Mandatory Energy Efficiency Labelling Scheme

To further facilitate the public in choosing energy efficient appliances and raise public awareness on energy saving, the Government has introduced a mandatory Energy Efficiency Labelling Scheme (EELS) through the Energy Efficiency (Labelling of Products) Ordinance. Here you can learn more about the scheme, the types of products it covers, and about the record of listed models.

The Energy Efficiency (Labelling of Products) Ordinance

The Energy Efficiency (Labelling of Products) Ordinance, Cap. 598, (hereinafter cited as the "Ordinance") was published in the Gazette on 9 May 2008. Under the Ordinance, a prescribed product being supplied by a manufacturer or importer shall be a listed model having a reference number assigned in his name by the Electrical & Mechanical Services Department and bears an energy label that complies with the specified requirement. A person who is not a manufacturer or importer of a prescribed product, for example a retailer or wholesaler, shall ensure that a prescribed product being supplied by him/her is a listed model with a reference number and bears an energy label. 

The initial phase of the MEELS covers three types of prescribed products, namely room air conditioners, refrigerating appliances and compact fluorescent lamps, and has been fully implemented since 9 November 2009. The second phase of the MEELS extends the coverage to two more electrical appliances, namely washing machines and dehumidifiers, and has been fully implemented since 19 September 2011.

The third phase of MEELS further extends the coverage to three additional types of electrical products, namely televisions, storage type electric water heaters and induction cookers, and expands the scope of room air conditioners and washing machines. The third phase is commenced from 1 June 2018 with a grace period of 18 months.

Energy Efficiency (Labelling of Products) Ordinance

Energy Label

Energy efficient products not only consume less energy, they save you money in the long run and help protect the environment. The energy label classifies the energy performance of a product type into five grades to help consumers in choosing energy efficient products. A product with Grade 1 energy label is among the most energy efficient in the market while a product with Grade 5 is least efficient.

Energy label sample

For details of the Mandatory Energy Efficiency Labelling Scheme, please refer to the following publications:
 

General:

Look for the Energy Label – Save Electricity, Save Money (pdf file)Supply Prescribed Products with Energy Labels (Obligations of Suppliers) (pdf file)Look for the Energy Label – Save Electricity, Save Money (Poster) (pdf file)

Code of Practice:

Code of Practice on Energy Labelling of Products (pdf file)

Record of Listed Models

To assist you in ascertaining whether a product model has been assigned with reference number, the Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD) maintains a record of listed models as listed below. The record contains detailed energy efficiency and performance information of different product models such as reference number, brand, energy efficiency grade, annual energy consumption, etc.

Record of Listed Models

How to Apply

Please refer to the following forms and guidelines for product information submission.

Forms:

Submission of Specified Information and Specified Documents (pdf file)Information Submission for Product Model Already Registered in Voluntary Energy Efficiency Labelling Scheme (pdf file)Updating of Product Information (pdf file)Submission of Supplementary Information for Product Model Already Registered in Mandatory Energy Efficiency Labelling Scheme as per the New Requirement (pdf file)

Guidelines:

Guideline on Submission of Product Information (pdf file)Guideline on Transfer of Models Registered under the Voluntary Energy Efficiency Labelling Scheme (pdf file)Guideline on Updating of Product Information (pdf file)Guideline on Submission of Supplementary Information for Product Models Already Registered in Mandatory Energy Labelling Scheme (pdf file)

Enquiries about the product information submission can be made to Electrical and Mechanical Services Department at 2808 3465 or eepublic@emsd.gov.hk.

Last revision date: August 2018
Found this page helpful?
Your feedback is highly appreciated.
Notice: This form is NOT intended for handling enquiries or complaints. For assistance, please contact the 24-hour Helpdesk at (852) 183 5500 or email to enquiry@1835500.gov.hk .
Thank you. Your input will only be  used to improve GovHK.

強制性能源效益標籤計劃

為進一步方便市民挑選具能源效益的器具及提升市民對節約能源的意識,政府現正透過《能源效益(產品標籤)條例》(第598章) 推行強制性能源效益標籤計劃。而本文將為你介紹此計劃的內容、所涵蓋的產品種類,以及有關產品的表列型號紀錄册。

《能源效益(產品標籤)條例》

《能源效益(產品標籤)條例》(第598章)(「條例」)已於2008年5月9日刊登憲報。根據該條例的規定,製造商或進口商供應的訂明產品必須屬已獲機電工程署按其姓名或名稱編配參考編號的表列型號,並附有符合指明規格的能源標籤。訂明產品的製造商或進口商以外的人(例如零售商或批發商)供應的訂明產品必須屬已獲編配參考編號的表列型號,並附有能源標籤。

強制性能源效益標籤計劃首階段涵蓋三類訂明產品,即空調機、冷凍器具和緊湊型熒光燈(慳電膽),並已於2009年11月9日全面實施;而第二階段擴大涵蓋範圍至另外兩類電器產品,即洗衣機和抽濕機,亦已在2011年9月19日全面實施。

強制性標籤計劃第三階段的涵蓋範圍再擴展至另外三類電氣產品,即電視機、儲水式電熱水器和電磁爐,並把空調機和洗衣機的涵蓋範圍擴大。第三階段已於2018年6月1日開始實施,寬限期為18個月。

《能源效益(產品標籤)條例》

能源標籤

具能源效益的產品不但消耗較少能源,長遠來說更可幫助市民節省金錢,並且有助保護環境。能源標籤把同一類產品的能源效益分為五級,方便市民選擇具能源效益的產品。產品如獲得第一級能源標籤,代表該產品在市面上能源效益最高,如獲得第五級能源標籤,則代表該產品的能源效益最低。

能源標籤樣本

關於強制性能源效益標籤的詳情,可參閱以下刊物:

一般刊物:

認住能源標籤 - 慳電又慳錢 (pdf檔案)供應附有能源標籤的訂明產品(供應商的責任)(pdf檔案)認住能源標籤 – 慳電又慳錢 (海報) (pdf檔案)

實務守則:

產品能源標籤實務守則 (pdf檔案)

表列型號紀錄册

為方便查證產品是否屬於已獲編配參考編號的產品型號,機電工程署備存以下表列型號紀錄册。表列型號紀錄册內詳載不同產品型號的能源效益和表現資料,包括參考編號、品牌、能源效益級別、每年耗電量等。

表列型號紀錄册

申請方法

請參閱以下表格和指引向機電工程署呈交產品資料。

表格:

呈交指明資料及指明文件 (pdf檔案)呈交已在自願性能源效益標籤計劃註冊產品的資料 (pdf檔案)更新產品的資料 (pdf檔案)根據新的要求而呈交已在強制性能源效益標籤計劃註冊產品的補充資料 (pdf檔案)

指引:

呈交產品資料指引 (pdf檔案)已在自願性能源效益標籤計劃註冊型號的轉移指引 (pdf檔案)更新產品的資料指引 (pdf檔案)呈交已在強制性能源效益標籤計劃註冊產品的補充資料指引 (pdf檔案)

有關呈交產品資料的查詢,請致電機電工程署 2808 3465 或電郵至 eepublic@emsd.gov.hk

修訂日期:2018年8月
本頁內容對你有幫助嗎?
歡迎輸入你的意見!
請注意: 此表格並非用作處理查詢或投訴,如需協助,請致電(852)183 5500或電郵enquiry@1835500.gov.hk 聯絡24小時服務的支援中心。
多謝!你的意見只會用作改善「香港政府一站通」。