Key Government Renewable Energy Projects

Hong Kong has neither indigenous fuel sources nor the physical conditions conducive to the development of renewable energy (RE).  Based on currently mature and commercially available technologies, our estimate is that Hong Kong has realisable RE potential of about 3-4% of Hong Kong’s total electricity consumption arising from wind, solar and waste-to-energy that can be exploited between now and 2030.  In 2018, the amount of RE electricity accounted for less than 1% of our electricity consumption.

The Government is nonetheless committed to maximising our modest RE potential as fully as possible.  Apart from creating the conditions to facilitate the private sector in adopting RE, the Government also strives to take the lead in applying RE on a wider and larger scale.

What are Government’s existing RE projects?

The Government has implemented a number of large-scale RE projects at its facilities and is planning many other major projects.  The most prominent example is the Government’s largest solar farm at the Siu Ho Wan Sewage Treatment Works with an installed generation capacity of 1,100 kilowatts (kW).  In addition, large-scale solar energy generation systems have been installed at the Redeveloped Complex of the Victoria Park Swimming Pool and the Redeveloped Complex of the Kwun Tong Swimming Pool & Recreation Ground with an installed capacity of 468 kW and 337 kW respectively.

Solar farm at the Siu Ho Wan Sewage Treatment Works
Solar farm at the Siu Ho Wan Sewage Treatment Works

The T ▪ PARK in Tuen Mun was fully commissioned in April 2016 and is currently the largest waste-to-energy generator in Hong Kong.  The heat energy generated from the incineration process is recovered and turned into electricity that can support the needs of the entire facility.  When running at full capacity, it can produce up to 2 megawatts of surplus electricity for the public power grid, which is an impeccable example of “waste-to-energy” in action.

If you want to find out more about existing Government RE projects, you may refer to the HK RE NET of the Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD).

HK RE NET

What are Government’s coming RE projects?

The Water Supplies Department has explored the potential for electricity generation from floating PV systems on reservoirs by installing two small systems of 100 kW each on Shek Pik Reservoir and Plover Cove Reservoir.  Based on the encouraging results, the Government is actively considering installing large-scale floating PV systems at suitable locations in reservoirs.  There will also be a pilot solar PV project at the South East New Territories Landfill to test the technology as well as its implementation at landfills.

In addition, the Government has also earmarked HK$2 billion in total since the 2017-18 financial year for the installation of small-scale RE facilities at government buildings, venues and facilities.

Floating PV systems on Shek Pik Reservoir
Floating PV systems on Shek Pik Reservoir

Solar powered lamps at Sai Kung Outdoor Recreational Centre
Solar powered lamps at Sai Kung Outdoor Recreational Centre

PV systems at Airport Police Station
PV systems at Airport Police Station

Further information, data and statistics on RE

As part of the Government’s on-going efforts to promote RE, the EMSD publishes on its HK RE NET some useful information on RE, including the application of different RE technologies in Hong Kong and overseas, existing RE projects being operated by the Government and the private sector, as well as the relevant statistical information.  Please visit HK RE NET.

HK RE NET
Found this page helpful?
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated.(optional)
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to [email protected].
Thank you. Your input will only be  used to improve GovHK.
Last revision date: March 2021

主要的政府可再生能源項目

香港本土既無燃料來源,亦無有利於發展可再生能源的自然條件。根據現有已發展成熟的商用技術,我們估計由現時至2030年間,香港能夠以風能、太陽能及轉廢為能實現可再生能源的潛力約為本港總耗電量的3%至4%。在2018年,由可再生能源產生的電量佔我們的耗電量少於1%。

儘管如此,政府致力發揮我們有限的可再生能源潛力。除了創造條件以推動私營界別採用可再生能源外,政府亦致力帶頭更廣泛和具規模地應用可再生能源。

政府現有的可再生能源項目為何?

政府已在其設施推行多個大型的可再生能源項目,並正籌劃多個其他主要項目。當中最突出的例子是在小蠔灣污水處理廠裝設政府最大的太陽能發電場,發電容量達1 100千瓦。此外,在重建後的維多利亞公園游泳池場館和重建後的觀塘游泳池場館及遊樂場,也分別裝設了發電容量為468千瓦及337千瓦的大型太陽能發電系統。

小蠔灣污水處理廠太陽能發電場
小蠔灣污水處理廠太陽能發電場

位於屯門的T ▪ PARK [源 · 區]於2016年4月全面啟用並為現時全港最大的轉廢為能設施。在焚化過程中產生的熱能會被回收,並轉化為電力,供給整座設施所需。當設施運作達至最高處理量時,可生產高達兩兆瓦的剩餘電力輸出至公共電網。這正是實踐「轉廢為能」的最佳例子。

如欲進一步了解現有政府可再生能源項目,可參考機電工程署(機電署)香港可再生能源網。

香港可再生能源網

政府在落實的新可再生能源項目為何?

為探討在水塘安裝浮動太陽能板系統作發電用途的潛力,水務署在石壁水塘和船灣淡水湖安裝兩個浮動太陽能板發電系統,兩個系統各自的發電容量為100千瓦。根據有關成效,政府正積極考慮在水塘的適合位置安裝大規模浮動太陽能發電系統。政府亦會在新界東南堆填區進行試驗計劃,以測試有關技術以及在堆填區應用的情況。

此外,政府以自2017-18財政年度已共預留20億元,為政府建築物、場地和設施裝置小型可再生能源設施。

石壁水塘浮動太陽能板發電系統
石壁水塘浮動太陽能板發電系統

安裝於西貢戶外康樂中心的太陽能燈
安裝於西貢戶外康樂中心的太陽能燈

安裝於機場警署的光伏系統
安裝於機場警署的光伏系統

可再生能源進一步資料、數據及統計資料

作為政府推廣可再生能源的持續工作之一,機電署於其香港可再生能源網提供與可再生能源相關的有用資訊,包括不同可再生能源技術在本港及海外的應用、現有由政府及私營界別營運的可再生能源項目,以及有關統計資料。詳情請瀏覽香港可再生能源網。

香港可再生能源網
本頁內容對你有幫助嗎?
本頁內容對你有幫助嗎?
歡迎輸入你的意見!(可選擇填寫)
請注意: 此表格並非用作處理查詢或投訴,如需協助,請致電(852)183 5500或電郵[email protected] 聯絡24小時服務的支援中心。
多謝!你的意見只會用作改善「香港政府一站通」。
修訂日期:2021年3月