Traffic Noise

Traffic noise is a major problem in all large cities, but the Government has adopted various measures to tackle the problem in Hong Kong. This page provides information on what is being done about noise from new and existing roads, how vehicle noise is being reduced and other environmentally friendly solutions.

Traffic Noise in Hong Kong

Hong Kong's thriving economy, rapid urban development and increasing population are making traffic noise more noticeable, with an estimated 1 million people affected. The Environmental Protection Department is tackling this problem by:

  • Preventing traffic noise on new roads through careful planning.
  • Noise abatement on existing roads.
  • Control of noise emissions from individual vehicles.
  • Other environmentally friendly measures.

Planning Solutions

Because noise is a difficult problem to solve once it occurs, the Environmental Protection Department works hard to plan ahead. This involves the provision of professional advice to various Government departments on the design of new roads and nearby buildings. Advice on development proposals usually includes outlining measures to mitigate road traffic noise to an acceptable level.

With new road construction, many people have benefited in recent years from departmental advice on road alignment, the erection of noise barriers and the provision of low-noise road surfaces. These surfaces are now standard on high-speed roads throughout Hong Kong.

Acoustic Balcony

More on planning measures for the control of traffic noiseInnovative Noise Mitigation Designs and Measures

Noise Abatement Measures

The elimination of noise from existing roads is more difficult. To minimise the problem, a programme of retrofitting noise barriers and resurfacing roads with low-noise materials has been implemented. The retrofitting programme is being carried out in phases and will eventually benefit around 30,000 dwellings nearby. Around 90 roads have been identified for resurfacing with low-noise materials, which will benefit about 60,000 dwellings on completion. And in 1999 the Government completed a $658 million programme to insulate more than 10,000 classrooms for 500,000 students. The aim is to provide you and your children with a more liveable environment.

Noise barriers retrofitted on Tseung Kwan O Road

More on the barriers and road resurfacing

Vehicle Noise Emission Control

As part of the motor vehicle registration process that covers aspects of roadworthiness and emissions of any kind, the Noise Control (Motor Vehicles) Regulation stipulates that new vehicles for use in Hong Kong must meet the European Union and Japanese noise control standards. To find out whether your vehicle can be approved under the regulation, you can access the registration lists on the Environmental Protection Department website.

List of approved vehicles

For further enquiries about the registration lists, please contact Environmental Protection Department's Customer Service Centre at 2838 3111 or by email to enquiry@epd.gov.hk.

Environmentally Friendly Solutions

Because not all existing roads can be retrofitted with noise barriers or resurfaced with low-noise materials, the Government explores on a case-by-case basis the feasibility of restricting the passage of vehicles that are likely to emit high levels of noise in built-up residential areas. The restrictions are based on vehicle length or weight, and currently apply to:

  • Lai King Hill Road
  • Chuk Yau Road
  • The Tsing Fung Street Flyover
  • Texaco Road Flyover

In other areas, roads are periodically or temporarily blocked to traffic. Such restrictions are currently in place in parts of:

  • Causeway Bay
  • Central
  • Jordan
  • Sham Shui Po
  • Sheung Shui
  • Stanley
  • Tsim Sha Tsui
  • Mong Kok
  • Wan Chai
  • Yuen Long

Not only will you have more space in which to walk when moving through these areas, you will also benefit from reduced levels of noise and other emissions.

More on traffic restrictions
Last revision date: December 2015

交通噪音

所有大城市都會面對嚴重的交通噪音問題。為解決本港的交通噪音問題,政府已採取了一系列的相應措施。本文將介紹政府怎樣處理新建和現有道路噪音、減少車輛噪音的方法,以及其他環保的噪音解決方案。

香港的交通噪音問題

經濟繁榮、市區發展迅速、加上人口持續上升,導致本港的交通噪音問題更為顯著,估計會有一百萬名市民受影響。為此,環保署特別採取以下措施:

  • 透過審慎規劃預防新建道路的噪音問題。
  • 消減現有道路的交通噪音。
  • 規管個別車輛發出的噪音。
  • 其他環保措施。

透過規劃的解決方案

噪音的問題一旦出現便難於解決。有鑑於此,環保署一直致力在規劃方面著手,包括為各政府部門就新建道路及鄰近建築物的設計提供專業意見。對於發展計劃,環保署亦會建議相關的消減道路交通噪音措施,旨在將噪音維持在可接受的水平。

近年來,環保署就道路路線、加建隔音屏障及鋪設低噪音路面等工程提供的意見,配合道路發展,令全港許多市民因而受惠。現時,鋪設低噪音物料已成為香港所有高速公路的標準做法。

減音露台

更多關於管制交通噪音措施的資料創新噪音緩解設計與措施

噪音消減措施

要消減現有道路的交通噪音會比較困難。為減低噪音所帶來的影響,一項加裝隔音屏障及以低噪音物料重鋪路面的計劃已經實行。加裝隔音屏障的工程會分期進行,完成後將會有約30,000 個在附近的住戶能夠受惠。而重鋪路面工程方面,目前已選定約90 條道路,完成後將會令約60,000個住戶受惠。此外,政府於 1999 年動用了6.58 億元為超過10,000 個課室完成安裝隔音設施,為500,000 名學生提供更寧靜的學習環境。以上各項措施,旨在為香港市民提供更舒適的生活環境。

將軍澳道裝設隔音屏障

更多關於隔音屏風及路面重鋪的資料

管制車輛發出的噪音

香港的汽車登記程序要求測試車輛的廢氣及其他種類的排放;《噪音管制(汽車)規例》規定,所有在香港首次登記的汽車,均須符合歐盟及日本噪音管制標準。市民可透過環保署網頁所載的登記名單,查核所擁有車輛是否已根據《噪音管制(汽車)規例》獲得認可。

獲認可車輛的名單

如你對此車輛登記名單有任何查詢,請致電環保署的顧客服務中心 2838 3111 或電郵至 enquiry@epd.gov.hk

符合環保原則的解決方案

並非所有現有道路都適合加裝隔音屏障或重鋪低噪音路面,故此政府會因應個別情況,研究管制可能會發出過量噪音的車輛(即超過一定長度或重量的車輛)進入住宅大廈林立的地區。目前,本港實施交通管理計劃的路段如下:

  • 荔景山路
  • 竹攸路
  • 清風街天橋
  • 德士古道天橋

除交通管理計劃外,部份道路亦會定期或暫時禁止車輛行駛。這些限制現已在下列區域實施:

  • 銅鑼灣
  • 中環
  • 佐敦
  • 深水埗
  • 上水
  • 赤柱
  • 尖沙咀
  • 旺角
  • 灣仔
  • 元朗

以上措施不但可以令市民在這些區域有更多的活動空間,而且可紓減該等區域的交通噪音及其他污染。

更多關於交通管制的資料
修訂日期:2015年12月