in a densely populated city like Hong Kong where trees and shrubs provide freshness, beauty, comfort and elegance for our enjoyment. It can improve the urban living conditions and enhance the quality of our lives.

More on benefits of greening

Government’s Greening Work and Planting Records

Government’s greening work is characterized by great variety and spatial distribution across the territory, ranging from extensive and ecological planting in the countryside to thematic and diversified planting in the urban and fringe areas. This greening work is realized through the concerted efforts of different Government departments.

More on Government’s greening workMore on planting records

Tree Management

Government adopts an “integrated approach” for the management of trees on Government land. In essence, the department responsible for the maintenance of an area or a facility is also responsible for the maintenance of trees there. Tree Management Office is established under the GLTM Section to advocate the adoption of a professional approach to tree management among the tree management departments and community at large.

More on knowledge about tree plantingMore on trees preservationMore on care for our trees

Greening Master Plan

To better guide the planning, design and implementation of greening works, the Government started to develop Greening Master Plans (GMPs) since 2004. The Plans aim to define an overall greening framework by identifying suitable locations for planting with desirable themes and species, thus paving the way for continuous and consistent results in enhancing the green environment. In developing the Plan, district characteristics have been given full consideration.

 

More on Greening Master Plans

Greening Works for Government Buildings

Besides GMPs, greening has been positively integrated into the design of government buildings.  In addition to implementing greening at ground levels, Government has been exploring ways to increase the greening areas in government buildings, like roof greening and vertical greening.

Since 2001, Government has been incorporating roof greening designs where practicable into the appropriate new government building projects. The buildings involved include schools, crematoria, hospitals, offices, community centres, etc.  Furthermore, Government has been taking the chance during the major roof works of existing government buildings to introduce retrofitted roof greening to the buildings where practicable since 2006.  Roof greening not only provides extra green spaces but also improves cityscape and enhances the effectiveness of heat insulation.  When applied on a large scale, it can attenuate urban heat island effect as well. 

Apart from roof greening, Government has been exploring opportunities for vertical greening in government buildings.  Since 2008, vertical greening has been adopted in some government capital works projects including schools and government buildings.  Vertical greening not only increases the amenity value of the site but also improves air quality.  In the long run, it can also reduce urban heat island effect.

More information on roof greening and vertical greening on government buildings

In order to promote public understanding of the green-roof concept and technical requirements, the Government's "Study on Green Roof Application in Hong Kong" is available for public reference.

More information on the “Study on Green Roof Application in Hong Kong”More information on Government’s efforts in roof greening and vertical greening

Greening Schools

Greening culture is also promoted in schools. There are numerous greening methods, such as the cultivation of groves, landscaped gardens, lawns, shrubbery, garden plots, container plants, and the setting up of planters, trellises and hanging baskets. Schools can apply for subsidy through the Greening School Subsidy Scheme launched by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD). You can make your choice based on the size of the school campus, the existing facilities and the available resources.

More on Greening School HandbookMore on Greening School Subsidy Scheme

How You Can Participate

The community plays a significant role in our greening, landscape and tree management work. Government launches a variety of community involvement and public education activities for various target groups to foster an attitude of greening the environment and care for trees across the territory. These activities include roving exhibition, school talks, seminars for the industry, private owners and property management companies, etc. GLTM Section also publishes newsletters for providing updated information on greening and promoting greening culture to the community.

More on public support and private sector participationGreening newsletters

Seminars have also been held to share with the relevant stakeholders the experience on roof greening and vertical greening in government buildings. 

More on knowledge sharing on topics relating to roof greening and vertical greening

The "Green Volunteer Scheme" is launched in the 18 districts to encourage members of the public to participate in voluntary services of greening activities, to assist in tree surveillance work and report problematic trees, and to assist in promoting horticulture and greening activities, etc. Those who are interested can register as "Green Volunteers" under the Scheme, which will provide basic horticultural training and practical sessions for new recruits.

More on Green Volunteer Scheme

The Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department, LCSD and the Home Affairs Department have all along organised many tree planting activities and other green programmes for community participation. You can visit their websites for their latest activities and programmes.

Leisure and Cultural Services Department's websiteHome Affairs Department's websiteAgriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department's website
Last revision date: June 2017

綠化香港

綠化是締造環保社會的重要環節。它為我們的環境帶來很多好處,並需要社會各界參與。本文介紹香港政府的綠化政策,綠化的好處,政府綠化工作,樹木管理,以及你如何可以參與綠化香港。

更多有關綠化資料

綠化政策

努力廣種花草樹木,並加以妥善護理和保育,藉以提高居住環境的質素。當前的目標是要增加市區的綠化地帶、美化現有綠化區、並在規劃及發展公共工程項目時,提高優質綠化機會。

為達到上述政策目標,政府已制訂策略,一方面改善現有綠化計劃的協調工作和成效,另一方面則把綠化計劃納入日後的公共工程,作為其中的一個重要環節。此外,為進一步推廣綠化,我們會鼓勵私營機構和公眾參與其中。目前推行的主要措施包括:大量種植及綠化計劃,提高優質綠化機會,私營機構的參與及市民的支持,以及保護樹木。

政府於2010年3月在發展局工務科之下成立綠化、園境及樹木管理組,倡導新的策略性綠化、園境及樹木管理政策,使香港持續發展更綠化的環境。

更多有關綠化政策資料

綠化行動的好處

綠化可以帶來很多好處。透過光合作用,植物吸收二氧化碳並釋放氧氣,製造清新空氣供我們呼吸。植物亦會吸收空氣中的一些氣體污染物,例如二氧化硫及氧化氮。

綠化可以美化環境。尤其像香港這個人煙稠密的城市,樹木和灌木能使我們的環境更清新,更優美,更舒適雅致。綠化行動可以改善市區的生活條件,提高我們的生活質素。

更多有關園林綠化的優點

政府綠化工作及栽種植物記錄

政府綠化工作種類繁多,範圍遍佈全港,從郊野以廣泛及生態為主,到市區及邊緣地帶以不同主題及多元化的種植,都可體現政府綠化工作。這亦是各政府部門一齊努力的成果。

更多有關政府綠化工作的資料更多有關栽種植物記錄的資料

樹木管理

政府採用「綜合管理方式」管理政府土地上的樹木。扼要來說,負責管理樹木所在的土地或設施的部門,同時負責護養土地及設施範圍內的樹木。綠化、園境及樹木管理組轄下設有樹木管理辦事處,負責倡導樹木管理部門和社會大眾以專業手法管理樹木。

更多有關種植知識的資料更多有關保護樹木的資料更多有關護養樹木的資料

綠化總綱圖

自2004年起,政府開始制訂地區綠化總綱圖,以更有效統籌綠化行動的規劃、設計和實行。綠化總綱圖旨在為地區訂定整體綠化大綱,找出合適的種植地點,配以合宜的種植主題和植物品種,從而達到持續、一致的成果,改善地區的綠化環境。在制訂這計劃時,各區的特色會被充分考慮。

更多有關綠化總綱圖的資料

政府建築物的綠化計劃

除了綠化總綱圖外,各政府建築物亦已積極加入綠化元素。除了在地面綠化帶推行綠化計劃外,政府亦已進一步探求可提高樓宇綠化面積的方法,如屋頂綠化和垂直綠化等。

自2001年開始,政府已在可行的情況下在合適的新建政府建築物工程項目中引入屋頂綠化設計。這些建築物包括學校、火葬場、醫院、辦公大樓、社區中心等。此外,政府亦自2006年起在現有政府建築物屋頂進行主要工程時,如情況許可,趁機為有關建築物綠化屋頂。屋頂綠化不但提供額外的綠色空間,亦能改善城市風貌,提高隔熱的效能。大量的屋頂綠化更可以減輕市區的熱島效應。

除了屋頂綠化,政府亦已不斷尋求機會,在政府建築物進行垂直綠化。自2008年開始,一些新建設的工程項目,包括學校及政府建築物等,都採用了垂直綠化的設計概念。垂直綠化不但美化用地的景觀,亦能改善空氣質素。長遠來說,垂直綠化更可舒緩熱島效應。

更多有關政府建築物屋頂綠化及垂直綠化的資料

為了提高市民大眾對屋頂綠化的概念以及技術要求的認識,政府的「香港綠化屋頂應用研究」已上載至網站,供市民大眾參考。

更多有關「香港綠化屋頂應用研究」的資料更多有關政府在屋頂綠化及垂直綠化方面的工作的資料

綠化學校

綠色文化同時也在學校推廣。事實上,綠化的方式種類繁多,包括設置樹叢、園林公園、草地、灌木林、花園、盆栽、花架、植物棚和吊籃。

學校可以透過康樂及文化事務署的綠化校園資助計劃申請資助。學校可根據校園的大小、現有設施及可用資源,擬訂合適的綠化計劃。

更多有關綠化校園手冊更多有關綠化校園資助計劃

你可以怎樣參與

市民大眾在政府的綠化、園境及樹木管理工作方面擔當重要角色。政府為不同對象,舉辦多元化社區參與和公眾教育活動,以培育市民綠化環境及愛護樹木的態度。這些活動包括舉巡迴展覽和學校講座,以及為業內人士、私人業主和物業管理公司舉辦研討會等。綠化、園境及樹木管理組亦通過期刊,提供最新的綠化資訊給市民大眾,推動綠色文化。

更多有關市民支持及私營機構參與的資料綠化期刊

此外,政府又舉辦研討會,與有關持份者分享政府在屋頂綠化及垂直綠化方面的經驗。相關資料已上載網站,供市民大眾參考。

更多有關屋頂綠化及垂直綠化知識分享的資料

在全港十八區推行的「綠化義工計劃」旨在鼓勵市民參與綠化香港的活動,包括協助推行樹木監察和報告不正常的生長或損壞情況,以及推廣園藝及綠化工作。有興趣參加計劃的市民可登記成為「綠化義工」,計劃會為新招募的義工安排基本園藝訓練及實習活動。

更多有關綠化義工計劃的資料

漁農自然護理署、康樂及文化事務署和民政事務署一直舉辦很多植樹活動及其他綠化計劃,以供社會人士參加。你可以瀏覽他們的網站,認識最新活動和計劃。

康樂及文化事務署網頁民政事務總署網頁漁農自然護理署網頁
修訂日期:2016年10月