Corporate Environmental Management

Along with the global trend of green business and green living, more and more companies have been attaching great importance to protecting the environment. An effective means to achieve and demonstrate sound environment performance is to adopt an Environmental Management System (EMS) and produce environmental performance reports. You can find useful information in this article.

Benefits of Corporate Environmental Management

The benefits of corporate environmental management are many. In the view of management, it can fulfill supply-chain requirements, ensure continual environmental improvement, help to reduce legislative non-compliance, promote staff environmental awareness and increase financial savings resulting from resource saving and cost reduction. From the public relations perspective, it can improve the company image, and enhance favourable customer relationships.

Corporate Environmental Management

Environmental Management System

An Environmental Management System (EMS) can help a corporation to improve its environmental performance and thus stay competitive in the environmentally conscious world business market.

In general, a corporation will go through 3 steps in setting up its EMS.

  • Conduct an initial environmental audit to evaluate the current environmental performance.
  • Set its own environmental policy as well as objectives and targets.
  • Map out an environmental programme to translate the targets into concrete action plans.

EMS Certification

The ISO 14000 EMS certification is internationally recognised. To assist the Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs) to develop their own EMS, the Environmental Protection Department (EPD) has launched support packages on environmental management information and ISO 14001 EMS specifically for SMEs of the construction and electrical/electronic sectors. 

A successful EMS also involves periodic audit and review to ensure its effectiveness and achieve continual environmental improvement. EPD also launched a simple guide helping SMEs to conduct environmental audits.

More on EMS and the support packagesMore on environmental audit

Environmental Performance Reporting

Businesses are also encouraged to produce their own environmental performance reports to inform shareholders, investors, potential business partners, customers as well as the general public how they have contributed to achieving a sustainable environment.

Evidence has shown that environmental performance reporting can be a useful marketing tool in winning business opportunities as some companies are more willing to work with those who have a proven record in environmental management. It can also boost the corporate image.

To facilitate the business to produce good quality environmental performance report, EPD has set up a cyber helpdesk which includes step-by-step guide, tips for successful reports, international best practices, and other useful resource materials.

More on environmental performance reporting

Compliance Assistance Centre

You are welcome to visit the Compliance Assistance Centre (CAC) set up by EPD for obtaining more information about the corporate environmental management. The CAC offers a wide range of services, including advice on environmental regulatory requirements, practical solutions to common pollution problems, updated compliance guides, green practices and environmental management tools.

Compliance Assistance Centre

Compliance Assistance Centre

Further Information

Enquiries on corporate environmental management can be addressed to Environmental Protection Department's Customer Service Centre at 2838 3111 or enquiry@epd.gov.hk.

Last review date: June 2017

企業環境管理

在環保營商和環保生活的全球趨勢下,愈來愈多企業重視保護環境。達到良好環保表現的其中一個有效方法,是推行環境管理體系並出版環保工作報告。此文會為你提供這方面的有用資料。

企業環境管理的好處

企業環境管理的好處很多。在管理層眼中,它可以符合供應鏈的要求、確保持續環境改善、協助減低違法的機會、提高員工的環保意識,並透過節省資源和減低成本,從而增加收入。從公共關係角度看,它可以改善公司形象,及增進良好的客戶關係。

企業環境管理

環境管理體系

環境管理體系可以協助企業改善環保表現,從而在重視環保的全球商業市場上保持競爭優勢。

一般來說,一家企業在設立環境管理體系時,會經過三個步驟:

  • 進行初步環境審核,以評估目前的環保表現。
  • 公司自行制訂環保政策目標及指標。
  • 制訂環保計劃,將指標化為具體的行動計劃。

環境管理體系認證

ISO 14000 環境管理體系認證是國際認可的資格。為協助中小企業開發自己的環境管理系統,環境保護署(環保署)推出了環境管理資訊及ISO 14001 環境管理體系的支援套件。此套件特別適用於建造業和電機及電子業的中小企業。

成功的環境管理體系包括定期審核和檢討,以確保其效能及在環保方面的持續改善。環保署也推出了一套簡易指引,協助中小企業進行環境審核。

更多有關環境管理體系及支援套件的資料更多有關環境審核的資料

環保工作報告

政府鼓勵商業機構出版自己的環保工作報告,讓股東、投資者、潛在業務伙伴、顧客及市民大眾知悉他們在可持續發展方面的努力。

有證據顯示環保工作報告可以是有效的市場推廣工具,並協助企業贏取商機,因為有些公司較喜歡和在環境管理方面有具體成績的公司合作。此外,環保工作報告可以進一步提升企業形象。

為了協助商業機構製作高質素的環保工作報告,環保署設立了一個網上支援站,提供程序指引、編製優質報告貼士、國際最佳守則,以及其他有用資源。

更多有關環保工作報告的資料

行業環保支援中心

你可親臨由環保署設立的行業環保支援中心,索取更多有關企業環境管理的資料。行業環保支援中心提供各式各樣的服務,包括有關環保規管要求的諮詢,常見污染問題的實用解決方法、最新法規指引、環保守則以及環境管理工具。

行業環保支援中心

行業環保支援中心

查詢

若你對企業環境管理方面有任何查詢,請致電環保署的顧客服務中心 2838 3111 或電郵至 enquiry@epd.gov.hk

覆檢日期:2015年8月